DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 02/19/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed on 02/19/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-12 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, “skin surface” should read “a skin surface”
In claim 1, line 5, “the BIA” should read “the BIA module” to use consistent language throughout the claims
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “a specific area of the skin surface” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the corresponding area of the skin surface from claim 1, lines 29-30, or a different area of the skin surface. If it is meant to refer to the corresponding area of the skin surface from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different area of the skin surface, it needs to be clearly distinguished from the area of the skin surface from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the area of the skin surface from claim 1.
Further regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “the skin care service application” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what the skin car service application is and what part of the LED patch it is. The broad and indefinite scope of the limitation fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art with reasonable certainty of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, therefore the claim is rendered indefinite. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any part of the LED patch.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “a user terminal device” in line 12. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the user terminal device from claim 1, line 14, or a different user terminal device. If it is meant to refer to the user terminal device from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different user terminal device, it needs to be distinguished from the user terminal device from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the user terminal device from claim 1. Claims 4-7 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Further regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “a skin surface”. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the skin surface from claim 1, line 7, or a different skin surface. If it is meant to refer to the skin surface from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different skin surface, it needs to be distinguished from the skin surface from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the skin surface from claim 1. Claims 4-7 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Further regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “control solution information” in lines 16-17. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the control solution information from claim 1, line 38, or different control solution information. If it is meant to refer to the control solution information from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different control solution information, it needs to be distinguished from the control solution information from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the control solution information from claim 1. Claims 4-7 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation “a specific area of the skin surface” in line 2. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the corresponding area of the skin surface from claim 1, lines 29-30, or a different area of the skin surface. If it is meant to refer to the corresponding area of the skin surface from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different area of the skin surface, it needs to be clearly distinguished from the area of the skin surface from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the area of the skin surface from claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “the specific area” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the corresponding area from claim 1, lines 29-30, or a different area. If it is meant to refer to the corresponding area, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different area, it needs to be clearly distinguished from the corresponding area from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the corresponding area from claim 1. Claims 6-7 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “dimming control” in line 4. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the dimming control from claim 1, line 41, or different dimming control. If it is meant to refer to the dimming control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different dimming control, it needs to be distinguished from the dimming control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the dimming control from claim 1.
Further regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “wavelength control” in line 4. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the wavelength control from claim 1, line 41, or a different wavelength control. If it is meant to refer to the wavelength control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different wavelength control, it needs to be distinguished from the wavelength control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the wavelength control from claim 1.
Further regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “care time control” in line 6. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the care time control from claim 1, line 41, or a different care time control. If it is meant to refer to the care time control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different care time control, it needs to be distinguished from the care time control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the care time control from claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “user terminal device” in line 5. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the user terminal device from claim 1, line 14, or a different user terminal device. If it is meant to refer to the user terminal device from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different user terminal device, it needs to be distinguished from the user terminal device from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the user terminal device from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “the specific facial areas” in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the corresponding area from claim 1, lines 29-30, or a different area. If it is meant to refer to the corresponding area, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different area, it needs to be clearly distinguished from the corresponding area from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the corresponding area from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “a moisture content” in lines 11-12. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the moisture content from claim 1, line 8, or a different moisture content. If it is meant to refer to the moisture content from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different moisture content, it needs to be distinguished from the moisture content from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the moisture content from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “a control processor” in line 12. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the control processor from claim 1, line 3, or a different control processor. If it is meant to refer to the control processor from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different control processor, it needs to be distinguished from the control processor from claim 1. For purpose of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the control processor from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “a Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis (BIA) module” in lines 13-14. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the BIA module from claim 1, line 4, or a different BIA module. If it is meant to refer to the BIA module from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different BIA module, it needs to be distinguished from the BIA module from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the BIA module from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “control solution information” in line 21. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the control solution information from claim 1, line 38, or different control solution information. If it is meant to refer to the control solution information from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different control solution information, it needs to be distinguished from the control solution information from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the control solution information from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “area-specific control” in line 28. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the area-specific control from claim 1, lines 40-41, or a different area-specific control. If it is meant to refer to the area-specific control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different area-specific control, it needs to be distinguished from the area-specific control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the area-specific control from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “dimming control” in line 28. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the dimming control from claim 1, line 41, or a different dimming control. If it is meant to refer to the dimming control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different dimming control, it needs to be distinguished from the dimming control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the dimming control from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “wavelength control” in line 28. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the wavelength control from claim 1, line 41, or a different wavelength control. If it is meant to refer to the wavelength control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer toa different wavelength control, it needs to be distinguished from the wavelength control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the wavelength control from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim recites the limitation “user-selected care time control” in lines 28-29. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the user-selected care time control from claim 1, line 41, or a different user-selected care time control. If it is meant to refer to the care time control from claim 1, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different care time control, it needs to be distinguished from the care time control from claim 1. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the use-selected care time control from claim 1. Claims 9-12 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation “skin conditions” in lines 5-6. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the skin conditions from claim 8, line 18, or different skin conditions. If it is meant to refer to the skin conditions from claim 8, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to different skin conditions, it needs to be distinguished from the skin conditions from claim 8. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the skin conditions from claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “dimming control” in line 3. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the dimming control from claim 8, line 28, the dimming control from claim 1, line 41, or a different dimming control. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced dimming controls, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different dimming control, it needs to be distinguished from all of the previous dimming controls. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced dimming controls. Claim 12 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 11.
Further regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “wavelength control” in line 4. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the wavelength control from claim 8, line 28, claim 1, line 41, or a different wavelength control. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced wavelength controls, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different wavelength control, it needs to be distinguished from all the previous wavelength controls. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced wavelength controls. Claim 12 is also rejected due to its dependence on claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “care time control information as a user option” in line 2. It is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the user-selected care time control from claim 8, lines 28-29, the user-selected care time control from claim 1, line 41, or a different care time control information as a user option. If it is meant to refer to any of the previously introduced care time controls, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different care time control, it needs to be distinguished from all the previous care time controls. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to any of the previously introduced care time controls.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20220072332) in view of KR ‘984 (KR 101829984), An (KR 20190033125), Shokoueinejad (US 20160015962), Li (CN 111013023), Goodall (US 20190046794), and Bandic (US 20110301441). Citations to KR 101829984, KR 20190033125, and CN 111013023 will refer to the English Machine Translations that accompany this Office Action.
Regarding independent claim 1, Park teaches a light emitting diode (LED) light patch (Abstract: “A patch-type skincare device is provided. A patch-type skincare device according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention comprises: a light source part comprising a flexible plate-shaped substrate member having a circuit pattern formed on at least one surface thereof, and at least one LED mounted on one surface of the substrate member”) comprising:
a stretchable circuit board configured to be freely bent or extended or contracted ([0006]: “One aspect of the present disclosure provides a patch-type skincare device including a light source unit including a plate-shaped substrate member which has flexibility and has a circuit pattern formed on at least one surface thereof”; [0007]: “the substrate member may be a nanofiber web, which has a three-dimensional network structure having micropores, or a flexible printed circuit board”);
a control processor ([0012]: “the connection cable may further include a control unit configured to control the overall operation of the light source unit. For example, the control unit may be a remote control box”).
However, Park does not teach the control processor mounted on the stretchable circuit board.
KR ‘984 discloses a patch type skin treatment device. Specifically, KR ‘984 teaches the control processor mounted on the stretchable circuit board ([0024]: “the LED patch part according to the present invention is characterized by including an LED module part having a plurality of LED chips that adhere to the skin and change shape according to contraction and relaxation of the skin, and irradiate light of a certain wavelength range to the skin when power is supplied, and a circuit pattern part that electrically connects the LED chips and forms a zigzag pattern so that the pattern connecting the LED chips changes according to the change in shape; a switching control part that controls the operation of the LED module part; and a battery that supplies power to the LED module part”). Park and KR ‘984 are analogous art as they are both related to patch type skin treatment devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the control processor mounted on the circuit board from KR ‘984 into the device from Park as it allows the device to include the control processor in the device and not in a separate location, and additionally would just be a rearrangement of parts into a known configuration.
However, the Park/KR ‘984 combination does not teach a Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis (BIA) module mounted on the stretchable circuit board and including a sensing electrode, the BIA being configured to flow fine current to skin surface through the sensing electrode to measure a moisture content of the skin surface.
An discloses a method and apparatus for diagnosing skin. Specifically, An teaches a Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis (BIA) module mounted on the stretchable circuit board and including a sensing electrode, the BIA being configured to flow fine current to skin surface through the sensing electrode to measure a moisture content of the skin surface ([0050]: “The impedance sensor (122) can measure skin impedance by passing a microcurrent through the skin and measuring the voltage change according to the skin condition, and the moisture level of the skin can be derived through the skin impedance”. The impedance sensor contains a sensing electrode which uses a fine current (the microcurrent) to measure moisture content of the skin.). Park, KR ‘984, and An are analogous art as they are all related to determining the skin condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the BIA module from An into the Park/KR ‘984 combination as it allows the device to measure the moisture content of a user’s skin, which can increase the amount of data used to determine the skin condition and also incorporate more important parameters that can be used to analyze the user’s skin condition, which can provide a more comprehensive analysis and result.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An combination does not teach a wireless communication module mounted on the stretchable circuit board and including an antenna circuit embedded in the stretchable circuit board, the wireless communication module being configured to facilitate communication between the control processor and the BIA module, and between the control processor and a user terminal device, wherein the user terminal device is physically separated from the LED light patch.
Shokoueinejad discloses a smart patch for wound management. Specifically, Shokoueinejad teaches a wireless communication module mounted on the stretchable circuit board and including an antenna circuit embedded in the stretchable circuit board, the wireless communication module being configured to facilitate communication between the control processor and the BIA module, and between the control processor and a user terminal device, wherein the user terminal device is physically separated from the LED light patch ([0023]: “with the use of the wireless communication system/antenna 24, the controller 28 is operably connected to the wireless communication system 24 to enable transmission of time-stamped sensor data from the sensors 30 through the controller 28 via a suitable network 100 to a remote device 102”. The wireless communication system and antenna are part of the patch, which allow communication between sensors (the BIA module) and the remote device (a user terminal device) and the controller (the control processor)). Park, KR ‘984, An, and Shokoueinejad are analogous art as they are all related to devices in contact with the skin used to measure the skin’s condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the wireless communication from Shokoueinejad into the Park/KR ‘984/An combination as it removes the need for the wired connection, which can allow the user to move around more freely when being measured.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination does not teach a flexible thin-film battery mounted on the stretchable circuit board and configured to supply power needed in the LED light patch.
KR ‘984 teaches a flexible thin-film battery mounted on the stretchable circuit board and configured to supply power needed in the LED light patch ([0053]: “The above battery (130) is configured to supply power to the LED module unit (110) and is made of a thin film battery”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the thin-film battery from KR ‘984 into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination as it removes the need for external connection, and keeps the battery incorporated into the device itself.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination teaches an LED module mounted on the stretchable circuit board (Park, [0006]: “One aspect of the present disclosure provides a patch-type skincare device including a light source unit including a plate-shaped substrate member which has flexibility and has a circuit pattern formed on at least one surface thereof and at least one light-emitting diode (LED) which is mounted on one surface of the substrate member”. The at least one LED is the LED module.).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination is silent on the specific type of LEDs used.
Shokoueinejad teaches the LED module including micro-LEDs arranged in an array ([0036]: “the LED(s) array 32 uses micro-scale, ultrathin light emitting diodes that can accurately target small or large wounds. Because the LEDs 32 are ultrathin and small in area, they will not be affected by the bending of the patch 10 because the spacing between LEDs 32 allow for mechanical stress relaxation. The spatial distribution of the micro LEDs also manages heat generated by individual LEDs and allows low temperature light therapy”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the type and orientation of the LEDs from Shokoueinejad into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination as the combination is silent on the type of LEDs used and the configuration, and Shokoueinejad discloses suitable LED types and configuration in an analogous device.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination teaches a power supply circuit mounted on the stretchable circuit board and configured to supply the power from the flexible thin-film battery to the control processor, the BIA module, the wireless communication module, and the LED module (Park, [0043]: “even when the substrate member 111 is bent or wrinkled and a crack is formed in a portion of the circuit pattern 113, at least some portions of the circuit pattern 113 may maintain a connected state through the paste that fills in the micropores 111b. Thus, the possibility of an occurrence of electrical short circuit may be significantly reduced.”. The circuit pattern is the power supply circuit, as it is configured to ensure connectivity and power from the battery throughout all the components of the patch.).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination does not teach the power supply circuit including a regulator circuit adapted to supply a given voltage to the respective modules, a booster circuit adapted to boost a voltage by dimming level, and a battery protection circuit for preventing the flexible thin-film battery from being overcharged or overdischarged.
Li discloses a cosmetic mask structure. Specifically, Li teaches the power supply circuit including a regulator circuit adapted to supply a given voltage to the respective modules ([0064]: “the rechargeable battery 15 can power the microcontroller U1, touch switch P1, and proximity sensor 62 through a voltage regulator circuit 65. This voltage regulator circuit 65 includes a voltage regulator chip U6”. The regulator circuit controls the voltage to the modules of the device), a booster circuit adapted to boost a voltage by dimming level ([0065]: “the rechargeable battery 15 can supply power to the infrared LED (IR-LED), blue LED (B-LED), and red LED (R-LED) respectively through three boost circuits set on the control circuit board 6”. The boost circuits can boost the voltage, as that is the function of a booster circuit.). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, and Li are analogous art as they are all devices applied to the skin to determine skin condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the regulator circuit and booster circuit from Li into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad combination as it allows the device to have more control over the application of light, which can allow for a more specialized measurement and treatment.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li combination does not teach a battery protection circuit for preventing the flexible thin-film battery from being overcharged or overdischarged.
Goodall discloses an ear stimulation device. Specifically, Goodall teaches a battery protection circuit for preventing the flexible thin-film battery from being overcharged or overdischarged ([0442]: “the neural stimulation system 6100 can include a battery protection circuitry 6134 coupled to the power source 6110 that is configured to protect (e.g., prevent overcharge, over-discharge, manage discharge current, etc.) and increase the lifespan of the power source 6110”). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Li, and Goodall are analogous art as they are all related to medical devices applied to a user including a power source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the battery protection from Goodall into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li combination as it allows the device to protect the battery, ensuring it is safe and does not break, which allows for more longevity of the battery’s life.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall combination is silent on the shape of the patch.
KR ‘984 teaches wherein the LED light patch is configured to be varied in shape of a corresponding area of the skin surface and to be attached thereon ([0022]: “the present invention is a skin treatment device, comprising an adhesive layer to be attached to the skin, a plurality of LED chips that irradiate light of a certain wavelength range to the skin when power is supplied, and an LED patch portion in which a circuit pattern connecting the LED chips is formed in a zigzag pattern so that the circuit pattern that connects the LED chips is extended or the extended circuit pattern is returned to its original position when the shape changes according to the contraction and relaxation of the skin to which the adhesive layer is attached”. The shape changes depending on the skin it is attached to, therefore varying in shape corresponding to the skin surface.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the shape changing dependent on the skin from KR ‘984 into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall combination as the combination is silent on the patch shape, and KR ‘984 discloses a suitable shape in an analogous device.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall combination discloses the control processor being manipulated by user inputs (Park, [0077]: “the control unit 134 … is able to be manipulated by a user”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall combination does not disclose wherein the control processor is configured: to receive a request for measuring the moisture content of the corresponding area of the skin surface from the user terminal device.
Bandic discloses analytic methods of tissue evaluation. Specifically, Bandic teaches wherein the control processor is configured: to receive a request for measuring the moisture content of the corresponding area of the skin surface from the user terminal device ([0317]: “A user may initiate power to the device 108 in order to begin acquiring images. Acquisition may commence automatically, may commence when the device 108 is placed against the skin, may commence when a trigger, such as a button, is actuated by a user, and the like”. The user initiates the measurements to start, which can include the measurement of moisture in the skin.). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Lim and Bandic are analogous art as they are all related to devices that analyze the condition of the user’s skin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include receiving a request from a user from Bandic into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall combination as it allows the user to control when the measurement starts, which allows the user to have more control over the device and its functions.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination teaches to control the BIA module to measure the moisture content of the corresponding area (Park, [0012]: “the connection cable may further include a control unit configured to control the overall operation of the light source unit. For example, the control unit may be a remote control box”. The control unit controls the whole device, which includes the BIA module.),
to transmit the moisture content measured by the BIA module to the user terminal device (Shokoueinejad, [0023]: “with the use of the wireless communication system/antenna 24, the controller 28 is operably connected to the wireless communication system 24 to enable transmission of time-stamped sensor data from the sensors 30 through the controller 28 via a suitable network 100 to a remote device 102”. The remote device is the user terminal device, which the sensed data (the measured moisture level) is transmitted to.),
to receive control solution information from the user terminal device (Park, [0012]: “the connection cable may further include a control unit configured to control the overall operation of the light source unit. For example, the control unit may be a remote control box”; [0077]: “the control unit 134 … is able to be manipulated by a user”. The control unit controls the whole device, which includes receiving control solution information.), and
to control the LED module based on the control solution information (Park, [0012]: “the connection cable may further include a control unit configured to control the overall operation of the light source unit. For example, the control unit may be a remote control box”), the control solution information including one or more of area-specific control, dimming control, wavelength controls and user-selected care time control (Park, [0028]: “Patch-type skincare devices 100 and 100′ according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may, in a state of being attached to the user's skin, irradiate the user's skin with light in a predetermined wavelength band”. The device irradiates the user’s skin with a predetermined wavelength, which is the wavelength control.; [0077]: “the control unit 134 may control the on/off of the light source unit 110, selection or change of a light emitting mode of the light source unit, a function that allows automatic turn-off of the light source unit after a certain amount of time, and the like”).
Regarding claim 2, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination teaches the LED light patch according to claim 1, wherein the LED light patch is configured to be applied to a specific area of the skin surface (Park, [0085]: “in a state in which a cosmetic material is applied to a portion of the user's body to be treated, the user attaches the first cover member 121 to the portion through a cosmetic material, the current applying member 150 formed on the outer surface of the first cover member 121 may maintain a state of being in contact with the portion of the body”. The portion of the body to be treated is the specific area of the skin surface.).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination does not teach the LED patch being controlled by the skin care service application of the user terminal device.
An teaches the LED patch being controlled by the skin care service application of the user terminal device ([0051]: “A skin diagnosis method according to an embodiment of the present invention includes the step of presenting a survey on the user's skin condition through a display unit (114) or a voice output unit of a user terminal”. The survey is taken from the user terminal device and used to determine the process used by the device to treat the skin, therefore the survey is the skin care service application.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the patch being controlled by a skin care service application of the user terminal device from An into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as it allows the user to input important factors that can affect the measurements.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20190366119).
Regarding claim 3, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination teaches a skin care diagnostic system comprising: one or more LED light patches according to claim 1 (Park, Fig. 1 shows two LED patches (120)).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination does not teach a user terminal device having a camera module configured to capture images of a skin surface; and a skin care service application configured to diagnose the images captured by the camera module and the moisture content received from the LED light patches, and to generate control solution information to control the LED light patches.
An teaches a user terminal device having a camera module configured to capture images of a skin surface ([0096]: “the user terminal (UT) may include a camera unit (120)”); and a skin care service application configured to diagnose the images captured by the camera module and the moisture content received from the LED light patches ([0096]: “If the skin diagnostic server (SDS) is a skin diagnostic device, it can receive skin images and skin impedance generated from the camera unit (120) and impedance sensor (122) of the user terminal (UT) from the user terminal (UT)”; [0021]: “A skin diagnostic device according to another aspect of the present invention comprises: a memory unit storing at least one of a user's skin image and skin impedance and a questionnaire regarding the user's skin condition; and a processor for processing at least one of the user's skin image and skin impedance”. The impedance sensor measures the moisture content, and the processor includes the skin care service application.), and determining skin type of the user ([0022]: “The skin type of the user is derived by associating at least one of the analysis results of the skin image and the skin impedance with the survey results”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the camera from An into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as it allows for an additional measurement to be incorporated into the analysis, which can allow for a more comprehensive result, as it can diagnose different details of the user’s face that cannot be sensed by the sensor. Additionally, including the skin care service application and determining skin type can assist in the application of light to the user’s face and improve treatment.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination does not teach using the skin type to generate control solution information to control the LED light patches.
Kim discloses a light output device for caring for the skin of a user. Specifically, Kim teaches using skin type to generate control solution information to control the LED light patches ([0011]: “A light output device according to an embodiment of the present invention can determine the skin type of each part and perform control to change a light irradiation time and intensity of a plurality of light sources according to the determined skin type”). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Li, Bandic, and Kim are analogous art as they are all related to determining the skin condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the control solution information controlling the device from Kim into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as it allows the device to change the treatment options depending on the user’s skin type, which can allow the device to provide the most accurate and safe treatment option to the user.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Pak (KR 102019771) and Lee (KR 101497619). Citations to KR 102019771 and KR 101497619 will refer to the English Machine Translations that accompany this Office Action.
Regarding claim 4, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination teaches the skin care diagnostic system according to claim 3.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination is silent on the specific areas the patches are customized for.
Pak teaches wherein each of the LED light patches is customized for a specific area of the skin surface including a forehead area, both areas around eyes, both cheek areas, and both nasolabial fold areas around nose and mouth ([0019]: “A skin diagnostic device that sets a location on the skin (mainly facial skin), measures by location [e.g., anterior eye, posterior eye, local area (forehead, chin, cheek, eye area, etc.)]”; [0131]: “The above skin diagnostic device (D-1) can first be diagnosed by a comprehensive, all-out measurement analysis of the skin (e.g., wrinkles around the eyes, forehead wrinkles, nasolabial folds, transparency, UV, etc.)”; [0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin”). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Li, Bandic, Kim, and Pak are analogous art as they are all related to determining the skin condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the areas from Pak into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination as the combination is silent on the locations, and Pak provides suitable locations in an analogous device.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak combination does not teach the patches being applied to a neck area.
Lee discloses the device being applied to a neck area (Abstract: “the present invention relates to a skin care apparatus capable of light-stimulating the face and the neck”). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Li, Bandic, Kim, Pak, and Lee are analogous art as they are all related to determining the skin condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the neck area as a possible location as it allows the patches to treat the neck area as well as the face, which can allow for a larger treatment area and better skin conditions for the user.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination does not teach wherein the user terminal device is configured to independently control each of the LED light patches.
KR ‘984 teaches wherein the user terminal device is configured to independently control each of the LED light patches ([0024]: “the LED patch part according to the present invention is characterized by including an LED module part having a plurality of LED chips that adhere to the skin and change shape according to contraction and relaxation of the skin, and irradiate light of a certain wavelength range to the skin when power is supplied, and a circuit pattern part that electrically connects the LED chips and forms a zigzag pattern so that the pattern connecting the LED chips changes according to the change in shape; a switching control part that controls the operation of the LED module part; and a battery that supplies power to the LED module part”. If each patch has their own individual control unit, they are capable of being controlled independently.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the patches being controlled independently from KR ‘984 into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination as it allows each patch to be specifically configured to the area it is applied on, which can allow for a more specialized and effective treatment option.
Regarding claim 5, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination teaches the skin care diagnostic system according to claim 3, wherein the skin care service application has an off mode (Park, [0078]: “he control unit 134 may control the on/off operation of the light source unit”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination does not teach wherein the skin care diagnostic system diagnoses skin wrinkle and whitening conditions with levels 1 to 5 and an off mode through an image of the specific area captured by the camera module and diagnoses the moisture content with grades 1 to 5 through the moisture content sensed by the BIA module, so that the skin care service application generates the control solution information for controlling the LED module attached to the specific area.
Pak teaches wherein the skin care diagnostic system diagnoses skin wrinkle with levels 1 to 5 through an image of the specific area captured by the camera module([0094]: “When information on the type and magnification of the lens required for collecting skin information is output, the magnifying adapter lens (6) is brought into close contact with the skin, and by operating the touch sensor unit (104), the pore distribution, pore size, pigmentation, keratin, and other atopy of the skin are captured by the camera sensor unit (102), and this is received as an image, and the received image information is transmitted to the central processing unit (100), and the central processing unit (100) analyzes the image information and processes it into an image and a numerical value, and stores the processed image and numerical signal in the memory unit (106), and at the same time, the image is output through the LCD display unit (103)”; [0131]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin”; [0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin, and to do so, it is necessary to easily obtain and diagnose accurate information about each individual's skin (e.g., pores, pigmentation, dead skin cells, atopy, wrinkles, freckles, acne, etc.).”. It would be obvious to apply the numerical value assignment to the skin wrinkles as it allows the device to determine the starting point of the user’s skin.) and diagnoses the moisture content with grades 1 to 5 through the moisture content sensed by the BIA module ([0096]: “the moisture value measured by the moisture measurement sensor (8) by operating the touch sensor unit (104) is received by the moisture measurement frequency generator (4) and transmitted to the microcomputer (2), and the microcomputer (2) performs calculation processing, and the calculated moisture value is transmitted to the central processing unit (100) through the wireless module (1) and the wireless communication unit (105), and the numerical value is output to the LCD display unit (103) through the central processing unit (100) and at the same time, the numerical value is stored in the memory unit (106)”), so that the skin care service application generates the control solution information for controlling the LED module attached to the specific area ([0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include assigning the numerical values to the wrinkle level and moisture content from Pak into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim combination as it allows the combination to assign a numerical value that can be clearly used in analysis and determination of treatment, which allows for a more precise and uniform evaluation of the skin.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak combination does not teach diagnosing whitening conditions.
Lee teaches evaluating whitening conditions (Abstract: “the present invention relates to an optical mask having a function of skin care such as skin whitening…”. It would be obvious to apply the numerical value assignment to the whitening conditions as it allows the device to determine the starting point of the user’s skin.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the evaluation of the whitening conditions from Lee into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak combination as it allows for the skin condition to be further analyzed, leading to a further analysis of the user’s skin condition.
Regarding claim 6, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination teaches the skin care diagnostic system according to claim 5, wherein the skin care service application communicates with a skin care management server to collect and store the images of the skin surface and the moisture content (Pak, [0094]: “the central processing unit (100) analyzes the image information and processes it into an image and a numerical value, and stores the processed image and numerical signal in the memory unit (106), and at the same time, the image is output through the LCD display unit (103)”) and generate the control solution information for controlling the LED module (Pak, [0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin, and to do so, it is necessary to easily obtain and diagnose accurate information about each individual's skin (e.g., pores, pigmentation, dead skin cells, atopy, wrinkles, freckles, acne, etc.).”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination does not teach reflecting data of skin conditions of users by age, job, sex, and country.
Bandic teaches reflecting data of skin conditions of users by age, job, sex, and country ([0337]: “the skin condition analysis module 4708 may have access to user information like age, gender, ethnic group, and the like, and such information may be used to build a user profile and used in analysis of the skin condition”; [0314]: “data storage 110 may occur in a practitioner record 180. A practitioner record 180 may be a repository of key health characteristics including background demographic data, personal information, information on diet, skin health record 121 and the like. It may have embedded images, links to other image data files, tracking effectiveness of personal skin products, medical products, and OTC products and the like and their historical impact on key parameters. It may also capture community data or data of selected individuals who may be similar to the patient or user and may include rankings and comments and the like”; [0095]: “the plurality of healthcare facilities comprises at least one of skin cleansing, skin protection, skin moisture control, skin repair, skin elasticity, skin luminosity, skin firmness, skin wrinkles, pore size on skin, spots on skin, glow on skin, hair color, hair type, age and life stage further including marriage, pregnancy, dating and social life”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the demographic information from Bandic into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination as it allows the stored data to be organized into groupings, which can provide an analysis on the skin conditions of people in different demographic areas.
Regarding claim 7, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination teaches the skin care diagnostic system according to claim 6.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination does not teach wherein the control solution information comprises control information by area for 8 areas of a face, three areas of a forehead, and three areas of a neck.
Pak and Lee teach wherein the control solution information comprises control information by area for 8 areas of a face, three areas of a forehead, and three areas of a neck (Pak, [0019]: “A skin diagnostic device that sets a location on the skin (mainly facial skin), measures by location [e.g., anterior eye, posterior eye, local area (forehead, chin, cheek, eye area, etc.)]”; [0131]: “The above skin diagnostic device (D-1) can first be diagnosed by a comprehensive, all-out measurement analysis of the skin (e.g., wrinkles around the eyes, forehead wrinkles, nasolabial folds, transparency, UV, etc.)”; [0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin”; Lee, Abstract: “the present invention relates to a skin care apparatus capable of light-stimulating the face and the neck”. The limitations do not specify the specific number of locations, however by analyzing the different locations it can include 8 areas of the face, three areas of the forehead, and three areas of a neck).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the areas from Pak and Lee into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination as the combination is silent on the locations, and Pak and Lee provide suitable locations in analogous devices.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination teaches dimming control information for brightness control by diagnosis level (Li, [0065]: “the rechargeable battery 15 can supply power to the infrared LED (IR-LED), blue LED (B-LED), and red LED (R-LED) respectively through three boost circuits set on the control circuit board 6”. The boost circuits can boost the voltage, as that is the function of a booster circuit. The booster circuit controls the dimming level, therefore the level can change for the specific skin area through the control of this circuit.), wavelength control information for 630 nm wavelength for wrinkle care (Park, [0008]: “the LED may irradiate light in a wavelength band of 620 to 630 nm”), and care time control information as a user option (Park, [0077]: “the control unit 134 may control the on/off of the light source unit 110, selection or change of a light emitting mode of the light source unit, a function that allows automatic turn-off of the light source unit after a certain amount of time, and the like”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination does not teach both of 630 nm and 850 nm wavelengths for whitening care.
Pak teaches both of 630 nm and 850 nm wavelengths for whitening care ([0027]: “A light emitting diode (LED) that is turned on/off by a signal command from the LED Drive and emits multiple rays of light in different wavelength ranges (400-470 nm, 570-590 nm, 630-700 nm, 800-1,200 nm, etc.)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the additional wavelengths from Pak into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Kim/Pak/Lee combination as it allows the device to expand the wavelengths that can be used for treatment, which can provide more effective treatments in a range of areas.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim, Pak, and Lee.
Regarding claim 8, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination teaches a method for operating one or more LED light patches and a skin care diagnostic system using the LED light patch according to claim 1 (Park, [0001]: “The present disclosure relates to a patch-type skincare device, and more particularly, to a patch-type skincare device capable of, in a state of being attached to the user's skin, improving the skin using light”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination does not teach executing a skin care service application embedded in a user terminal device; capturing images of specific facial areas through a camera module of the user terminal device.
An teaches executing a skin care service application embedded in a user terminal device ([0096]: “If the skin diagnostic server (SDS) is a skin diagnostic device, it can receive skin images and skin impedance generated from the camera unit (120) and impedance sensor (122) of the user terminal (UT) from the user terminal (UT)”; [0021]: “A skin diagnostic device according to another aspect of the present invention comprises: a memory unit storing at least one of a user's skin image and skin impedance and a questionnaire regarding the user's skin condition; and a processor for processing at least one of the user's skin image and skin impedance”. The impedance sensor measures the moisture content, and the processor includes the skin care service application.); capturing images of specific facial areas through a camera module of the user terminal device ([0096]: “the user terminal (UT) may include a camera unit (120)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the camera from An into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as it allows for an additional measurement to be incorporated into the analysis, which can allow for a more comprehensive result, as it can diagnose different details of the user’s face that cannot be sensed by the sensor. Additionally, including the skin care service application and determining skin type can assist in the application of light to the user’s face and improve treatment.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination does not teach specifically checking wrinkle and whitening conditions of the specific facial areas.
Pak teaches checking wrinkle conditions of the specific facial areas ([0131]: “The above skin diagnostic device (D-1) can first be diagnosed by a comprehensive, all-out measurement analysis of the skin (e.g., wrinkles around the eyes, forehead wrinkles, nasolabial folds, transparency, UV, etc.)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include checking for wrinkle conditions from Pak into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic combination as it allows the combination to check for specific conditions, which can identify skin conditions that are important to be considered when determining treatment.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak combination does not teach specifically checking whitening conditions of the specific facial areas.
Lee teaches checking whitening conditions of the specific facial areas (the present invention relates to an optical mask having a function of skin care such as skin whitening…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include checking for whitening conditions from Lee into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak combination as it allows the combination to check for specific conditions, which can identify skin conditions that are important to be considered when determining treatment.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee combination teaches attaching the LED light patches to the specific facial areas (Park, [0085]: “in a state in which a cosmetic material is applied to a portion of the user's body to be treated, the user attaches the first cover member 121 to the portion through a cosmetic material, the current applying member 150 formed on the outer surface of the first cover member 121 may maintain a state of being in contact with the portion of the body”. The portion of the body to be treated is the specific area of the skin surface.);
sending, by the skin care service application embedded in the user terminal device, a request for measuring impedance values of the specific facial areas to check a moisture content to a control processor mounted on each of the LED light patches (Bandic, [0317]: “A user may initiate power to the device 108 in order to begin acquiring images. Acquisition may commence automatically, may commence when the device 108 is placed against the skin, may commence when a trigger, such as a button, is actuated by a user, and the like”. The user initiates the measurements to start, which can include the measurement of moisture in the skin.);
controlling, by the control processor of each of the LED light patches, a Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis (BIA) module mounted on each of the LED light patches to measure the impedance values (Park, [0012]: “the connection cable may further include a control unit configured to control the overall operation of the light source unit. For example, the control unit may be a remote control box”. The control unit controls the whole device, which includes the BIA module.);
transmitting, by the control processor of each of the LED light patches, the impedance values measured by the BIA module to the skin care service application (Shokoueinejad, [0023]: “with the use of the wireless communication system/antenna 24, the controller 28 is operably connected to the wireless communication system 24 to enable transmission of time-stamped sensor data from the sensors 30 through the controller 28 via a suitable network 100 to a remote device 102”. The remote device is the user terminal device, which the sensed data (the measured moisture level) is transmitted to.);
analyzing and diagnosing skin conditions by the skin care service application, based on the images and the impedance values of the specific facial areas (An, [0051]: “A skin diagnosis method according to an embodiment of the present invention includes the step of presenting a survey on the user's skin condition through a display unit (114) or a voice output unit of a user terminal”; [0022]: “The skin type of the user is derived by associating at least one of the analysis results of the skin image and the skin impedance with the survey results”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee combination does not teach generating, by the skin care service application, control solution information of the LED light patches, based on the diagnosed skin conditions of the specific facial areas; and receiving, by the control processor of each of the LED light patches, the control solution information to irradiate light onto the specific facial areas; and controlling, by the control processor of each of the LED light patches, the LED module based on the control information.
Kim teaches generating, by the skin care service application, control solution information of the LED light patches, based on the diagnosed skin conditions of the specific facial areas; and receiving, by the control processor of each of the LED light patches, the control solution information to irradiate light onto the specific facial areas; and controlling, by the control processor of each of the LED light patches, the LED module based on the control information ([0011]: “A light output device according to an embodiment of the present invention can determine the skin type of each part and perform control to change a light irradiation time and intensity of a plurality of light sources according to the determined skin type”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include controlling the device based on the skin care conditions from Kim into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee combination as it allows the device to change the treatment options depending on the user’s skin type, which can allow the device to provide the most accurate and safe treatment option to the user.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination teaches the control information including one or more of area-specific control, dimming control, wavelength control, and user-selected care time control ([0028]: “Patch-type skincare devices 100 and 100′ according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may, in a state of being attached to the user's skin, irradiate the user's skin with light in a predetermined wavelength band”. The device irradiates the user’s skin with a predetermined wavelength, which is the wavelength control.; [0077]: “the control unit 134 may control the on/off of the light source unit 110, selection or change of a light emitting mode of the light source unit, a function that allows automatic turn-off of the light source unit after a certain amount of time, and the like”).
Regarding claim 9, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination teaches the method according to claim 8.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination does not teach wherein the step of analyzing and diagnosing skin conditions is performed by allowing the skin care service application to interwork with a skin care management server to collect and store the captured images and the skin moisture content and thus generate the control solution information for controlling the LED module, while reflecting data of skin conditions of users by age, job, sex, and country.
An teaches wherein the step of analyzing and diagnosing skin conditions is performed by allowing the skin care service application to interwork with a skin care management server to collect and store the captured images and the skin moisture content ([0096]: “If the skin diagnostic server (SDS) is a skin diagnostic device, it can receive skin images and skin impedance generated from the camera unit (120) and impedance sensor (122) of the user terminal (UT) from the user terminal (UT)”; [0021]: “A skin diagnostic device according to another aspect of the present invention comprises: a memory unit storing at least one of a user's skin image and skin impedance and a questionnaire regarding the user's skin condition; and a processor for processing at least one of the user's skin image and skin impedance”. The impedance sensor measures the moisture content, and the processor includes the skin care service application.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the collection and storage from An into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination as it allows the device to store the important information for use in the analysis.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination, teaches generate the control solution information for controlling the LED module (Kim, [0011]: “A light output device according to an embodiment of the present invention can determine the skin type of each part and perform control to change a light irradiation time and intensity of a plurality of light sources according to the determined skin type”).
Bandic teaches reflecting data of skin conditions of users by age, job, sex, and country ([0337]: “the skin condition analysis module 4708 may have access to user information like age, gender, ethnic group, and the like, and such information may be used to build a user profile and used in analysis of the skin condition”; [0314]: “data storage 110 may occur in a practitioner record 180. A practitioner record 180 may be a repository of key health characteristics including background demographic data, personal information, information on diet, skin health record 121 and the like. It may have embedded images, links to other image data files, tracking effectiveness of personal skin products, medical products, and OTC products and the like and their historical impact on key parameters. It may also capture community data or data of selected individuals who may be similar to the patient or user and may include rankings and comments and the like”; [0095]: “the plurality of healthcare facilities comprises at least one of skin cleansing, skin protection, skin moisture control, skin repair, skin elasticity, skin luminosity, skin firmness, skin wrinkles, pore size on skin, spots on skin, glow on skin, hair color, hair type, age and life stage further including marriage, pregnancy, dating and social life”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the demographic information from Bandic into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination as it allows the stored data to be organized into groupings, which can provide an analysis on the skin conditions of people in different demographic areas.
Regarding claim 10, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination teaches the method according to claim 8.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination is silent on the specific areas the patches are customized for.
Pak teaches wherein the specific facial areas to which the LED light patches are attached are any one or more areas of a forehead area, both areas around eyes, both cheek areas, and both nasolabial fold areas around nose and mouth ([0019]: “A skin diagnostic device that sets a location on the skin (mainly facial skin), measures by location [e.g., anterior eye, posterior eye, local area (forehead, chin, cheek, eye area, etc.)]”; [0131]: “The above skin diagnostic device (D-1) can first be diagnosed by a comprehensive, all-out measurement analysis of the skin (e.g., wrinkles around the eyes, forehead wrinkles, nasolabial folds, transparency, UV, etc.)”; [0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin”). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Li, Bandic, Kim, and Pak are analogous art as they are all related to determining the skin condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the areas from Pak into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination as the combination is silent on the locations, and Pak provides suitable locations in an analogous device.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination does not teach the patches being applied to a neck area.
Lee discloses the device being applied to a neck area (Abstract: “the present invention relates to a skin care apparatus capable of light-stimulating the face and the neck”). Park, KR ‘984, An, Shokoueinejad, Li, Bandic, Kim, Pak, and Lee are analogous art as they are all related to determining the skin condition of a user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the neck area as a possible location as it allows the patches to treat the neck area as well as the face, which can allow for a larger treatment area and better skin conditions for the user.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination does not teach wherein the user terminal device is configured to independently control each of the LED light patches.
KR ‘984 teaches and the LED patches attached to the specific facial areas are controlled by the skin care service application through independent signals ([0024]: “the LED patch part according to the present invention is characterized by including an LED module part having a plurality of LED chips that adhere to the skin and change shape according to contraction and relaxation of the skin, and irradiate light of a certain wavelength range to the skin when power is supplied, and a circuit pattern part that electrically connects the LED chips and forms a zigzag pattern so that the pattern connecting the LED chips changes according to the change in shape; a switching control part that controls the operation of the LED module part; and a battery that supplies power to the LED module part”. If each patch has their own individual control unit, they are capable of being controlled independently.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the patches being controlled independently from KR ‘984 into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination as it allows each patch to be specifically configured to the area it is applied on, which can allow for a more specialized and effective treatment option.
Regarding claim 11, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination teaches the method according to claim 8.
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination does not teach wherein the control solution information comprises control information by area for 8 areas of a face, three areas of a forehead, and three areas of a neck.
Pak and Lee teach wherein the control solution information comprises control information by area for 8 areas of a face, three areas of a forehead, and three areas of a neck (Pak, [0019]: “A skin diagnostic device that sets a location on the skin (mainly facial skin), measures by location [e.g., anterior eye, posterior eye, local area (forehead, chin, cheek, eye area, etc.)]”; [0131]: “The above skin diagnostic device (D-1) can first be diagnosed by a comprehensive, all-out measurement analysis of the skin (e.g., wrinkles around the eyes, forehead wrinkles, nasolabial folds, transparency, UV, etc.)”; [0014]: “LED light of different wavelengths must be irradiated according to the exact prescription for each skin condition at each location on the skin”; Lee, Abstract: “the present invention relates to a skin care apparatus capable of light-stimulating the face and the neck”. The limitations do not specify the specific number of locations, however by analyzing the different locations it can include 8 areas of the face, three areas of the forehead, and three areas of a neck).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the areas from Pak and Lee into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination as the combination is silent on the locations, and Pak and Lee provide suitable locations in analogous devices.
The Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination teaches dimming control information for brightness control by diagnosis level (Li, [0065]: “the rechargeable battery 15 can supply power to the infrared LED (IR-LED), blue LED (B-LED), and red LED (R-LED) respectively through three boost circuits set on the control circuit board 6”. The boost circuits can boost the voltage, as that is the function of a booster circuit. The booster circuit controls the dimming level, therefore the level can change for the specific skin area through the control of this circuit.), wavelength control information for 630 nm wavelength for wrinkle care (Park, [0008]: “the LED may irradiate light in a wavelength band of 620 to 630 nm”).
However, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination does not teach both of 630 nm and 850 nm wavelengths for whitening care.
Pak teaches both of 630 nm and 850 nm wavelengths for whitening care ([0027]: “A light emitting diode (LED) that is turned on/off by a signal command from the LED Drive and emits multiple rays of light in different wavelength ranges (400-470 nm, 570-590 nm, 630-700 nm, 800-1,200 nm, etc.)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the additional wavelengths from Pak into the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination as it allows the device to expand the wavelengths that can be used for treatment, which can provide more effective treatments in a range of areas.
Regarding claim 12, the Park/KR ‘984/An/Shokoueinejad/Li/Goodall/Bandic/Pak/Lee/Kim combination teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the control solution information further comprises care time control information as a user option (Park, [0077]: “the control unit 134 may control the on/off of the light source unit 110, selection or change of a light emitting mode of the light source unit, a function that allows automatic turn-off of the light source unit after a certain amount of time, and the like”).
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s argument regarding the rejections and objections previously set forth have been fully considered and are persuasive unless directly addressed subsequently.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791