Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 06/18/2025. Claims 1-20 are considered in this office action. Claims 1, 12, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending examination. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection has been withdrawn in light of the instant amendments. Applicant's amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action:
Despesse teaches a single processing circuit that has to have sufficient inputs to monitor each of the cells, and via the power control circuit drive the output voltage of the module. Therefore Despesse fails to disclose a plurality of energy cells wherein each of the cells comprises a cell control unit. Thus the proposed amendments overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103.
Applicant’s argument A, with respect to the independent claims has been fully considered and is moot in light of new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 12, 18, and 20 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse (US20140287278A1) in view of Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1).
Regarding claim 1, Despesse discloses, a powertrain for an electric vehicle, comprising: an electric motor; an energy storage system electrically coupled to the electric motor, wherein the energy storage system comprises: a motor control unit configured to determine a phase of the electric motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied): and a power bank management unit configured to: determine an overall power output based, at least in part, on the determined phase of the electric motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 21-26, thereafter, the regulating block comprises a block 83 for correction, on the basis of the difference between the setpoint values Isetp, Vsetp and the corresponding real values Ireal, Vreal, which transmits a need to a block 84 which determines the series or parallel configuration of the bricks, the number of modules required in the battery and optionally the particular cells of these modules to be used); determine a subset of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the overall power output; and command each cell of the subset of the plurality of cells to generate the discrete power output, the subset of the plurality of cells is configured to collectively generate an output equal to the overall power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0165, Lines 1-7, the battery management method thus makes it possible to determine at each instant the position of several switches of cells and/or modules, and/or for reversing module voltage, and/or for linking between various bricks, so as to balance each of the modules of the battery and to steer the current within each module so as to balance each of the cells of the modules, while providing the desired voltage and the desired current at output of the battery). However, Despesse does not explicitly disclose a plurality of cells, wherein each cell of the plurality of cells comprises a cell control unit configured to: determine a discrete power output based, at least in part, on the determined phase of the electric motor; and generate the determined discrete power output.
Nevertheless, Naderi et al. who is in the same field of endeavor of management and control discloses, a plurality of cells (0051, figure 6 depicts a topology of 3-phase ACi battery pack (130A, 130B, DOC) connected to the motor 60 and comprising N intelligent battery modules connected in series in each phase), wherein each cell of the plurality of cells comprises a cell control unit configured to: determine a discrete power output (0051, each intelligent battery module in Figures 5 and 6 can generate three different voltage outputs, +Vdc, 0, and -Vdc by connecting the DC-voltage (of battery) VDC to the AC output by different combinations of the four switches), based, at least in part, on the determined phase of the electric motor (0065, the most significant task for a multi-level hysteresis controller is the identification of an appropriate output voltage level at any moment of converter operation based on a current feedback (motor phase) signal IREAL), and generate the determined discrete power output (0069, according to the table in Figure 9 for di/dt>0, the voltage VOUT becomes +3VDC. From the beginning of considered time window and up to time tl (Figure 10C)).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention
would have been motivated to combine Despesse (US20140287278A1) and Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1). This would improve dynamic response and efficiency while reducing reliance on a centralized inverter for determining cells that determine and generate discrete, regulated outputs. Despesse’s per module power electronics and master control selects discrete output levels from motor phase references, making this a predictable substitution of known techniques to implement already recognized design goals.
Justification for combining Despesse (US20140287278A1) and Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1) disclosures not only come from the state of the art but from Despesse (Despesse, Paragraph 0226, Lines 1-3, numerous other variant embodiments of the invention can easily be contemplated through a simple combination of the embodiments and/or their variants described previously).
Regarding claim 8, Despesse and Naderi disclose, the powertrain of claim 1, wherein the motor control unit is further configured to determine a second phase of the electric motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied).
Regarding claim 9, Despesse and Naderi disclose, the powertrain of claim 8, wherein the power bank management unit is further configured to: determine a second overall power output based, at least in part, on the determined second phase of the electric motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 21-26, thereafter, the regulating block comprises a block 83 for correction, on the basis of the difference between the setpoint values Isetp, Vsetp and the corresponding real values Ireal, Vreal, which transmits a need to a block 84 which determines the series or parallel configuration of the bricks, the number of modules required in the battery and optionally the particular cells of these modules to be used); determine a second subset of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the overall second power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0143, Lines 10-13, these commands comprise in particular the number of cells a to iv to be placed in series respectively for each module, or optionally the exact configuration of all the bricks of each module, from among the possible series and parallel combinations) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0143, Lines 17-20, it defines the cells to be placed in series and in parallel as a function of their state of charge, health or other criteria, and of the current demanded so as to attain the voltage demanded); and command each cell of the subset of the plurality of cells to generate the discrete power output, the second subset of the plurality of cells is configured to collectively generate a second output equal to the second overall power output, wherein the second overall power output is different from the overall power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0169, Lines 1-5, the battery management method can also implement any regulation around an output voltage and/or current value. When the output voltage is below the setpoint value, the number n of modules in series is increased, and on the contrary if it is above the setpoint value, then this number n is decreased) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0170, Lines 1-5, if the battery has to provide an AC voltage, or any voltage varying over time according to a given period, the placing in parallel of various parts of the battery can be decided on similar criteria, applied to the amplitude of the sinusoid or of the variable voltage to be provided, so as to avoid toggling from one mode to another too often, at each period).
Regarding claim 12, Despesse discloses, an energy storage system configured for use with a powertrain of an electric vehicle, (0002, these elements represent the active part of the structure of the elementary battery, that is to say they form an assembly which participates directly in the electrical energy storage and retrieval function) … (0148, this physical assemblage can thus be integrated into an automotive vehicle as illustrated in FIG. 18, in which the various housings are distributed over the entire length in the lower part of the automotive vehicle, by way of example, joined together by a link 156 including a power bus 151 and a communication bus 152, this set being linked to a central computer 157), the energy storage system comprising: a motor control unit configured to determine a phase of a motor electrically coupled to the energy storage system (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied) and determining a subset of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the overall power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0165, Lines 1-7, the battery management method thus makes it possible to determine at each instant the position of several switches of cells and/or modules, and/or for reversing module voltage, and/or for linking between various bricks, so as to balance each of the modules of the battery and to steer the current within each module so as to balance each of the cells of the modules, while providing the desired voltage and the desired current at output of the battery).
Furthermore, Naderi discloses, a plurality of cells, wherein each cell of the plurality of cells comprises a cell control unit (0051, figure 6 depicts a topology of 3-phase ACi battery pack (130A, 130B, DOC) connected to the motor 60 and comprising N intelligent battery modules connected in series in each phase), configured to: determine a discrete power output based, at least in part, on the determined phase of the motor (0051, each intelligent battery module in Figures 5 and 6 can generate three different voltage outputs, +Vdc, 0, and -Vdc by connecting the DC-voltage (of battery) VDC to the AC output by different combinations of the four switches); and generate the determined discrete power output (0070, according to the table in Figure 9 for di/dt>0, the voltage VOUT becomes +3VDC. From the beginning of considered time window and up to time tl (Figure 10C)); and a power bank management unit configured to: determine an overall power output based, at least in part, on the determined phase of the motor (0065, the most significant task for a multi-level hysteresis controller is the identification of an appropriate output voltage level at any moment of converter operation based on a current feedback (motor phase) signal IREAL), and command each cell of the subset of the plurality of cells to generate the discrete power output, the subset of the plurality of cells is configured to collectively generate an output equal to the overall power output (0051, the AC outputs of each of the different output converter levels are connected in series such that the synthesized voltage waveform is the sum of the inverter outputs).
Regarding claim 18, Despesse discloses a method of managing an energy output of a powertrain of an electric vehicle via an energy storage system, wherein the powertrain comprises a motor electrically coupled to the energy storage system (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 35-38, this results at output in the real values of the current Ireal and of the voltage Vreal, which are received by the motor of the automotive vehicle, which makes it possible to attain the operating values, such as a speed Spd and a torque Tor, transmitted by the block 82), and wherein the energy storage system comprises a motor control unit and a power bank management unit, and a plurality of cells configured to generate a discrete power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0169, Lines 1-5, the battery management method can also implement any regulation around an output voltage and/or current value. When the output voltage is below the setpoint value, the number n of modules in series is increased, and on the contrary if it is above the setpoint value, then this number n is decreased) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0170, Lines 1-5, if the battery has to provide an AC voltage, or any voltage varying over time according to a given period, the placing in parallel of various parts of the battery can be decided on similar criteria, applied to the amplitude of the sinusoid or of the variable voltage to be provided, so as to avoid toggling from one mode to another too often, at each period), the method comprising: determining, via the motor control unit, a phase of the motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied).
Additionally, Naderi discloses, determining, via motor phase logic within each cell of the plurality of cells, the discrete power output based, at least in part, on the determined phase of the motor and a cell configuration table (0065, the most significant task for a multi-level hysteresis controller is the identification of an appropriate output voltage level at any moment of converter operation based on a current feedback (motor phase) signal IREAL) … (0059, all possible switching states for output converter’s switches with corresponding output voltage levels are presented in Table 1.); regulating, via a plurality of regulators within the plurality of cells, an output of each cell of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the determined power output (0050, it has three main components: the battery 32 with a BMS 36, the supercapacitor module 38 with bidirectional DC-DC converter based on MOSFET Transistors (MOSFETs) S1 and S2 with supercapacitor bank CSC and coupling inductor LC, and the output converter 52 based on four-quadrant H-bridge topology) … (0066, a look-up table 308 presented in FIG. 9 is used for determination of the required output voltage level based on the total state value (output of Sum2) of the hysteresis blocks and taking into account a sign of the real (or reference) current derivative di/dt); and aggregating, via the power bank management unit (27, a master control device), the regulated output of each cell of the plurality of cells (27, configured to use SOC information received from each local control device to generate and output control information to each of the local control devices to balance utilization of each battery across the plurality of converter modules), such that a subset of the plurality of cells collectively generates an output that equals an overall power output corresponding to the determined phase (0051, the AC outputs of each of the different output converter levels are connected in series such that the synthesized voltage waveform is the sum of the inverter outputs).
Regarding claim 20, Despesse and Naderi disclose the method of claim 18, as discussed supra. Additionally, Naderi discloses determining, via the motor control unit, a second phase of the motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied); determining, via motor phase logic, a second cell output based, at least in part, on the determined second phase of the motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied). (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 21-26, thereafter, the regulating block comprises a block 83 for correction, on the basis of the difference between the setpoint values Isetp, Vsetp and the corresponding real values Ireal, Vreal, which transmits a need to a block 84 which determines the series or parallel configuration of the bricks, the number of modules required in the battery and optionally the particular cells of these modules to be used); regulating, via the plurality of regulators within the plurality of cells, a second output of each cell of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the determined second cell output (Despesse, Paragraph 0112, Lines 7-17, in this variant, a bipolar PNP transistor 149 is associated with each cell 111 of the module. All these transistors 149 are controlled by one and the same current of a terminal 142 of a control device 145. This results, at the output 143 of each transistor, in a current whose intensity depends on the voltage of each cell 111, that is to say the charge and state of health of each cell 111. These currents are added together so as to supply the electronic components with a resulting current 144. The control of the transistors 149 is such that the final supply current 144 attains a desired value. The solution makes it possible to invoke the various cells of the module as a function of their state, of their available voltage).
Additionally, Naderi discloses, aggregating, via the power bank management unit, the regulated output of each cell of the plurality of cells, such that the subset of the plurality of cells collectively generates an output that equals a second overall power output corresponding to the determined second phase of the motor (27, a plurality of converter modules arranged in at least three cascades, each cascade comprising at least two converter modules coupled together to output a single phase AC voltage signal comprising a superposition of pulse width modulated (PWM) output voltages from each of the at least two converter modules, wherein the at least three cascades together output AC voltage signals of at least three different phases) … (0051, the AC outputs of each of the different output converter levels are connected in series such that the synthesized voltage waveform is the sum of the inverter outputs).
Claims 2-3, 5, and 13-14 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Despesse (US20140287278A1) in view of Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1) further in view of Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors).
Regarding claim 2, Despesse teaches the powertrain of claim 1 as discussed supra. However Andrews, who is in the same field of endeavor of vehicle electric motors discloses, the electric motor comprising a rotor, and wherein the motor control unit is configured to determine the phase of the electric motor based, at least in part, on a position of the rotor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7, BLDC commutation schemes work by first determining where the rotor is and then using this rotor position information to apply a magnetic field to move the rotor in the desired direction).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention
would have been motivated to combine Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), and Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors) disclosures to dynamically adjust voltage and current output based on the rotors demands. This would ensure efficient power supply and reduce power losses.
Justification for combining Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), and Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors) disclosures not only come from the state of the art but from Despesse (Despesse, Paragraph 0226, Lines 1-3, numerous other variant embodiments of the invention can easily be contemplated through a simple combination of the embodiments and/or their variants described previously).
Regarding claim 3, Despesse teaches the powertrain of claim 2 as discussed supra. However Andrews, discloses, the motor control unit comprises a rotor monitoring system configured to determine the position of the rotor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7, BLDC commutation schemes work by first determining where the rotor is and then using this rotor position information to apply a magnetic field to move the rotor in the desired direction). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Regarding claim 5, Despesse teaches the powertrain of claim 3 as discussed supra. However, Andrews discloses, the rotor monitoring system is configured to determine an angular movement of the rotor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7, BLDC commutation schemes work by first determining where the rotor is and then using this rotor position information to apply a magnetic field to move the rotor in the desired direction). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Regarding claim 13, Despesse teaches the energy storage system of claim 12, as discussed supra. However, Andrews discloses, the motor control unit is configured to determine the phase of the motor based, at least in part, on a position of a rotor of the motor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7, BLDC commutation schemes work by first determining where the rotor is and then using this rotor position information to apply a magnetic field to move the rotor in the desired direction). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Regarding claim 14, Despesse teaches the energy storage system of claim 13, as discussed supra. However, Andrews discloses, the motor control unit comprises a rotor monitoring system configured to determine the position of the rotor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7, BLDC commutation schemes work by first determining where the rotor is and then using this rotor position information to apply a magnetic field to move the rotor in the desired direction).
Claims 4 and 6 are both rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse (US20140287278A1) in view of Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), further in view of Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors) further in view of Callaway (US5663624A).
Regarding claim 4, Despesse, Naderi, and Andrews teach the powertrain of claim 3 as discussed supra. Furthermore, Andrews discloses, a hall effect sensor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 5, Lines 31-33, for sensored commutation, Hall position sensors, encoders, or resolvers can be used. Among these options, Hall position sensors are most common), a decoder (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 5, Lines 25-29, the Hall states can be used to provide information on how to drive the phases to keep the motor spinning, where the state of the Hall sensors can be used as indexes into a software lookup table to get information on how to drive the different phases based on the current position of the rotor), and an electromotive force measurement device or any combination thereof (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 9-15, the second approach is a sensorless method that determines position based on back electromotive force (EMF), which is a voltage that is generated on the motor while it is spinning. The amplitude of the generated back-EMF waveform on a motor is proportional to the speed of the motor). However Andrews does not explicitly disclose, the rotor monitoring system comprising at least one of: an optical sensor.
Nevertheless Callaway who is in the same field of endeavor of precise control for electrical motors discloses, the rotor monitoring system comprises at least one of: an optical sensor (Callaway, DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, Paragraph 5, Lines 1-5, Encoder 38 is a conventional 2-channel incremental optical encoder which provides two square wave output channels in quadrature (90° phase) relationship. Position information is decoded by detecting the transitions from high to low of each channel and the level of the other channel).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), and Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors), and Callaway (US5663624A) disclosures to incorporate Callaway’s optical sensor and 7.5 degree rotor positioning. The rotor position would ensure stable movement with minimal oscillations when combined with adaptive control capabilities. Furthermore, the optical sensor could provide additional real-time position feedback to the motor’s rotor ensuring improved position and motion accuracy.
Justification for combining Despesse (US20140287278A1), Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors) and Callaway (US5663624A) disclosures not only comes from the state of the art but from Callaway (Callaway, Paragraph 22, Line 2-4, it should be readily apparent to those skilled in the art that the invention can be modified in arrangement and detail without departing from such principles).
Regarding claim 6, Despesse, Naderi, and Andrews teach the powertrain of claim 5, as discussed supra. Nevertheless, Callaway discloses, the angular movement of the rotor is 7.5 degrees, and wherein the motor control unit is configured to track 48 discrete positions of the rotor (Callaway, DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, Paragraph 3, Lines 2-4, in the motor of the present embodiment of the invention, one-half step of the motor causes a 7.5° change in output shaft position. There are thus 360°/7.5°=48 half steps per revolution) … (Callaway, DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE PREFERRED EMBODIMENT, Paragraph 7, Lines 5-8, because stepper motor 26 has 48 commutations (in half steps) per revolution, the number of encoder counts per commutation equals N/48=768/48=16. This parameter is defined as Ks, the gain of position generator).
Claims 7, 15-17, and 19 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Despesse (US20140287278A1) in view of Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), further in view of Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors) further in view of Paintz et al (US20110074327A1).
Regarding claim 7, Despesse, Naderi and Andrews teach the powertrain of claim 3, as discussed supra. Nevertheless, Paintz, who is in the same field of endeavor of electrical motors discloses, the motor control unit further comprises a motor clock, and wherein the motor control unit is further configured to determine the phase of the electric motor based, at least in part, on a time calculated by the motor clock (Paintz, Paragraph 0007, Lines 3-10, T1 at which a phase current maximum in a particular motor phase should occur based on detected or estimated back EMF zero crossing events; taking a series of samples representative of the phase current of the motor phase at symmetrical intervals before and after the time T1; using the samples to determine an error function value indicative of the lead angle of the phase current; and adjusting the driving voltage profile to minimize or otherwise selecting the absolute magnitude of the error function value).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi (US20200207219A1), Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors), and Paintz (US20110074327A1) disclosures to adjust voltage levels in response to time-based motor intervals. The time (T1) can be where the phase current peaks. This information can be used to modulate power precisely when it is needed.
Justification for combining Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi (US20200207219A1), Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors) and Paintz (US20110074327A1) disclosures not only comes from the state of the art but from Paintz (Paintz, Paragraph 0055, Lines 2-5, the invention is not limited to the disclosed embodiments. To the contrary, it is intended to cover various modifications and similar arrangements as would be apparent to those skilled in the art).
Regarding claim 15, Despesse, Naderi, and Andrews teach the energy storage system of claim 14, as discussed supra. Nevertheless, Paintz discloses, the motor control unit further comprises a motor clock, and wherein the motor control unit is further configured to determine the phase of the electric motor based, at least in part, on a time calculated by the motor clock (Paintz, Paragraph 0007, Lines 3-10, T1 at which a phase current maximum in a particular motor phase should occur based on detected or estimated back EMF zero crossing events; taking a series of samples representative of the phase current of the motor phase at symmetrical intervals before and after the time T1; using the samples to determine an error function value indicative of the lead angle of the phase current; and adjusting the driving voltage profile to minimize or otherwise selecting the absolute magnitude of the error function value). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Regarding claim 16, Despesse, Naderi, Andrews, and Paintz teach the energy storage system of claim 15, as discussed supra. Furthermore, Despesse discloses, the motor control unit is further configured to determine a second phase of the motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 16-19, the block 80 for determining at least one setpoint value can rely on a vector control, taking into account the adjustment of the amplitude, of the frequency and optionally of the phase of the current/voltage parameter according to the type of motor to be supplied). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Regarding claim 17, Despesse, Naderi, Andrews, and Paintz teach the energy storage system of claim 16, as discussed supra. Furthermore, Despesse discloses, the power bank management unit is further configured to: determine a second overall power output based, at least in part, on the determined second phase of the motor (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 21-26, thereafter, the regulating block comprises a block 83 for correction, on the basis of the difference between the setpoint values Isetp, Vsetp and the corresponding real values Ireal, Vreal, which transmits a need to a block 84 which determines the series or parallel configuration of the bricks, the number of modules required in the battery and optionally the particular cells of these modules to be used); determine a second subset of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the overall second power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0143, Lines 10-13, these commands comprise in particular the number of cells a to iv to be placed in series respectively for each module, or optionally the exact configuration of all the bricks of each module, from among the possible series and parallel combinations) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0143, Lines 17-20, it defines the cells to be placed in series and in parallel as a function of their state of charge, health or other criteria, and of the current demanded so as to attain the voltage demanded); and command each cell of the subset of the plurality of cells to generate the discrete power output, the second subset of the plurality of cells is configured to collectively generate a second output equal to the second overall power output, wherein the second overall power output is different from the overall power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0169, Lines 1-5, the battery management method can also implement any regulation around an output voltage and/or current value. When the output voltage is below the setpoint value, the number n of modules in series is increased, and on the contrary if it is above the setpoint value, then this number n is decreased) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0170, Lines 1-5, if the battery has to provide an AC voltage, or any voltage varying over time according to a given period, the placing in parallel of various parts of the battery can be decided on similar criteria, applied to the amplitude of the sinusoid or of the variable voltage to be provided, so as to avoid toggling from one mode to another too often, at each period). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Regarding claim 19, Despesse and Naderi teach the method of claim 18, as discussed supra. Furthermore, Paintz discloses, the motor control unit comprises a motor clock and wherein determining, via the motor control unit, the phase of the motor is further based on the position of the rotor and a time calculated by the motor clock (Paintz, Paragraph 0007, Lines 3-10, T1 at which a phase current maximum in a particular motor phase should occur based on detected or estimated back EMF zero crossing events; taking a series of samples representative of the phase current of the motor phase at symmetrical intervals before and after the time T1; using the samples to determine an error function value indicative of the lead angle of the phase current; and adjusting the driving voltage profile to minimize or otherwise selecting the absolute magnitude of the error function value). However, Paintz does not explicitly disclose, a rotor monitoring system configured to determine a position of the rotor.
Nevertheless, Andrews discloses a rotor monitoring system configured to determine a position of the rotor (Andrews, BLDC Communication, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7, BLDC commutation schemes work by first determining where the rotor is and then using this rotor position information to apply a magnetic field to move the rotor in the desired direction). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse (US20140287278A1) in view of Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), further in view of Ross (US20070199748A1).
Regarding claim 10, Despesse and Naderi teach the powertrain of claim 9, as discussed supra. Nevertheless, Ross who is in the same field of endeavor of powertrains for vehicles discloses, a regenerative braking system (Ross, Paragraph 0021, Lines 8-10, motor-driven wheel 18 may also function as a regenerative-type brake, acting as braking devices and generating energy to be provided to energy source 14 for storage).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), and Ross (US20070199748A1) disclosures to reduce the overall power consumption and lower operational cost. This would be obvious as Despesse’s disclosure can dynamically reconfigure its voltage and current output which makes it ideal for efficiently capturing and storing regenerated energy.
Justification for combining Despesse (US20140287278A1), Naderi et al. (US20200207219A1), and Ross (US20070199748A1) disclosures not only comes from the state of the art but from Ross (Ross, Paragraph 0035, Lines 2-4, it will be understood by those skilled in the art that changes in form and detail thereof may be made without departing from the scope of the claims).
Regarding claim 11, Despesse and Ross teach the powertrain of claim 10, as discussed supra. Furthermore, Despesse discloses, the power bank management unit is further configured to: determine a third overall power output based, at least in part, on an input received from the regenerative braking system (Despesse, Paragraph 0195, Lines 21-26, thereafter, the regulating block comprises a block 83 for correction, on the basis of the difference between the setpoint values Isetp, Vsetp and the corresponding real values Ireal, Vreal, which transmits a need to a block 84 which determines the series or parallel configuration of the bricks, the number of modules required in the battery and optionally the particular cells of these modules to be used); determine a third subset of the plurality of cells based, at least in part, on the third overall power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0143, Lines 10-13, these commands comprise in particular the number of cells a to iv to be placed in series respectively for each module, or optionally the exact configuration of all the bricks of each module, from among the possible series and parallel combinations) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0143, Lines 17-20, it defines the cells to be placed in series and in parallel as a function of their state of charge, health or other criteria, and of the current demanded so as to attain the voltage demanded): and command each cell of the third subset of the plurality of cells to generate the discrete power output, the subset of the plurality of cells is configured to collectively generate a third output equal to the overall power output, wherein the third overall power output is different from the overall power output and the second overall power output (Despesse, Paragraph 0169, Lines 1-5, the battery management method can also implement any regulation around an output voltage and/or current value. When the output voltage is below the setpoint value, the number n of modules in series is increased, and on the contrary if it is above the setpoint value, then this number n is decreased) … (Despesse, Paragraph 0170, Lines 1-5, if the battery has to provide an AC voltage, or any voltage varying over time according to a given period, the placing in parallel of various parts of the battery can be decided on similar criteria, applied to the amplitude of the sinusoid or of the variable voltage to be provided, so as to avoid toggling from one mode to another too often, at each period). Justification for combining these disclosures is the same reasoning as discussed prior.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Despesse (US20140287278A1) to incorporate the teachings of Ross (US20070199748A1), Callaway (US5663624A), Andrews et al (Brushless DC Motor Commutation Using Hall-Effect Sensors), and Paintz et al (US20110074327A1) to significantly enhance energy efficiency, system longevity, and motor performance. The optical sensors and closed loop feedback would allow precise motor control, reducing energy waste, while time-based intervals optimize power delivery. Regenerative braking would recover lost energy, seamlessly storing it in the adaptive battery architecture, which dynamically adjust volt and current.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665