DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to the Applicant's reply filed July 22, 2026 to the non-final rejection made on May 22, 2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-13 are currently pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Application Priority
This application filed 05/16/2023 is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/082742 filed on 11/24/2021 which has PRO 63/118,036 filed on 11/25/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
No new information disclosure statement(s) (IDS).
The following rejections are made:
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4-8, 11-12 over Merck (Banamine Transdermal/Product Information - 2017, Intervet Inc., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., 5 pages - IDS) in view of Skolnick et al. (US 20080014272 A1) is not persuasive. The rejection is herewith maintained. Applicant argues “Skolnick does not disclose that all routes are interchangeable for all NSAIDs or that a formulation optimized for one route can be used through a different route. A topical/transdermal formulation is specifically designed to cross keratinized skin barriers. Buccal delivery imposes fundamentally different physicochemical requirements ...” Applicant further argues hindsight reconstruction and a teaching away from the subject matter claimed. Additionally, Applicant argues “Skolnick's generic list of possible administration routes. A generic disclosure of a route does not establish that a skilled artisan would expect therapeutic success with a specific drug and specific formulation. Merck's formulation was developed for transdermal absorption. Skolnick does not disclose buccal flunixin formulations. Moreover, Skolnick does not disclose the specific excipient combination. Finally, none of the cited references contain pharmacokinetic data for buccal delivery of flunixin.”
In response, the Court has held that "the test of obviousness is not express suggestion of the claimed invention in any or all of the references but rather what the references taken collectively would suggest to those of ordinary skill in the art presumed to be familiar with them." See In re Rosselet, 146 USPQ 183, 186 (CCPA 1965). "There is no requirement (under 35 USC 103(a)) that the prior art contain an express suggestion to combine known elements to achieve the claimed invention. Rather, the suggestion to combine may come from the prior art, as filtered through the knowledge of one skilled in the art." Motorola, Inc. v. Interdiqital Tech. Corp., 43 USPQ2d 1481, 1489 (Fed. Cir. 1997). An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007) ("The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results."). In this case, Skolnick does not disclose that all routes are interchangeable for all NSAIDs or that a formulation optimized for one route can be used through a different route, it specifies bicifadine, in combination with an NSAID such as flunixin are suitable for routes of administration including oral, buccal, nasal, aerosol, topical, transdermal, mucosal, injectable, slow release, controlled release, iontophoresis, sonophoresis, and other conventional delivery routes, devices and methods. [0107]. The motivation to interchange routes of administration is because Skolnick et al. teaches suitable routes of administration for delivering bicifadine and flunixin include oral, buccal, topical, and transdermal. [0107] A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully administering the flunixin in an oral, buccal, topical, or transdermal form.
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 9-10 and 13 over Merck (Banamine Transdermal/Product Information - 2017, Intervet Inc., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., 5 pages - IDS) in view of Skolnick et al. (US 20080014272 A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Olson (WO 2017199181 A1) depends on the validity of the previous arguments which were not found persuasive. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merck (Banamine Transdermal/Product Information - 2017, Intervet Inc., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., 5 pages - IDS) in view of Skolnick et al. (US 20080014272 A1).
Merck teaches in each milliliter of Banamine Transdermal pour-on contains 50 mg flunixin (equivalent to 83 mg flunixin meglumine), 150 mg 2-pyrrolidone, 50 mg L-menthol, 500 mg propylene glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate NF, 0.20 mg FD&C Red No. 40, and glycerol monocaprylate NF qs. (see DESCRIPTION). The reference teaches the pour-on formulation is useful in control of pyrexia, mastitis, control of pain, in beef cattle and dairy cattle.
While Merck teaches a transdermal pour-on formulation, the reference does not specify a buccal form.
Skolnick et al. teaches treatment of chronic pain conditions and the administration of a first drug, bicifadine, in combination with an NSAID such as the aminonicotinic acid, flunixin to an animal subject, including, but are not limited to, human and other mammalian subjects suffering from chronic pain. [0020] Suitable routes of administration for delivering bicifadine and one or more NSAID(s) include, but are not limited to, oral, buccal (reads on inside of the cheek), nasal, aerosol, topical, transdermal, mucosal, injectable, slow release, controlled release, iontophoresis, sonophoresis, and other conventional delivery routes, devices and methods. [0107]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to interchange routes of administration. The motivation to interchange routes of administration is because Skolnick et al. teaches suitable routes of administration for delivering bicifadine and flunixin include oral, buccal, topical, and transdermal. [0107] A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully administering the flunixin in an oral, buccal, topical, or transdermal form.
Claims 9-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merck (Banamine Transdermal/Product Information - 2017, Intervet Inc., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., 5 pages - IDS) in view of Skolnick et al. (US 20080014272 A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-8, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Olson (WO 2017199181 A1).
Merck and Skolnick et al. as applied above.
Merck and Skolnick et al. do not teach the castration or tail docking of an animal.
Olson teaches treatment of animals in pain associated with castration and tail docking. [0001] Castration and tail docking of piglets is a common management practice on commercial swine farms [0002]. The reference teaches a method of treating an animal for pain comprising administering a topical composition comprising an effective dose of a local anesthetic and an analgesic – such as flunixin. (see claim 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to treat pain associated with castration and tail docking of pigs. The motivation to treat pain associated with castration and tail docking of pigs is because Olson teaches treatment of animals in pain associated with castration and tail docking pain comprising administering a topical composition comprising an effective dose of a local anesthetic and an analgesic – such as flunixin. (claim 3) A skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation of successfully administering the flunixin to pigs treating in pain associated with castration and tail docking pain.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
No claims allowed.
The arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is made FINAL.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622