Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 5/16/2023. Claims 1-11 are pending and are being examined in this Office Action.
Priority
The applicant claims benefit as follows:
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 365(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, EP 20208401.8, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. These applications do not disclose applicant’s molar ratios and excess water added. Thus, the priority date of claims 2, 3, 10, and 11 are 11/09/2021.
Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “Process to the compound”. The examiner recommends instead including the missing verb to recite “Process to prepare the compound”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein a first step”. The examiner recommends instead “comprising in a first step” to incorporate “comprising” transitional language.
Claim 4 recites “process is carried”. The examiner recommends for clarity instead “process is carried out”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102/103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and /or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being obvious over Berni Canani et al. (Berni et al. is used herein) (US 20110098319, published April 28, 2011).
The instant claims are drawn to:
Berni et al. teaches phenylalanine carboxamide (0.01 mol) reacted with butyroyl chloride (0.01 mol), which gives a molar ratio of butyroyl chloride to phenylalanine carboxamide of 1:1. The reaction is performed in 50 ml of chloroform, reacting at room temperature for 24 hours. The resulting reaction mixture was evaporated to give a solid, which was washed with 1% aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution. The aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution was extracted with ethyl acetate to give a mixture of derivative products which was further purified on a silica gel column and recrystallized to give the final compound 1, N-(1-carbamoyl-2-phenyl-ethyl)butyramide (applicant’s compound I) in equal or greater than 50% final yield (0.005 mol; MW 234) (Example 1, paragraphs 55-56).
Berni et al. teaches the equivalency of butyroyl chloride and butyric anhydride for the synthesis of the amide derivative of butyric acid with phenylalanine (which corresponds to N-(1-carbamoyl-2-phenyl-ethyl)butyramide, applicant’s compound I) from appropriate phenylalanine derivative, see Y in claim 1 in an aprotic inert organic solvent, in which Y also represents acyl (2-6 carbon atoms) in
(paragraph 27 and claim 1). The compound (I) is prepared by reacting the two compounds indicated above, preferably in substantially equimolecular amounts, in an aprotic polar inert organic solvent such as, benzene, toluene or chloroform at room temperature (paragraph 43).
Applicant’s compound (II) is specifically disclosed in Berni et al. In claim 1, Berni et al. teaches a process for producing amide derivatives by reacting a short-chain fatty acid derivative with a phenylalanine derivative as shown below:
Berni et al.’s phenylalanine derivative in claim 1 (shown above, left compound) reads on applicant’s compound (II), when X = nitrogen, R = R1 = R2 = R4 = hydrogen and W is nil.
Because Berni et al. teaches the new compounds can be synthesized by reaction of an acid halide with a naturally occurring amino acid, such as a phenylalanine derivative (abstract), this would read on L-phenylalanine, since the L form is naturally occurring. Even if it does not, it would be reasonable to use the chiral L form of the phenyalanine derivative as the reactant, since the naturally occurring form is the form that is most abundant.
Since Berni et al. does not explicitly state the pressure during the synthesis, it would be reasonable to expect the pressure to be ambient pressure (required by claim 6 and 7), since when no pressure is given in synthetic reactions, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume ambient pressure, absent evidence to the contrary. Even if it does not, it would be obvious to optimize the pressure in order to decrease impurities and increase the yield of the product during routine optimization.
Because Berni et al. teaches an aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution was added to the evaporated reaction mixture as a wash, this would read on applicant’s limitation for “water is added to the reaction mixture” in claim 1. Even if it does not, it would be reasonable to add a water-based solution to the reaction mixture in order to quench the reaction and to remove impurities, in particular water soluble impurities, along with the wash solution adjusting the pH.
Since Berni et al. teaches that the addition of the aqueous solution is used as a wash of the reaction mixture, it would be reasonable to expect that the water that is used is distilled water (required by claim 8), in order to minimize the dissolved ions in the water and to minimize the impurities in the product. It would also be reasonable to expect that the added aqueous water solution, as compared to the amino acid derivative starting material (compound II), would be added in great excess, well above a molar ratio of 5:1 for added water to compound II (required by claims 10 and 11), since the water aqueous solution is not used as a reagent but as a wash. Even if it does not, it would be obvious to optimize the molar ratio of the added water solution to compound II in order to increase the amount of impurities washed away in the aqueous sodium bicarbonate water solution.
Berni et al. teaches the excess use of 0.015 mol of butyroyl chloride with 0.01 mol of the amino acid derivative reagent, 2-amino-2-p-toluylacetamide, to synthesize the substituted product, N-(1-carbamoyl-p-toluyl-methyl)butyramide (Example 2, paragraphs 69-70).
Since Berni et al. teaches the excess use of the butyric reagent (corresponding to applicant’s compound III), as compared to the amino acid derivative reagent (corresponding to applicant’s compound II), it would be obvious to utilize a molar ratio of excess compound III to compound II of at least 2:1 (required by claims 2 and 3), especially since the butyric reagent (corresponding to applicant’s compound III) is more volatile, making any excess reagent easier to remove from the synthesized product (butyric anhydride boiling point is 198 degree C).
With regard to the water temperature of claim 9 being below 20 degree C, it would be reasonable to expect that the aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution was stored in the refrigerator, which has a temperature of approximately 3 degree C, since wash solutions are often stored in cool conditions to prevent mold, algae or contaminant growth. Even if the aqueous sodium bicarbonate solution was not below 20 degree C, it would be obvious to cool the aqueous wash solution before washing the reaction mixture in order to decrease the amount of product lost in the aqueous solution wash.
Therefore these claims are fully met.
Conclusion
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
Jennifer Cho Sawyer
Patent Examiner
Art Unit: 1691
/YIH-HORNG SHIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691