DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 15, 18, 22, 25-28, 46 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 15, 18, 22, 25-28, and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, 87-88 of copending Application No. 17/633,906 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10, 12-18, 20, and 87-88 of Application No. 17/633,906 teach or render obvious each and every limitation of claims 1-5, 7-11, 15, 18, 22, 25-28, 46. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: “produced” should instead say “produces”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “wherein at least one radiating structure is positioned within 5 feet of a seed.” It is unclear whether or not the “one or more radiating structure(s)” of claim 1 encompasses the “at least one radiating structure” of claim 11. Because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter, claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim 28 is directed to a method, and it recites “wherein the treatment electromagnetic field is changed with watering cycles for the seed, set timing, an environmental change, and/or stage of the life of the seed.” It is unclear whether or not applicant is attempting to claim method steps. Because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter, claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 18, 22, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2003/002315 to Greyvensteyn (“Greyvensteyn”)1.
Regarding claim 1, Greyvensteyn discloses a seed treatment system configured to treat a seed with an electromagnetic field, the system comprising: a function generator configured to provide a voltage and/or current used to generate the electromagnetic field (pg. 4, lines 5-9); and one or more radiating structure(s) coupled to the function generator and configured to produce the electromagnetic field for applying to the seed (pg. 4, lines 32-34).
Regarding claim 2, Greyvensteyn discloses a computational system (2, 3) configured to receive an input specifying parameters for controlling the function generator and to control the function generator to provide a voltage and/or current used to generate the electromagnetic field according to the input (pg. 4, lines 21-26).
Regarding claim 3, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the computational system is configured to receive a recipe comprising the parameters for controlling the function generator and the parameters specifying a voltage (pg. 4, lines 21-26).
Regarding claim 4, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the computational system is configured to receive more than one recipe comprising the parameters for controlling the function generator and the parameters specifying a carrier wave, and control the function generator to generate any one or more of the more than one recipe (pg. 4, lines 18-26).
Regarding claim 5, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the computational system is configured to receive a schedule for applying the electromagnetic field to the seed and is configured to change the electromagnetic field in accordance with the schedule (pg. 4, lines 24-26; pg. 7, lines 16-19).
Regarding claim 9, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the function generator comprises a transformer (8, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the one or more radiating structure(s) comprises a coil, a spiral antenna, a loop, and/or a plate (pg. 5, lines 31-33).
Regarding claim 22, Greyvensteyn discloses a method of treating a seed, the method comprising: producing a treatment electromagnetic field using the seed treatment system of claim 1 (see analysis of claim 1 above); and applying the treatment electromagnetic field to a seed (Abstract).
Regarding claim 26, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the treatment electromagnetic field is provided as a treatment that is turned on and/or off as part of the treatment (Abstract; note: the claim is broad).
Regarding claim 27, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the amplitude of the treatment electromagnetic field produced an electromagnetic field configured to be dampened by tissue of the seed (Abstract; note: the claim is broad).
Regarding claim 28, Greyvensteyn discloses wherein the treatment electromagnetic field is changed with watering cycles for the seed, set timing, an environmental change, and/or stage of the life of the seed (Abstract; note: the claim is broad).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greyvensteyn, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of WO 2015/154798 to Vogel (“Vogel”).
Regarding claim 7, Greyvensteyn teaches each and every element of claim 2, as discussed above, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the computational system comprises a wireless communication component and is configured to wirelessly receive a recipe and/or schedule.
Vogel teaches a seed treatment system, wherein the computational system comprises a wireless communication component and is configured to wirelessly receive a recipe and/or schedule (pg. 8, lines 21-23; FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Greyvensteyn so that the computational system comprises a wireless communication component and is configured to wirelessly receive a recipe, as taught by Vogel, in order to make it easier to receive a recipe and/or schedule.
Regarding claim 8, Greyvensteyn teaches each and every element of claim 7, as discussed above, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the recipe is encrypted.
Vogel teaches a seed treatment system, wherein the recipe is encrypted (pg. 9, lines 19-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Greyvensteyn so that the recipe is encrypted, as taught by Vogel, in order to protect the data.
Claims 11, 15, 25, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greyvensteyn, as applied to claims 1 and 22 above.
Regarding claim 11, Greyvensteyn teaches each and every element of claim 1, as discussed above, but it does not explicitly teach wherein at least one radiating structure is positioned within 5 feet of a seed.
It is well settled, however, that where the only difference between the prior art and the claimed device is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (MPEP 2144.04, citing In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Greyvensteyn so that at least one radiating structure is positioned within 5 feet of a seed, in order to improve effectiveness.
Regarding claim 15, Greyvensteyn teaches each and every element of claim 1, as discussed above, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more radiating structure comprises a plurality of radiating structures.
Where the only difference between the prior art and claimed invention is a duplicated part, the claimed invention is not patentably distinct from the prior art unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04, citing In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Greyvensteyn so that the one or more radiating structure comprises a plurality of radiating structures, in order to improve effectiveness.
Regarding claim 25, Greyvensteyn teaches each and every element of claim 22, as discussed above, but it does not explicitly teach wherein the treatment electromagnetic field matches an ion cyclotron resonance frequency of calcium, potassium, magnesium, iron, copper, phosphate, phosphorous, and/or nitrogen during at least a portion of the applying the treatment electromagnetic field for a magnetic field strength experienced by the seed during the at least a portion of the applying the treatment electromagnetic field to the seed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Greyvensteyn so that the treatment electromagnetic field matches an ion cyclotron resonance frequency of calcium, potassium, magnesium, iron, copper, phosphate, phosphorous, and/or nitrogen during at least a portion of the applying the treatment electromagnetic field for a magnetic field strength experienced by the seed during the at least a portion of the applying the treatment electromagnetic field to the seed, in order to optimize effectiveness.
Regarding claim 46, Greyvensteyn teaches each and every element of claim 22, as discussed above, but it does not explicitly teach the treatment electromagnetic field has a field strength of 1 to 3 tesla.
It is well settled, however, that “a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree… is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.” In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); see also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Greyvensteyn so that the treatment electromagnetic field has a field strength of 1 to 3 tesla, in order to optimize effectiveness.
Conclusion
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643
1 A copy of the foreign reference was provided by applicatnt on 01/08/2024.