DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 2/26/2026. Claims 1, 15, 16, were amended, Claims 9 and 18-20 were deleted or newly added. Claims 21-24 were newly added. Likewise, claims 1-20 were pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lin et al. (CN 1787024) in view of Stilp (U.S. Patent 7,079,034) further in view of Thibault (U.S. Patent 8773263).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Lin teaches a security alarm system for a window/door, the window/door being moveable relative to a framing thereof, and the security alarm system (Figs 1-2) comprising:
a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (wireless tag 4) and a sensor (read 3 including an RFID reader, wherein either the RFID tag is mounted to the window/door and the sensor is mounted to the framing, or the RFID tag is mounted to the framing and the sensor is mounted to the window/door (Pg 2, ¶005-¶006; Fig 1; the invention door or window opening reminding device can implement the structure of FIG. 1, comprising: 1 door frame or window frame, 2 is a door or window, 4 is a wireless tag)
a sensor including an RFID reader (read 3) mounted on a second one of the window/door and the framing (Pg 2, ¶005-¶006; Fig 1; 1 door frame or window frame, 2 is a door or window, 3 is read) with a distance between the sensor and the RFID tag varying as the window/door is opened (Pg 2, ¶002; the door or window is opened on the door or window mounted reader and wireless tag. when the door or window is opened a certain distance, the reader or a wireless tag signal starts the safety device or an alarm device); and
a control panel (control module, Pg 2, ¶013; reader can be implemented, comprising: a reader/writer 2, and a control module in the reader 21), wherein the sensor signals the control panel to trigger an alarm when the distance between the sensor and the RFID tag increases beyond a threshold distance so altered and the sensor cannot read the RFID tag (Pg 2, ¶002; the door or window is opened on the door or window mounted reader and wireless tag. when the door or window is opened a certain distance, the reader or a wireless tag signal starts the safety device or an alarm device)
Lin is silent on the sensor including a signal range adjuster actuation of which alters the range within which the sensor can read the RFID tag. Stilp from an analogous RFID sensor/transponder for use in a security system art teaches the concept of including a signal range adjuster actuation of which alters the range within which the sensor can read the RFID tag (col 17:55 – col 18:4; Because path lengths and path loss from each RFID transponder to RFID reader are relatively static, RFID reader can use different power levels when communicating with each RFID transponder Lower path losses require lower power to communicate; conversely the RFID reader can step up the power, within the specified limits of the FCC rules, to compensate for higher path losses. The RFID reader can determine the lowest power level to use for each RFID transponder by sequentially stepping down its transmit power on successive reads until no return signal or reflective response can be detected. Then the power level can be increased one or two incremental levels. This determined level can then be used for successive reads. This use of the lowest necessary power level for each RFID transponder can help reduce the possibility of interference while ensuring that each RFID transponder can always be read). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the sensor includes a signal range adjuster actuation of which alters the range within which the sensor can read the RFID tag, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder.
Lin and Stilp are both silent on wherein the signal range adjuster enables the extent to which the window/door is opened without triggering the alarm to be customized. Thibault from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein a signal range adjuster enables the extent to which a window/door is opened without triggering an alarm to be customized (Figs 3, 6, col 13:46-55; a user places security apparatus 106 into a "learn" mode. The learn mode allows the user to place the door or window into an open position without generating an alarm... user may want to be able to open a sliding glass door approximately eight inches to let a dog into the user's home without generating an alarm. The learn mode programs security apparatus 106 to allow the door to be opened to the position set by the user during learn mode without generating an alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein actuation of the signal range adjuster while or prior to opening the window/door enables the window/door to be opened without triggering the alarm, as taught by Thibault in order to provide the non-detection of movement.by the door, window etc.
Regarding claim 2, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Stilp further teaches wherein the signal range adjuster alters an electromagnetic field generated by the RFID reader (Examiner: Stilp’s RFID transponder and RFID reader implies that an electromagnetic field is adjusted to increase and/or decrease power level for reads of the RFID transponder). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the signal range adjuster alters an electromagnetic field generated by the RFID reader, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder.
Regarding claim 3, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Stilp further teaches wherein the signal range adjuster alters the amount of transmitter power output of the RFID reader (col 20:1-3; RFID reader is capable of altering its transmitted power to vary the detection range of this motion detection function; These motion detection functions can occur simultaneously with the reading of RFID transponders; col 22:56-65) Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the signal range adjuster alters the amount of transmitter power output of the RFID reader, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder.
.
Regarding claim 4, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Stilp further teaches wherein the signal range adjuster enables power to the RFID reader to be selectively increased or decreased to expand or reduce the range of the RFID reader (col 25:42-47; RFID reader can take actions to continue with transmission of radiated power, increase amount of power radiated or suspend transmission of radiated power if no RFID transponder requires power for battery charging). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the signal range adjuster enables power to the RFID reader to be selectively increased or decreased to expand or reduce the range of the RFID reader, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder.
Regarding claim 5, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Lin further teaches wherein the RFID reader includes an antenna (Pg 2, ¶007; reader 3 of extension antenna) and wherein the signal range adjuster alters the amount of oscillating current passing through the antenna (Examiner: Stilp’s RFID reader implies including an antenna and wherein the signal range adjuster alters an amount of oscillating current passing through the antenna, which is known and used in the art). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the RFID reader includes an antenna and wherein the signal range adjuster alters the amount of oscillating current passing through the antenna, as implied by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder.
Regarding claim 6, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Lin further teaches wherein the sensor includes a housing within which the RFID reader is positioned (Fig 1) and within which the signal range adjuster is positioned at least in part (Figs 1-10).
Lin and Stilp are both silent on wherein the signal range adjuster is actuated via a push-button mounted to the housing. Thibault from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein the signal range adjuster is actuated via a push-button mounted to the housing (col 11:18-40; user may want to move the door or window into a different position… a homeowner may want to open window 104 slightly to let in a cool breeze and not trip security apparatus 106. Thus, at block 304, a signal is received by processor 200 via user interface 204 instructing processor 200 to disable security device 106. This is typically achieved by the user pressing a "momentary" pushbutton as part of user interface 204. Pressing this button generates the signal that is sent processor 200 instructing processor 200 to temporarily disable security apparatus 106, in one embodiment, as long as the pushbutton is depressed. The term "temporarily disable" means to temporarily a) disable motion sensor 208, b) disable an amplifier associated with a speaker that generates alerts (as part of user interface 204), c) attenuate or mute the volume from a speaker that generates alerts, d) disable transmitter 206, e) change the values stored in memory 202 to values that cannot be achieved by signals from motion sensor 208, f) inhibit or disable processor 200's ability to receive, process, and/or determine whether a signal from motion sensor 208 relates to movement of the window, f) any other way to prevent security apparatus 106 from generating alerts, and/or g) a combination of any of the foregoing). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the signal range adjuster is actuated via a push-button mounted to the housing, as taught by Thibault in order to provide at least part of user interface.
Regarding claim 7, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Thibault further teaches wherein actuation of the signal range adjuster when the window/door is closed causes the control panel to trigger the alarm when the window/door is opened (Fig 3, 6, col 6:10-29; Examiner notes see various examples throughout col 6:10 – col 12:28). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein actuation of the signal range adjuster when the window/door is closed causes the control panel to trigger the alarm when the window/door is opened, as taught by Thibault in order to provide the detection of movement.by the door, window etc.
Regarding claim 8, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Thibault further teaches wherein actuation of the signal range adjuster while or prior to opening the window/door enables the window/door, to be opened without triggering the alarm (Figs 3, 6, col 13:46-55; a user places security apparatus 106 into a "learn" mode. The learn mode allows the user to place the door or window into an open position without generating an alarm... user may want to be able to open a sliding glass door approximately eight inches to let a dog into the user's home without generating an alarm. The learn mode programs security apparatus 106 to allow the door to be opened to the position set by the user during learn mode without generating an alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein actuation of the signal range adjuster while or prior to opening the window/door enables the window/door to be opened without triggering the alarm, as taught by Thibault in order to provide the non-detection of movement.by the door, window etc.
Regarding claim 10, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Thibault further teaches wherein selective actuation of the signal range adjuster enables the extent to which the window/door is opened without triggering the alarm to vary (Figs 3, 6, col 13:46-55; a user places security apparatus 106 into a "learn" mode. The learn mode allows the user to place the door or window into an open position without generating an alarm... user may want to be able to open a sliding glass door approximately eight inches to let a dog into the user's home without generating an alarm. The learn mode programs security apparatus 106 to allow the door to be opened to the position set by the user during learn mode without generating an alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein actuation of the signal range adjuster while or prior to opening the window/door enables the window/door to be opened without triggering the alarm, as taught by Thibault in order to provide the non-detection of movement.by the door, window etc.
Regarding claim 11, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1 and Thibault further teaches wherein selective actuation of the signal range adjuster enables a user-determined extent to which the window/door is open past which the alarm is triggered, to vary incrementally from a fully closed position of the window/door towards a fully open position of the window/door (Figs 3, 6, col 13:46-55; a user places security apparatus 106 into a "learn" mode. The learn mode allows the user to place the door or window into an open position without generating an alarm... user may want to be able to open a sliding glass door approximately eight inches to let a dog into the user's home without generating an alarm. The learn mode programs security apparatus 106 to allow the door to be opened to the position set by the user during learn mode without generating an alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein selective actuation of the signal range adjuster enables a user-determined extent to which the window/door is open past which the alarm is triggered, to vary incrementally from a fully closed position of the window/door towards a fully open position of the window/door, as taught by Thibault in order to provide the detection of specific movements.by the door, window etc.
Regarding claim 12, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1, and Stilp further teaches wherein the sensor further includes a microprocessor (Fig 9, processor 203), and wherein when the signal range adjuster is actuated, the microprocessor determines whether the sensor reads the RFID tag, and if no, causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase the range of the RFID reader until the sensor reads the RFID tag (col 29:25-39; RFID reader 200 is capable of altering its transmitted power so as to vary the range of its read zone (that is, the distance and shape of the area in which the RFID reader 200 can communicate with an RFID transponder 100). 47 CFR 15.245 permits a maximum average transmit power of 75 milliwatts, but there is no restriction on how low the power can be set… etc., see col 29:25-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the sensor further includes a microprocessor and wherein when the signal range adjuster is actuated, the microprocessor determines whether the sensor reads the RFID tag, and if no, causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase the range of the RFID reader until the sensor reads the RFID tag, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder enhancing security.
Regarding claim 13, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 12 and Stilp further teaches wherein after the microprocessor causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase the range of the RFID reader until the sensor reads the RFID tag, the microprocessor renders the signal range adjuster inoperable (col 29:25-39; RFID reader 200 is capable of altering its transmitted power so as to vary the range of its read zone (that is, the distance and shape of the area in which the RFID reader 200 can communicate with an RFID transponder 100). 47 CFR 15.245 permits a maximum average transmit power of 75 milliwatts, but there is no restriction on how low the power can be set… etc., see col 29:25-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein after the microprocessor causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase the range of the RFID reader until the sensor reads the RFID tag, the microprocessor renders the signal range adjuster inoperable, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder enhancing security.
Regarding claim 14, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 12 and Stilp further teaches wherein after the microprocessor causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase the range of the RFID reader until the sensor reads the RFID tag, the microprocessor renders the signal range adjuster inoperable until the signal range adjuster is actuated once more (col 29:25-39; RFID reader 200 is capable of altering its transmitted power so as to vary the range of its read zone (that is, the distance and shape of the area in which the RFID reader 200 can communicate with an RFID transponder 100). 47 CFR 15.245 permits a maximum average transmit power of 75 milliwatts, but there is no restriction on how low the power can be set… etc., see col 29:25-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein after the microprocessor causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase the range of the RFID reader until the sensor reads the RFID tag, the microprocessor renders the signal range adjuster inoperable until the signal range adjuster is actuated once more, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder enhancing security.
Regarding claim 15, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 1, and Stilp further teaches wherein the sensor further includes a microprocessor, and wherein when the signal range adjuster is actuated, the microprocessor determines whether the sensor reads the RFID tag, and if so, i) the microprocessor causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally decrease until the sensor no longer reads the RFID tag, and thereafter causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase until the sensor reads the RFID tag once more, or ii) the microprocessor incrementally decreases the range of the RFID reader until the microprocessor determines that the RFID reader reaches a predetermined minimum threshold level of reading the RFID tag (col 29:25-39; RFID reader 200 is capable of altering its transmitted power so as to vary the range of its read zone (that is, the distance and shape of the area in which the RFID reader 200 can communicate with an RFID transponder 100). 47 CFR 15.245 permits a maximum average transmit power of 75 milliwatts, but there is no restriction on how low the power can be set… etc., see col 29:25-39; During the enrollment mode, one or more RFID readers 200 are instructed to prepare for enrollment, which entails setting its power level to a low level, thereby creating only a small read zone near to the RFID reader 200. The RFID reader 200 may command all known RFID transponders 100, that is those RFID transponders 100 already enrolled with the master controller, to not respond to the RFID reader 200, thereby allowing the RFID reader 200 to receive responses only from new RFID transponders 100 not already enrolled. The user of the system brings an unenrolled RFID transponder 100 near to the RFID reader 200. Near in this case will typically be within 20 to 30 centimeters of the RFID reader 200. Once the RFID reader 200 can detect the RFID transponder 100, the RFID reader 200 will sequentially step its power down in incremental steps to verify that the RFID transponder 100 is in fact very near to the RFID reader 200. Each incremental step down in power further reduces the size and shape of the read zone. As the power is reduced, all other RFID transponders 100 in the vicinity of the RFID reader 200 should no longer be detectable, and only the RFID transponder 100 being enrolled will be detectable. The RFID reader 200 will reduce its power to a predetermined threshold, at which point the RFID reader 200 can be reasonably certain that the RFID transponder 100 is physically close to the RFID reader 200. At this point of physical closeness and low power, it is highly unlikely that the communications between the two devices can be intercepted. At this point, the RFID transponder 100 provides its unique serial number including the detailed information required for the RFID reader 200 and RFID transponder 100 to engage in encrypted communications. After this particular exchange, the RFID transponder 100 is enrolled, and the master controller may provide audible or visual feedback to the user that the RFID transponder 100 has been enrolled. Now the RFID transponder 100 may be installed.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the sensor further includes a microprocessor, and wherein when the signal range adjuster is actuated, the microprocessor determines whether the sensor reads the RFID tag, and if so, i) the microprocessor causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally decrease until the sensor no longer reads the RFID tag, and thereafter causes the signal range adjuster to incrementally increase until the sensor reads the RFID tag once more, or ii) the microprocessor incrementally decreases the range of the RFID reader until the microprocessor determines that the RFID reader reaches a predetermined minimum threshold level of reading the RFID tag, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder enhancing the security of communications.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Lin teaches a method of installing a security alarm system for a window/door (Figs 1-2), the system including a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag (wireless tag 4), including a sensor (read 3) with an RFID reader, (Pg 2, ¶005-¶006; Fig 1; the invention door or window opening reminding device can implement the structure of FIG. 1, comprising: 1 door frame or window frame, 2 is a door or window, 4 is a wireless tag) and including a signal range adjuster, the window/door being moveable relative to a framing thereof, and the method comprising:
opening the window/door to a user-determined position (Pg 2, ¶002; the door or window is opened on the door or window mounted reader); and
providing a control panel (control module, Pg 2, ¶013; reader can be implemented, comprising: a reader/writer 2, and a control module in the reader 21) to which the sensor signals to trigger an alarm when a distance between the sensor and the RFID tag increases past said user-determined position such that the sensor is unable to read the RFID tag (Pg 2, ¶002; the door or window is opened on the door or window mounted reader and wireless tag. when the door or window is opened a certain distance, the reader or a wireless tag signal starts the safety device or an alarm device).
Lin is silent on adjusting via said signal range adjuster, a maximum signal range of the sensor past which the sensor is unable to read the RFID tag to correspond to said user-determined position. Stilp from an analogous RFID sensor/transponder for use in a security system art teaches the concept of adjusting via said signal range adjuster, a maximum signal range of the sensor past which the sensor is unable to read the RFID tag to correspond to said user-determined position (col 17:55 – col 18:4; Because path lengths and path loss from each RFID transponder to RFID reader are relatively static, RFID reader can use different power levels when communicating with each RFID transponder Lower path losses require lower power to communicate; conversely the RFID reader can step up the power, within the specified limits of the FCC rules, to compensate for higher path losses. The RFID reader can determine the lowest power level to use for each RFID transponder by sequentially stepping down its transmit power on successive reads until no return signal or reflective response can be detected. Then the power level can be increased one or two incremental levels. This determined level can then be used for successive reads. This use of the lowest necessary power level for each RFID transponder can help reduce the possibility of interference while ensuring that each RFID transponder can always be read). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept adjusting a maximum signal range of the sensor past which the sensor is unable to read the RFID tag to correspond to said user-determined position, as taught by Stilp in order for an RFID reader to use different power levels when communicating with each RFID sensor/transponder.
Lin and Stilp are both silent on wherein the signal range adjuster enables the extent to which the window/door is opened without triggering the alarm to be customized. Thibault from an analogous art teaches the concept wherein a signal range adjuster enables the extent to which a window/door is opened without triggering an alarm to be customized (Figs 3, 6, col 13:46-55; a user places security apparatus 106 into a "learn" mode. The learn mode allows the user to place the door or window into an open position without generating an alarm... user may want to be able to open a sliding glass door approximately eight inches to let a dog into the user's home without generating an alarm. The learn mode programs security apparatus 106 to allow the door to be opened to the position set by the user during learn mode without generating an alarm). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the system of Lin with the concept wherein the signal range adjuster enables the extent to which the window/door is opened without triggering the alarm to be customized. as taught by Thibault in order to provide the non-detection of movement.by the door, window etc.
Regarding claim 17, Lin and Stilp teach the system as claimed in claim 16, and Thibault further teaches wherein the opening step includes opening the window/door to facilitate ventilation and inhibit an intruder from passing through said window/door (col 11:18-40; user may want to move the door or window into a different position… a homeowner may want to open window 104 slightly to let in a cool breeze and not trip security apparatus 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the system of Lin and Stilp with the concept wherein the signal range adjuster is actuated via a push-button mounted to the housing, as taught by Thibault in order to provide a relaxed detection of movement.by the door, window etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1-20 have been fully considered, but are moot because independent claims 1 and 16 were amended by Applicant to include new features in a clearer way, (i.e. without the previous ambiguity) that was not previously presented. Therefore, the scope of claims 1-20 and their dependent claims has changed. However, another prior art is applied to reject these clearer claims.
Conclusion
Claims 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685