DETAILED ACTIONClaims StatusClaims 16, 25 and 35 filed 11/12/2025 have been amended. Claims 16-35 are pending and have been rejected. Claims 1-15 were previously canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s asserts that neither Kato nor Tiwari, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests discovering a cryptographic capability of a byte-addressable non-volatile memory by querying a memory-controller interface, determining whether that capability satisfies a cryptographic requirement associated with cache data, or copying the cache data by a byte-addressable memory operation while relying on the non-volatile memory to encrypt the data. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the prior art of Kato (U.S. Publication 2015/0370704) is used to disclosed the features of cryptographic mechanism is provided in the nonvolatile external storage device shown in paragraph 0099. The prior art of Tiwari et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100403) is used to disclosed the features of volatile storage device and non-volatile storage to store data providing different addresses.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16, 25 and 34 (“a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory”) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 25, 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (U.S. Publication 2015/0370704), hereinafter ‘Kato’ in view of Tiwari et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100403), hereinafter ‘Tiwari’ and Haghighat et al. (U.S. Publication 2021/0263779), hereinafter “Haghighat”.
As to claim 16, Kato discloses a method, implemented at a computer system that includes a processor, a first memory that is byte-addressable and volatile, and a second memory that is byte-addressable and non-volatile, comprising: discovering, by querying a memory controller interface of the second memory (Kato, see [0099], cryptographic mechanism is provided in the nonvolatile external storage device), Kato is silent to identifying a portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the portion of cache data being associated with a cryptographic requirement for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage; determining that the cryptographic requirement is met by the cryptographic capability; and copying, by the byte-addressable memory operation, the portion of cache data to the second memory while relying on the second memory to encrypt the portion of cache data. However, Tiwari discloses identifying a portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the portion of cache data being associated with a cryptographic requirement for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device); determining that the cryptographic requirement is met by the cryptographic capability (Tiwari, see [0089-0091], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt the data on the volatile storage device by encrypting any data, wherein encryption can be any form of suitable encryption); and copying, by the byte-addressable memory operation, the portion of cache data to the second memory while relying on the second memory to encrypt the portion of cache data (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to adapt systems to enhance the functionalities of devices and/or components that cannot perform the one or more functionalities (Tiwari – 0001). Kato in view of Tiwari is silent to a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory; However, Haghighat discloses a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory (Haghighat, see [1150], key is automatically reassigned, which is used to encrypt a second memory); Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari and Haghighat in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari and the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to share access to the keys used to encrypt the corresponding regions of shared memory (Haghighat – 1151).
As to claim 17, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16. Tiwari further discloses wherein identifying the portion of cache data comprises identifying a plurality of portions of cache data, each portion of cache data being associated with the cryptographic requirement (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device).
As to claim 25, Kato discloses a method, implemented at a computer system that includes a processor, a first memory that is byte-addressable and volatile, and a second memory that is byte-addressable and non- volatile, comprising: discovering, by querying a memory controller interface of the second memory (Kato, see [0099], cryptographic mechanism is provided in the nonvolatile external storage device), Kato is silent to identifying a portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the portion of cache data being associated with a cryptographic requirement for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage; determining that the cryptographic requirement is not met by the cryptographic capability; encrypting the portion of cache data to generate an encrypted portion of cache data; and copying, by a byte-addressable memory operation, the encrypted portion of cache data to the second memory.
However, Tiwari disclose to identifying a portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the portion of cache data being associated with a cryptographic requirement for storing the portion of cache data on non-volatile storage (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device); determining that the cryptographic requirement is not met by the cryptographic capability (Tiwari, see [0089], encrypt data on volatile storage device); encrypting the portion of cache data to generate an encrypted portion of cache data (Tiwari, see [0089- 0090], encrypt data on non-volatile storage device); and copying, by a byte-addressable memory operation, the encrypted portion of cache data to the second memory (See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device , see [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to adapt systems to enhance the functionalities of devices and/or components that cannot perform the one or more functionalities (Tiwari – 0001). Kato in view of Tiwari is silent to a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory; However, Haghighat discloses a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory (Haghighat, see [1150], key is automatically reassigned, which is used to encrypt a second memory); Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari and Haghighat in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari and the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to share access to the keys used to encrypt the corresponding regions of shared memory (Haghighat – 1151).
As to claim 33, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 25. Kato further discloses wherein encrypting the portion of cache data to generate the encrypted portion of cache data comprises executing an instruction at the processor to encrypt the portion of cache data (Kato, see [0039], the cryptographic device encrypts and decrypts data input to and output from the nonvolatile external storage unit. See [0207], computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) to perform the functions).
As to claim 34, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 33. Kato further discloses wherein the instruction leverages a hardware encryption acceleration capability of the processor (Kato, see [0207], computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions to perform the functions and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions by the computer of the system or apparatus).
As to claim 35, Kato discloses a computer system comprising: a processor (Kato, see fig. 11 , CPU); a first memory that is byte-addressable and volatile (Kato, see fig. 11, volatile); a second memory that is byte-addressable and non-volatile (Kato, see fig. 11, non-volatile); and a computer-readable medium that stores computer-executable instructions that are executable by the processor to cause the computer system to at least: discovering, by querying a memory controller interface of the second memory (Kato, see [0099], cryptographic mechanism is provided in the nonvolatile external storage device), Kato is silent to identify a first portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the first portion of cache data being associated with a first cryptographic requirement for storing the first portion of cache data on non-volatile storage; determine that the first cryptographic requirement is met by the cryptographic capability; based on the first cryptographic requirement being met by the cryptographic capability, copy, by a byte-addressable memory operation, the first portion of cache data to the second memory while relying on the second memory to encrypt the first portion of cache data; identify a second portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the second portion of cache data being associated with a second cryptographic requirement for storing the second portion of cache data on non-volatile storage; determine that the second cryptographic requirement is not met by the cryptographic capability; and based on the second cryptographic requirement being not met by the cryptographic capability, encrypt the second portion of cache data to generate an encrypted portion of cache data; and copy the encrypted portion of cache data to the second memory. However, Tiwari discloses identify a first portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the first portion of cache data being associated with a first cryptographic requirement for storing the first portion of cache data on non-volatile storage (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device); determine that the first cryptographic requirement is met by the cryptographic capability (Tiwari, see [0089-0091], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt the data on the volatile storage device by encrypting any data, wherein encryption can be any form of suitable encryption); based on the first cryptographic requirement being met by the cryptographic capability, copy the first portion of cache data to the second memory while relying on the second memory to encrypt the first portion of cache data (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device); identify a second portion of cache data stored in the first memory that is to be copied to the second memory, the second portion of cache data being associated with a second cryptographic requirement for storing the second portion of cache data on non-volatile storage (Tiwari, see [0090], the volatile storage operating system processes a request to encrypt data on the non-volatile storage device by encrypting any data. See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device); determine that the second cryptographic requirement is not met by the cryptographic capability (Tiwari, see [0089], encrypt data on volatile storage device); and based on the second cryptographic requirement being not met by the cryptographic capability, encrypt the second portion of cache data to generate an encrypted portion of cache data (Tiwari, see [0089- 0090], encrypt data on non-volatile storage device); and copy, by a byte-addressable memory operation, the encrypted portion of cache data to the second memory (See [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device , see [0112], the volatile storage firmware initiates the copying of the data by instructing the DMA engine to copy the data from the volatile storage device to the non-volatile storage device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to adapt systems to enhance the functionalities of devices and/or components that cannot perform the one or more functionalities (Tiwari – 0001). Kato in view of Tiwari is silent to a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory; However, Haghighat discloses a cryptographic capability of the second memory, including whether the second memory automatically encrypts data copied to the second memory (Haghighat, see [1150], key is automatically reassigned, which is used to encrypt a second memory); Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari and Haghighat in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari and the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to share access to the keys used to encrypt the corresponding regions of shared memory (Haghighat – 1151).
Claims 18, 19, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (U.S. Publication 2015/0370704), hereinafter ‘Kato’ in view of Tiwari et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100403), hereinafter ‘Tiwari’, Kato’ in view of Tiwari et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100403), hereinafter ‘Tiwari’ and Haghighat et al. (U.S. Publication 2021/0263779), hereinafter “Haghighat” and Bak et al. (U.S. Publication 2012/0233438), hereinafter ‘Bak’.
As to claim 18, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to wherein the portion of cache data comprises a trimmed memory page in a standby list. However, Bak discloses wherein the portion of cache data comprises a trimmed memory page in a standby list (Bak, see [0052], memory manager finds eligible pages to be trimmed. See [0077], the page may be removed from modified list 214 and added to standby list). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Bak in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method for maintaining a pagefile of a computer system using a technique of reserving portions of the pagefile for related memory pages from the teachings of Bak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to increase the computer system with the efficiency of memory management functionalities (Bak – Abstract).
As to claim 19, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to wherein the portion of cache data comprises an active memory pages copied to a page file. However, Bak discloses wherein the portion of cache data comprises an active memory pages copied to a page file (Bak, see [0052], if memory manager finds some other pages nearby that are trimmed, but there are pages in between that are not being trimmed, page writer can implement a sequential writing of these separated pages). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Bak in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method for maintaining a pagefile of a computer system using a technique of reserving portions of the pagefile for related memory pages from the teachings of Bak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to increase the computer system with the efficiency of memory management functionalities (Bak – Abstract).
As to claim 27, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 25, but is silent to wherein the portion of cache data comprises a trimmed memory page in a standby list. However, Bak discloses wherein the portion of cache data comprises a trimmed memory page in a standby list (Bak, see [0052], memory manager finds eligible pages to be trimmed. See [0077], the page may be removed from modified list 214 and added to standby list). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Bak in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method for maintaining a pagefile of a computer system using a technique of reserving portions of the pagefile for related memory pages from the teachings of Bak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to increase the computer system with the efficiency of memory management functionalities (Bak – Abstract).
As to claim 28, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 25, but is silent to wherein the portion of cache data comprises an active memory page copied to a page file. However, Bak discloses wherein the portion of cache data comprises an active memory page copied to a page file (Bak, see [0052], if memory manager finds some other pages nearby that are trimmed, but there are pages in between that are not being trimmed, page writer can implement a sequential writing of these separated pages). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Bak in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method for maintaining a pagefile of a computer system using a technique of reserving portions of the pagefile for related memory pages from the teachings of Bak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to increase the computer system with the efficiency of memory management functionalities (Bak – Abstract).
Claims 20-23 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (U.S. Publication 2015/0370704), hereinafter ‘Kato’ in view of Tiwari et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100403), hereinafter ‘Tiwari’, Haghighat et al. (U.S. Publication 2021/0263779), hereinafter “Haghighat” and Zeh et al. (U.S. Publication 2020/0092098), hereinafter ‘Zeh’.
As to claim 20, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to further comprising presenting a first application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the first API identifying the cryptographic capability. However, Zeh discloses presenting a first application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the first API identifying the cryptographic capability (Zeh, see [0026], the first and second input interfaces 212, 222 are each configured to receive input data, that contains configuration data, for a cryptographic operation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to receive data from the communication interface in order to encrypted/decrypted and/or authenticated/signed (Zeh – 0026).
As to claim 21, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to further comprising presenting a second application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the second API enabling specification of the cryptographic requirement. However, Zeh discloses presenting a second application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the second API enabling specification of the cryptographic requirement (Zeh, see [0026], the first and second input interfaces 212, 222 are each configured to receive input data, that contains configuration data, for a cryptographic operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to receive data from the communication interface in order to encrypted/decrypted and/or authenticated/signed (Zeh – 0026).
As to claim 22, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to wherein the cryptographic requirement includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm. However, Zeh discloses wherein the cryptographic requirement includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm (Zeh, see [0028], the first and second crypto compute processors are each configured to execute a cryptographic operation, which could be any symmetric cipher, asymmetric algorithm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to make modifications during a predetermined period of time until modification rights expire (Zeh – 0027).
As to claim 23, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to wherein the cryptographic capability includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm. However, Zeh discloses wherein the cryptographic capability includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm (Zeh, see [0028], the first and second crypto compute processors are each configured to execute a cryptographic operation, which could be any symmetric cipher, asymmetric algorithm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to make modifications during a predetermined period of time until modification rights expire (Zeh – 0027).
As to claim 29, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 26, but is silent to further comprising presenting a first application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the first API identifying the cryptographic capability. However, Zeh discloses presenting a first application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the first API identifying the cryptographic capability (Zeh, see [0026], the first and second input interfaces 212, 222 are each configured to receive input data, that contains configuration data, for a cryptographic operation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to receive data from the communication interface in order to encrypted/decrypted and/or authenticated/signed (Zeh – 0026).
As to claim 30, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 25, but is silent to further comprising presenting a second application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the second API enabling specification of the cryptographic requirement. However, Zeh discloses presenting a second application programming interface (API) to an application executing at the processor, the second API enabling specification of the cryptographic requirement (Zeh, see [0026], the first and second input interfaces 212, 222 are each configured to receive input data, that contains configuration data, for a cryptographic operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to receive data from the communication interface in order to encrypted/decrypted and/or authenticated/signed (Zeh – 0026).
As to claim 31, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 25, but is silent to wherein the cryptographic requirement includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm. However, Zeh discloses wherein the cryptographic requirement includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm (Zeh, see [0028], the first and second crypto compute processors are each configured to execute a cryptographic operation, which could be any symmetric cipher, asymmetric algorithm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to make modifications during a predetermined period of time until modification rights expire (Zeh – 0027).
As to claim 32, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 25, but is silent to wherein the cryptographic capability includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm. However, Zeh discloses wherein the cryptographic capability includes one or more of a cryptographic key lifetime, a cryptographic key length, or a cryptographic algorithm (Zeh, see [0028], the first and second crypto compute processors are each configured to execute a cryptographic operation, which could be any symmetric cipher, asymmetric algorithm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Zeh in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Zeh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to make modifications during a predetermined period of time until modification rights expire (Zeh – 0027).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (U.S. Publication 2015/0370704), hereinafter ‘Kato’ in view of Tiwari et al (U.S. Publication 2022/0100403), hereinafter ‘Tiwari’ and Beale (U.S. Publication 2015/0281336), hereinafter ‘Beale’.
As to claim 24, Kato in view of Tiwari & Haghighat discloses everything disclosed in claim 16, but is silent to wherein copying the portion of cache data to the second memory is a processor-bound operation. However, Beale discloses wherein copying the portion of cache data to the second memory is a processor-bound operation (Beale, see [0175], portions of the task can be offloaded to another computing system, wherein a task can be identified as portable if it is processor-bound and memory-bound in order to execute independently). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato in view of Tiwari, Haghighat and Beale in order to further modify the method for a nonvolatile main memory unit from the teachings of Kato with the method for modular hybrid storage devices from the teachings of Tiwari with the method for provide enhanced function as a service to users from the teachings of Haghighat and the method of cryptographic diversity from the teachings of Beale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to offload resource utilization for procedures containing task that are identifiable as being portable/bound to a known set of computing resources (Beale – 0175).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443