DETAILED ACTIONS
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to adequately show the needle shield remover 4 and the needle shroud 11 as described in the specification. Although these reference characters are included in Fig 1, the drawings do not clearly show these features; specifically, reference character 11 appears to point to an empty space while reference characters 4 appears to point only to a flexible arm. Based on these drawings, a proper understanding of the structure of the needle shield remover and the needle shroud and their relationship with the other elements of the invention cannot be achieved. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites “the initial reservoir position” and “the end reservoir position” on line 2, but each of these phrases lack proper antecedent basis. Claim 27 introduces each of these positions, but claim 29 does not depend from claim 27. It is unclear if claim 29 was intended to introduce each of these positions or depend from claim 27. Claim 29 depends on claim 28 and also recites “the initial needle shield remover position” and “the end needle shield remover position” which are each introduced in claim 28 (which does not depend on claim 27). If claim 29 were to be interpreted as still depending on claim 28, but claim 28 were to be interpreted as depending on claim 27 (in order to provide proper antecedent basis for all four “positions” recited in claim 29), then claims 28 and 30 would be substantial duplicates thereof. In order to avoid duplicate claims, claim 29 is interpreted as reciting “[[the]] an initial reservoir position” and “[[the]] an end reservoir position” for the sake of examination. Accordingly, it is suggested to either (1) amend claim 29 in this manner or (2) amend claim 28 to depend on claim 27, delete claim 30, and amend claim 31 to depend on claim 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-23, 25, 26, 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donald et al. (PG PUB 2012/0065593).
Re claim 17, Donald discloses an arrangement for a drug delivery device (seen with needle shield remover 130 on in Fig 5 and off in Fig 3), the arrangement comprising: a housing 112 (Fig 5) with a proximal end (to the right in Fig 5) and a distal end (to the left in Fig 5); a needle shield remover 130 or 161 (best seen in Fig 6) configured to be rotationally locked to a needle shield 117 (Fig 7,9) covering a needle 118 (Fig 8) (Para 34), wherein the needle shield remover is releasably connected or releasably connectable to the housing (Para 42); and a guiding interface 113+131 (Fig 3,6), wherein the guiding interface is configured such that, when the needle shield remover rotates with respect to the housing from a state in which the needle shield remover is connected to the housing, the guiding interface guides a movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing in a direction away from the proximal end of the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 42), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 42).
Re claim 18, Donald discloses that the axial and rotational movements of the needle shield remover relative to the housing occur simultaneously (based on the shape of slot 113, as seen in Fig 3, Para 37).
Re claim 19, Donald discloses that the needle shield remover is a cap (when the remover is the entirety of 130) or comprises a part of a cap assembly (when the needle shield remover is cylinder 161, as seen in Fig 6).
Re claim 20, Donald discloses that, in the cap assembly, the needle shield remover is assembled with a cap (the outer annular wall surrounding cylinder 161, having indentations 131 formed thereon, as seen in Fig 6) and rotationally locked to the cap (Para 38).
Re claim 21, Donald discloses that the guiding interface defines a rotational direction for a rotation required to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 42, based on the shape of the track 113 seen in Fig 3).
Re claim 22, Donald discloses that the guiding interface is configured such that a rotation in only one direction is permitted to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (based on the shape of the track 113 seen in Fig 3).
Re claim 23, Donald discloses that the guiding interface comprises at least one guide track 113 that is configured to guide the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing when the needle shield remover is disconnected from the housing (Para 42).
Re claim 25, Donald discloses that the housing is configured to receive a reservoir 114 (Fig 7) or the reservoir is received in the housing (Para 34), wherein the reservoir comprises a reservoir body 116 (Fig 7) with an interior region that is configured to retain a medicament and the needle for providing a fluid communication between the interior region of the reservoir body and an exterior portion of the reservoir body (as seen in Fig 8), and wherein the needle is covered by the needle shield (as seen in Fig 9) (Para 34).
Re claim 26, Donald discloses that the reservoir, when received in the housing, is axially secured relative to the housing, and wherein an axial position of the reservoir relative to the housing does not change when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing (since Para 42 sets forth that the boot moves relative to the reservoir).
Re claim 28, Donald discloses that the needle shield remover is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is disconnected from the housing, the needle shield remover rotates from an initial needle shield remover position relative to the housing to an end needle shield remover position relative to the housing (Para 42).
Re claim 33, Donald discloses a drug delivery device (seen with the needle shield remover 130 on in Fig 5 and off in Fig 3) comprising an arrangement (the structure of the drug delivery device, itself), the arrangement comprising: a housing 112 (Fig 5) with a proximal end (to the right in Fig 5) and a distal end (to the left in Fig 5); a needle shield remover 130 (best seen in Fig 6) configured to be rotationally locked to a needle shield 117 (Fig 7,9) covering a needle 118 (as seen in Fig 9, Para 34, wherein the needle shield remover is releasably connected or releasably connectable to the housing (Para 42); and a guiding interface 113+131 (as seen in Fig 3 and 6), wherein the guiding interface is configured such that, when the needle shield remover rotates with respect to the housing from a state in which the needle shield remover is connected to the housing, the guiding interface guides a movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing in a direction away from the proximal end of the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 42), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 42, based on the shape of the pathway 113 seen in Fig 3).
Claims 17-21, 23-26, 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James et al. (PG PUB 2008/0269692).
Re claim 17, James discloses an arrangement 20 (Fig 1) for a drug delivery device, the arrangement comprising: a housing 28 (Fig 1,6) with a proximal end (directed upward in Fig 1) and a distal end (directed downward in Fig 1); a needle shield remover 44 (Fig 1,6) configured to be rotationally locked to a needle shield 72 (Fig 4) covering a needle 64 (Fig 4), wherein the needle shield remover is releasably connected or releasably connectable to the housing (Para 53,54); and a guiding interface 52+40 (Fig 6), wherein the guiding interface is configured such that, when the needle shield remover rotates with respect to the housing from a state in which the needle shield remover is connected to the housing, the guiding interface guides a movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing in a direction away from the proximal end of the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 54), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 54).
Re claim 18, James discloses that the axial and rotational movements of the needle shield remover relative to the housing occur simultaneously (due to the curved shape of camps 52, Para 54).
Re claim 19, James discloses that the needle shield remover is a cap (when the remover is the entirety of 44) or comprises a part of a cap assembly (when the remover is cylindrical member 50 of cap 44) (as seen in Fig 6, Para 53).
Re claim 20, James discloses that, in the cap assembly, the needle shield remover is assembled with a cap and rotationally locked to the cap (as seen in Fig 6, Para 53).
Re claim 21, James discloses that the guiding interface defines a rotational direction for a rotation required to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 54).
Re claim 23, James discloses that the guiding interface comprises at least one guide track 40 (Fig 6) that is configured to guide the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing when the needle shield remover is disconnected from the housing (Para 54).
Re claim 24, James discloses that the guiding interface is a first guiding interface (the left half of camming face 260, as seen in Fig 22), and wherein the movement is a first movement, wherein the arrangement further comprises a second guiding interface (the right half of camming face 260, as seen in Fig 22) that is configured to guide a second movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing during a disconnection of the needle shield remover from the housing, and wherein a second rotational direction defined by the second guiding interface is opposite to a first rotational direction defined by the first guiding interface (Para 54 and Para 81, “for either direction of cap twisting”).
Re claim 25, James discloses that the housing is configured to receive a reservoir 62 (Fig 4) or the reservoir is received in the housing, wherein the reservoir comprises a reservoir body 66 (Fig 4) with an interior region that is configured to retain a medicament (Para 55) and the needle for providing a fluid communication between the interior region of the reservoir body and an exterior portion of the reservoir body (Para 55), and wherein the needle is covered by the needle shield (as seen in Fig 4).
Re claim 26, James discloses that the reservoir, when received in the housing, is axially secured relative to the housing, and wherein an axial position of the reservoir relative to the housing does not change when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing (Para 56, due to flange 70 being held in place).
Re claim 28, James discloses that the needle shield remover is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is disconnected from the housing, the needle shield remover rotates from an initial needle shield remover position relative to the housing to an end needle shield remover position relative to the housing (Para 54).
Re claim 33, James discloses a drug delivery device 20 (Fig 1) comprising an arrangement (the structure of the device 20 itself), the arrangement comprising: a housing 28 (Fig 1,6) with a proximal end (directed upward in Fig 1) and a distal end (directed downward in Fig 1); a needle shield remover 44 (Fig 1,6) configured to be rotationally locked to a needle shield 72 (Fig 4) covering a needle 64 (Fig 4), wherein the needle shield remover is releasably connected or releasably connectable to the housing (Para 53,54); and a guiding interface 52+40 (Fig 6), wherein the guiding interface is configured such that, when the needle shield remover rotates with respect to the housing from a state in which the needle shield remover is connected to the housing, the guiding interface guides a movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing in a direction away from the proximal end of the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 54), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 54).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 29-31 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donald et al. (PG PUB 2012/0065593) in view of Dowds et al. (PG PUB 2014/0025013).
Re claim 27, Donald discloses all the claimed features except that the reservoir is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing. Dowds, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1) comprising a housing 60 (Fig 1), a reservoir 20 (Fig 2) and a needle shield remover 50 (Fig 1), the reservoir configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing (Para 63) for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into a patient is not affected (Para 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to modify Donald to include the reservoir such that it can rotate together with the needle shield remover, as taught by Dowds, for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into the patient is not affected (Para 63).
Re claim 29, Donald discloses that the needle shield remover rotates between an initial needle shield position and an end needle shield remover position (Para 42), but does not disclose that the reservoir rotates between an initial reservoir position and an end reservoir position and, therefore, does not disclose that the angle of rotation of each of the needle shield remover and the reservoir is the same. Dowds, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1) comprising a housing 60 (Fig 1), a reservoir 20 (Fig 2) and a needle shield remover 50 (Fig 1), the reservoir configured such that the reservoir rotates between an initial reservoir position and an end reservoir position such that the angle of rotation of each of the needle shield remover and the reservoir is the same (Para 63) for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into a patient is not affected (Para 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to modify Donald to include the reservoir such that it can rotate together with the needle shield remover, as taught by Dowds, for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into the patient is not affected (Para 63).
Re claim 30, Donald as modified by Dowds in the rejection of claim 27 above discloses all the claimed features with Dowds teaching that the needle shield remover is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is disconnected from the housing, the needle shield remover rotates from an initial needle shield remover position relative to the housing to an end needle shield remover position relative to the housing (Para 63). The motivation cited in claim 27 also applies to this claim.
Re claim 31, Donald as modified by Dowds in the rejection of claim 27 above discloses all the claimed features with Dowds teaching that a rotation angle of the reservoir between the initial reservoir position and the end reservoir position is a first angle (Para 63), wherein a rotation angle of the needle shield remover between the initial needle shield remover position and the end needle shield remover position is a second angle (Para 63), and wherein the first angle is less than the second angle (since the user can choose to continue to rotate needle shield remover position after it has separated from the syringe). The motivation cited in claim 27 also applies to the claim.
Re claim 36, Donald discloses an arrangement for a drug delivery device (seen with the needle shield remover 130 on in Fig 5 and off in Fig 3), the arrangement comprising: a housing 112 (Fig 5) with a proximal end (to the right in Fig 5) and a distal end (to the left in Fig 5); a needle shield remover 130 (best seen in Fig 6) configured to be rotationally locked to a needle shield 117 (Fig 7,9) covering a needle 118 (as seen in Fig 9, Para 34), wherein the needle shield remover is releasably connected or releasably connectable to the housing (Para 42); and a guiding interface 113+131 (as seen in Fig 3 and 6), wherein the guiding interface is configured such that, when the needle shield remover rotates with respect to the housing from a state in which the needle shield remover is connected to the housing, the guiding interface guides a movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing in a direction away from the proximal end of the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 42), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 42, based on the shape of the pathway 113 seen in Fig 3), wherein the housing is configured to receive a reservoir 114 (Fig 7) or the reservoir is received in the housing (Para 34), the reservoir comprising a reservoir body 116 (Fig 7) with an interior region that is configured to retain a medicament and the needle for providing a fluid communication between the interior region of the reservoir body and an exterior portion of the reservoir body (as seen in Fig 8), wherein the needle is covered by the needle shield (as seen in Fig 9; Para 34). Donald does not discloses that the reservoir is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing. Dowds, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1) comprising a housing 60 (Fig 1), a reservoir 20 (Fig 2) and a needle shield remover 50 (Fig 1), the reservoir configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing (Para 63) for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into a patient is not affected (Para 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to modify Donald to include the reservoir such that it can rotate together with the needle shield remover, as taught by Dowds, for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into the patient is not affected (Para 63).
Claims 27, 29-31 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James et al. (PG PUB 2008/0269692) in view of Dowds et al. (PG PUB 2014/0025013).
Re claim 27, James discloses all the claimed features except that the reservoir is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing. Dowds, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1) comprising a housing 60 (Fig 1), a reservoir 20 (Fig 2) and a needle shield remover 50 (Fig 1), the reservoir configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing (Para 63) for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into a patient is not affected (Para 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to modify James to include the reservoir such that it can rotate together with the needle shield remover, as taught by Dowds, for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into the patient is not affected (Para 63).
Re claim 29, James discloses that the needle shield remover rotates between an initial needle shield position and an end needle shield remover position (Para 54), but does not disclose that the reservoir rotates between an initial reservoir position and an end reservoir position and, therefore, does not disclose that the angle of rotation of each of the needle shield remover and the reservoir is the same. Dowds, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1) comprising a housing 60 (Fig 1), a reservoir 20 (Fig 2) and a needle shield remover 50 (Fig 1), the reservoir configured such that the reservoir rotates between an initial reservoir position and an end reservoir position such that the angle of rotation of each of the needle shield remover and the reservoir is the same (Para 63) for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into a patient is not affected (Para 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to modify James to include the reservoir such that it can rotate together with the needle shield remover, as taught by Dowds, for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into the patient is not affected (Para 63).
Re claim 30, James as modified by Dowds in the rejection of claim 27 above discloses all the claimed features with Dowds teaching that the needle shield remover is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is disconnected from the housing, the needle shield remover rotates from an initial needle shield remover position relative to the housing to an end needle shield remover position relative to the housing (Para 63). The motivation cited in claim 27 also applies to this claim.
Re claim 31, James as modified by Dowds in the rejection of claim 27 above discloses all the claimed features with Dowds teaching that a rotation angle of the reservoir between the initial reservoir position and the end reservoir position is a first angle (Para 63), wherein a rotation angle of the needle shield remover between the initial needle shield remover position and the end needle shield remover position is a second angle (Para 63), and wherein the first angle is less than the second angle (since the user can choose to continue to rotate needle shield remover position after it has separated from the syringe). The motivation cited in claim 27 also applies to the claim.
Re claim 36, James discloses an arrangement 20 (Fig 1) for a drug delivery device, the arrangement comprising: a housing 28 (Fig 1,6) with a proximal end (directed upward in Fig 1) and a distal end (directed downward in Fig 1); a needle shield remover 44 (Fig 1,6) configured to be rotationally locked to a needle shield 72 (Fig 4) covering a needle 64 (Fig 4), wherein the needle shield remover is releasably connected or releasably connectable to the housing (Para 53,54); and a guiding interface 52+40 (Fig 6), wherein the guiding interface is configured such that, when the needle shield remover rotates with respect to the housing from a state in which the needle shield remover is connected to the housing, the guiding interface guides a movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing in a direction away from the proximal end of the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing (Para 54), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 54), and wherein the movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing to disconnect the needle shield remover from the housing comprises an axial movement and a rotational movement of the needle shield remover relative to the housing (Para 54) wherein the housing is configured to receive a reservoir 62 (Fig 4) or the reservoir is received in the housing (as seen in Fig 4), the reservoir comprising a reservoir body 66 (Fig 4) with an interior region that is configured to retain a medicament and the needle for providing a fluid communication between the interior region of the reservoir body and an exterior portion of the reservoir body (Para 55), wherein the needle is covered by the needle shield (as seen in Fig 4). James does not discloses that the reservoir is configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing. Dowds, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1) comprising a housing 60 (Fig 1), a reservoir 20 (Fig 2) and a needle shield remover 50 (Fig 1), the reservoir configured such that, when the needle shield remover is being disconnected from the housing, the reservoir can rotate together with the needle shield remover relative to the housing from an initial reservoir position relative to the housing to an end reservoir position relative to the housing (Para 63) for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into a patient is not affected (Para 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as made to modify James to include the reservoir such that it can rotate together with the needle shield remover, as taught by Dowds, for the purpose of ensuring that the quality or sharpness of the needle prior to insertion into the patient is not affected (Para 63).
Claims 32, 34, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donald et al. (PG PUB 2012/0065593) in view of Bitdinger et al. (US Pat 5,478,316).
Re claim 32, Donald discloses that the reservoir 116 is a syringe (Para 34) – which by definition includes an actuator of some sort - but does not explicitly disclose that the actuator is a plunger rod or that the arrangement comprises an energy storage member having energy stored therein, wherein the energy, when released, drives the plunger rod in a distal direction relative to the housing. Bitdinger, however, teaches a drug delivery device 10 (Fig 1,3) comprising a reservoir 30 (Fig 3), an actuator that is a plunger rod 46 (Fig 3), and an energy storage member 56 (Fig 3) having energy stored therein such that the energy, when released, drives the plunger rod in a distal direction relative to the housing (Col 4, Lines 9-10) for the purpose of providing an automatic injection device that drives the needle to penetrate the skin and causes the contents of the reservoir to be injected (Col 5, Lines 63-66 and Col l6, Lines 8-12).. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Donald to include the actuator as a plunger rod and to include an energy storage member that drives the plunger rod, as taught by Bitdinger, for the purpose of providing an automatic injection device that drives the needle to penetrate the skin and causes the contents of the reservoir to be injected (Col 5, Lines 63-66 and Col l6, Lines 8-12).
Re claim 34, Donald discloses all the claimed features but is silent as to the drug delivery device comprising an autoinjector. Bitdinger, however, teaches providing a drug delivery device in the form of an autoinjector (Page 1, Lines 6-8) for the purpose of allowing patients to self-inject in situations where self-injection is either more convenient or necessary (Col 1, Lines 17-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Donald to include the drug delivery device as an autoinjector, as taught by Bitdinger, for the purpose of allowing patients to self-inject in situations where self-injection is either more convenient or necessary (Col 1, Lines 17-21).
Re claim 35, Donald discloses a reservoir 116 (Fig 8) filled with contents (Para 34) but does not explicitly disclose that the contents are a drug. Bitdinger, however, teaches filling a syringe with a drug (“insulin”, “antihistamines or other medication”, Col 1, Lines 17-21) for the purpose of treating diabetics, allergy sufferers or other patients in need thereof (Col 1, Lines 17-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Donald to include a drug, as taught by Bitdinger for the purpose of treating diabetics, allergy sufferers or other patients in need thereof (Col 1, Lines 17-21).
Double Patenting
Claims 17, 19, 21, 25 and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,770. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the present claims is fully disclosed in the patented claims. Specifically, the subject matter of present claims 17, 19, 21, 23 and 33 is fully disclosed in patented claim 1 (wherein the “needle shield remover” of the present claims is read upon by the “outer cap” of the patented claim, and the “guiding interface” of the present claims is read upon by the “latch or bayonet connection” of the patented claim) and the subject matter of present claim 25 is fully disclosed in patented claim 10.
Claims 17-19, 21 and 23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,514,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the present claims is fully disclosed in the patented claim. Specifically, the subject matter of present claims 17, 18, 19, 21 and 23 is fully disclosed in patented claim 10 (wherein the “needle shield remover” of the present claims is read upon by the “cap” of the patented claim, and the “guiding interface” of the present claims is read upon by the “at least one guide track” of the patented claim).
Claims 17-19, 21, 23 and 33-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 15 of copending Application No. 19/404,414 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the present claims is fully disclosed in the reference claims. Specifically, the subject matter of present claims 17, 18, 19, 21 and 23 is fully disclosed in reference claim 10 (wherein the “needle shield remover” of the present claims is read upon by the “cap” of the reference claim, and the “guiding interface” of the present claims is read upon by the “at least one guide track” of the reference claim) and the subject matter of present claims 33, 34 and 35 is fully disclosed in reference claim 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PG PUB 2009/0054849 to Burnell et al., PG PUB 2011/0144594 to Sund et al., PG PUB 2013/0274671 to Jennings et al., PG PUB 2014/0343507 to Karlsson et al., PG PUB 2014/0371684 to Holmqvist, PG PUB 2018/0221584 to Grimoldby, PG PUB 2018/0353705 to Andre et al., PG PUB 2021/0196900 to Appy et al. and PG PUB 2021/0346608 to Dasbach et al. each disclose needle shield removers that are removed from their housings via rotational and axial movement.
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783