Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejection using existing references have been considered and are not persuasive as the combination of Young, Gong and Boesch teaches all the limitations in the amended claims (see the detailed response in the rejection of claim 1). Alternatively, applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejection of claims 1, 17, 25-26 have been considered and are moot because they do not apply to the new references used in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-12, 15-18, 20, 23, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 20220201416) in view of Gong (US 20200008124) further in view of Boesch (US 20200272779).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a first peripheral device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 2), the one or more processors configured to:
establish, with a user equipment (UE) and using a wireless protocol, a first connected isochronous stream (CIS(fig. 1, [0060][0071] [0073], establish a first communication data stream 162A between first wearable device 102A and peripheral device 104, utilizing various wireless data protocols), wherein the first peripheral device is configured to output audio signals for the first CIS and handle feedback for the first CIS ([0050], a connected isochronous stream can provide/output an isochronous audio stream which utilizes at least one established reliable communication channel and/or at least one acknowledged communication channel between the source device and any respective audio devices);
transmit, to a second peripheral device that is different from the first peripheral device and that is paired with the first peripheral device, an indication that the second peripheral device is to output audio signals for the second CIS and handle feedback for the second CIS ([0050][0073], to aid in switching roles each device may exchange access codes specific for granting access to the specific portions of a given data stream that are designated for each device. Prior to any role switch occurring between first wearable device 102A and second wearable device 102B, the first device may exchange the first and second access codes through third communication data stream 162C such that after the role switch occurs each device can seamlessly receive and access the packets of the new data stream; [0065][0072], can assign the second wearable device 102B the role of primary voice capture device 166. The second wearable device 102B, once assigned the primary voice capture device role 166, can utilize one or more audio capture sensors of the second set of audio capture sensors 142 to send/output the voice data 164. Here, assignment can be considered as the indication to output data; providing acknowledgement or feedback ) and
receive the first CIS, while maintaining the control channel for the first CIS and the second CIS ([0065], should first wearable device be selected or assigned as the primary audio capture device 166, second wearable device can utilize third communications data stream 162C to send audio data and voice data 164 to first wearable device; that is, the first device revies data and forward the data, while maintaining the communication channel for the first and second CISs).
Young discloses the decision is made to switch to the second device (selected/assigned as the primary role), this implicitly teaches the second device receives an indication to output data and handle feedback. To further clarify this feature, Gong discloses transmitting an indication to the second device once a handover decision is made (Gong, [0064-65], instructing the second device to establish a connection with the UE and communicate with the UE (output audio signal and handle feedback using the established link).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of efficient handover given by Gong. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user experience (Gong, [0070]).
Young only discloses establishing a stream between the first device and an UE, and does not explicitly disclose the established stream (stream 162 taught by Young) includes a first connected isochronous stream (CIS), a second CIS different from the first CIS, and a control channel that is for the first CIS and the second CIS and that is different from the first CIS and the second CIS.
Boesch discloses the stream includes a first connected isochronous stream (CIS), a second CIS different from the first CIS, and a control channel that is for the first CIS and the second CIS and that is different from the first CIS and the second CIS (Boesch, [0082], each stream includes a plurality of data lines, a plurality of control lines, and a back pressure mechanism. The plurality of data lines is arranged to pass streaming data only in a first direction, the plurality of control lines is arranged to pass control data only in the first direction, and the back pressure mechanism is arranged to pass back pressure data only in a second direction. Here, the streams taught by Young can be modified by the streams taught by Boesch such that the combination of Young and Boesch discloses establish, with a user equipment (UE) and using a wireless protocol, a first connected isochronous stream (CIS), a second CIS different from the first CIS, and a control channel that is for the first CIS and the second CIS and that is different from the first CIS and the second CIS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of supporting multibit stream links given by Boesch. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide many different applications using multibit streams through learn-based approach (Boesch, [0003-5]).
Claims 17, 25, 26 are rejected similarly with claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first peripheral device to output audio signals for the first CIS (Young, fig. 1, [0060][0071][0073] [0050], a connected isochronous stream can provide an isochronous audio stream; [0050], a connected isochronous stream can provide/output an isochronous audio stream which utilizes at least one established reliable communication channel).
Regarding claim 3, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit microphone data on the first CIS (Young, [0007], audio signal can be microphone data).
Regarding claim 5, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the first peripheral device operates with a primary role and the second peripheral device operates with a secondary role, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to swap the primary role and the secondary role between the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (Young, [0071], in the event that the role of primary voice capture device 166 is switched from first wearable device 102A to second wearable device 102B, the responsibility of sending the voice data 164 from both wearable devices 102 can also switch; Gong, [0004], The first earphone is coupled with an electronic device and the second earphone and serves as a master earphone. The second earphone serves as a slave earphone. The first earphone predicts switches the second earphone to serve as the master earphone and the first earphone to serve as the slave earphone).
Regarding claims 8, 18, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, from the UE, the second CIS after detecting that the second peripheral device is not receiving the second CIS (Gong, [0042], fig. 2B, a second data transmission link between the second earphone and the electronic device is disconnected (not receiving data) and a first data transmission link between the first earphone and the electronic device is established or used, receiving data from the UE);
output audio signals for the first CIS and the second CIS; and handle feedback for the second CIS (Gong, fig. 2, the first earphone outputs both signals; Young, [0050], handles feedback).
Regarding claim 9, 20, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit microphone data on the second CIS ([0007], audio signal can be microphone data).
Regarding claim 10, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the second peripheral device after stopping maintenance of the control channel and the first CIS, an indication to receive the first CIS and handle feedback for the first CIS (Young, [0071], in the event that the role of primary voice capture device 166 is switched from first wearable device 102A to second wearable device 102B, the responsibility of sending the voice data 164 from both wearable devices 102 can also switch; Gong, [0065], after the disconnection of the first device with the UE, the second device is required to communicate with the UE including feedback information )
Regarding claim 11, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to adjust a transmit power for transmitting feedback or microphone data to the UE based at least in part on a result of comparing a signal strength of the first CIS and a signal strength of the second CIS, and wherein the transmit power is adjusted such that the UE is to detect a same transmit power from the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (Gong, [0069][0104], the first operating parameter of the first earphone can be adjusted, to reduce power consumption of the first earphone and thus achieve balance between the first earphone and the second earphone in power).
Regarding claim 12, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to adjust a transmit power for transmitting feedback or microphone data to the UE based at least in part on receiving an indication from the UE to adjust the transmit power (Gong, [0069][0104], the UE adjusts the power level of the device).
Regarding claim 15, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to synchronize a timing reference for slot boundaries used by the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (Young, [0008], each bud may be synchronized to a separate Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) which are part of the same Connected Isochronous Group (CIG). Each bud could have knowledge of the other bud's CIS either by monitoring connection setup of the CIS for the other bud or by exchanging information via a communication data link between buds).
Regarding claim 16, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to adjust a timing of a link between the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device to avoid time domain resource conflicts with the first CIS and the second CIS (Young, [0008], each bud may be synchronized to a separate Connected Isochronous Stream (CIS) which are part of the same Connected Isochronous Group (CIG). Each bud could have knowledge of the other bud's CIS either by monitoring connection setup of the CIS for the other bud or by exchanging information via a communication data link between buds).
Regarding claim 23, Young and Gong disclose the first peripheral device of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
establish, with the UE, a control channel for the first CIS and the second CIS after the
second peripheral device has stopped maintenance of the control channel and the second CIS
from the UE (Young, [0008], upon detecting significant ambient noise, e.g., wind noise, on that microphone audio stream (or disconnected), the bud could do a handshake with the other bud and “hand off” responsibility for sending microphone audio to the other bud. Gong, [0042], fig. 2B, a second data transmission link between the second earphone and the electronic device is disconnected (not receiving data) and a first data transmission link between the first earphone and the electronic device is established, receiving data from the UE); and
transmit, to the second peripheral device, an indication that the second peripheral device
is to output audio signals for the second CIS and handle feedback for the second CIS, after the
second peripheral device is ready to receive the second CIS (Young, [0008]; Gong, [0105], switching between the first device and the second device is an ongoing process, based on the energy level of the devices. Once a device is selected as the primary role and ready to receive data, [0064-65], instructing the second device to establish a connection with the UE and communicate with the UE (output audio signal and handle feedback using the established link).
Claim(s) 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young, Gong and Boesch further in view of Kassar (US 20210229288).
Regarding claims 4, 19, Young, Gong and Boesch disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1,
Young, Gong and Boesch do not explicitly disclose wherein the indication indicates that the second peripheral device is to transmit microphone data received by the second peripheral device on the second CIS.
Kassar discloses wherein the indication indicates that the second peripheral device is to transmit microphone data received by the second peripheral device on the second CIS (Kassar, [0042], instructs the transceiver 64 to transmit the data received from microphone of the sensors 34 to the remote server 68. Here, the instruction is an indication).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of providing instructions on what to transmit given by Kassar. The motivation for doing so would have been to detect imminent anomalous event based on the received data (Kassar, [0043]).
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, 21-22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of Gong further in view of Zhang (US 20150009880).
Regarding claims 6, 22, Young, Gong and Boesch disclose the first peripheral device of claim 5,
Swapping the primary role between the first device and the second normally implies that the addresses of the first and second devices are also normally swapped, to further clarify this feature, Zhang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to swap an address of the first peripheral device and an address of the second peripheral device (Zhang, claim 1, performing a handover of a control channel and a downlink traffic channel; [0012], The source eNB makes a handover decision, issues a handover request/context, including the addresses of the involved addresses).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of handover control channel as well given by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been perform efficient handover procedure.
Regarding claim 7, Young, Gong and Boesch disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit, to the second peripheral device, an indication that the control channel is to be handed over to the second peripheral device; and hand over the control channel to the second peripheral device (Young, [0071], the first and second wearable devices 102 can perform a handshake and initiate a switch of the role of primary voice capture device 166 from first wearable device 102A to second wearable device 102B). Normally, hand-overing the primary role between the first device and the second normally implies that the control channel is also hand-overed. To further clarify this feature, Zhang discloses the control channel is to be handed over to the second peripheral device (Zhang, claim 1, performing a handover of a control channel and a downlink traffic channel).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of handover control channel as well given by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been perform efficient handover procedure.
Claim 21 is rejected similarly as claim 7 noting that after handover, the second device also maintains the control for the first and second CISs.
Regarding claims 13, 24, Young, Gong and Boesch disclose the first peripheral device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
Young does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the UE, an indication of channel qualities for frequencies that are available for one or more of the control channel or the first CIS.
Zhang discloses transmit, to the UE, an indication of channel qualities for frequencies that are available for one or more of the control channel or the first CIS (Zhang, [0067], the WTRU may report measurements to the network. The measurement may be any type of measurement relevant to evaluating the channel quality).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of handover control channel as well given by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been perform efficient handover procedure.
Regarding claim 14, Young, Gong, Boesch and Zhang disclose the first peripheral device of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the second peripheral device, information about channel qualities of frequencies that are available for the second CIS, and wherein the information is included in the indication that is transmitted to the UE (Young, from second to the first device; Gong, [0065], after the first device is disconnected with the UE, the second device forwards data from the first device including measurement report).
Claim(s) 1, 17, 25-26 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (US 20220201416) in view of Gong (US 20200008124) further in view of Glen (US 20080231711).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a first peripheral device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories, and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 2), the one or more processors configured to:
establish, with a user equipment (UE) and using a wireless protocol, a first connected isochronous stream (CIS(fig. 1, [0060][0071] [0073], establish a first communication data stream 162A between first wearable device 102A and peripheral device 104, utilizing various wireless data protocols), wherein the first peripheral device is configured to output audio signals for the first CIS and handle feedback for the first CIS ([0050], a connected isochronous stream can provide/output an isochronous audio stream which utilizes at least one established reliable communication channel and/or at least one acknowledged communication channel between the source device and any respective audio devices);
transmit, to a second peripheral device that is different from the first peripheral device and that is paired with the first peripheral device, an indication that the second peripheral device is to output audio signals for the second CIS and handle feedback for the second CIS ([0050][0073], to aid in switching roles each device may exchange access codes specific for granting access to the specific portions of a given data stream that are designated for each device. Prior to any role switch occurring between first wearable device 102A and second wearable device 102B, the first device may exchange the first and second access codes through third communication data stream 162C such that after the role switch occurs each device can seamlessly receive and access the packets of the new data stream; [0065][0072], can assign the second wearable device 102B the role of primary voice capture device 166. The second wearable device 102B, once assigned the primary voice capture device role 166, can utilize one or more audio capture sensors of the second set of audio capture sensors 142 to send/output the voice data 164. Here, assignment can be considered as the indication to output data; providing acknowledgement or feedback ) and
receive the first CIS, while maintaining the control channel for the first CIS and the second CIS ([0065], should first wearable device be selected or assigned as the primary audio capture device 166, second wearable device can utilize third communications data stream 162C to send audio data and voice data 164 to first wearable device; that is, the first device revies data and forward the data, while maintaining the communication channel for the first and second CISs).
Young discloses the decision is made to switch to the second device (selected/assigned as the primary role), this implicitly teaches the second device receives an indication to output data and handle feedback. To further clarify this feature, Gong discloses transmitting an indication to the second device once a handover decision is made (Gong, [0064-65], instructing the second device to establish a connection with the UE and communicate with the UE (output audio signal and handle feedback using the established link).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of efficient handover given by Gong. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user experience (Gong, [0070]).
Young only discloses establishing a stream between the first device and an UE, and does not explicitly disclose the established stream (stream 162 taught by Young) includes a first connected isochronous stream (CIS), a second CIS different from the first CIS, and a control channel that is for the first CIS and the second CIS and that is different from the first CIS and the second CIS.
Glen discloses the stream includes a first connected isochronous stream (CIS), a second CIS different from the first CIS, and a control channel that is for the first CIS and the second CIS and that is different from the first CIS and the second CIS (Glen, [0005], claim 15, wherein said video link comprises a plurality of streams forming a forward channel, a bi-directional serial channel for the exchange of control data, and an interrupt signal. Here, the control channel is a bi-directional and is different from the forward channels. The streams taught by Young can be modified by the streams taught by Glen such that the combination of Young and Glen discloses establish, with a user equipment (UE) and using a wireless protocol, a first connected isochronous stream (CIS), a second CIS different from the first CIS, and a control channel that is for the first CIS and the second CIS and that is different from the first CIS and the second CIS).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of communication between various peripheral devices as given by Young with the teachings of supporting multibit stream links given by Glen. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the quality the video streams.
Claims 17, 25, 26 are rejected similarly with claim 1.
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474