DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ng et al. (US 9,620,892).
Regarding claim 1, Ng discloses a backshell configured to be connected to an electrical connector, the backshell comprising: a backshell body (5, 7) configured to receive a cable connectable with the electrical connector; a fixed tail portion (10, 16, 13) extending from the backshell body and defining a first curved exit path (Figs. 5-7) extending from the back shell body, the fixed tail portion providing a plurality respective connection positions (13) disposed at different positions along the first curved exit path, the plurality of respective connection positions comprising fastening component engagement means (space/groove next to 18, and under 10 in Fig. 3); at least one a fastening component (32, 35) selectively connectable to the fixed tail portion at different respective connection positions (13, 13, under 10, Figs. 5-7) of the plurality of respective connection positions to retain the cable to the fixed tail portion, the at least one fastening component (32, 35) comprising engagement means (portion of 32, 35 in contact with space/groove next to 18, and under 10 in Fig. 3);
wherein the fastening component engagement means (space/groove next to 18, and under 10 in Fig. 3) and engagement means (portion of fastening components 32, 35 in contact with the fastening component engagement means) of the at least one fastening component (352, 35) comprise interlocking features (different surfaces of 18 and 32) configured for positive engagement with each other to retain the fastening component at one the different connection positions along the first curved exit path; wherein connection of the fastening component to the fixed tail portion at the different respective connection positions guides the cable from the fixed tail portion at different respective exit angles (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Ng discloses the fixed tail portion being an integral part of the backshell body.
Regarding claim 3, Ng discloses the curved exit path defined along a surface of the fixed tail portion (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Ng discloses the fixed tail portion comprising a cable support surface configured to direct the cable along the curved exit path (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 5, Ng discloses a proximal end of the cable support surface being parallel to a longitudinal axis of the backshell body and wherein a distal end of the cable support surface is non-parallel to the longitudinal axis of the backshell body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ng discloses the cable support surface has a curved profile (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ng discloses the cable support surface comprising a smooth tubular surface (at least partly).
Regarding claim 8, Ng discloses the cable support surface defined by a geometric saddle point (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Ng discloses the fixed tail portion (10, 13, 16) and the fastening component are configured to clamp the cable therebetween (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 10, Ng discloses at least one of the plurality of connection positions comprising an opening configured to engage the fastening component (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 11, Ng discloses the plurality of connection positions comprising a proximal connection position and a distal connection position (intended use, connection can be formed along different sections of the tail portion).
Regarding claim 12, Ng disclose the plurality of connection positions further comprising an intermediate connection position (at 35, Fig. 7) located at a position along the curved exit path between the proximal connection position and the distal connection position.
Regarding claim 13, Ng discloses at least one aperture (76, Fig, 12) provided at an underside of the cable support surface.
Regarding claim 14, Ng discloses the at least one aperture (76, Fig. 12) located in the region of at least one of the plurality of connection positions, to receive the fastening component so as to retain the cable at the at least one connection position.
Regarding claim 15, Ng discloses a method of assembling an electrical connector to a cable, the method comprising: providing an electrical connector (inside 3); providing a backshell (5, 7) according to claim 1 to the electrical connector; connecting at least one cable (30) to the electrical connector; and securing the at least one cable to the backshell by selecting at least one of the plurality of connection positions and connecting the fastening component (32) to the fixed tail portion at the selected connection position (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 16, Ng disclose leaving at least one of the plurality of connection positions unoccupied by any fastening component (Figs. 5-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's arguments that Ng does not disclose “interlocking features defining a positive engagement between a surface/feature of the clamp and a surface/feature of the fixed tail portion”, please note that such engagement is shown in Fig. 6. While Applicant’s argument appear to imply that the corresponding interlocking features of the present invention are different from those shown by Ng, the claim language does not provide any language to distinguish for the corresponding interlocking features shown by Ng. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Please note that Ng discloses a fixed tail portion (10, 16, 13) defining a curved exit path (three paths for the cables shown in Figs. 5-7) extending from the backshell body. Ng also discloses at least one fastening component (32, 35) that can be secured to the fixed tail portion (10, 16, 13) at a plurality of respective connection positions (that receive 32 or 35) along the curved exit path of the cable. Please note that the claim language does not require the connection positions to be in use simultaneously (nor is that shown in the drawings of the present application). Nonetheless, please note that nothing in Ng prevent such simultaneous use.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833