DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) anticipated by Ng et al. (US 9,620,892).
Regarding claim 1, Ng discloses a backshell configured to be connected to an electrical connector, the backshell comprising: a backshell body (5, 7) configured to receive a cable connectable with the electrical connector; a fixed tail portion (10, 16, 13) extending from the backshell body and defining a first curved exit path (Figs. 5-7) extending from the back shell body, the fixed tail portion providing a plurality respective connection positions (13) disposed at different positions along the first curved exit path, the plurality of respective connection positions comprising fastening component engagement means (space/groove next to 18, and under 10 in Fig. 3); at least one a fastening component (32, 35) selectively connectable to the fixed tail portion at different respective connection positions (13, 13, under 10, Figs. 5-7) of the plurality of respective connection positions to retain the cable to the fixed tail portion, the at least one fastening component (32, 35) comprising engagement means (portion of 32, 35 in contact with space/groove next to 18, and under 10 in Fig. 3); wherein the fastening component engagement means (space/groove next to 18, and under 10 in Fig. 3) and engagement means (portion of fastening components 32, 35 in contact with the fastening component engagement means) of the at least one fastening component (352, 35) comprise interlocking features (different surfaces of 18 and 32) configured for positive engagement with each other to retain the fastening component at one the different connection positions along the first curved exit path; wherein connection of the fastening component to the fixed tail portion at the different respective connection positions guides the cable from the fixed tail portion at different respective exit angles (Figs. 5-7); wherein the plurality of connection positions comprises a proximal connection position configured to retain the cable at a proximal position along the first curved exit path (intended use, connection can be formed along different sections of the tail portion), and a distal connection position (at 32, Figs. 5/6) configured to retain the cable at a distal position along the first curved exit path; the fastening component engagement means of the proximal connection position and the fastening component engagement means of the distal connection position each comprise an opening (76/77, Fig. 12) configured to engage the fastening component (intended use).
Regarding claim 2, Ng discloses the fixed tail portion being an integral part of the backshell body.
Regarding claim 3, Ng discloses the curved exit path defined along a surface of the fixed tail portion (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 4, Ng discloses the fixed tail portion comprising a cable support surface configured to direct the cable along the curved exit path (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 5, Ng discloses a proximal end of the cable support surface being parallel to a longitudinal axis of the backshell body and wherein a distal end of the cable support surface is non-parallel to the longitudinal axis of the backshell body (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Ng discloses the cable support surface has a curved profile (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Ng discloses the cable support surface comprising a smooth tubular surface (at least partly).
Regarding claim 8, Ng discloses the cable support surface defined by a geometric saddle point (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Ng discloses the fixed tail portion (10, 13, 16) and the fastening component are configured to clamp the cable therebetween (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 12, Ng disclose the plurality of connection positions further comprising an intermediate connection position (at 35, Fig. 7) located at a position along the curved exit path between the proximal connection position and the distal connection position.
Regarding claim 13, Ng discloses at least one aperture (76, Fig, 12) provided at an underside of the cable support surface.
Regarding claim 14, Ng discloses the at least one aperture (76, Fig. 12) located in the region of at least one of the plurality of connection positions, to receive the fastening component so as to retain the cable at the at least one connection position.
Regarding claim 15, Ng discloses a method of assembling an electrical connector to a cable, the method comprising: providing an electrical connector (inside 3); providing a backshell (5, 7) according to claim 1 to the electrical connector; connecting at least one cable (30) to the electrical connector; and securing the at least one cable to the backshell by selecting at least one of the plurality of connection positions and connecting the fastening component (32) to the fixed tail portion at the selected connection position (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 16, Ng disclose leaving at least one of the plurality of connection positions unoccupied by any fastening component (Figs. 5-7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Please note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention (i.e. configured to) must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833