DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oto et al. (JP 2004-233158 A) (hereinafter Oto) (translation cited in IDS dated 17 May 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Oto teaches an air quality determination method for determining an air quality [detecting air pollution] using a sensitive unit [metal oxide semiconductor gas sensor], an electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit changing in reaction to one or more types of molecules [detecting NO2 and CO concentrations; resistance value RS] (Para [0004, 0012, 0016], see Fig. 1), the air quality determination method comprising:
a temperature control step including controlling a temperature of the sensitive unit exposed to a sample gas in a predetermined measurement period to cause the temperature of the sensitive unit to vary in a temperature variation pattern including at least one temperature rising period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit rises and at least one temperature falling period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit falls [periodically varying the electrical power of a heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2);
an acquisition step including acquiring the electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit exposed to the sample gas [applying detection voltage to series of RL and RS, adds the output (sensor signal) to AD converter] (Para [0013]);
a determination step including determining, using a learned model to determine an air quality condition of the sample gas, the air quality condition of the sample gas based on a variation in the electrical characteristic value [using a multiple regression coefficient calibrated in advance by a multiple regression analysis unit, performing a conversion to NO2 concentration on the basis of the sensor signal; NO2 concentration indicative of air pollution] (Para [0016-0018, 0024-0026]); and
an output step including outputting a decision made in the determination step [displaying concentration by output unit 22] (Para [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Oto as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the determination step includes determining the air quality condition of the sample gas based on a difference between a first variation pattern and a second variation pattern [NO2 is detected using the difference from the Fourier transform value], the first variation pattern being a variation pattern of the electrical characteristic value in a state where the temperature of the sensitive unit exposed to the sample gas is caused to vary in the temperature variation pattern [sensor signal with temperature variation], the second variation pattern being a variation pattern of the electrical characteristic value in a state where the temperature of the sensitive unit exposed to a standard gas is caused to vary in the temperature variation pattern [signal in a clean air; reference value] (Para [0013-0014]).
Regarding claim 10, Oto as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the temperature control step includes controlling the temperature of the sensitive unit by controlling a temperature control element configured to heat and/or cool the sensitive unit, and the temperature control element includes at least one of a Peltier element or an electrothermal element [sensor drive 8 controls the heater power of the gas sensor 4 by turning on/off transistors TR1 and TR2] (Para [0013], see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Oto teaches an air quality determination method for determining an air quality [detecting air pollution] using a sensitive unit [metal oxide semiconductor gas sensor], an electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit changing in reaction to one or more types of molecules [detecting NO2 and CO concentrations; resistance value RS] (Para [0004, 0012, 0016], see Fig. 1), the sensitive unit including a plurality of sensitive modules [multiple gas sensors] (Para [0025, 0028]), the air quality determination method comprising:
a temperature control step including controlling temperatures of the plurality of sensitive modules exposed to a sample gas in a predetermined measurement period to cause the temperature of each the plurality of sensitive modules to vary in a temperature variation pattern including at least one temperature rising period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit rises and at least one temperature falling period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit falls [periodically varying the electrical power of a heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2);
an acquisition step including acquiring the electrical characteristic value of each the plurality of sensitive modules exposed to the sample gas [applying detection voltage to series of RL and RS, adds the output (sensor signal) to AD converter] (Para [0013]);
a determination step including determining, using a learned model to determine an air quality condition of the sample gas, the air quality condition of the sample gas based on a variation in the electrical characteristic value of each of the plurality of sensitive modules [using a multiple regression coefficient calibrated in advance by a multiple regression analysis unit, performing a conversion to NO2 concentration on the basis of the sensor signal; NO2 concentration indicative of air pollution] (Para [0016-0018, 0024-0026]); and
an output step including outputting a decision made in the determination step [displaying concentration by output unit 22] (Para [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Oto teaches an air quality determination system [detecting air pollution] comprising:
a sensitive unit [metal oxide semiconductor gas sensor 4], an electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit changing in reaction to one or more types of molecules [detecting NO2 and CO concentrations; resistance value RS] (Para [0004, 0012, 0016], see Fig. 1);
an exposure unit configured to expose the sensitive unit to a sample gas in a predetermined measurement period [arbitrary gas sensor structure configured for a measurement period] (Para [0010-0012]);
a temperature control element configured to heat and/or cool the sensitive unit [heater] (Para [0012]);
a controller configured to control the temperature control element to cause a temperature of the sensitive unit exposed to a sample gas in a predetermined measurement period to vary in a temperature variation pattern including at least one temperature rising period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit rises and at least one temperature falling period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit falls [periodically varying the electrical power of the heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2).
an acquirer configured to acquire the electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit in the predetermined measurement period [applying detection voltage to series of RL and RS, adds the output (sensor signal) to AD converter] (Para [0013]);
a determiner configured to determine, using a learned model to determine an air quality condition of the sample gas, the air quality condition of the sample gas based on a variation in the electrical characteristic value [using a multiple regression coefficient calibrated in advance by a multiple regression analysis unit, performing a conversion to NO2 concentration on the basis of the sensor signal; NO2 concentration indicative of air pollution] (Para [0016-0018, 0024-0026]); and
an outputter configured to output a decision made by the determiner [displaying concentration by output unit 22] (Para [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, Oto teaches an air quality determination system [detecting air pollution] comprising:
a plurality of sensitive modules [metal oxide semiconductor gas sensor 4; multiple gas sensors] (Para [0025, 0028]), an electrical characteristic value of the sensitive modules changing in reaction to one or more types of molecules [detecting NO2 and CO concentrations; resistance value RS] (Para [0004, 0012, 0016], see Fig. 1);
an exposure unit configured to expose the plurality of sensitive modules to a sample gas in a predetermined measurement period [arbitrary gas senor structure configured for a measurement period] (Para [0010-0012]);
a temperature control element configured to heat and/or cool the plurality of sensitive modules [heater] (Para [0012]);
a controller configured to control the temperature control element to cause a temperature of each of the plurality of sensitive modules exposed to the sample gas in the predetermined measurement period to vary in a temperature variation pattern including at least one temperature rising period in which the temperature of the sensitive module rises and at least one temperature falling period in which the temperature of the sensitive module falls [periodically varying the electrical power of the heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2).
an acquirer configured to acquire the electrical characteristic values of the plurality of sensitive modules in the predetermined measurement period [applying detection voltage to series of RL and RS, adds the output (sensor signal) to AD converter] (Para [0013]);
a determiner configured to determine, using a learned model to determine an air quality condition of the sample gas, the air quality condition of the sample gas based on a variation in the electrical characteristic values of the plurality of sensitive modules [using a multiple regression coefficient calibrated in advance by a multiple regression analysis unit, performing a conversion to NO2 concentration on the basis of the sensor signal; NO2 concentration indicative of air pollution] (Para [0016-0018, 0024-0026]); and
an outputter configured to output a decision made by the determiner [displaying concentration by output unit 22] (Para [0016]).
Regarding claim 20, Oto teaches a sensor module comprising:
a sensitive unit [metal oxide semiconductor gas sensor 4], an electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit changing in reaction to one or more types of molecules [detecting NO2 and CO concentrations; resistance value RS] (Para [0004, 0012, 0016], see Fig. 1); and
a temperature control element configured to heat and/or cool the sensitive unit [heater] (Para [0012]);
the temperature control element being configured to cause a temperature of the sensitive unit exposed to a sample gas in a predetermined measurement period to vary in a temperature variation pattern including at least one temperature rising period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit rises and at least one temperature falling period in which the temperature of the sensitive unit falls [periodically varying the electrical power of the heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oto, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Urabe (JP 2018-105659 A) (hereinafter Urabe) (translation cited in IDS dated 17 May 2023).
Regarding claim 3, Oto as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the sensitive unit includes a plurality of sensitive elements having mutually different sensitivities, and the determination step includes determining the air quality condition of the sample gas based on respective variation patterns of the electrical characteristic value of the plurality of sensitive elements in a state where temperatures of the plurality of sensitive elements exposed to the sample gas are caused to vary in the temperature variation pattern. Urabe teaches identifying a gas using a detector from a plurality of gas sensors having mutually different sensitivities [gas sensor group 12 with gas sensors 121-124 having different properties] (Para [0039]] by using a neural network that uses a parameter determined by training using training data, with reference to data indicating variation over time of an output signal relating to the target at a plurality of temperatures (Para [0011, 0023]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Urabe such that the sensitive unit includes a plurality of sensitive elements having mutually different sensitivities, and the determination step includes determining the air quality condition of the sample gas based on respective variation patterns of the electrical characteristic value of the plurality of sensitive elements in a state where temperatures of the plurality of sensitive elements exposed to the sample gas are caused to vary in the temperature variation pattern, in order to monitor for multiple different gases simultaneously.
Regarding claim 11, Oto as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the acquisition step includes acquiring the electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit via a network. Urabe teaches identifying a gas using a detector by acquiring a value of the detector via a network (Para [0090]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Urabe such that the acquisition step includes acquiring the electrical characteristic value of the sensitive unit via a network, in order to remotely monitor the gas concentration.
Regarding claim 13, Oto as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the respective boards of the plurality of sensitive modules are mutually different boards [multiple gas sensors] (Para [0025, 0028]). Ono fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes a plurality of sensitive elements having mutually different sensitivities; and a board on which the plurality of sensitive elements are formed. Urabe teaches identifying a gas using a plurality of gas sensors having mutually different sensitivities, and a board on which the plurality of sensitive elements are formed [gas sensor group 12 with gas sensors 121-124 having different properties] (Para [0039], see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Urabe such that each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes a plurality of sensitive elements having mutually different sensitivities; and a board on which the plurality of sensitive elements are formed, in order to monitor for multiple different gases simultaneously.
Regarding claim 14, Oto in view of Urabe as applied to claim 13 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes the same combination of the plurality of sensitive elements as any other one of the plurality of sensitive modules [multiple gas sensors having same characteristics] (Oto Para [0025, 0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Oto in view of Urabe as applied to claim 13 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes a different combination of the plurality of sensitive elements from any other one of the plurality of sensitive modules. Urabe additionally teaches wherein the plurality of sensitive modules can differ in combination (Urabe Para [0077-0080]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Oto in view of Urabe such that each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes a different combination of the plurality of sensitive elements from any other one of the plurality of sensitive modules, in order to monitor for multiple different gases simultaneously.
Regarding claim 16, Oto as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes a plurality of sensitive elements having mutually different sensitivities; and the plurality of sensitive elements included in each of the plurality of sensitive modules are formed on a single board. Urabe teaches identifying a gas using a plurality of gas sensors having mutually different sensitivities, and a board on which the plurality of sensitive elements are formed [gas sensor group 12 with gas sensors 121-124 having different properties] (Para [0039], see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Urabe such that each of the plurality of sensitive modules includes a plurality of sensitive elements having mutually different sensitivities; and the plurality of sensitive elements included in each of the plurality of sensitive modules are formed on a single board, in order to monitor for multiple different gases simultaneously.
Regarding claim 17, Oto as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the plurality of sensitive modules includes at least a first sensitive module and a second sensitive module [multiple gas sensors] (Oto Para [0025, 0028]). Oto fails to teach wherein the temperature control step includes temporally shifting at least one of the temperature rising and falling periods of the first sensitive module from at least a corresponding one of the temperature rising and falling periods of the second sensitive module. Urabe teaches identifying a gas using a plurality of gas sensors [gas sensor group 12 with gas sensors 121-124 having different properties] (Para [0039], see Fig. 1), wherein input parameters of time can be changed (Para [0087-0090]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Urabe such that the temperature control step includes temporally shifting at least one of the temperature rising and falling periods of the first sensitive module from at least a corresponding one of the temperature rising and falling periods of the second sensitive module, in order to enhance sensor sensitivity.
Claims 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oto, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ooido et al. (JPS52138196 A) (hereinafter Ooido) (translation cited in IDS dated 17 May 2023).
Regarding claim 4, Oto as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the sensitive unit includes a negative characteristic sensitive element having a negative resistance coefficient in a temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 50°C. Ooido teaches a semiconductor-type gas sensing element including a negative characteristic sensitive element [sensitive layer 7] having a negative temperature dependence in a temperature region of -15°C to 40°C (see translation Pg. 6 and Fig. 6a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Ooido such that the sensitive unit includes a negative characteristic sensitive element having a negative resistance coefficient in a temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 50°C in order to improve sensor sensitivity.
Regarding claim 5, Oto in view of Ooido as applied to claim 4 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the temperature control step includes causing a temperature of the negative characteristic sensitive element to vary in the temperature variation pattern including a temperature rising period in which the temperature of the negative characteristic sensitive element is raised within a temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 20°C and a temperature falling period in which the temperature of the negative characteristic sensitive element is lowered within the temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 20°C [periodically varying the electrical power of a heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Oto Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Oto as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the sensitive unit includes a positive characteristic sensitive element having a positive resistance coefficient in a temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 50°C. Ooido teaches a semiconductor-type gas sensing element including a positive characteristic sensitive element [sensitive layer 8] having a negative temperature dependence in a temperature region of -20°C to 50°C (see translation Pg. 6 and Fig. 7a). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Oto with Ooido such that the sensitive unit includes a positive characteristic sensitive element having a positive resistance coefficient in a temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 50°C in order to improve sensor sensitivity.
Regarding claim 8, Oto in view of Ooido as applied to claim 7 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the temperature control step includes causing a temperature of the positive characteristic sensitive element to vary in the temperature variation pattern including a temperature rising period in which the temperature of the positive characteristic sensitive element is raised within a temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 50°C and a temperature falling period in which the temperature of the positive characteristic sensitive element is lowered within the temperature range equal to or higher than -20°C and equal to or lower than 50°C [periodically varying the electrical power of a heater provided to the gas sensor; waveform may be sine wave, square wave, ramp wave, etc.; maximum value of the sensor temperature is 500° C, minimum value is about 150° C] (Oto Para [0012-0013], see Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding wherein the negative characteristic sensitive element includes an organic composition and conductive particles dispersed in the organic composition, and the organic composition included in the negative characteristic sensitive element has siloxane on a main chain thereof and has a methyl group on a side chain thereof, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in claims 1 and 4, from which it depends upon.
Regarding claim 9, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding wherein the positive characteristic sensitive element includes an organic composition and conductive particles dispersed in the organic composition, and the positive characteristic sensitive element includes at least one of: a first sensitive element including the organic composition having siloxane on a main chain thereof and having no methyl group on a side chain thereof but having a polyethylene glycol group on the side chain thereof; a second sensitive element including the organic composition having polyethylene glycol on a main chain thereof and having no methyl group on a side chain thereof but having a nitro group on the side chain thereof; a third sensitive element including the organic composition having siloxane on a main chain thereof and having no methyl group on a side chain thereof but having a cyano propyl group on the side chain thereof; or a fourth sensitive element including the organic composition having siloxane on a main chain thereof and having no methyl group on a side chain thereof but having a cyano allyl group on the side chain thereof, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in claims 1 and 7, from which it depends upon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Attached.
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855