DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Groot (US 20190132012 A1) in view of SHIERS (US 20210092780 A1) and Tramiel (US 20200221269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, De Groot teaches a display and/or operating module for a field device (De Groot discloses a "radio adapter" or "wireless adapter" 2 designed to couple with an automation technology field device 7. Under BRI, this represents an adapter module),
with a housing (The adapter 2 includes a "housing 3", para. 0027-34) and an electronics unit (The housing contains a "communication electronics 6"),
wherein the display and/or operating module has at least one mechanical interface for connecting the display and/or operating module to the field device (The adapter features a "field device interface 5" secured externally to the housing 3, which mechanically couples the adapter to the separated field device 7) and a data interface for a communication between the display and/or operating module and an electronics module of the field device (The adapter features a "field device interface 5" secured externally to the housing 3, which mechanically couples the adapter to the separated field device 7),
wherein the electronics unit has at least one first radio interface and at least one further second radio interface different from the first radio interface (The "communication electronics 6" is adapted to communicate wirelessly via two different radio standards. A microprocessor 9 runs a "first software stack 10" for the first radio standard and a "second software stack 11" for the second radio standard),
wherein the first radio interface is configured for high data rate communication for on-site configuration and parametrization of the field device (The second software stack 11 handles "Bluetooth or a variant modified therefrom, for example, Bluetooth LE" to establish high-speed bidirectional parametering with a local "service unit 16" on-site),
wherein the first and second radio interfaces are both housed entirely within the housing of the display and/or operating module (The microprocessor 9 running both software stacks is arranged inside the housing 3. (The antenna itself is externally mounted on the housing), para. 0035-40).
De Groot is silent to teaching that comprising a display unit arranged in the housing, and wherein the second radio interface is a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) interface configured for long-range transmission of measurement values to a remote system.
In the same filed of endeavor, SHIERS teaches a device comprising a display unit arranged in the housing (SHIERS teaches the "graphical display 106" is arranged inside the enclosure/housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to integrate the graphical display teachings of SHIERS into De Groot’s wireless adapter system in order to addresses critical security and accessibility challenges in industrial environments. Under this combined design, the graphical display can render a unique password, key, or one-time password generated by the device. A technician can scan this machine-readable image using the camera of their mobile service unit (such as a smartphone) to securely extract the key. This extracted key is then provided back during the wireless initiation process (such as Bluetooth pairing) to establish a secure bidirectional wireless configuration session. This provides a robust form of two-factor authentication that ensures the technician is physically proximate to the field device, alleviating remote security concerns.
The combination of De Groot and SHIERS is silent to teaching that wherein the second radio interface is a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) interface configured for long-range transmission of measurement values to a remote system.
In the same field of endeavor, Tramiel teaches a device wherein the second radio interface is a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) interface configured for long-range transmission of measurement values to a remote system (Tramiel teaches the "second transceiver 408" is configured to transmit reports to a gateway using a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) protocol (explicitly "LoRa") operating at sub-gigahertz frequencies, which is configured for long-range, low-power transmission of measurement values, para. 0017-18,38-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to combine the dual-transceiver architecture of Tramiel with De Groot's adapter in order to optimizes transmission range and energy efficiency. Specifically, Tramiel pairs a short-range, personal-area-network protocol (such as BLE at 2.4 GHz) for high-speed local programming with a second transceiver using a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) protocol (such as LoRa at sub-gigahertz frequencies) for reporting sensor data. By replacing De Groot's industrial mesh standard with Tramiel's sub-gigahertz LPWAN interface, the field device or adapter can transmit measurement reports over a much longer range, reaching gateways located 1 to 10 kilometers away.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein the first radio interface and the second radio interface use different frequency bands (Tramiel teaches "In some embodiments, signals transmitted between the user device 106-1 and sensor platform 110 using the first wireless protocol are 2.4 GHz signals while signals transmitted between the sensor platform 110 and the gateway 114 using the second wireless protocol are sub-gigahertz signals.").
Regarding claim 3, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module claim 1, wherein the first radio interface and the second radio interface have different data rates (De Groot teaches that the first radio standard is WirelessHART or ISA100.11a, and the second is Bluetooth or Bluetooth Low Energy (LE). Under BRI, Bluetooth LE (supporting data rates of 1 Mbps to 2 Mbps) and WirelessHART/ISA100.11a (limited to 250 kbps over IEEE 802.15.4) inherently possess different data rates.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein the first radio interface is configured for communication with a first higher-level unit and the second radio interface for communication with a second higher-level unit, wherein the first and the second higher-level unit perform different functions (De Groot teaches that the first radio interface communicates bidirectionally with a "superordinated unit" (such as a process control system 14 or gateway 15 for process control and visualizing), while the second radio standard communicates with a mobile "service unit" 16 (for maintenance, setup, and device parametering by an operator 17)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein the different radio interfaces form parallel data paths, in particular, that the first radio interface forms a first data path and the second radio interface forms a second data path (De Groot taches running a "first software stack" 10 for the first radio standard and a "second software stack" 11 for the second radio standard on a single microprocessor 9, which communicate via a single antenna control unit 13. This establishes parallel wireless data paths (one for process data, one for parameter data) running simultaneously in the same communication electronics).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 5, wherein the different radio interfaces have different access rights and/or authorizations and/or a different availability (De Groot teaches discloses that the second radio standard (Bluetooth LE) is used by a field operator for maintenance/parametering on-site, while the first radio standard (WirelessHART) is used for industrial fieldbus process monitoring. Under BRI, this represents different availability and access rights of the two paths).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein the display and/or operating module has its own energy supply unit in the form of an energy storage unit and/or energy harvesting module (De Groot teaches that the adapter's field device interface can transfer energy, and "the energy... can come, for example, from an internal battery, which is located in the housing of the radio, or wireless, adapter". A battery represents an energy storage unit.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the radio interfaces has an antenna adapter for connecting at least one external antenna (De Groot teaches a "radio antenna externally mounted on the housing... connected with the internal communication electronics, for example, using feedthroughs through the housing". Under BRI, housing feedthroughs for an externally mounted antenna act as an antenna adapter.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein the display and/or operating module has a power management unit that activates and/or deactivates the radio modules in a time-controlled and/or event-controlled manner (Tramiel teaches a programmable microcontroller that executes programming and is configured "to enter a power-down mode in the absence of the data". When new data is available, "the first sensor sends an interrupt to the programmable microcontroller... read the data... generate reports and transmit them...". This represents event-controlled power management.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches the display and/or operating module according to claim 1, wherein it is configured as a retrofittable replacement module for an existing field device (De Groot teaches upgrading legacy field devices lacking a radio unit by coupling them with a retrofittable "radio adapter, or wireless adapter").
Regarding claim 11, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches a field device with a modular configuration, with a display and/or operating module according to claim 1 (De Groot teaches a "system of automation technology" comprising the modular radio adapter connected to a separate field device 7).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches a field device with a modular configuration according to claim 11, wherein the field device and the display and/or operating module are completely supplied with energy via a two-wire interface of the field device (De Groot teaches the interface 5 establishes a "wired connection... such as a line (two-wire line) with digital protocol, e.g. HART" and can "transfer energy from the radio adapter 2 for operation of the field device 7").
Regarding claim 13, the combination of De Groot, SHIERS and Tramiel teaches a field device with a modular configuration according claim 11, wherein the two-wire interface is configured in accordance with the 4 mA to 20 mA standard or as a two-wire Ethernet interface, in particular as an Ethernet APL interface, and the field device is preferably configured to be intrinsically safe (SHIERS teaches that "safety of the process environment is assured... by compliance of the electronic circuitry itself with intrinsic safety requirements... Division 1 Hazardous (Classified) Locations". SHIERS teaches "wherein circuitry of the field device is configured to comply with an intrinsic safety specification.").
Regarding claim 14, De Groot teaches a method for retrofitting an existing field device comprising installing in said existing field device a display and/or operating module (De Groot discloses the concept of "upgrading field devices lacking a radio unit to a radio field device by coupling with a radio adapter, or wireless adapter”) comprising:
a housing (The adapter 2 includes a "housing 3", para. 0027-34) and an electronics unit (The housing contains a "communication electronics 6"),
wherein the display and/or operating module has at least one mechanical interface for connecting the display and/or operating module to the field device (The adapter features a "field device interface 5" secured externally to the housing 3, which mechanically couples the adapter to the separated field device 7) and a data interface for a communication between the display and/or operating module and an electronics module of the field device (The adapter features a "field device interface 5" secured externally to the housing 3, which mechanically couples the adapter to the separated field device 7),
wherein the electronics unit has at least one first radio interface configured for high date rate communication for on-site configurations and parameterization of the field device (The "communication electronics 6" is adapted to communicate wirelessly via two different radio standards. A microprocessor 9 runs a "first software stack 10" for the first radio standard and a "second software stack 11" for the second radio standard) (The second software stack 11 handles "Bluetooth or a variant modified therefrom, for example, Bluetooth LE" to establish high-speed bidirectional parametering with a local "service unit 16" on-site),
De Groot is silent to teaching that comprising a display unit arranged in the housing, and wherein the at least one further second radio interface configured for long-range transmission of measurement values to a remote system.
In the same filed of endeavor, SHIERS teaches a device comprising a display unit arranged in the housing (SHIERS teaches the "graphical display 106" is arranged inside the enclosure/housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to integrate the graphical display teachings of SHIERS into De Groot’s wireless adapter system in order to addresses critical security and accessibility challenges in industrial environments. Under this combined design, the graphical display can render a unique password, key, or one-time password generated by the device. A technician can scan this machine-readable image using the camera of their mobile service unit (such as a smartphone) to securely extract the key. This extracted key is then provided back during the wireless initiation process (such as Bluetooth pairing) to establish a secure bidirectional wireless configuration session. This provides a robust form of two-factor authentication that ensures the technician is physically proximate to the field device, alleviating remote security concerns.
The combination of De Groot and SHIERS is silent to teaching that wherein the at least one further second radio interface configured for long-range transmission of measurement values to a remote system.
In the same field of endeavor, Tramiel teaches a device wherein the at least one further second radio interface configured for long-range transmission of measurement values to a remote system (Tramiel teaches the "second transceiver 408" is configured to transmit reports to a gateway using a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) protocol (explicitly "LoRa") operating at sub-gigahertz frequencies, which is configured for long-range, low-power transmission of measurement values, para. 0017-18,38-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to combine the dual-transceiver architecture of Tramiel with De Groot's adapter in order to optimizes transmission range and energy efficiency. Specifically, Tramiel pairs a short-range, personal-area-network protocol (such as BLE at 2.4 GHz) for high-speed local programming with a second transceiver using a low-power, wide-area network (LPWAN) protocol (such as LoRa at sub-gigahertz frequencies) for reporting sensor data. By replacing De Groot's industrial mesh standard with Tramiel's sub-gigahertz LPWAN interface, the field device or adapter can transmit measurement reports over a much longer range, reaching gateways located 1 to 10 kilometers away.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648