DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received July 20, 2026:
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims ??? considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
The application of a reference provided on the July 20, 2026 IDS. See the rejection below for full details.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed July 20 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/0044276 (Sakai et al.) (note: US 2020/0044276 is relied upon as the English translation of the WO document, as both pertain to the same PCT).
As to claim 1, Sakai et al. teach a secondary battery comprising:
a cylindrical can (case main body [156]) (fig. 4’s embodiment as applied to fig. 1; para 0013-0015, 0044-0045);
an electrode assembly having a base finish part electrically contacting the cylindrical can (negative electrode current collector [35] touching the case main body [16]) (fig. 4);
a cap assembly (sealing body [17]) sealing the electrode assembly by blocking the cylindrical can (case main body) (fig. 4’s embodiment as applied to fig. 1; para 0013-0015, 0044-0045); and
a swelling tape (pressing member [4]) positioned inside the base finish part to press the base finish part (negative electrode current collector [35] touching the case main body [16]) to the cylindrical can (case main body [16]) (fig. 4; para 0032, 0044).
(Note: The teaching of the embodiment of fig. 4 is pertinent to the casing seen in fig. 1, as para 0044 sets forth that the only difference is the relationship of the pressing member [40]; thus the other structural features of the battery would still necessarily be present.)
As to claim 2, Sakai et al. teach the can includes a bottom portion and a side portion extending from the bottom portion, and the swelling tape presses the base finish part (negative electrode current collector [35] touching the case main body [16]) to the side portion (fig. 4’s embodiment as applied to fig. 1; para 0013-0015, 0044-0045).
As to claim 3, Sakai et al. teach the electrode assembly includes a first electrode plate (negative electrode [12]), a separator [13] positioned on the first electrode plate, and a second electrode plate (positive electrode [11]) positioned on the separator, wherein the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate are laminated and wound, and the base finish part (negative electrode current collector [35] touching the case main body [16]) (fig. 4) is provided by wrapping an outermost periphery of the electrode assembly with the first electrode plate ) (fig. 4’s embodiment as applied to fig. 1; para 0013-0015, 0044-0045).
(Again, note: The teaching of the embodiment of fig. 4 is pertinent to the casing seen in fig. 1, as para 0044 sets forth that the only difference is the relationship of the pressing member [40]; thus the other structural features of the battery would still necessarily be present.)
As to claim 4, Sakai et al. teach the first electrode plate (negative electrode) includes a conductive first base (negative electrode current collector) having inner and outer surfaces, a coating portion provided by coating a first active material on the inner and the outer surfaces of the conductive first base (para 0050), and a non-coating portion provided by not coating the first active material on the inner and the outer surfaces of the conductive first base, and the non-coating portion covers the outermost periphery of the electrode assembly (exposed portion) (para 0050) (also the embodiment of fig. 4 applied thereto).
As to claim 5, Sakai et al. teach the base finish part includes the non-coating portion (fig. 4; para 0044-0045).
As to claim 6, Sakai et al. teach the swelling tape (pressure member [40]) is adhered to an inner surface of the base finish part (negative electrode current collector [35] touching the case main body [16]) (fig. 4; para 0044-0045).
As to claim 7, Sakai et al. teach the swelling tape is interposed between the inner surface of the base finish part and the separator (teaching of fig. 4, in light of the battery formed (i.e. see para 0054, wherein a separator would be to the interior of the swelling tape in a wound manner).
As to claim 9, Sakai et al. teach a length of the swelling tape is 1 % to 100% of a length of the non-coating portion (3-30% of the circumference length of the electrode body; para 0040, as applied to fig. 4) (prior art would lie within claimed invention, as fig. 4 shows less than 100% coverage, and covering 3% of the circumference length would be greater than 1% of the non-coating portion (less than the circumference length)). (Note: The teaching of para 0040 is applicable to the embodiment of fig. 4, as para 0044 sets forth that the only difference is the placement of the pressing member [40].)
As to claim 11, Sakai et al. teach the swelling tape (pressing member [40]) absorbs an electrolyte to be swollen (abs; para 0006).
As to claim 13, Sakai et al. teach the swelling tape includes an acrylic binder (wherein an adhesive is embodied to be part of the swelling tape) (para 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (The teachings of Sakai et al. as set forth above and applicable herein, are incorporated herein but are not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake.)
As to claim 8, Sakai et al.’s example of fig. 4 does not teach the first electrode plate (negative electrode) further includes a first tab welded to the conductive first base (negative current collector), and the first tab is electrically connected to the cylindrical can.
However, Sakai et al. teach of a negative electrode lead that is welded to a bottom portion of a main case (cylindrical can as claimed) and exposing section (conductive first base as claimed) (para 0057). The substitution of one connection to the cylindrical can (one that does not use a lead electrically connected to the can and welded to the conductive first base) with another (one that does use a lead electrically connected to the can and welded to the conductive first base) would yield the predictable result of acting as an electrical link between the electrode and can, wherein the substituted components and their functions were known in the art (as set forth in Sakai). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed (as applicable to AIA applications) to substitute one connection to the cylindrical can (one that does not use a lead electrically connected to the can and welded to the conductive first base) with another (one that does use a lead electrically connected to the can and welded to the conductive first base), as the substitution would yield the predictable result of acting as an electrical link between the electrode and can, wherein the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. “When considering obviousness of a combination of known elements, the operative question is thus "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." Id . at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.” See MPEP §2141(I).
As to claim 10, Sakai et al. teach a winding-turn length of the swelling tape is 0.1-1 turn compared to a winding-turn length of the base finish part (3-30% of the circumference length of the electrode body; para 0040, as applied to fig. 4) (overlaps claimed range, as 3-30% would be 0.03-0.3 of the outermost winding). (Note: The teaching of para 0040 is applicable to the embodiment of fig. 4, as para 0044 sets forth that the only difference is the placement of the pressing member [40].)
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/481150 (reference application).
The pertinent copending claims are provided below.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Copending claim 1 reads on pending claims 1 and 3.
Copending claim 6 reads on pending claim 11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/EUGENIA WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759