DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2020-0187672, filed on December 30, 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20180316028 A1, November 01, 2018 (hereinafter “An”), in view of Kim et al. KR20200056714 A May 25, 2020 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, An teaches a humidifier for fuel cells (paragraph 0002), the humidifier comprising: a humidifying module (fig. 3 humifying module 110, paragraph 0061) configured to humidify dry gas supplied from outside using wet gas discharged from a fuel cell stack 10 (fig. 2, paragraph 0044); and a first cap (fig. 3, first cap 120) coupled to one end of the humidifying module, and a second cap (fig. 3, second cap 130) coupled to the other end of the humidifying module, wherein the humidifying module comprises: a mid-case (fig. 3, housing 111, paragraph 0062) open at opposite ends thereof; and a membrane housing 111a disposed in the humidifying module 110, the second housing 111b comprising a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (fig. 3, hollow fiber membrane 112, paragraph 0065), the second housing 111b comprises: a first housing 111a open at opposite ends thereof, the first housing 111a being configured to receive the hollow fiber membranes 112; and a first fixing layer (fig. 3, first fixing layers 113, paragraph 0062) and a second fixing layer (fig. 3, second fixing layers 114, paragraph 0064) configured to fix opposite ends of the hollow fiber membranes 112.
However, An fails to disclose an inner case comprises: a first divided case and a second divided case configured to receive the hollow fiber membranes; and a first press-fit member configured to couple the first divided case and the second divided case to each other by press-fit. Kim discloses an upper structure 110 and lower structure 120 forming a case (fig. 3, paragraph 0022). A hook portion extending from the upper structure 110 inserted between a protrusion 121 and locking projection of the lower structure 120 (paragraph 0046). Elastic deformation during insertion and retention between structural members (paragraph 0049). Engagement between the two case halves forms a secure housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner case structure of An to use an interface hook engagement taught by Kim in order to eliminate fasteners, simplify assembly, and provide secure mechanical retention between housing portions.
In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose."). MPEP 2144.04 (V)(C).
Regarding claim 2, An fails to disclose that the first press-fit member comprises a first sliding groove formed in the first divided case and a first insertion member formed on the second divided case, and at least a part of the first insertion member is formed so as to have a larger size than the first sliding groove, whereby the at least a part of the first insertion member is press-fit while being inserted into the first sliding groove.
However, Kim discloses a hook portion inserted into a receiving region between a protrusion and locking projection (paragraph 0046), a defined insertion region (fitting groove 140) between structural members (paragraph 0065) and a dimensional relationship between bent hook surfaces and corresponding structural members to ensure secure engagement (paragraph 0055). The insertion region corresponds to the sliding groove, and the hook potion corresponds to the insertion member. It would have been obvious to configure the divided housing portion with complimentary groove and insertion members to implement the press-fit coupling arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, An fails to disclose that the first press-fit member comprises a first protruding member protruding from an outer surface of the first divided case in an outward direction and a first catching member protruding from the first insertion member in the outward direction, the first sliding groove is formed in the first protruding member, and the first catching member is inserted into the first sliding groove and is supported by the first protruding member.
Kim discloses a protruding locking projection (fig. 3, catch 130, or fig. 8, hooking projection 310), extending from one case portion (paragraphs 0046 and 0083). A protrusion 121/320 (figs. 3 and 8) formed on the lower structure (paragraphs 0046 and 0084), and a bent hook portion having first and second bent surfaces that contact and are supported by these protruding structures (0052-0055). The locking projection and protrusion correspond to the claimed protruding member and sliding groove structure, and the hook surfaces correspond to the catching member engaging and being supported by those protruding structures.
Regarding claim 4, Ann fails to disclose that the first press-fit member comprises a first restriction member protruding from the first protruding member in an upward-downward direction perpendicular to the outward direction, the outer surface of the first divided case and the first restriction member are disposed so as to face each other in a state in which the first sliding groove is located therebetween, and a part of the first insertion member and the first catching member are press-fit between the outer surface of the first divided case and the first restriction member.
Kim discloses a locking projection (fig. 3, catch 130, or fig. 8, hooking projection 310) protruding inwardly from the case wall (paragraph 0046). A protrusion 121/320 (figs. 3 and 8) spaced from the locking projection to define an insertion region (paragraphs 0063 – 0065). Engagement geometry that positions the hook portion between these structural members (figs. 3-5, 8-10). These structural members restrict movement of the hook in directions perpendicular to the insertion path, thereby functioning as restriction members. Incorporating perpendicular restrictions features to limit displacement and enhance retention is a known mechanical reinforcement of snap-fit or press-fit structures and would have been obvious to include.
Regarding claim 5, An discloses the first (fig. 3, first fixing layers 113, paragraph 0062) and second fixing layers 114 (fig. 3, paragraph 0064) spaced at opposite ends of the membrane bundle (paragraphs 0062-0064), but An fails to disclose that the inner case comprises a second press-fit member spaced apart from the first press-fit member in the first axis direction, and the first divided case and the second divided case are coupled to each other by press-fit using the first press-fit member and the second press-fit member. However, Kim discloses multiple hook engagement structures distributed along case edges (figs. 6-8). I would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to providing multiple engagement members spaced along a longitudinal axis to increase structural rigidity and distribute retention forces, as this is a predictable duplication of known elements to improve performance. MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Regarding claim 6, An fails to disclose that the first press-fit member is formed so as to have a larger length than the second press-fit member based on the first axis direction. However, Kim discloses dimensional control of hook thickness and structural engagement to achieve desired retention force (paragraphs 0053-0055). Varying the length of engagement members to control retention characteristics is a predictable dimensional adjustment and constitutes optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 7, An fails to disclose that the first press-fit member and the second press-fit member are formed so as to be different from each other in terms of at least one of shape and size. Kim discloses bent surfaces having different geometries (first bent surface 111_1/211 and second bent surface 111_2/212, figs. 4 and 10) with defined thickness relationships (paragraphs 0053-0055, 0092-0094). Providing different shaped or dimensions engagement members to improve retention or prevent disengagement is a routine mechanical design variation.
Regarding claim 8, An discloses cartridge of a humidifier for fuel cells configured to humidify dry gas supplied from outside using wet gas discharged from a fuel cell stack, the membrane module comprising: a membrane housing 111a disposed in the humidifying module 110, the second housing 111b comprising a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (fig. 3, hollow fiber membrane 112, paragraph 0065), the second housing 111b comprises: a first housing 111a open at opposite ends thereof, the first housing 111a being configured to receive the hollow fiber membranes 112; and a first fixing layer (fig. 3, first fixing layers 113, paragraph 0062) and a second fixing layer (fig. 3, second fixing layers 114, paragraph 0064) configured to fix opposite ends of the hollow fiber membranes 112. However, An fails to disclose that the inner case comprises: a first divided case and a second divided case configured to receive the hollow fiber membranes; and a first press-fit member configured to couple the first divided case and the second divided case to each other by press-fit.
Kim discloses an upper structure 110 and lower structure 120 forming a case (fig. 3, paragraph 0022). A hook portion extending from the upper structure 110 inserted between a protrusion 121 and locking projection of the lower structure 120 (paragraph 0046). Kim explains that an elastic deformation occurs during insertion and retention between structural members (paragraph 0049), and engagement between the two case halves forms a secure housing (paragraph 0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner case structure of An to use an interface hook engagement taught by Kim in order to eliminate fasteners, simplify assembly, and provide secure mechanical retention between housing portions.
Regarding claim 9-11, Kim discloses a hook portion inserted into a defined insertion region (fitting groove 140, 330) formed between structural members (paragraphs 0065 and 0081), Kim further discloses dimensional relationship between bent hook surfaces and corresponding protrusions to ensure tight engagement (paragraphs 0052-0055). The insertion region corresponds to the sliding groove, and the hook portion corresponds to the insertion member configured to engage the groove with defined dimensional relationships.
Kim discloses a protruding locking projection (fig. 3, catch 130, or fig. 8, hooking projection 310) and a protrusion 121/320 (figs. 3 and 8) extending from one case portion (paragraphs 0046 and 0083). The hook portion includes bent surfaces engaging these protrusions (paragraphs 0052-0055). Figs. 3-5 and 10 illustrate the hook retained and supported between protruding structures. These features correspond to the claimed protruding member, sliding groove region, and catching member.
Kim discloses a locking projection and protrusion space to define an insertion region between them (paragraphs 0046-0049, 0063-0065). These structural members restrict displacement of the hook portion in directions perpendicular to insertion and provide engagement surfaces on opposing sides of the hook portion (see figs. 8-10). Providing groove, protrusion, and restriction structures as recited in claims 9-11 represents the application of known interference joining geometry disclosed by Kim to the cartridge housing of An. Configuring mating members with defined dimensional relationship to achieve secure engagement constitute optimization of a result effective variable, and selection of particular protrusion geometry constitutes a design choice where predictable retention results are achieved.
Regarding claim 12-14, An discloses first (fig. 3, first fixing layers 113, paragraph 0062) and second fixing layers 114 (fig. 3, paragraph 0064) at opposite ends of the membrane bundle along a longitudinal axis (paragraphs 0062-0064). Kim discloses multiple hook engagement structures distributed along the case edges and corners (figs. 6-8). Providing multiple engagement members spaced along a longitudinal axis to increase structural rigidity and distribute retention forces is a predictable duplication of known element to improve structural stability. Modifying the cartridge housing of An to include multiple press-fit members spaced apart along the axis as suggested by Kim, would have been obvious.
Kim discloses dimensional relationships between bent hook portions and protruding members to control engagement thickness and retention force (paragraphs 0053-0055). Varying the length of engagement members to control retention characteristics is a predictable dimensional adjustment of known engagement structures. Adjusting dimensions of mating members to achieve desired mechanical performance constitutes optimization of a result effective variable. MPEP 2144.05(II). Configuring one press-fit member to have a larger length than another would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776