DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Group II (claim 10) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christian et al (WO 9003414 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Christian teaches a polymer blend B1 comprising equal proportions of an ethylene homopolymer resin ‘006 (having a density of 0.9552 g/cm3 measured by gradient column method) and an ethylene/butene-1 copolymer ‘013 (having a density of 0.9042 g/cm3 measure by gradient column method) [P19L7-P21L1 and Table 1].
The examiner submits that the density measured by gradient column method (ASTM D1505) is substantially identical to the density measured by ASTM D792, as evidenced by US 20230405982 [P3, Table 2].
The ethylene homopolymer resin ‘006 reads on the claimed first ethylene-based polymer having a density of 0.941 g/cc to 0.970 g/cc as measured according to ASTM D792.
The ethylene/butene-1 copolymer ‘013 reads on the claimed second ethylene-based polymer having a density of 0.860 g/cc to 0.930 g/cc as measured according to ASTM D792.
The blend contains 1000 ppm each of the stabilizers Irganox 1076 and Irgafos 168 [P20L6-7], both of which are art recognized as antioxidants, reading on the claimed additive.
The blend B1 contains 2.7 mole% of butene [Table 1], which is 5.3 wt% based on the total ethylene/butene content, as calculated by the examiner, meeting the claimed Total Comonomer Content of 2.9 wt% or greater.
Regarding claims 2-3, Christian teaches equal proportions of ‘006 and ‘013 as stated above, which is 50 wt% of ‘006 and 50 wt% of ‘013, meeting the claimed range of 40 wt% to 95 wt% of the first ethylene-based polymer, and 5 wt% to 60 wt% of the second ethylene-based polymer.
Regarding claim 4, Christian does not disclose any carbon black in the composition. Therefore, the composition is expected to be free of carbon black.
Regarding claim 5, the recited density of the polymeric composition is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nevertheless, Christian teaches that Blend 1 has density of 0.9335 [Table 1], meeting the claimed range of 0.945 or less.
Regarding claim 6, the recited elongation at break of the polymeric composition is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nevertheless, Christian teaches that Blend 1 has elongation at break of 1620% [Table 2], meeting the claimed range of 600% or greater.
Regarding claim 7, the recited density of the polymeric composition is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nevertheless, Christian teaches that Blend 1 has density of 0.9335 [Table 1], meeting the claimed range of 0.930-0.945.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian et al (WO 9003414 A1).
Regarding claims 8-9, Christian teaches the polymeric composition of claim 1. Christian’s polymer ‘013 has density of 0.9042 as stated above, which is sufficiently close to the claimed lower limit of 0.918 that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to obtain the same properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select amounts within the claimed range based on the close proximity to the prior art range and the reasonable expectation of obtaining a product having the same properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05.I). The examiner’s position is further bolstered by the fact that Christian’s Blend 1 has elongation at break of 1620% [Table 2], meeting the claimed range of 600% or greater.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762