DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Group II (claim 10) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/10/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/5/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 8 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 is/are pending with claim(s) 8 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 6/5/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Christian explicitly characterizes distinct classes of ethylene polymers based on density, including elastomers (0.85-0.900 g/cm3), very low density polyethylene (0.900-0.915 g/cm3), and linear low density polyethylene (0.915-0.940 g/cm3). The exemplified '013 copolymer used in Christian's blends has a density of 0.9042 g/cm3, squarely within the very low density polyethylene regime, bordering elastomeric materials. In contrast, amended claim 1 requires a second ethylene-based polymer having a density of 0.918 g/cm3 to 0.930 g/cm3, which falls within the LLDPE regime.
In response, Christian teaches that “Contemplated blend components generally include elastomer blend components in the density range of about 0.85-0.900 g/cm3, very low density polyethylene blend components in the density range of about 0.900-0.915 g/cm3, and linear, low density polyethylene blend components in the density range of about 0.915-0.940 g/cm3. Ethylene interpolymers having a density in the high density polyethylene range above about 0.940 g/cm3 are also contemplated as being suitably employed in the invention” [P6L21-30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select linear low density polyethylene and a high density polyethylene in Christian’s composition, as these are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The high density polyethylene with density of above about 0.940 g/cm3 reads on the claimed first ethylene based polymer; the linear low density polyethylene with density of about 0.915-0.940 g/cm3 reads on the claimed second ethylene-based polymer.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recited “The polymer composition of claim 8” should be -- The polymer composition of claim --, because claim 8 is canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christian et al (WO 9003414 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Christian teaches linear ethylene interpolymer blend, comprising linear low density polyethylene blend components (LLDPE) in the density range of about 0.915-0.940 g/cm3 and high density polyethylene (HDPE) in the density range above about 0.940 g/cm3 [P6L14-30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the linear low density polyethylene (LLDPE) and the high density polyethylene (HDPE) in Christian’s composition, as these are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The high density polyethylene with density of above about 0.940 g/cm3 reads on the claimed first ethylene based polymer; the linear low density polyethylene with density of about 0.915-0.940 g/cm3 reads on the claimed second ethylene-based polymer.
The density measured by gradient column method (ASTM D1505) is substantially identical to the density measured by ASTM D792, as evidenced by US 20230405982 [P3, Table 2].
The blend comprises a stabilizer, as illustrated in Example 1 which contains 1000 ppm each of stabilizers Irganox 1076 and Irgafos 168 [P20L6-7], both of which are art recognized as antioxidants, reading on the claimed additive.
The blend comprises a comonomer, such as butene, in an amount of 0-30 mole percent [P6L14-21, P6L36-P7L8]. Thus, for a blend comprising ethylene/butene, the examiner calculates the comonomer butene in an amount of 0-46 wt% based on the total ethylene/butene content, overlapping the claimed Total Comonomer Content of 2.9-5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claims 2-3, as an example, Christian teaches equal proportions of LLDPE and HDPE [P10L13-19], meeting the claimed range of 40 wt% to 95 wt% of the first ethylene-based polymer, and 5 wt% to 60 wt% of the second ethylene-based polymer.
Regarding claim 4, Christian does not disclose any carbon black in the composition. Therefore, the composition is expected to be free of carbon black.
Regarding claim 5, the recited density of the polymeric composition is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nevertheless, Christian teaches an example Blend 1 having density of 0.9335 [Table 1], meeting the claimed range of 0.945 or less.
Regarding claim 6, the recited elongation at break of the polymeric composition is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nevertheless, Christian teaches an example Blend 1 having elongation at break of 1620% [Table 2], meeting the claimed range of 600% or greater.
Regarding claim 7, the recited density of the polymeric composition is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present. Nevertheless, Christian teaches an example Blend 1 having density of 0.9335 [Table 1], meeting the claimed range of 0.930-0.945.
Regarding claim 9, Christian’s Blend 1 has elongation at break of 1620% [Table 2], meeting the claimed range of 600% or greater.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762