DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed November 4, 2025. Claim 27, 28 and 30-46 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 27, 28 and 30-46 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4 the limitation “APD” should be written out for understanding that the APD is an avalanche photodiode. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 9, the limitation “provide gate signals” should be “provide the gate signals” since gate signals were previously mentioned in claim 27 in which claim 35 is dependent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations “gating signals”, “electrical signals”, “input signals”, “first signals”, “second signals”, “a capacitive response”, “a preset frequency component” and “a phase of transmission” all should use the definite article “the” or “said” since all of these elements have been previously mentioned in claim 27 for antecedent purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 42 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “a narrow band filter” should be “the narrow band filter” since it has already been mentioned in claim 27. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33, 34, 35-38 and 40-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 33 and 44, the limitation, “a single-photon sensor” is unclear with respect to the limitation in claim 27, line 4, “a APD”. According to the specification there is one sensor (210) attached to the signal divider (110) (see fig. 9). The way the claims are written is that there is now a APD and a single-photon sensor. For examining purposes these elements will be the same element. Please clarify.
Claim 34 is rejected because of its dependency on claim 33.
In regards to claim 35, the limitations “a/the single-photon sensor” is unclear with respect to the limitation in claim 27, line 4, “a APD”. According to the specification there is one sensor (210) attached to the signal divider (110) (see fig. 9). The way the claims are written is that there is now a APD and a single-photon sensor. For examining purposes these elements will be the same element. Please clarify. Also, the limitation “optical signals” is unclear, are these optical signals the photons that interact with the APD. For examining purposes the optical signals will be the photons as noted in claim 27 in which claim 35 is dependent.
Claims 36-38 are rejected because of their dependency on claim 35.
In regards to claim 37, the limitation “filters out interference signals” is unclear. It is unclear if these interference signals are the same interference signals in claim 27. It appears that the interference signals are the same being generated by the capacitive response of gating signals, where the preset frequency component is one of the frequency components in the gating signals. Please clarify.
Claim 38 is rejected because of its dependency on claim 37.
In regards to claim 40, the limitations “a/the single-photon sensor” is unclear with respect to the limitation in claim 27, line 4, “a APD”. According to the specification there is one sensor (210) attached to the signal divider (110) (see fig. 9). The way the claims are written is that there is now a APD and a single-photon sensor. For examining purposes these elements will be the same element. Please clarify. Also, in lines 8, the limitation “optical signals” is unclear, are these optical signals the photons that interact with the APD. For examining purposes the optical signals will be the photons as noted in claim 27 in which claim 40 is dependent.
Claims 41-46 are rejected because of their dependency on claim 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 28 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) in view of Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919).
Re claim 27: Sakuma teaches a device, comprising an interference unit (fig. 1 and 2), wherein the interference unit (fig. 1) comprises: a signal divider (10) configured to divide input signals into first signals and second signals (see fig. 1, the first and second signal down respective paths 12 and 14), wherein the input signals comprise electrical signals (frequency signals in a specific band) and interference signals (signal frequency in the specific band to be eliminated) generated by a receiver and both of the first signals and the second signals contain the electrical signals and the interference signals (paragraph 1, 6, 8 and 11, the signal is split by 10 into two parts that contain a frequency spectrum/band, which includes a signal frequency to be eliminated); a first signal path (12) coupled to the signal divider (10) and configured to receive and transmit the first signals (see fig. 1); a second signal path (14) coupled to the signal divider (10) and configured to receive the second signals and filter out and transmit signals with a preset frequency component from the second signals (the second signal on path 14 is filtered at a preset frequency by way of filter 18), wherein the second signal path comprises a narrow band filter (18, paragraph 8, a specific band frequency is passed through) with a passband including the preset frequency component (paragraph 6 and 8); a phase shifter (paragraphs 1, 6, 8 and 11) arranged in the first signal path or the second signal path and configured to shift a phase of the transmitted signals by 180 degrees (paragraph 8 and 11, opposite phase from a delay between path 12 and path 14); and a coupler (20) coupled to the first signal path (12) and the second signal path (14) and configured to receive and couple output signals of the first signal path (12) and the second signal path (14) and output the coupled signals (see fig. 1, paragraph 8 and 11, the frequency to be eliminated passed through 18 on line/branch/path 14 and is in the opposite phase of the frequency band/spectrum in the signal on line/branch 12, these two signals are combined in combiner 20, and the frequency to be eliminated is eliminated from the signal on line/branch/path 12), but does not specifically teach wherein the input signals comprise the electrical signals generated by a APD in response to incident photons and the interference signals generated by a capacitive response of gating signals. Kardynal teaches a signal divider (55) configured to divide input signals into first signals and second signals (fig. 1 and 3, paragraph 29, 42, 43, 67 and 68, identical signals down each path, the signals include both the avalanche/electric signal and the gating/interference signal), wherein the input signals comprise electrical signals generated by a APD in response to incident photons and interference signals generated by a capacitive response of gating signals (fig. 1 and 3, paragraph 29, 42, 43, 67 and 68, identical signals down each path, the signals include both the avalanche/electric signal and the gating/interference signal), and both the first signals and the second signals comprise the electrical signals and the interference signals (fig. 1 and 3, paragraph 29, 42, 43, 67 and 68, identical signals down each path, the signals include both the avalanche/electric signal and the gating/interference signal). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to remove unwanted specific frequency signal with the circuit structure of Sakuma including the phase shifting and narrow band filtering to remove the specific frequency after the divider in Kardynal to output a signal with higher signal to noise ratio improving detection of weaker signals by removing the frequency of the interference/gating capacitance signal.
Re claim 28: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the single-photon detection device, wherein a difference between transmission distances of the first signal path and the second signal path is less than a first preset value (Sakuma, paragraph 6, delay time, Kardynal, paragraphs 42, 43 and 46, delay length/period/gating period/cycle).
Re claim 39: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches an integrated circuit chip, comprising the single-photon detection device according to claim 27 integrated thereon (Kardynal, paragraph 46, Sakuma, fig. 1 and 2).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Eckert et al. (US 20090292196).
Re claim 30: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the single-photon detection device, wherein the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) comprises: the narrow band filter (Sakuma, 18) with the passband including the preset frequency component (Sakuma, paragraph 8 and 11), but does not specifically teach wherein the passband bandwidth of the narrow band filter is less than or equal to 10 MHz, and the narrow band filtering module comprises one or more of a surface acoustic wave filter, a bulk acoustic wave filter and a dielectric filter. Eckert teaches wherein a passband bandwidth of a narrow band filtering module (41) is less than or equal to 10 MHz (paragraph 43 and 44, 7.33 MHz), and the narrow band filtering module comprises one or more of a surface acoustic wave filter, a bulk acoustic wave filter and a dielectric filter (paragraph 43 and 44, ceramic filter is dielectric, also uses surface acoustic wave filters, see fig. 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a filter similar to Eckert with the desired passband with the narrow band filter module of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal in order to ensure desired frequency passes through providing for reducing noise in the output providing for higher quality photon detection.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 109270375) and Lamson et al. (US 6424027).
Re claim 31: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the first signal path (Sakuma, 12) coupled to the signal divider (Sakuma, 10) and configured to receive and transmit the first signals (Sakuma, see fig. 1); the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) coupled to the signal divider (Sakuma, 10) and configured to receive the second signals and filter out and transmit signals with a preset frequency component from the second signals (Sakuma, the second signal on path 14 is filtered at a preset frequency by way of filter 18), wherein the second signal path comprises a narrow band filter (Sakuma, 18, paragraph 8, a specific band frequency is passed through); the phase shifter (Sakuma, paragraphs 1, 6, 8 and 11) arranged in the first signal path or the second signal path and configured to shift a phase of the transmitted signals by 180 degrees (Sakuma, paragraph 8 and 11, opposite phase from a delay between path 12 and path 14); and the coupler (Sakuma, 20) coupled to the first signal path (Sakuma, 12) and the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) and configured to receive and couple output signals of the first signal path (Sakuma, 12) and the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) and output the coupled signals (Sakuma, see fig. 1, paragraph 8 and 11, the frequency to be eliminated passed through 18 on line/branch/path 14 and is in the opposite phase of the frequency band/spectrum in the signal on line/branch 12, these two signals are combined in combiner 20, and the frequency to be eliminated is eliminated from the signal on line/branch/path 12), but does not specifically teach wherein the first signal path comprises: a power attenuation module configured to adjust a power of the first signal to make a power difference between the output signals of the first signal path and the second signal path less than a second preset value, wherein the power attenuation module comprises one or more of an analog voltage-controlled attenuator, a numerical control step attenuator and a resistance network attenuator. Yang teaches a first signal path (path with KIDs readout, under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 4-23, top path figure 2) comprises: a power attenuation module (under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 13-23) configured to adjust a power of the first signal to make a power difference between the output signals of the first signal path and the second signal path less than a second preset value (under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 13-23, and under preference, lines 1-23), and a second signal path (path with adjustable phase shifter, under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 4-23, bottom path figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a power attenuator on the first path similar to Yang with the first path of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal in order to further reduce the noise in the output signal providing for higher quality outputs. Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Yang does not specifically teach wherein the power attenuation module comprises one or more of an analog voltage-controlled attenuator, a numerical control step attenuator and a resistance network attenuator. Lamson teaches a resistance network attenuator as a power attenuator (col. 3, lines 51-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a resistance network attenuator as the power attenuator in Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Yang in order to reduce the signal power without altering the waveform providing for higher quality measurements.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Mohamadi et al. (US 20060284783).
Re claim 32: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the phase shifter (Sakuma, paragraphs 1, 6, 8 and 11) arranged in the first signal path or the second signal path and configured to shift a phase of the transmitted signals by 180 degrees (Sakuma, paragraph 8 and 11, opposite phase from a delay between path 12 and path 14), but does not specifically teach the phase shift module comprises one or more of an RF transmission line, an analog voltage-controlled phase shifter, a numerical control step phase shifter, a capacitance network phase shifter, an inductance network phase shifter and a capacitance-inductance hybrid network phase shifter. Mohamadi teaches a phase shift module (1500) comprises one or more of an RF transmission line, an analog voltage-controlled phase shifter, a numerical control step phase shifter, a capacitance network phase shifter, an inductance network phase shifter and a capacitance-inductance hybrid network phase shifter (paragraph 56, fig. 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a capacitance network phase shifter, an inductance network phase shifter and a capacitance-inductance hybrid network phase shifter similar to Mohamadi as the phase shifter in Sakuma as modified by Kardynal in order to phase shift a signal without disturbing the amplitude or frequency of the signal providing for higher quality outputs.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Rollins (US 6452714).
Re claim 33: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the single-photon detection device, wherein the signal divider (Sakuma, 10, Kardynal, 55) and the coupler (Sakuma, 20, Kardynal, 61) each comprises a three-port matcher (Sakuma, 10 and 20 each include three ports, Kardynal, 55 and 61 each have three ports), and the three-port matcher comprises a first end, a second end and a third end (Sakuma, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, fig. 3); the three-port matcher of the divider (Sakuma, 10, Kardynal, 55) is configured as follows: the first end is coupled to a single-photon component sensor (Kardynal, 51, Sakuma, receiver) and configured to receive the input signals (Kardynal, fig. 3, Sakuma, fig. 1 and 2); the second end is coupled to the first signal path and configured to output the first signals (Sakuma, second end connected to 12, fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 57, fig. 3); and the third end is coupled to the second signal path and configured to output the second signals (Sakuma, the third end is connected to 14, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 59, see fig. 3); wherein the three-port RF matcher of the coupler (Sakuma, 20, Kardynal, 61) is configured as follows: the second end is coupled to the second signal path and configured to receive the output signals of the second signal path (Sakuma, 20, connected to 14, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 61 second end connected to path with 56, see fig. 3); the third end is coupled to the first signal path and configured to receive the output signals of the first signal path (Sakuma, 20, connected to 12, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, see fig. 3, third end connected to first path without 56); and the first end outputs signals formed by coupling the output signals of the first signal path and the output signals of the second signal path (Sakuma, first end in 20 outputs combined signal, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 61, first end outputs combined signal to element 63, see fig. 3), but does not specifically teach the three-port matcher is a three-port RF matcher. Rollins teaches a three-port RF matcher (48 and 80) for dividing and combining signals (col. 5, lines 63-65, col. 7, lines 6-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an RF matching divider/combiner similar to Rollins with the divider and combiner of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal in order to ensure equal outputs of RF electrical signals to be processed to remove noise providing for higher quality outputs.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) and Rollins (US 6452714) as applied to claim 33 above, and further in view of Inoue et al. (US 20090039237).
Re claim 34: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Rollins teaches a three-port RF matcher (Rollins, 48 and 80, Sakuma, 10, 20) for dividing and combining signals (Rollins, col. 5, lines 63-65, col. 7, lines 6-12, Sakuma, 10, 20, fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, fig. 3), wherein the RF matcher for the divider (Sakuma, 10) comprises a directional coupler (Sakuma, paragraph 11), but does not specifically teach wherein the three-port RF matcher for the coupler comprises a directional coupler, and a second end and a third end of the directional coupler have a preset signal isolation degree. Inoue teaches wherein a three-port RF matching component comprises a directional coupler (paragraph 59, fig. 16b), and a second end and a third end of the directional coupler have a preset signal isolation degree (paragraph 59, fig. 16b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the RF matching divider/combiner of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Rollins with a directional coupler similar to Inoue in order to ensure the output signals from an APD are processed to remove noise providing for higher quality outputs.
Claim(s) 35, 36, 40 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Thomas et al. (US 20110108712).
Re claim 35: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the single-photon detection device, further comprising: a single-photon sensor (Kardynal, 51) configured to receive optical signals and convert the optical signals into electrical signals (Kardynal, paragraph 43); the single-photon sensor (Kardynal, 51) configured to receive a bias voltage to make the single-photon sensor (Kardynal, 51) in a critical breakdown state (Kardynal, paragraph 37, 38 and 67); and providing gating signals for the single-photon sensor (Kardynal, paragraph 26, 29 and 68), but does not specifically teach a DC voltage source coupled to the single-photon sensor and configured to provide the DC bias voltage for the single-photon sensor and a gating signal generator coupled to the single-photon sensor and configured to provide gating signals for the single-photon sensor. Thomas a single-photon detection device, further comprising: a single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) configured to receive optical signals and convert the optical signals into electrical signals (Thomas, see fig. 10, paragraph 60-70); a DC voltage source (Thomas, 113) coupled to the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) and configured to provide DC bias voltage for the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) to make the single-photon sensor in a critical breakdown state (Thomas, fig. 10, paragraph 48-52); and a gating signal generator (Thomas, 109/107/101) coupled to the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) and configured to provide gating signals for the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) (Thomas, fig. 10, paragraph 48-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a DC bias voltage generator and a gating pulse generator similar to Thomas to apply the bias voltage and gating signals of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal in order to control the single photon sensor in a precise manner for detecting individual photons providing for a more efficient single photon detection module.
Re claim 36: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas teaches the single-photon detection device, wherein the gating signals comprise periodic signals, and the preset frequency component comprises one of the frequency components of the gating signals (Thomas, fig. 10, paragraph 48-52, 55, 56 and 111-115, filter 137, Sakuma, filter 18, a specific desired frequency component to be eliminated).
Re claim 40: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches a method for single-photon detection using the single-photon device according to claim 27, comprising: providing, a bias voltage for the single-photon sensor (Kardynal, 51) in a critical breakdown state (Kardynal, paragraph 37, 38 and 67); and providing gating signals for the single-photon sensor (Kardynal, paragraph 26, 29 and 68), receiving optical signals and converting the optical signals into electric signals, by the single-photon sensor (Kardynal, fig. 1 and 3, paragraph 29, 42, 43, 67 and 68, identical signals down each path, the signals include both the avalanche/electric signal and the gating/interference signal), dividing, by the signal divider (Sakuma, 10), input signals into first signals and second signals (Sakuma, see fig. 1, the first and second signal down respective paths 12 and 14), the input signals comprising the electrical signals and interference signals generated by a capacitive response of the gating signals (Kardynal, fig. 1 and 3, paragraph 29, 42, 43, 67 and 68, identical signals down each path, the signals include both the avalanche/electric signal and the gating/interference signal); receiving and transmitting the first signals, by the first signal path (Sakuma, 12, see fig. 1); receiving the second signals, and filtering out and transmitting signals with a preset frequency component from the second signals, by the second signal path (Sakuma, 14 and filter 18, fig. 1 and 2); shifting, by the phase shifter, a phase of transmission signals by 180 degrees (Sakuma, paragraph 6, 8 and 11); and receiving and coupling output signals of the first signal path and the second signal path, and outputting the coupled signals, by the coupler (Sakuma, 20, fig 1 and 2), but does not specifically teach a DC voltage source coupled to the single-photon sensor and configured to provide the DC bias voltage for the single-photon sensor and a gating signal generator coupled to the single-photon sensor and configured to provide gating signals for the single-photon sensor. Thomas a single-photon detection device, further comprising: a single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) configured to receive optical signals and convert the optical signals into electrical signals (Thomas, see fig. 10, paragraph 60-70); a DC voltage source (Thomas, 113) coupled to the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) and configured to provide DC bias voltage for the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) to make the single-photon sensor in a critical breakdown state (Thomas, fig. 10, paragraph 48-52); and a gating signal generator (Thomas, 109/107/101) coupled to the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) and configured to provide gating signals for the single-photon sensor (Thomas, 117) (Thomas, fig. 10, paragraph 48-52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a DC bias voltage generator and a gating pulse generator similar to Thomas to apply the bias voltage and gating signals of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal in order to control the single photon sensor in a precise manner for detecting individual photons providing for a more efficient single photon detection module.
Re claim 41: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal teaches the method, wherein a difference between transmission distances of the first signal path and the second signal path is less than a first preset value (Sakuma, paragraph 6, delay time, Kardynal, paragraphs 42, 43 and 46, delay length/period/gating period/cycle).
Claim(s) 37, 38, 45 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) and Thomas et al. (US 20110108712) as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Sharpe et al. (GB 2466299).
Re claims 37 and 45: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas teaches the interference unit where the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) filters out interference signals corresponding to one of the frequency components of the gating signals (Sakuma, fig. 1 and 2, paragraph 8 and 11, Thomas, fig. 10, paragraph 48-52, 55, 56 and 111-115, filter 137), but does not specifically teach comprising a plurality of the interference units, wherein the plurality of interference units is cascaded. Sharpe teaches comprising a plurality of interference units (50 and 150), wherein: the plurality of interference units (50 and 150) is cascaded (see fig. 9), and a second signal path of each of the interference units (second path with element 58, see fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the interference unit with the second path for filtering frequency components of gating signals of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas be a plurality if interference units with the second paths filtering the frequency components of gating signals placed in a cascaded manner similar to Sharpe in order to ensure proper filtering of the signal to remove noise from the signal providing for higher quality outputs.
Re claims 38 and 46: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal, Thomas and Sharpe teaches the single-photon detection device and method, further comprising: a plurality of signal amplifiers, wherein each of the signal amplifiers is arranged in front of one of the interference units in a transmission direction of the input signals and configured to amplify the input signals (Sharpe, cascaded interference units 50/150, fig. 9, Thomas, amplifier after interference unit 123, fig. 10, placing amplifier 139 in with the cascaded units 50/150 will have the amplifiers 139 input into the next stage); and a low-pass filter (Sharpe, page 15, lines 25-26) arranged behind the plurality of interference units in the transmission direction of the input signals and configured to perform low-pass filtering on the output signals filtered by the plurality of interference units (Sharpe, page 15, lines 25-26, fig. 9, Thomas, fig. 10, Sakuma, fig. 1).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) and Thomas et al. (US 20110108712) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Eckert et al. (US 20090292196).
Re claim 42: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas teaches the single-photon detection device, wherein the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) comprises: the narrow band filter (Sakuma, 18) with the passband including the preset frequency component (Sakuma, paragraph 8 and 11), but does not specifically teach wherein the passband bandwidth of the narrow band filter is less than or equal to 10 MHz, and the narrow band filtering module comprises one or more of a surface acoustic wave filter, a bulk acoustic wave filter and a dielectric filter. Eckert teaches wherein a passband bandwidth of a narrow band filtering module (41) is less than or equal to 10 MHz (paragraph 43 and 44, 7.33 MHz), and the narrow band filtering module comprises one or more of a surface acoustic wave filter, a bulk acoustic wave filter and a dielectric filter (paragraph 43 and 44, ceramic filter is dielectric, also uses surface acoustic wave filters, see fig. 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a filter similar to Eckert with the desired passband with the narrow band filter module of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas in order to ensure desired frequency passes through providing for reducing noise in the output providing for higher quality photon detection.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) and Thomas et al. (US 20110108712) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 109270375) and Lamson et al. (US 6424027).
Re claim 43: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas teaches the first signal path (Sakuma, 12) coupled to the signal divider (Sakuma, 10) and configured to receive and transmit the first signals (Sakuma, see fig. 1); the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) coupled to the signal divider (Sakuma, 10) and configured to receive the second signals and filter out and transmit signals with a preset frequency component from the second signals (Sakuma, the second signal on path 14 is filtered at a preset frequency by way of filter 18), wherein the second signal path comprises a narrow band filter (Sakuma, 18, paragraph 8, a specific band frequency is passed through); the phase shifter (Sakuma, paragraphs 1, 6, 8 and 11) arranged in the first signal path or the second signal path and configured to shift a phase of the transmitted signals by 180 degrees (Sakuma, paragraph 8 and 11, opposite phase from a delay between path 12 and path 14); and the coupler (Sakuma, 20) coupled to the first signal path (Sakuma, 12) and the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) and configured to receive and couple output signals of the first signal path (Sakuma, 12) and the second signal path (Sakuma, 14) and output the coupled signals (Sakuma, see fig. 1, paragraph 8 and 11, the frequency to be eliminated passed through 18 on line/branch/path 14 and is in the opposite phase of the frequency band/spectrum in the signal on line/branch 12, these two signals are combined in combiner 20, and the frequency to be eliminated is eliminated from the signal on line/branch/path 12), but does not specifically teach wherein the first signal path comprises: a power attenuation module configured to adjust a power of the first signal to make a power difference between the output signals of the first signal path and the second signal path less than a second preset value, wherein the power attenuation module comprises one or more of an analog voltage-controlled attenuator, a numerical control step attenuator and a resistance network attenuator. Yang teaches a first signal path (path with KIDs readout, under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 4-23, top path figure 2) comprises: a power attenuation module (under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 13-23) configured to adjust a power of the first signal to make a power difference between the output signals of the first signal path and the second signal path less than a second preset value (under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 13-23, and under preference, lines 1-23), and a second signal path (path with adjustable phase shifter, under the technical solution provided by the invention, lines 4-23, bottom path figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a power attenuator on the first path similar to Yang with the first path of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas in order to further reduce the noise in the output signal providing for higher quality outputs. Sakuma as modified by Kardynal, Thomas and Yang does not specifically teach wherein the power attenuation module comprises one or more of an analog voltage-controlled attenuator, a numerical control step attenuator and a resistance network attenuator. Lamson teaches a resistance network attenuator as a power attenuator (col. 3, lines 51-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a resistance network attenuator as the power attenuator in Sakuma as modified by Kardynal, Thomas and Yang in order to reduce the signal power without altering the waveform providing for higher quality measurements.
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (JP H04260213) as modified by Kardynal et al. (US 20100294919) and Thomas et al. (US 20110108712) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Rollins (US 6452714).
Re claim 44: Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas teaches the single-photon detection device, wherein the signal divider (Sakuma, 10, Kardynal, 55) and the coupler (Sakuma, 20, Kardynal, 61) each comprises a three-port matcher (Sakuma, 10 and 20 each include three ports, Kardynal, 55 and 61 each have three ports), and the three-port matcher comprises a first end, a second end and a third end (Sakuma, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, fig. 3); the three-port matcher of the divider (Sakuma, 10, Kardynal, 55) is configured as follows: the first end is coupled to a single-photon component sensor (Kardynal, 51, Sakuma, receiver) and configured to receive the input signals (Kardynal, fig. 3, Sakuma, fig. 1 and 2); the second end is coupled to the first signal path and configured to output the first signals (Sakuma, second end connected to 12, fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 57, fig. 3); and the third end is coupled to the second signal path and configured to output the second signals (Sakuma, the third end is connected to 14, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 59, see fig. 3); wherein the three-port RF matcher of the coupler (Sakuma, 20, Kardynal, 61) is configured as follows: the second end is coupled to the second signal path and configured to receive the output signals of the second signal path (Sakuma, 20, connected to 14, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 61 second end connected to path with 56, see fig. 3); the third end is coupled to the first signal path and configured to receive the output signals of the first signal path (Sakuma, 20, connected to 12, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, see fig. 3, third end connected to first path without 56); and the first end outputs signals formed by coupling the output signals of the first signal path and the output signals of the second signal path (Sakuma, first end in 20 outputs combined signal, see fig. 1 and 2, Kardynal, 61, first end outputs combined signal to element 63, see fig. 3), but does not specifically teach the three-port matcher is a three-port RF matcher. Rollins teaches a three-port RF matcher (48 and 80) for dividing and combining signals (col. 5, lines 63-65, col. 7, lines 6-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an RF matching divider/combiner similar to Rollins with the divider and combiner of Sakuma as modified by Kardynal and Thomas in order to ensure equal outputs of RF electrical signals to be processed to remove noise providing for higher quality outputs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2878