DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 28, 30-32, 56-62 and 64-68 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 28, 56 are amended.
Claims 2, 5, 7-27, 29, 33-55, and 63 are cancelled.
Claims 64-68 are new.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of independent claims 28 and 56, claims 28 and 56 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 28 and 56, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-4, 6-7, 30-32, and 57-62, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claims 1, 28 or 56. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 28, 30-31, 56-61, 64-65 and 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 20230291533 A1) in view of Guan (US 20230140502 A1); further in view of Gao (US 20240031082 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a beam indication method, applied to a user equipment (UE) and comprising:
acquiring first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target unified beam (Fig. 5, [0096] The UE 502 may receive a DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint (first indication information), the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states (target unified beam) from the base station 504. [0069] A joint DL/UL TCI state may jointly indicate a common beam or a set of common beams applied commonly to each of multiple DL/UL resources and may include a set of information.); and
performing at least first and second types of communication with a network device using the target unified beam (Fig. 5, [0100] At 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states. [0070] When a received DCI schedules the communication through DL or UL, the communication through DL or UL scheduled through the DCI may be based on the one activated DL and UL TCI state corresponding to the index of the TCI codepoint that is indicated through the DCI. For example, at 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states.),
wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channel, and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal ([0095] At 508, the base station 504 may transmit a configuration indicating applicable DL/UL types or resources for activated joint DL/UL TCI states to the UE 502. The UE 502 may receive a configuration indicating applicable DL/UL types or resources for activated joint DL/UL TCI states from the base station 504. The applicable DL/UL types or resources may include one or more of the PDCCH, the PDSCH, (communication of a channel) the CSI-RS, (communication of a reference signal) or the PRS for the DL, and one or more of the PUCCH, the PUSCH, (communication of a channel) the SRS, (communication of a reference signal) or the PRACH for the UL. The configuration may be received through at least one of the RRC signaling, the MAC-CE, and/or the DCI. [0098] At 514, the base station 504 may transmit an indication of the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication to the UE 502. The UE 502 may receive an indication of the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication from the base station 504. The indication may be received through one of the RRC signaling, the MAC-CE, or the DCI. [0099] At 516, the UE 502 may determine DL resources and UL resources for the communication to which the one activated joint DL and UL TCI state corresponding to the index of the TCI codepoint indicated through the DCI applies. The DL resources and the UL resources for the communication may be determined based on a predefined rule or the indication received at 514. The communication between the UE and the base station shown in Fig. 5 at 518 can be for any one of these channels and/or reference signals.);
wherein acquiring the first indication information comprises:
receiving from the network device a control element signaling of a medium access control layer, MAC CE signaling (MAC CE signaling), wherein the MAC CE signaling carries second indication information for activating one or more TCI state indexes (Fig. 5, [0094] The UE 502 may receive a MAC-CE from the base station 504, the MAC-CE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states, each activated joint DL and UL TCI state indicating a common beam for communication in DL and UL.), and one TCI state index corresponds to one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. If only one TCI state is activated, then one TCI state index corresponds to one coreset pool index.); and
determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information ([0085] In some aspects, if multiple joint DL/UL TCI states can be activated by the MAC-CE, a DCI may further indicate a TCI codepoint mapped to one activated joint DL/UL TCI state. That is, a TCI codepoint field in DCI may include TCI codepoint indexes, respectively mapped to the activated joint DL/UL TCI states. The base station may transmit a DCI of a TCI codepoint field to the UE, including a TCI codepoint index mapped to an activated joint DL/UL TCI state among the activated multiple joint DL/UL TCI states. [0100] At 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states.).
wherein multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.), and
determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises:
receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device, wherein the first DCI signaling carries the first indication information ([0096] The UE 502 may receive a DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint (first indication information), the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states from the base station 504.);
wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information ([0088] In case of a TCI codepoint carried in a DCI, the activated joint DL/UL TCI state(s) by a MAC-CE may be sequentially mapped to candidate TCI codepoint(s) to be indicated in DCI. That is, the TCI states activated by the MAC-CE may be sequentially mapped to each bit of the TCI codepoints associated with the indexes of the TCI codepoints. For example, the MAC-CE may activate joint DL/UL TCI state ID #5, 7, 9, which sequentially maps to candidate TCI codepoints with values of 0, 1, 2. That is, the MAC-CE 400 may activate joint DL/UL TCI state T.sub.5, T.sub.7, and T.sub.9, and they may be sequentially mapped to bits of TCI codepoints associated with the index 0, 1, and 2 of the TCI codepoints.).
wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device; wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received ([0097] At 512, the UE 502 may transmit an acknowledgment (ACK) to the base station 504 confirming reception of the DCI. [0086] The DCI carrying the TCI codepoint may or may not schedule any DL reception/UL transmission. At least for DCI not scheduling any DL reception/UL transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) may be sent by the UE to confirm the reception of the DCI. That is, the UE may miss the transmission of the DCI carrying the TCI codepoint (or an index of the TCI codepoint), and therefore, to confirm the successful transmission of the DCI, the UE may send an information of acknowledgment back to the base station, in case the DCI does not schedule any DL/UL transmission.)
wherein performing at least first and second types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam comprises:
communicating, using the target unified beam on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Since the indicated applicable DL/UL types or resources at step 508 of Fig. 5 may include PDCCH, the communication between the UE and the BS at step 518 may include the UE receiving downlink control information on PDCCH using the target unified beam. Also, [0087] For example, the DCI can indicate TCI codepoint mapped to one activated joint DL/UL TCI state for all UE specific DL receptions/UL transmissions. That is, in case a rule is predefined that applicable DL/UL TCI states correspond to all UE specific DL reception/UL transmission, then the activated joint DL/UL TCI state may be applicable for all the UE specified DL reception/UL transmission. It follows that if the UE receives a subsequent UE specific DCI, it will be received on the activated joint DL/UL TCI state.
Zhou does not explicitly teach receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Guan in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device (Fig. 4, [0202] After receiving the PDCCH 1 (this is the first DCI signaling of Zhou), the terminal device determines, as a beam used by the terminal device to receive the PDSCH 2 (the first DCI signaling of Zhou may or may not schedule a resource for downlink transmission) and a beam used by the terminal device to receive a PDCCH 2 (second DCI signaling), the beam 2 indicated by the DCI signaling 1 (This is the joint DL/UL TCI state of Zhou)); wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0202] DCI signaling 2 in the PDCCH 2 is used to schedule a PDSCH 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “communicating through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states” in step 518 of Fig. 5 of Zhou to include receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device that schedules a PDSCH of Guan. The motivation to do so would have been to provide enhancement on signaling mechanisms for specifying a common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL to improve latency and efficiency with more usage of dynamic control signaling (as opposed to RRC) (Guan; [0067]).
Guan does not teach a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor of beam indication methods, teaches a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default ([0132] In some embodiments, one or more types of higher layer signaling/commands may be used to configure/determine the first PUCCH resource (or other resources) for the procedure. For example, the first PUCCH resource may be configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, and/or other types of signaling/commands. In some embodiments, a PRI (and/or other indicators/information) may be used to indicate/provide/specify the first PUCCH resource (or other resources). The DCI (or other information) may carry/include/provide the PRI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam indication methods of Guan to include the HARQ acknowledgement procedures of Gao. The motivation to do so would have been to include a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure to support the retransmission of DCI (Gao; [0025]).
Regarding claim 3 Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to at least one of a (TRP) index or a coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows one or multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.).
Regarding claim 4 Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0071] In another aspect, the joint DL/UL TCI state may include IDs of one or more source reference signals (RSs), providing at least one DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and/or UL spatial relation information. The one or more source RSs may include a serving cell ID and a BWP ID where the one or more source RSs are located. If the serving cell ID is absent, the serving cell in which the TCI state is configured is selected. [0072] The one or more source RSs may include various RS types, including a synchronization signal block (SSB), CSI-RS, a PRS, a PRACH, dedicated demodulation reference signals (DM-RS) of a PDSCH, a PDCCH, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH. [0073] The one or more source RSs may provide various QCL assumptions and/or spatial relation information, including characteristics on delay, Doppler, and/or spatial Rx/Tx parameters. [0129] For example, the MAC-CE or DCI may indicate an ID of a source reference signal providing various DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions and/or UL spatial relation information. [0133] At 1110, the base station 1104 may configure one or more joint DL and UL TCI states for the UE 1102. The joint DL and UL TCI states may each indicate parameters, such as a beam, for downlink communication and uplink communication with the base station 1104. The joint DL and UL TCI state may indicate the parameters based on a source reference signal, for example.).
Regarding claim 28 Zhou teaches a beam indication method, applied to a network device and comprising:
transmitting first indication information to a user equipment (UE), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target unified beam to enable the UE to perform at least first and second types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam (Fig. 5, [0096] At 510, the base station 504 may transmit a DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint (indicate a target unified beam), the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states to the UE 502. [0100] At 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states.), and
wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channels and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal ([0095] At 508, the base station 504 may transmit a configuration indicating applicable DL/UL types or resources for activated joint DL/UL TCI states to the UE 502. The UE 502 may receive a configuration indicating applicable DL/UL types or resources for activated joint DL/UL TCI states from the base station 504. The applicable DL/UL types or resources may include one or more of the PDCCH, the PDSCH, (communication of a channel) the CSI-RS, (communication of a reference signal) or the PRS for the DL, and one or more of the PUCCH, the PUSCH, (communication of a channel) the SRS, (communication of a reference signal) or the PRACH for the UL. The configuration may be received through at least one of the RRC signaling, the MAC-CE, and/or the DCI. [0098] At 514, the base station 504 may transmit an indication of the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication to the UE 502. The UE 502 may receive an indication of the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication from the base station 504. The indication may be received through one of the RRC signaling, the MAC-CE, or the DCI. [0099] At 516, the UE 502 may determine DL resources and UL resources for the communication to which the one activated joint DL and UL TCI state corresponding to the index of the TCI codepoint indicated through the DCI applies. The DL resources and the UL resources for the communication may be determined based on a predefined rule or the indication received at 514. The communication between the UE and the base station shown in Fig. 5 at 518 can be for any one of these channels and/or reference signals.);
wherein transmitting the first indication information comprises:
transmitting to the UE a control element signaling of a medium access control layer, MAC CE signaling (MAC CE signaling), wherein the MAC CE signaling carries second indication information for activating one or more TCI state indexes (Fig. 5, [0094] At 506, the base station 504 may transmit a MAC-CE to the UE 502, the MAC-CE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states, each activated joint DL and UL TCI state indicating a common beam for communication in DL and UL.), and one TCI state index corresponds to one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. If only one TCI state is activated, then one TCI state index corresponds to one coreset pool index.); and
wherein the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information are configured to determine the first indication information ([0085] In some aspects, if multiple joint DL/UL TCI states can be activated by the MAC-CE, a DCI may further indicate a TCI codepoint mapped to one activated joint DL/UL TCI state. That is, a TCI codepoint field in DCI may include TCI codepoint indexes, respectively mapped to the activated joint DL/UL TCI states. The base station may transmit a DCI of a TCI codepoint field to the UE, including a TCI codepoint index mapped to an activated joint DL/UL TCI state among the activated multiple joint DL/UL TCI states. [0100] At 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states.);
wherein when multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.),
transmitting the first indication information to the user equipment further comprises:
transmitting a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling to the UE, wherein the first DCI signaling carries the first indication information ([0096] At 510, the base station 504 may transmit a DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint, the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states to the UE 502.), and the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information ([0088] In case of a TCI codepoint carried in a DCI, the activated joint DL/UL TCI state(s) by a MAC-CE may be sequentially mapped to candidate TCI codepoint(s) to be indicated in DCI. That is, the TCI states activated by the MAC-CE may be sequentially mapped to each bit of the TCI codepoints associated with the indexes of the TCI codepoints. For example, the MAC-CE may activate joint DL/UL TCI state ID #5, 7, 9, which sequentially maps to candidate TCI codepoints with values of 0, 1, 2. That is, the MAC-CE 400 may activate joint DL/UL TCI state T.sub.5, T.sub.7, and T.sub.9, and they may be sequentially mapped to bits of TCI codepoints associated with the index 0, 1, and 2 of the TCI codepoints.).
wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device; wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received ([0097] At 512, the UE 502 may transmit an acknowledgment (ACK) to the base station 504 confirming reception of the DCI. [0086] The DCI carrying the TCI codepoint may or may not schedule any DL reception/UL transmission. At least for DCI not scheduling any DL reception/UL transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) may be sent by the UE to confirm the reception of the DCI. That is, the UE may miss the transmission of the DCI carrying the TCI codepoint (or an index of the TCI codepoint), and therefore, to confirm the successful transmission of the DCI, the UE may send an information of acknowledgment back to the base station, in case the DCI does not schedule any DL/UL transmission.);
wherein performing at least first and second types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam comprises:
communicating, using the target unified beam on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Since the indicated applicable DL/UL types or resources at step 508 of Fig. 5 may include PDCCH, the communication between the UE and the BS at step 518 may include the UE receiving downlink control information on PDCCH using the target unified beam. Also, [0087] For example, the DCI can indicate TCI codepoint mapped to one activated joint DL/UL TCI state for all UE specific DL receptions/UL transmissions. That is, in case a rule is predefined that applicable DL/UL TCI states correspond to all UE specific DL reception/UL transmission, then the activated joint DL/UL TCI state may be applicable for all the UE specified DL reception/UL transmission. It follows that if the UE receives a subsequent UE specific DCI, it will be received on the activated joint DL/UL TCI state.
Zhou does not explicitly teach receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Guan in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device (Fig. 4, [0202] After receiving the PDCCH 1 (this is the first DCI signaling of Zhou), the terminal device determines, as a beam used by the terminal device to receive the PDSCH 2 (the first DCI signaling of Zhou may or may not schedule a resource for downlink transmission) and a beam used by the terminal device to receive a PDCCH 2 (second DCI signaling), the beam 2 indicated by the DCI signaling 1 (This is the joint DL/UL TCI state of Zhou)); wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0202] DCI signaling 2 in the PDCCH 2 is used to schedule a PDSCH 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “communicating through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states” in step 518 of Fig. 5 of Zhou to include receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device that schedules a PDSCH of Guan. The motivation to do so would have been to provide enhancement on signaling mechanisms for specifying a common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL to improve latency and efficiency with more usage of dynamic control signaling (as opposed to RRC) (Guan; [0067]).
Guan does not teach a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor of beam indication methods, teaches a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default ([0132] In some embodiments, one or more types of higher layer signaling/commands may be used to configure/determine the first PUCCH resource (or other resources) for the procedure. For example, the first PUCCH resource may be configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, and/or other types of signaling/commands. In some embodiments, a PRI (and/or other indicators/information) may be used to indicate/provide/specify the first PUCCH resource (or other resources). The DCI (or other information) may carry/include/provide the PRI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam indication methods of Guan to include the HARQ acknowledgement procedures of Gao. The motivation to do so would have been to include a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure to support the retransmission of DCI (Gao; [0025]).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to at least one of a (TRP) index or a coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows one or multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.).
Regarding claim 31, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0071] In another aspect, the joint DL/UL TCI state may include IDs of one or more source reference signals (RSs), providing at least one DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and/or UL spatial relation information. The one or more source RSs may include a serving cell ID and a BWP ID where the one or more source RSs are located. If the serving cell ID is absent, the serving cell in which the TCI state is configured is selected. [0072] The one or more source RSs may include various RS types, including a synchronization signal block (SSB), CSI-RS, a PRS, a PRACH, dedicated demodulation reference signals (DM-RS) of a PDSCH, a PDCCH, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH. [0073] The one or more source RSs may provide various QCL assumptions and/or spatial relation information, including characteristics on delay, Doppler, and/or spatial Rx/Tx parameters. [0129] For example, the MAC-CE or DCI may indicate an ID of a source reference signal providing various DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions and/or UL spatial relation information. [0133] At 1110, the base station 1104 may configure one or more joint DL and UL TCI states for the UE 1102. The joint DL and UL TCI states may each indicate parameters, such as a beam, for downlink communication and uplink communication with the base station 1104. The joint DL and UL TCI state may indicate the parameters based on a source reference signal, for example.).
Regarding claim 56, Zhou teaches a user equipment (Fig. 16, apparatus 1602 may be a UE) comprising:
a transceiver (cellular RF transceiver 1622);
a memory ([0156] The cellular baseband processor 1604 may include a computer-readable medium/memory.); and
a processor (cellular baseband processor 1604), connected to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target unified beam (Fig. 5, [0096] The UE 502 may receive a DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint (first indication information), the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states (target unified beam) from the base station 504. [0069] A joint DL/UL TCI state may jointly indicate a common beam or a set of common beams applied commonly to each of multiple DL/UL resources and may include a set of information.); and
perform at least first and second types of communication with a network device using the target unified beam (Fig. 5, [0100] At 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states. [0070] When a received DCI schedules the communication through DL or UL, the communication through DL or UL scheduled through the DCI may be based on the one activated DL and UL TCI state corresponding to the index of the TCI codepoint that is indicated through the DCI. For example, at 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states.),
wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channel, and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal ([0095] At 508, the base station 504 may transmit a configuration indicating applicable DL/UL types or resources for activated joint DL/UL TCI states to the UE 502. The UE 502 may receive a configuration indicating applicable DL/UL types or resources for activated joint DL/UL TCI states from the base station 504. The applicable DL/UL types or resources may include one or more of the PDCCH, the PDSCH, (communication of a channel) the CSI-RS, (communication of a reference signal) or the PRS for the DL, and one or more of the PUCCH, the PUSCH, (communication of a channel) the SRS, (communication of a reference signal) or the PRACH for the UL. The configuration may be received through at least one of the RRC signaling, the MAC-CE, and/or the DCI. [0098] At 514, the base station 504 may transmit an indication of the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication to the UE 502. The UE 502 may receive an indication of the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication from the base station 504. The indication may be received through one of the RRC signaling, the MAC-CE, or the DCI. [0099] At 516, the UE 502 may determine DL resources and UL resources for the communication to which the one activated joint DL and UL TCI state corresponding to the index of the TCI codepoint indicated through the DCI applies. The DL resources and the UL resources for the communication may be determined based on a predefined rule or the indication received at 514. The communication between the UE and the base station shown in Fig. 5 at 518 can be for any one of these channels and/or reference signals.);
wherein acquiring the first indication information comprises:
receiving from the network device a control element signaling of a medium access control layer, MAC CE signaling (MAC CE signaling), wherein the MAC CE signaling carries second indication information for activating one or more TCI state indexes (Fig. 5, [0094] The UE 502 may receive a MAC-CE from the base station 504, the MAC-CE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states, each activated joint DL and UL TCI state indicating a common beam for communication in DL and UL.), and one TCI state index corresponds to one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. If only one TCI state is activated, then one TCI state index corresponds to one coreset pool index.); and
determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information ([0085] In some aspects, if multiple joint DL/UL TCI states can be activated by the MAC-CE, a DCI may further indicate a TCI codepoint mapped to one activated joint DL/UL TCI state. That is, a TCI codepoint field in DCI may include TCI codepoint indexes, respectively mapped to the activated joint DL/UL TCI states. The base station may transmit a DCI of a TCI codepoint field to the UE, including a TCI codepoint index mapped to an activated joint DL/UL TCI state among the activated multiple joint DL/UL TCI states. [0100] At 518, the UE 502 and the base station 504 may communicate with each other through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states.).
wherein multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.), and
determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises:
receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device, wherein the first DCI signaling carries the first indication information ([0096] The UE 502 may receive a DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint (first indication information), the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states from the base station 504.);
wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information ([0088] In case of a TCI codepoint carried in a DCI, the activated joint DL/UL TCI state(s) by a MAC-CE may be sequentially mapped to candidate TCI codepoint(s) to be indicated in DCI. That is, the TCI states activated by the MAC-CE may be sequentially mapped to each bit of the TCI codepoints associated with the indexes of the TCI codepoints. For example, the MAC-CE may activate joint DL/UL TCI state ID #5, 7, 9, which sequentially maps to candidate TCI codepoints with values of 0, 1, 2. That is, the MAC-CE 400 may activate joint DL/UL TCI state T.sub.5, T.sub.7, and T.sub.9, and they may be sequentially mapped to bits of TCI codepoints associated with the index 0, 1, and 2 of the TCI codepoints.).
wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device; wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received ([0097] At 512, the UE 502 may transmit an acknowledgment (ACK) to the base station 504 confirming reception of the DCI. [0086] The DCI carrying the TCI codepoint may or may not schedule any DL reception/UL transmission. At least for DCI not scheduling any DL reception/UL transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) may be sent by the UE to confirm the reception of the DCI. That is, the UE may miss the transmission of the DCI carrying the TCI codepoint (or an index of the TCI codepoint), and therefore, to confirm the successful transmission of the DCI, the UE may send an information of acknowledgment back to the base station, in case the DCI does not schedule any DL/UL transmission.)
wherein performing at least first and second types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam comprises:
communicating, using the target unified beam on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Since the indicated applicable DL/UL types or resources at step 508 of Fig. 5 may include PDCCH, the communication between the UE and the BS at step 518 may include the UE receiving downlink control information on PDCCH using the target unified beam. Also, [0087] For example, the DCI can indicate TCI codepoint mapped to one activated joint DL/UL TCI state for all UE specific DL receptions/UL transmissions. That is, in case a rule is predefined that applicable DL/UL TCI states correspond to all UE specific DL reception/UL transmission, then the activated joint DL/UL TCI state may be applicable for all the UE specified DL reception/UL transmission. It follows that if the UE receives a subsequent UE specific DCI, it will be received on the activated joint DL/UL TCI state.
Zhou does not explicitly teach receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Guan in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device (Fig. 4, [0202] After receiving the PDCCH 1 (this is the first DCI signaling of Zhou), the terminal device determines, as a beam used by the terminal device to receive the PDSCH 2 (the first DCI signaling of Zhou may or may not schedule a resource for downlink transmission) and a beam used by the terminal device to receive a PDCCH 2 (second DCI signaling), the beam 2 indicated by the DCI signaling 1 (This is the joint DL/UL TCI state of Zhou)); wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) ([0202] DCI signaling 2 in the PDCCH 2 is used to schedule a PDSCH 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “communicating through DL and UL based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states” in step 518 of Fig. 5 of Zhou to include receiving a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device that schedules a PDSCH of Guan. The motivation to do so would have been to provide enhancement on signaling mechanisms for specifying a common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL to improve latency and efficiency with more usage of dynamic control signaling (as opposed to RRC) (Guan; [0067]).
Guan does not teach a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor of beam indication methods, teaches a HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default ([0132] In some embodiments, one or more types of higher layer signaling/commands may be used to configure/determine the first PUCCH resource (or other resources) for the procedure. For example, the first PUCCH resource may be configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, and/or other types of signaling/commands. In some embodiments, a PRI (and/or other indicators/information) may be used to indicate/provide/specify the first PUCCH resource (or other resources). The DCI (or other information) may carry/include/provide the PRI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the beam indication methods of Guan to include the HARQ acknowledgement procedures of Gao. The motivation to do so would have been to include a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure to support the retransmission of DCI (Gao; [0025]).
Regarding claim 57, Zhou teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 ([0156] The cellular baseband processor 1604 may include a computer-readable medium/memory. The computer-readable medium/memory may be non-transitory. The cellular baseband processor 1604 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory. The software, when executed by the cellular baseband processor 1604, causes the cellular baseband processor 1604 to perform the various functions described supra.).
Regarding claim 58, Zhou teaches a network device (Fig. 11), comprising:
a transceiver ([0160] The baseband unit 1704 may communicate through a cellular RF transceiver 1722 with the UE 104.);
a memory ([0160] The baseband unit 1704 may include a computer-readable medium/memory.); and
a processor ([0160] TX processor 316, the RX processor 370, and the controller/processor 375.), connected to the transceiver and the memory,
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 28 ([0162] The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 59, Zhou teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 28 ([0162] The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 60, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to at least one of a TRP index or a coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows one or multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.).
Regarding claim 61, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0071] In another aspect, the joint DL/UL TCI state may include IDs of one or more source reference signals (RSs), providing at least one DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and/or UL spatial relation information. The one or more source RSs may include a serving cell ID and a BWP ID where the one or more source RSs are located. If the serving cell ID is absent, the serving cell in which the TCI state is configured is selected. [0072] The one or more source RSs may include various RS types, including a synchronization signal block (SSB), CSI-RS, a PRS, a PRACH, dedicated demodulation reference signals (DM-RS) of a PDSCH, a PDCCH, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH. [0073] The one or more source RSs may provide various QCL assumptions and/or spatial relation information, including characteristics on delay, Doppler, and/or spatial Rx/Tx parameters. [0129] For example, the MAC-CE or DCI may indicate an ID of a source reference signal providing various DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions and/or UL spatial relation information. [0133] At 1110, the base station 1104 may configure one or more joint DL and UL TCI states for the UE 1102. The joint DL and UL TCI states may each indicate parameters, such as a beam, for downlink communication and uplink communication with the base station 1104. The joint DL and UL TCI state may indicate the parameters based on a source reference signal, for example.).
Regarding claim 64, Zhou teaches the network device according to claim 58, wherein the target unified TCI state index corresponds to at least one of a TRP index or a coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows one or multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.).
Regarding claim 65, Zhou teaches the network device according to claim 58, wherein the target unified TCI state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0071] In another aspect, the joint DL/UL TCI state may include IDs of one or more source reference signals (RSs), providing at least one DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and/or UL spatial relation information. The one or more source RSs may include a serving cell ID and a BWP ID where the one or more source RSs are located. If the serving cell ID is absent, the serving cell in which the TCI state is configured is selected. [0072] The one or more source RSs may include various RS types, including a synchronization signal block (SSB), CSI-RS, a PRS, a PRACH, dedicated demodulation reference signals (DM-RS) of a PDSCH, a PDCCH, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH. [0073] The one or more source RSs may provide various QCL assumptions and/or spatial relation information, including characteristics on delay, Doppler, and/or spatial Rx/Tx parameters. [0129] For example, the MAC-CE or DCI may indicate an ID of a source reference signal providing various DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions and/or UL spatial relation information. [0133] At 1110, the base station 1104 may configure one or more joint DL and UL TCI states for the UE 1102. The joint DL and UL TCI states may each indicate parameters, such as a beam, for downlink communication and uplink communication with the base station 1104. The joint DL and UL TCI state may indicate the parameters based on a source reference signal, for example.).
Regarding claim 67, Zhou teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 57, wherein the target unified TCI state index corresponds to at least one of a TRP index or a coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0079] For a single TRP case, a base station may provide a MAC-CE to a UE to activate one or more configured joint DL/UL TCI states. [0080] The activation MAC-CE 400 may include a bitmap indicating which configured joint DL/UL TCI state(s) are activated, and a serving cell ID and/or a BWP ID for which the activation MAC-CE 400 applies. The MAC-CE 400 may include a variable size bitmap including any of a CORESET pool ID, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, and TCI state fields. For example, a first octet (Oct) of the MAC-CE bitmap may include any of the CORESET pool ID, the serving cell ID, and the BWP ID. [0081] The CORESET pool ID may indicate whether a mapping between the activated TCI states and a codepoint of the DCI is preconfigured or based on a preconfigured rule. Fig. 4 shows one or multiple TCI states can be activated for one coreset pool index.).
Regarding claim 68, Zhou teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 57, wherein the target unified TCI state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0071] In another aspect, the joint DL/UL TCI state may include IDs of one or more source reference signals (RSs), providing at least one DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumption and/or UL spatial relation information. The one or more source RSs may include a serving cell ID and a BWP ID where the one or more source RSs are located. If the serving cell ID is absent, the serving cell in which the TCI state is configured is selected. [0072] The one or more source RSs may include various RS types, including a synchronization signal block (SSB), CSI-RS, a PRS, a PRACH, dedicated demodulation reference signals (DM-RS) of a PDSCH, a PDCCH, a PUCCH, or a PUSCH. [0073] The one or more source RSs may provide various QCL assumptions and/or spatial relation information, including characteristics on delay, Doppler, and/or spatial Rx/Tx parameters. [0129] For example, the MAC-CE or DCI may indicate an ID of a source reference signal providing various DL quasi-co-location (QCL) assumptions and/or UL spatial relation information. [0133] At 1110, the base station 1104 may configure one or more joint DL and UL TCI states for the UE 1102. The joint DL and UL TCI states may each indicate parameters, such as a beam, for downlink communication and uplink communication with the base station 1104. The joint DL and UL TCI state may indicate the parameters based on a source reference signal, for example.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 32, 62 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 20230291533 A1) in view of Guan (US 20230140502 A1); further in view of Gao (US 20240031082 A1); further in view of Zhou (US 20230300604 A1); hereinafter Zhou2.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1, wherein one TCI state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, and wherein determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information, but does not explicitly teach determining the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information.
Zhou2 in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches determining the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the methods for determining a common beam of Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to signal a common beam for multiple DL and UL resources to save both beam indication and overhead latency. (Zhou2; [0060]).
Regarding claim 32, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, wherein when one TCI state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, the first indication information represents the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.);
Regarding claim 62, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, wherein one TCl state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, and wherein determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information, but does not explicitly teach determining the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information.
Zhou2 in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches determining the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the methods for determining a common beam of Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to signal a common beam for multiple DL and UL resources to save both beam indication and overhead latency. (Zhou2; [0060]).
Regarding claim 66, Zhou teaches the network device according to claim 58, but does not explicitly teach wherein when one TCI state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, the first indication information represents the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information.
Zhou2 in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches determining the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou to include the methods for determining a common beam of Zhou2. The motivation to do so would have been to signal a common beam for multiple DL and UL resources to save both beam indication and overhead latency. (Zhou2; [0060]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Grossmann (US 20230403108 A1) discloses methods and apparatuses for signaling framework for flexible beam management in a wireless communications network. Zhou (US 12512937 B2) discloses Downlink Control Information Based Beam And Pathloss Reference Signal Configuration Activation.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465