DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3,4, 6-9, 28, 30-32, 35, 36, and 56-63 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 28, 30-32, 35, 56 are amended.
Claims 2, 5, 7, 29 are cancelled.
Claims 60-63 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 26, 2025, is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 14, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
In response to applicant argument regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Zhou fails to disclose or suggest "multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, and determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises: receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device, wherein the first DCI signalinq carries the first indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information." (Remarks, page 16). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhou teaches multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index ([0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE.) The MAC-CE is the second indication information used to activate the one or more TCI states. ([0064] The UE capability 409 may include any of… a maximum number of activated joint DL and UL TCI states per BWP per CC. [0065] The UE capability 409 may indicate any of a… maximum number of activated joint DL and UL TCI states per CORESET pool index per BWP per CC.) Therefore, multiple TCI state indexes can be activated by a MAC-CE (second indication information) for one CORESET pool index.
Zhou also teaches receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device ([0072] The base station 404 may schedule downlink and/or uplink communication with the UE 402, e.g., using DCI 414), wherein the first DCI signalinq carries the first indication information ([0066] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for any of a maximum number of configured joint DL and UL TCI states mapped to a TCI codepoint for a resource allocation scheme across the multiple TRPs scheduled by a scheduling DCI.) In other words one or (a max number) of TCI states are indicated by the TCI codepoint in the DCI, where the TCI codepoint is the first indication information.
Zhou also teaches wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information. ([0066] the TCIs associated with the scheduled transmissions or receptions are not explicitly indicated (they are indicated by the first indication information, i.e. TCI codepoint), and the TCIs mapped to the default TCI codepoints are applied to the corresponding scheduled transmissions or receptions.) Thus, the default TCI codepoint(s) points to the TCI state(s) that will be used in the scheduled transmission (i.e. the target unified TCI state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information (by the MAC-CE).
Therefore, since Zhou discloses a MAC-CE signaling that activates one or more TCI states and a DCI signaling that contains a default TCI codepoint that maps to one or more TCI states to be used in a scheduled transmission, then Zhou discloses "multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, and determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises: receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device, wherein the first DCI signalinq carries the first indication information; wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information." Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Zhou and claim 1 is rejected.
In response to applicant argument regarding claims 28 and 56, specifically to the elements similar to those discussed above regarding amended claim1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 28 and 56, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
In response to applicant argument regarding dependent claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 30-32, and 57-59, applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1, 28 or 56. Therefore, for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 30-32, and 57-59 are rejected.
In response to applicant argument regarding dependent claims 8, 9, 35, and 36, applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1 or 28. Therefore, for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims 8, 9, 35, and 36, are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 28, 30-32, 56-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHOU (US 20230300604 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a beam indication method, applied to a user equipment (UE) and comprising: acquiring first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target unified beam (Fig. 4, [0072] The base station 404 may configure one or more joint DL/UL TCI states (target unified beam) for the UE 402, at 411 (first indication information), based on the UE capability 409 information provided by the UE.); and performing at least first and second types of communication with a network device using the target unified beam (Fig. 4, [0072] The UE 402 and the base station 404 may exchange downlink and/or uplink communication 416 based on the active DL and UL TCI state and the resources scheduled by the DCI 414 and/or 415.), wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channel, and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal ([0070] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for a subset of one or more channels and/or for a subset of one or more reference signals which can be updated with joint DL/UL TCI state. For example, the UE may indicate the UE capability 409 for one or more of a PDCCH, a PDSCH scheduled by DCI, a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission, a periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a semi-persistent CSI-RS, an aperiodic CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal, a periodic PUCCH, a semi-persistent PUCCH, an aperiodic PUCCH, a PUSCH, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or physical random access channel (PRACH). The communication between the UE and the base station 416 shown in Fig. 4 can be for any one of these channels and/or reference signals);
wherein acquiring the first indication information comprises:
receiving from the network device a control element signaling of a medium access control layer, MAC CE signaling (MAC CE signaling), wherein the MAC CE signaling carries second indication information for activating one or more TCI state indexes, and one TCI state index corresponds to one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. [0064] In some examples, the UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for a single TRP (e.g., TRP 406).); and
determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information (The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.).
wherein multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index ([0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE.), and determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises:
receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device ([0063] The UE 402 receives, from the TRP 406, one or more DCIs 414 and/or 415 scheduling the communication through the DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410.), wherein the first DCI signaling carries the first indication information ([0062] In some examples, the UE may communicate with multiple TRPs (e.g., 406, 408, 410) in association with a single scheduling DCI 414 from one TRP 406 scheduling a UE 402 with DL/UL with multiple TRPs 406, 408, 410 of the base station (BS) 404. This discloses first DCI signaling contains information on TCI state.);
wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information (The UE 402 and the base station 404 may exchange downlink and/or uplink communication 416 based on the active DL and UL TCI state (target unified state) and the resources scheduled by the DCI 414).
Regarding claim 3 Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to at least one of a (TRP) index or a coreset pool index ([0064] In some examples, the UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for a single TRP (e.g., TRP 406). [0065] The UE capability 409 may indicate any of a maximum number of configured joint DL and UL TCI states per control resource set (CORESET) pool index per bandwidth part (BWP) per component carrier (CC)… [0063] The base station 404 may use the UE capability 409 to configure the UE 402 for one or more joint DL/UL TCI states, at 411.).
Regarding claim 4 Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0069] The UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for an update of the joint DL and UL TCI state via at least one of a MAC-CE or DCI. [0070] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for a subset of one or more channels and/or for a subset of one or more reference signals which can be updated with joint DL/UL TCI state. [0071] In some examples, SRS may be a source RS in a downlink only TCI state or the joint DL/UL TCI state to indicate a UE spatial reception (Rx) filter. The UE spatial reception (Rx) filter may indicate a QCL Type D assumption, e.g., based on the UE capability 409. In some examples, the TCI state (e.g., a joint DL/UL TCI state) based one the SRS as a QCL Type D reference signal may indicate one or more other reference signals to provide other QCL assumptions (e.g., QCL Type A, QCL Type B, or QCL Type C assumptions) for the DL/UL communication based on the TCI state.).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1, wherein one TCI state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, and wherein determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises: determining the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.).
Regarding claim 28 Zhou teaches a beam indication method, applied to a network device and comprising:
transmitting first indication information to a user equipment (UE), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target unified beam to enable the UE to perform at least first and second types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam (Fig. 4, [0072] The base station 404 may configure one or more joint DL/UL TCI states (target unified beam) for the UE 402, at 411 (first indication information), based on the UE capability 409 information provided by the UE. [0072] The UE 402 and the base station 404 may exchange downlink and/or uplink communication 416 based on the active DL and UL TCI state and the resources scheduled by the DCI 414 and/or 415.), and wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channels and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal ([0070] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for a subset of one or more channels and/or for a subset of one or more reference signals which can be updated with joint DL/UL TCI state. For example, the UE may indicate the UE capability 409 for one or more of a PDCCH, a PDSCH scheduled by DCI, a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission, a periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a semi-persistent CSI-RS, an aperiodic CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal, a periodic PUCCH, a semi-persistent PUCCH, an aperiodic PUCCH, a PUSCH, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or physical random access channel (PRACH). The communication between the UE and the base station 416 shown in Fig. 4 can be for any one of these channels and/or reference signals);
wherein transmitting the first indication information comprises:
transmitting to the UE a control element signaling of a medium access control layer, MAC CE signaling (MAC CE signaling), wherein the MAC CE signaling carries second indication information for activating one or more TCI state indexes, and one TCI state index corresponds to one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. [0064] In some examples, the UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for a single TRP (e.g., TRP 406).); and
wherein the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information are configured to determine the first indication information (The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.);
wherein when multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index ([0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE.), transmitting the first indication information to the user equipment further comprises:
transmitting a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling to the UE ([0063] The UE 402 receives, from the TRP 406, one or more DCIs 414 and/or 415 scheduling the communication through the DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410.), wherein the first DCI signaling carries the first indication information ([0062] In some examples, the UE may communicate with multiple TRPs (e.g., 406, 408, 410) in association with a single scheduling DCI 414 from one TRP 406 scheduling a UE 402 with DL/UL with multiple TRPs 406, 408, 410 of the base station (BS) 404. This discloses first DCI signaling contains information on TCI state.), and the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information (The UE 402 and the base station 404 may exchange downlink and/or uplink communication 416 based on the active DL and UL TCI state (target unified state) and the resources scheduled by the DCI 414).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to at least one of a (TRP) index or a coreset pool index ([0064] In some examples, the UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for a single TRP (e.g., TRP 406). [0065] The UE capability 409 may indicate any of a maximum number of configured joint DL and UL TCI states per control resource set (CORESET) pool index per bandwidth part (BWP) per component carrier (CC)… [0063] The base station 404 may use the UE capability 409 to configure the UE 402 for one or more joint DL/UL TCI states, at 411.).
Regarding claim 31, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0069] The UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for an update of the joint DL and UL TCI state via at least one of a MAC-CE or DCI. [0070] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for a subset of one or more channels and/or for a subset of one or more reference signals which can be updated with joint DL/UL TCI state. [0071] In some examples, SRS may be a source RS in a downlink only TCI state or the joint DL/UL TCI state to indicate a UE spatial reception (Rx) filter. The UE spatial reception (Rx) filter may indicate a QCL Type D assumption, e.g., based on the UE capability 409. In some examples, the TCI state (e.g., a joint DL/UL TCI state) based one the SRS as a QCL Type D reference signal may indicate one or more other reference signals to provide other QCL assumptions (e.g., QCL Type A, QCL Type B, or QCL Type C assumptions) for the DL/UL communication based on the TCI state.).
Regarding claim 32, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, wherein when one TCI state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index, the first indication information represents the one TCI state index activated by the second indication information (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.);
Regarding claim 56, Zhou teaches a user equipment (Fig. 8) comprising:
a transceiver (cellular RF transceiver 822);
a memory (memory 360); and
a processor (cellular baseband processor 804), connected to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a target unified beam (Fig. 4, [0072] The base station 404 may configure one or more joint DL/UL TCI states (target unified beam) for the UE 402, at 411 (first indication information), based on the UE capability 409 information provided by the UE.); and
perform at least first and second types of communication with a network device using the target unified beam, wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channel, and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal (Fig. 4, [0072] The UE 402 and the base station 404 may exchange downlink and/or uplink communication 416 based on the active DL and UL TCI state and the resources scheduled by the DCI 414 and/or 415.), wherein the first type of communication comprises communication of a channel, and the second type of communication comprises communication of a reference signal ([0070] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for a subset of one or more channels and/or for a subset of one or more reference signals which can be updated with joint DL/UL TCI state. For example, the UE may indicate the UE capability 409 for one or more of a PDCCH, a PDSCH scheduled by DCI, a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission, a periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a semi-persistent CSI-RS, an aperiodic CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal, a periodic PUCCH, a semi-persistent PUCCH, an aperiodic PUCCH, a PUSCH, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or physical random access channel (PRACH). The communication between the UE and the base station 416 shown in Fig. 4 can be for any one of these channels and/or reference signals);
wherein acquiring the first indication information comprises:
receiving from the network device a control element signaling of a medium access control layer, MAC CE signaling (MAC CE signaling), wherein the MAC CE signaling carries second indication information for activating one or more TCI state indexes, and one TCI state index corresponds to one TRP index or one coreset pool index (Fig. 4, [0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE. Each activated joint DL/UL TCI state indicates a common beam (receive (Rx)/transmit (Tx) beam) for communication in DL/UL. [0064] In some examples, the UE 402 may indicate a UE capability 409 for a single TRP (e.g., TRP 406).); and
determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCI state indexes activated by the second indication information (The UE 402 communicates 416 through the scheduled DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410 based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states.)
wherein multiple TCl state indexes are activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index ([0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE.), and determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises:
receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) signaling transmitted by the network device ([0063] The UE 402 receives, from the TRP 406, one or more DCIs 414 and/or 415 scheduling the communication through the DL/UL with at least one of the TRPs 406, 408, and/or 410.), wherein the first DCI signaling carries the first indication information ([0062] In some examples, the UE may communicate with multiple TRPs (e.g., 406, 408, 410) in association with a single scheduling DCI 414 from one TRP 406 scheduling a UE 402 with DL/UL with multiple TRPs 406, 408, 410 of the base station (BS) 404. This discloses first DCI signaling contains information on TCI state.);
wherein the first indication information comprises one target unified TCl state index or index combination among the multiple TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information (The UE 402 and the base station 404 may exchange downlink and/or uplink communication 416 based on the active DL and UL TCI state (target unified state) and the resources scheduled by the DCI 414).
Regarding claim 57, Zhou teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (The cellular baseband processor 804 may include a computer-readable medium/memory. The computer-readable medium/memory may be non-transitory. The cellular baseband processor 804 is responsible for general processing, including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium/memory. The software, when executed by the cellular baseband processor 804, causes the cellular baseband processor 804 to perform the various functions described supra.).
Regarding claim 58, Zhou teaches a network device (Fig. 11), comprising:
a transceiver (The baseband unit 1104 may communicate through a cellular RF transceiver with the UE 104);
a memory (memory 376); and
a processor (TX processor 316, the RX processor 370, and the controller/processor 375), connected to the transceiver and the memory,
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 28 ([0140] The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 59, Zhou teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 28 ([0140] The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor, or some combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 60, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to at least one of a TRP index or a coreset pool index ([0065] The UE capability 409 may indicate…. a first support of a default DL and UL TCI state (target unified TCl state) per CORESET pool index per BWP per CC, and/or a second support of the default DL and UL TCI state per CORESET pool index across all CCs.
Regarding claim 61, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, wherein the target unified TCl state index corresponds to one or more reference signals, and each of the one or more reference signals is configured to indicate at least one of an uplink target unified beam or a downlink target unified beam ([0070] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for…. a subset of one or more reference signals which can be updated with joint DL/UL TCI state. For example, the UE may indicate the UE capability 409 for… a periodic channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a semi-persistent CSI-RS, an aperiodic CSI-RS, a positioning reference signal… a sounding reference signal (SRS), or physical random access channel (PRACH). [0068] The reference signal…of the non-serving cell may provide various DL quasi co-location (QCL) assumptions or uplink spatial relation information for the joint DL and UL TCI state.)
Regarding claim 62, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, wherein one TCl state index is activated by the second indication information for one TRP index or one coreset pool index ([0063] The base station 404 may activate one or more joint DL/UL TCI state for the UE, at 412. For example, the base station may transmit a MAC-CE or other downlink signal indicating one or more of the configured joint DL/UL TCI states that are activated for the UE.), and wherein determining the first indication information according to the one or more TCl state indexes activated by the second indication information comprises: determining the one TCl state index activated by the second indication information as the first indication information ([0072] The base station 404 may schedule downlink and/or uplink communication with the UE 402, e.g., using DCI 414. [0066] The UE 402 may indicate the UE capability 409 for any of a maximum number of configured joint DL and UL TCI states mapped to a TCI codepoint for a resource allocation scheme across the multiple TRPs scheduled by a scheduling DCI. In other words one TCI state is indicated by the TCI codepoint in the DCI, where the TCI codepoint is the first indication information. [0066] the TCIs associated with the scheduled transmissions or receptions are not explicitly indicated (they are indicated by the first indication information, i.e. TCI codepoint), and the TCIs mapped to the default TCI codepoints are applied to the corresponding scheduled transmissions or receptions.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 35 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 20230300604 A1) in view of GAO (US 20240031082 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 1 but does not teach, further comprising: transmitting first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device; wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received; and an HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor of beam indication methods, teaches transmitting first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device (Fig. 11, [0133] …the wireless communication device may transmit/send/broadcast a PUCCH transmission (or other transmissions) to the wireless communication node. The PUCCH transmission may carry/include/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (or other information).); wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received ([0130] In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may generate an ACK value for the HARQ-ACK information. The wireless communication device may generate the ACK value responsive to a successful detection/identification/reception of the DCI); and an HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default ([0132] In some embodiments, one or more types of higher layer signaling/commands may be used to configure/determine the first PUCCH resource (or other resources) for the procedure. For example, the first PUCCH resource may be configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, and/or other types of signaling/commands. In some embodiments, a PRI (and/or other indicators/information) may be used to indicate/provide/specify the first PUCCH resource (or other resources). The DCI (or other information) may carry/include/provide the PRI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for beam indication related to downlink control information (DCI) retransmission using a HARQ-ACK procedure of Gao with the method of wireless communication between a UE and a base station of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure to support the retransmission of DCI (Gao; [0025]).
Regarding claim 35, Zhou teaches the beam indication method according to claim 28, but does not teach further comprising: receiving first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information transmitted by the UE ; wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received; and an HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor of beam indication methods, teaches receiving first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information transmitted by the UE (Fig. 11, [0133] …the wireless communication device may transmit/send/broadcast a PUCCH transmission (or other transmissions) to the wireless communication node. The PUCCH transmission may carry/include/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (or other information).); wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received ([0130] In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may generate an ACK value for the HARQ-ACK information. The wireless communication device may generate the ACK value responsive to a successful detection/identification/reception of the DCI); and an HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default ([0132] In some embodiments, one or more types of higher layer signaling/commands may be used to configure/determine the first PUCCH resource (or other resources) for the procedure. For example, the first PUCCH resource may be configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, and/or other types of signaling/commands. In some embodiments, a PRI (and/or other indicators/information) may be used to indicate/provide/specify the first PUCCH resource (or other resources). The DCI (or other information) may carry/include/provide the PRI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for beam indication related to downlink control information (DCI) retransmission using a HARQ-ACK procedure of Gao with the method of wireless communication between a UE and a base station of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure to support the retransmission of DCI (Gao; [0025]).
Regarding claim 63, Zhou teaches the user equipment according to claim 56, but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device;
wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received; and an HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling or is default.
Gao, in the same field of endeavor of beam indication methods, teaches transmit first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information to the network device (Fig. 11, [0133] …the wireless communication device may transmit/send/broadcast a PUCCH transmission (or other transmissions) to the wireless communication node. The PUCCH transmission may carry/include/provide/indicate/specify the HARQ-ACK information (or other information).);
wherein the first HARQ feedback information is configured to indicate to the network device whether the first DCI signaling is successfully received ([0130] In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may generate an ACK value for the HARQ-ACK information. The wireless communication device may generate the ACK value responsive to a successful detection/identification/reception of the DCI); and an HARQ feedback resource used for transmitting the first HARQ feedback information is configured by the first DCI signaling, or is default ([0132] In some embodiments, one or more types of higher layer signaling/commands may be used to configure/determine the first PUCCH resource (or other resources) for the procedure. For example, the first PUCCH resource may be configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE signaling, and/or other types of signaling/commands. In some embodiments, a PRI (and/or other indicators/information) may be used to indicate/provide/specify the first PUCCH resource (or other resources). The DCI (or other information) may carry/include/provide the PRI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for beam indication related to downlink control information (DCI) retransmission using a HARQ-ACK procedure of Gao with the method of wireless communication between a UE and a base station of Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to include a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) procedure to support the retransmission of DCI (Gao; [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU (US 20230300604 A1) in view of GAO (US 20240031082 A1), further in view of Nilsson (US 20230319839 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches claim 1 but does not teach the beam indication method according to claim 8, wherein performing at least first and second types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam comprises: receiving, using the target unified beam on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel PUCCH and/or (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
Gao teaches claim 8, but does not teach wherein performing at least two types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam comprises: receiving, using the target unified beam on a PDCCH, a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for a reference signal, a physical random access channel PRACH, a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, a physical uplink control channel PUCCH and/or a physical downlink shared channel PDSCH.
Nilsson, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications and beam indication, teaches wherein performing at least two types of communication with the network device using the target unified beam comprises: receiving, using the target unified beam on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a second DCI signaling transmitted by the network device (As part of the transmissions 416 of Zhou in Fig. 4, [0059] …using the common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL… it is possible that the UE receives the DCI of Nilsson (a second DCI signaling) on a PDCCH to signal a new TCI state, Fig. 15 step 1502. [0023] Due to UE movement or environmental change, the best DL beam for a UE may change over time and different DL beams may be used in different times. The DL beam used for a DL data transmission in PDSCH can be indicated by a TCI field in the corresponding DCI scheduling the PDSCH.); wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel PUCCH and/or (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (This DCI is scheduling a PDSCH, but also, [0023] In the DCI, a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource is indicated for carrying the corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ack/nack (HARQ A/N).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of signaling for updating TCI state of a CORESET with DCI of Nilsson with the methods of Gao and Zhou for beam indication. The motivation to do so would have been to speed up the TCI state update of a CORESET by introducing a Downlink Control Information (DCI) based TCI state update framework (Nilsson; [0119]).
Regarding claim 36, Zhou teaches claim 28 but does not teach the beam indication method according to claim 35, further comprising: transmitting a second DCI signaling to the UE on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so that the UE receives the second DCI signaling using the target unified beam; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
Gao teaches claim 35, but does not teach transmitting a second DCI signaling to the UE on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so that the UE receives the second DCI signaling using the target unified beam; wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
Nilsson, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications and beam indication, teaches transmitting a second DCI signaling to the UE on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), so that the UE receives the second DCI signaling using the target unified beam (As part of the transmissions 416 of Zhou in Fig. 4, [0059] …using the common beam for data and control transmission/reception for DL and UL… it is possible that the UE receives the DCI of Nilsson (a second DCI signaling) on a PDCCH to signal a new TCI state, Fig. 15 step 1502. [0023] Due to UE movement or environmental change, the best DL beam for a UE may change over time and different DL beams may be used in different times. The DL beam used for a DL data transmission in PDSCH can be indicated by a TCI field in the corresponding DCI scheduling the PDSCH.); wherein the second DCI signaling carries resource configuration information for configuring a communication resource for at least one of a reference signal, a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (This DCI is scheduling a PDSCH, but also, [0023] In the DCI, a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) resource is indicated for carrying the corresponding Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ack/nack (HARQ A/N).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of signaling for updating TCI state of a CORESET with DCI of Nilsson with the methods of Gao and Zhou for beam indication. The motivation to do so would have been to speed up the TCI state update of a CORESET by introducing a Downlink Control Information (DCI) based TCI state update framework (Nilsson; [0119]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465