DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 39 is dependent from claim 36. Parent claim 36 is not a method claim, but rather is drawn to a material. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 20-30, 34, 36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2002-43109 A to Yamamoto et al. (hereinafter Yamamoto) provided with a machine translation in the IDS filed 5/18/23.
Regarding claim 20, Yamamoto discloses a method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder, the method comprising:
a phosphate treatment of adding an inorganic acid to a slurry containing an SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder, water, and a phosphate compound to adjust a pH of the slurry to a range of 2 or less (para [0010]-[0011]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 1 to 4.5 to form a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder having a surface coated with a phosphate (para [0013]). See MPEP 2144.05(I), which states ‘In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists’.
Regarding claim 21, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 20, wherein a content of a phosphate in the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder is 0.05 to 3 parts by weight (para [0014]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of greater than 0.5 mass%. See MPEP 2144.05(I),cited above.
Regarding claim 22, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 20, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein in the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder formed in the phosphate treatment, a phosphate coating present on a surface of the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder has a region in which an Sm atomic concentration is higher than an Sm atomic concentration in the SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder”. However, see MPEP 2112.01(I), which states that ‘Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established…"When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."…Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product’. The powders overlap and are made by overlapping methods. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Yamamoto powder to have overlapping properties including but not limited to overlapping Sm concentrations, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 23, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 20, wherein in the phosphate treatment, the adjusting of the pH of the slurry is carried out over a period of 30 minutes (para [0011]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of 10 minutes or longer.
Regarding claim 24, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 20, wherein in the phosphate treatment, the pH of the slurry is adjusted to a range of 2 (para [0011]), which falls within the instantly claimed range of 1.6 to 3.9.
Regarding claim 25, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 20, further comprising, after the phosphate treatment, oxidation by heat treating the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder in an oxygen-containing atmosphere at a temperature in a range of 130°C to 300°C (para [0007], which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 150°C to 250°C. See MPEP 2144.05(I),cited above.
Regarding claim 26, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 20, wherein the phosphate compound used in the phosphate treatment includes an inorganic phosphate compound (para [0010]).
Regarding claim 27, Yamamoto discloses a phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder having a phosphate content of 0.05 to 3 parts by weight (para [0014]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of greater than 0.5 mass%. See MPEP 2144.05(I),cited above. The reference is silent regarding an exothermic onset temperature according to differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) of 170°C or higher. However, see MPEP 2112.01(I), cited above. The reference teaches an overlapping powder made by an onlapping method. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect an exothermic onset temperature according to differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) of 170°C or higher, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 28, Yamamoto discloses the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein in an XRD diffraction pattern of the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powders, a ratio (I)/(II) of a diffraction peak intensity (I) of a (110) plane of αFe to a diffraction peak intensity (II) of a (300) plane is 2.0 X 10⁻² or less”. The reference teaches an overlapping SmFeN-based powder made by an onlapping method. Therefore, per MPEP 2112.01(I), cited above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect overlapping XRD patterns, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 29, Yamamoto discloses the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27, and does not teach or suggest any carbon content. Therefore, the Yamamoto phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder is expected to have no carbon, which falls within the instantly claimed carbon content range of 1000 ppm or less.
Regarding claim 30, Yamamoto discloses the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein a phosphate coating present on a surface of the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder has a region in which an Sm atomic concentration is higher than an Sm atomic concentration in the SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder”. However, see MPEP 2112.01(I), cited above. The powders overlap and are made by overlapping methods. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the Yamamoto powder to have overlapping properties including but not limited to overlapping Sm concentrations, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 34, Yamamoto discloses the method for producing a bonded magnet compound according to claim 31, wherein a particle size distribution of the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder is a mono-dispersion, 1 to 2 µm (para [0008]), substantially uniform or monodisperse.
Regarding claims 36 and 39, Yamamoto discloses a bonded magnet compound (para [0046]-[0047]).
Claim 36 is a product by process claim. It is noted that Yamamoto does not explicitly teach the claimed process as written, however, MPEP 2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
MPEP 2113 also states “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979)”. In the instant case, it is found that the instantly claimed process of making the claimed product does not impart any structural or functional characteristics to the claimed product.
The limitations directed to the method for producing the claimed composition are not considered to add patentable weight to the examination of the product claims. It is well settled that if the examiner can find a product in the prior art that is the same or so similar as to have been obvious, the burden can be shifted to the applicant to demonstrate that the process for producing the composition somehow imparts a patentable distinction to the composition under examination.
Claims 31-33, 35, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being Yamamoto in view of US 2019/0224747 A1 to Yamanaka et al. (hereinafter Yamanaka).
Regarding claim 31, Yamamoto discloses a method for producing a bonded magnet compound, the method comprising:
providing an additive comprising a thermosetting resin and additional additives (para [0032]);
kneading the additive comprising a thermosetting resin, the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27 (para [0025] and [0030]), and a thermoplastic resin to form a bonded magnet compound (two or more, para [0032]) in which a filling ratio of the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder in the bonded magnet compound is 92 parts by weight (para [0046]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 91.5 mass% or higher.
Yamamoto does not expressly recite forming a bonded magnet additive by heat curing a thermosetting resin and additional additives wherein the additives include a curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 11.
However, Yamanaka does teach a method of forming a bonded magnet comprising forming a bonded magnet additive by heating a thermosetting resin and curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, kneading the bonded magnet additive and a coated magnetic powder, such as SmFeN-based powder (para [0016]) and heat curing the mixture to form a bonded magnet (para [0006] and [0021]). A range of 2 to 10 closely overlaps the instantly claimed range of 2 to 11. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the curing agent of Yamanaka, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, as an additive in the bonding agent material of Yamamoto to impart moderate mechanical strength to the cured product and compound for bonded magnets when kneading with thermop0olastic resins, in addition to improving remanence (Yamanaka, para [0014]).
Regarding claim 32, Yamamoto discloses a method for producing a bonded magnet compound (para [0046]), the method comprising:
providing an additive comprising a thermosetting resin and additional additives (para [0032]);
kneading the bonded magnet additive and a thermoplastic resin to form a bonded magnet resin composition (two or more, para [0032]); and
kneading the bonded magnet resin composition, the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27 (para [0025] and [0030]), form a bonded magnet (para [0046]).
Yamamoto does not expressly recite forming a bonded magnet additive by heat curing a thermosetting resin and a curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 11;
However, Yamanaka does teach a method of forming a bonded magnet comprising forming a bonded magnet additive by heating a thermosetting resin and curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, (para [0006]). A range of 2 to 10 closely overlaps the instantly claimed range of 2 to 11. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the curing agent of Yamanaka, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, as an additive in the bonding agent material of Yamamoto to impart moderate mechanical strength to the cured product and compound, in addition to improving remanence (Yamanaka, para [0014]).
Regarding claim 33, Yamamoto in view of Yamanake discloses the method for producing a bonded magnet compound according to claim 31. Yamamoto further discloses wherein the thermoplastic resin is a nylon resin (para [0033]).
Regarding claim 35, Yamamoto in view of Yamanake discloses the method for producing a bonded magnet compound according to claim 31. Yamamoto further discloses wherein the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder comprises Sm, Fe, and N (para [0041]).
Regarding claim 37, Yamamoto discloses a method for producing a bonded magnet compound, the method comprising:
providing an additive comprising a thermosetting resin and additional additives (para [0032]);
kneading the additive comprising a thermosetting resin, the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27 (para [0025] and [0030]), and a thermoplastic resin to form a bonded magnet compound (two or more, para [0032]) in which a filling ratio of the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder in the bonded magnet compound is 92 parts by weight (para [0046]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of 91.5 mass% or higher; and
injection molding the formed bonded magnet compound (para [0047]).
Yamamoto does not expressly recite forming a bonded magnet additive by heat curing a thermosetting resin and additional additives wherein the additives include a curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 11.
However, Yamanaka does teach a method of forming a bonded magnet comprising forming a bonded magnet additive by heating a thermosetting resin and curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, kneading the bonded magnet additive and a coated magnetic powder, such as SmFeN-based powder (para [0016]) and heat curing the mixture to form a bonded magnet (para [0006] and [0021]). A range of 2 to 10 closely overlaps the instantly claimed range of 2 to 11. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the curing agent of Yamanaka, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, as an additive in the bonding agent material of Yamamoto to impart moderate mechanical strength to the cured product and compound for bonded magnets when kneading with thermop0olastic resins, in addition to improving remanence (Yamanaka, para [0014]).
Regarding claim 38, Yamamoto discloses a method for producing a bonded magnet compound (para [0046]), the method comprising:
providing an additive comprising a thermosetting resin and additional additives (para [0032]);
kneading the bonded magnet additive and a thermoplastic resin to form a bonded magnet resin composition (two or more, para [0032]); and
kneading the bonded magnet resin composition, the phosphate-coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powder according to claim 27 (para [0025] and [0030]), form a bonded magnet compound (para [0046]); and
injection molding the formed bonded magnet compound (para [0047]).
Yamamoto does not expressly recite forming a bonded magnet additive by heat curing a thermosetting resin and a curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 11;
However, Yamanaka does teach a method of forming a bonded magnet comprising forming a bonded magnet additive by heating a thermosetting resin and curing agent, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, (para [0006]). A range of 2 to 10 closely overlaps the instantly claimed range of 2 to 11. See MPEP 2144.05(I), cited above
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the curing agent of Yamanaka, wherein a ratio of a number of reactive groups in the curing agent to a number of reactive groups in the thermosetting resin is in a range of 2 to 10, as an additive in the bonding agent material of Yamamoto to impart moderate mechanical strength to the cured product and compound, in addition to improving remanence (Yamanaka, para [0014]).
Double Patenting
Claims 20-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,462,958 B2 (hereinafter 958). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach closely overlapping methods of making phosphate coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powders.
Claims 31-35, 37, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,438 B2 (hereinafter 438). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach closely overlapping methods of making bonded magnets comprising phosphate coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powders.
Claims 20-30, 36, and 39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-24 and 27-32 of copending Application No.18/253,676 (hereinafter 676). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping bonded magnets (instant claims 36 and 39 and 676 claims 30-32) comprising overlapping phosphate coated SmFeN-based anisotropic magnetic powders with overlapping properties (instant claims 27-30 and 676 claims 27-29) made by overlapping methods (instant claims 20-26 and 676 claims 15-24). Claim 36 is a product by process claim. See MPEP 2113, cited above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734