DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 07/01/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa (US 2010/0152719) in view of PAN et al. (US 2022/0118278), in view of Eckhouse (WO 2011/067761).
In re claim 1, Fujikawa discloses a light-emitting depilation device (FIG. 1 ; abstract) comprising:
a light source (2/20) that emits light having a wavelength;
a *skin cooling unit (4; [0021]: “lamp cover”) that
faces the light source [0021],
transmits the light emitted from the light source [0021], and
is configured to cool skin upon coming into contact with the skin (see * below) ;
a push switch (6; [0024] : “light shielding pipe”) that includes a pressing unit (6) surrounding an outer periphery of a light source and the skin cooling unit (FIG. 1); and
a controller (5) comprising a read-only memory storing a program (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, control circuit (5) acts as a read only memory as it a) cannot be altered and b) stores information including instructions (i.e., conditions that must be met)),
wherein
the skin cooking unit has
a first surface facing the light source (bottom surface of 2/20) and
a second surface opposite to the first surface (top surface of 2/20), and
the second surface is to be brought in **contact with the skin,
when the pressing unit is not being pressed, the pressing unit extend beyond the second surface of the skin cooling unit (FIG. 1),
when the pressing unit is pressed by the skin, a surface (11) of the pressing unit is pressed by the skin [0024] to be moved closer to the light source compared with when the pressing unit is not being pressed until the second surface of the skin cooling unit comes into **contact with the skin (FIG. 1, FIG. 2),
the push switch switches to cause the light source to emit the light and not to emit the light and to cause the light source to
***keep emitting the light at least for a part of time while the pressing unit is pressed [0029], and
not to emit the light while the pressing unit is not pressed [0029], and
the program when executed by the controller causes the controller to:
(1) cause the light source to emit the light after the skin comes into contact with the second surface of the skin cooling unit ([0032]; Examiner notes that other conditions in addition to the skin coming into contact with the second surface of the skin cooling unit are required for the light to be emitted. However, under BRI, this limitation is still met), or
(2) cause the light source to emit the light immediately after the push switch is pressed ([0032]; Examiner notes that other conditions in addition to the push switch being pressed are required for the light to be emitted. However, under BRI, this limitation is still met).
*It is apparent that the lamp cover is cooler than the skin it contacts. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) the lamp cover can act as a skin cooling unit by effectively cooling the skin upon application
**The limitation “contact with the skin” is intended use and have been given patentable weight only in how they materially alter or add structure to the apparatus of the claim. See MPEP 2114. The prior art need only be able to perform these functions in order to anticipate the claimed invention. It is clear that the system of Fujikawa could be operated in the claimed manner if desired.
***Examiner notes that other conditions in addition to the pressing unit being pressed are required for the light to be emitted (see [0030-0031]). However, under BRI, this limitation is still met.
Fujikawa does not disclose
a light source that emits light having a wavelength of 400 nm or longer and 1200 nm or shorter;
a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the skin cooling unit;
PAN discloses an analogous depilation device that emits light having a variety of wavelengths ranging from 400 nm to 1200 nm [0026-0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depilation device of Fujikawa to include the wavelength range taught by PAN. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the range of wavelengths is known in the art, and the result of the modification, using light to remove hair, is reasonably predictable.
As disclosed above, it is apparent that the lamp cover of Fujikawa can act as a skin cooling unit. However, in so far as this is not explicitly stated, claim 1 is alternatively rejected as follows:
Fujikawa may be interpreted as lacking
a cooling unit
PAN discloses an analogous depilation device (abstract) with a cooling unit (FIG. 1, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depilation device of Fujikawa to include a cooling unit, as taught by PAN. One would have been motivated to make this modification because cooling the skin can help to mitigate skin irritation (PAN, [0080]).
Regarding the limitation “a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the skin cooling unit”, Eckhouse discloses an analogous depilation device (Fig. 17, Fig. 18; [0071]; [0069] “hair…removal”) with a skin cooling unit (1812, 1828). As disclosed by Eckhouse, the depilation device also includes a temperature sensor [0076] configured to sense a temperature inside the skin cooling unit [0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the depilation device of the proposed combination to include a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the skin cooling unit, as taught by Eckhouse. One would have been motivated to make this modification because doing so would make it easier to spot overheating or a potential cooling unit malfunction (Eckhouse, [0076]).
In re claim 3, the proposed combination does not yield, wherein the light source includes a light-emitting diode (LED)
Pan further discloses an analogous light source wherein the light source includes a light-emitting diode (LED) [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light source of Fujikawa to include a light emitting diode, as taught by Pan. One would have been motivated to make this modification both because light emitting diodes are known in the art and the result of the modification, providing light, is reasonably predictable.
In re claim 4, regarding the limitation wherein the skin cooling unit is cooled to -5°C or higher and 35°C or lower.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the temperature of the skin cooling unit. One would have been motivated to make this modification since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In re claim 5, regarding the limitation wherein a total light transmittance of the skin cooling unit is 80% or higher.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the light transmittance of the skin cooling unit. One would have been motivated to make this modification since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In re claim 6, regarding the limitation wherein the skin cooling unit includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Al203, ZnO, ZrO2, MgO, GaN, AlN, and diamond.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the skin cooling unit. One would have been motivated to make this modification, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use or purpose MPEP 2144.07.
In re claim 9, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Fujikawa) wherein the program when executed by the controller causes the controller to:
(1) cause the light source to emit the light after the skin comes into contact with the second surface of the skin cooling unit ([0032]; Examiner notes that other conditions in addition to the skin coming into contact with the second surface of the skin cooling unit are required for the light to be emitted. However, under BRI, this limitation is still met).
In re claim 10, the proposed combination yields (all mapping directed to Fujikawa) wherein the program when executed by the controller causes the controller to:
(2) cause the light source to emit the light immediately after the push switch is pressed ([0032]; Examiner notes that other conditions in addition to the push switch being pressed are required for the light to be emitted. However, under BRI, this limitation is still met).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa (US 2010/0152719) in view of PAN et al. (US 2022/0118278), in view of in view of Eckhouse (WO 2011/067761), and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 7,329,252).
In re claim 7, the proposed combination does not yield wherein the light source emits light intermittently under conditions of
an irradiance of 15 W/cm2 or higher and 50 W/cm2 or lower and
an irradiation time of 500 ms or longer and 1000 ms or shorter.
Yamazaki discloses an analogous laser depilation device (abstract) that follows light application with a period of dormancy (Col. 2, Lines 62-67 – Col. 3, Line 1).
Yamazaki further discloses that this operation-and-dormancy sequence is repeated to help reduce skin damage (Col. 3, Lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination to intermittently deliver light, as taught by Yamazaki. One would have been motivated to make this modification because introducing periods of dormancy is an effective way to avoid skin damage (Yamazaki : Col. 3, Lines 2-4).
Regarding the limitations
an irradiance of 15 W/cm2 or higher and 50 W/cm2 or lower and
an irradiation time of 500 ms or longer and 1000 ms or shorter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the irradiance and irradiation time. One would have been motivated to make this modification since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/OLIVIA WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/DAVID HAMAOUI/SPE, Art Unit 3796