DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, the claim limitation “a mounting means” that use the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0068]", the specification states: the mounting device comprises a suction pad. Therefore, the mounting means is construed as a suction pad.
In claim 1, the claim limitation “an orientation means” that use the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0107]", the specification states: the orientation means comprises at least a rotatable mirror or a mirrors using a galvanometer based motor a galvo head. Therefore, the orientation means is construed as a mirror and a motor.
In claim 1, the claim limitation “a closing means” that use the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0113, 0115]", the specification states: the closing means 14 can comprise a fixing means and a mask… the fixing means can comprise a slide. Therefore, the closing means is construed as a mask and a slide.
In claim 5, the claim limitation “a fixing means” that use the word “means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. In para "[0115]", the specification states: the fixing means can comprise a slide. Therefore, the fixing means is construed as a slide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the decoating apparatus." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, which does not claim “a decoating apparatus,” rather it claims a “laser apparatus.” For purposes of examination, “the decoating apparatus” is taken to be “the laser apparatus.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18252481 in view of Otaki (US20140009729A1).
Regarding claim 1, Application No. 18252481 teaches a laser apparatus, inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle R defined by a longitudinal axis, X, a vertical axis, Y defining a plane P and a lateral axis, Z (Claim 1 lines 1-3 A laser apparatus inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle R defined by a longitudinal axis, X, a vertical axis, Y defining a plane P and a lateral axis, Z, comprising), comprising:
a mounting means to mount the laser apparatus on a window, mounted in situ (Claim 1 lines 4-5 a mounting means to mount the laser apparatus on a window, mounted in situ);
a laser device generating a laser beam to treat a surface of the window (Claim 1 lines 6- 7 a laser device generating a laser beam to treat a surface of the window);
an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface on the surface to be treated (Claim 1 lines 8-10 an orientation means able to orientate the laser beam defining a maximum decoatable surface (WSm) on the surface to be treated);
Application No. 18252481 does not teach wherein the laser apparatus comprises a closing means to at least partially reduce a maximum decoatable surface to a working surface.
Otaki teaches wherein the laser apparatus comprises a closing means (3, 5) to at least partially reduce a maximum decoatable surface to a working surface ([0038] the longitudinal length of the laser light L radiated on the object Ob to be irradiated is adjusted).
It would have been obvious to have modified Application No. 18252481 with the teachings of Otaki to have to have a closing means to reduce a maximum decoatable surface to a working surface so the laser may be separated through a closing means such that only certain portions of the light are let through which improves the efficiency of laser processing (Otaki [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Application No. 18252481 and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Application No. 18252481 teaches wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system present on a surface of the window (Claim 2 wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system present on a surface of the window).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estino (US8927069B1) in view of Otaki (US20140009729A1).
Fig. 5 of Estino
Regarding claim 1, Estino teaches a laser apparatus (410) ,
inscribed in a parallelepiped rectangle R (570) defined by a longitudinal axis, X, a vertical axis, Y defining a plane P and a lateral axis, Z (Fig. 5), comprising:
a mounting means (Col. 3 lines 1-30 mounts 507 a-507 d) to mount the laser apparatus (410) on a window (110, 105), mounted in situ;
a laser device (410) generating a laser beam (450) to treat a surface of the window (110, 105);
an orientation means (Col. 7 lines 60-67 the laser beam may be directed at the necessary locations on the low-E coating by a system of one or more mirrors) able to orientate the laser beam (450) defining a maximum decoatable surface (120) on the surface to be treated (110);
Estino does not teach wherein the laser apparatus comprises a closing means to at least partially reduce a maximum decoatable surface to a working surface.
Otaki teaches wherein the laser apparatus comprises a closing means (3, 5) to at least partially reduce a maximum decoatable surface to a working surface ([0038] the longitudinal length of the laser light L radiated on the object Ob to be irradiated is adjusted).
Estino and Otaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser apparatuses. It would have been obvious to have modified Estino with the teachings of Otaki to have a closing means to reduce a maximum decoatable surface to a working surface so the laser may be separated through a closing means such that only certain portions of the light are let through which improves the efficiency of laser processing (Otaki [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Estino teaches wherein the laser apparatus is a decoating apparatus (Col. 3 lines 1-30 a pulsed laser to remove (i.e., ablate) the low-E coating) and wherein the laser device is designed to decoat at least partially a portion of a coating system (120) present on a surface of the window (110).
Fig. 1 of Otaki
Regarding claim 3, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, but Estino is silent on wherein the closing means comprises a fixing means and a mask able to be fixed to the fixing means in front of the laser beam.
Otaki teaches wherein the closing means (3, 5) comprises a fixing means (3) and a mask (5) able to be fixed to the fixing means (5) in front of the laser beam (L, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to have modified Estino to incorporate the teachings of Otaki to have a closing means with a fixing means so that the laser may be separated through a closing means such that only certain portions of the light are let through which improves the efficiency of laser processing (Otaki [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 4, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 3, but Estino is silent on wherein the mask comprises at least a mask window and a mask frame and wherein the mask frame is opaque to the laser beam.
Otaki teaches wherein the mask (5) comprises at least a mask window (slits 2A, 2B) and a mask frame ([0034] portions of mask 5 that are not slits 2A, 2B) and wherein the mask frame is opaque to the laser beam ([0034] a light-blocking film coated on a transparent substrate to form a mask 5).
It would have been obvious to have modified Estino to incorporate the teachings of Otaki to have a mask have a frame and a window the laser may be separated through a closing means such that only certain portions of the light are let through which improves the efficiency of laser processing (Otaki [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Estino teaches where wherein the laser device (410) comprises a movable part (Col. 7 lines 60-67 mirrors) and a fixed part (440), irremovable in the decoating apparatus (410) in directions paralleled to the plane P and along the lateral axis Z (Col. 6 lines 1-10 lens array 440 are mounted, and taken to be irremovable).
Regarding claim 7, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 6, and Estino teaches wherein the movable part (Col. 7 lines 60-67 mirrors) is irremovable along the longitudinal axis X and along the vertical axis Y (Col. 7 lines 60-67 the laser beam may be directed at the necessary locations on the low-E coating by a system of one or more mirrors; where the mirrors are understood to be movable but not removable).
Regarding claim 12, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Estino teaches wherein the mounting means (Col. 3 lines 1-30 mounts 507 a-507 d) to mount the laser apparatus is on a multi glazed window mounted in situ (Col. 7 lines 25-45 double pane window 110, 120, 405).
Regarding claim 13, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Estino teaches wherein the apparatus is portable (Col. 5 lines 50-67 removable attachment to a window, understood to be the equivalent of portable).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estino (US8927069B1) in view of Otaki (US20140009729A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuda (WO2012046478) with citations made to attached machine translation.
Fig. 24 of Matsuda
Regarding claim 5, Estino and Otaki teach the laser apparatus according to claim 3, but are silent on wherein the fixing means comprises a slide able to slide the mask in front of the laser beam.
Matsuda teaches wherein the fixing means (Pg. 45 line 18 - Pg. 46 line 9 a mask transport mechanism 50 for moving the mask 44 left and right) comprises a slide (50) able to slide the mask (44) in front of the laser beam (Pg. 47 line 20- Pg. 48 line 10 the mask pattern is changed by using the mask transport mechanism shown in Fig. 24. To slide the mask 44 so that the opening Μ 1-M4 arranged on the imaginary line L1 is retracted to the laser light).
Estino, Otaki, and Matsuda are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser apparatuses. It would have been obvious to have modified Estino and Otaki to incorporate the teachings of Matsuda to use a fixing means to slide a mask in front of the laser beams in order to create various desired patterns in various areas of the laser light (Matsuda Pg. 46 lines 1-10).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estino (US8927069B1) in view of Otaki (US20140009729A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka (US20070138151A1).
Regarding claim 8, Estino and Otaki teach a laser apparatus according to claim 1, and Estino teaches a method of treating a surface of a window (110, 405) mounted in situ
wherein the method comprises:
A. Choosing a working surface (303, 323, 333, 343) of the surface (120) to be treated;
C. Treating the working surface (Col. 3 lines 25-40 performed using a pulsed laser to remove (i.e., ablate) the low-E coating).
Estino is silent on B. Selecting a closing means corresponding to the working surface.
Tanaka teaches B. Selecting a closing means ([0059-0060] slits 105, 109 and lens 106) corresponding to the working surface ([0059-0060] slits 105 or 109 chosen to adjust the length of the beam spot, direct laser to predetermined positions on substrate 107).
Estino, Otaki, and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser apparatuses. It would have been obvious to have modified Estino and Otaki to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka to select the closing means corresponding to the surface so that the beams can be applied to the surfaces with a desired pattern for creating a desired product without damaging other portions of the substrate that do not need to be treated (Tanaka [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Estino and Otaki teach a decoating apparatus according to claim 2, and Estino teaches A method of at least partially decoating a coating system (120) of a multi-glazed window (110, 405) mounted in situ with a decoating apparatus (410) mounted on the multi-glazed window (Fig. 5);
wherein the method comprises:
A. Choosing a working surface (303, 323, 333, 343) of the coating system (120) to be decoated (Col.4 lines 30-55 choosing ablated paths 303, 323, 333, 343 on the coating, taken to be a working surface);
C. Decoating at least partially the working surface (Col. 3 lines 25-40 performed using a pulsed laser to remove (i.e., ablate) the low-E coating).
Estino is silent on B. Selecting a closing means corresponding to the working surface.
Tanaka teaches B. Selecting a closing means ([0059-0060] slits 105, 109 and lens 106) corresponding to the working surface ([0059-0060] slits 105 or 109 chosen to adjust the length of the beam spot, direct laser to predetermined positions on substrate 107).
It would have been obvious to have modified Estino and Otaki to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka to select the closing means corresponding to the surface so that the beams can be applied to the surfaces with a desired pattern for creating a desired product without damaging other portions of the substrate that do not need to be treated (Tanaka [0060]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estino (US8927069B1) in view of Otaki (US20140009729A1) and Tanaka (US20070138151A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Matsuda (WO2012046478) with citations made to attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 10, Estino, Otaki, and Tanaka teach a method according to claim 9, but Estino and Otaki are silent on wherein B further comprises:
B1. selecting a mask corresponding to the working surface; and
B2. of fixing the mask to a fixing means.
Tanaka teaches B1. selecting a mask (slits 105, 109) corresponding to the working surface ([0059-0060] slits 105 or 109 chosen to adjust the length of the beam spot, direct laser to predetermined positions on substrate 107).
It would have been obvious to have modified Estino and Otaki to incorporate the teachings of Tanaka to select the mask corresponding to the surface so that the beams can be applied to the surfaces with a desired pattern for creating a desired product without damaging other portions of the substrate that do not need to be treated (Tanaka [0060]).
Estino, Otaki, and Tanaka are silent on B2. of fixing the mask to a fixing means.
Matsuda teaches B2. of fixing the mask (44) to a fixing means (Pg. 45 line 18 - Pg. 46 line 9 a mask transport mechanism 50 for moving the mask 44 left and right).
It would have been obvious to have modified Estino, Otaki, and Tanaka to incorporate the teachings of Matsuda to use a fixing means to slide a mask in front of the laser beams in order to create various desired patterns in various areas of the laser light (Matsuda Pg. 46 lines 1-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Otaki does not teach the limitation of “closing means to at least partially reduce a maximum decotable surface to a working surface,” applicant argues that Otaki is directed to “a precision optical instrument designed for laboratory use” and “the Otaki light blocking device selects only for certain wavelengths of light and does not ‘partially reduce a maximum dectotable surface,’” however, applicant’s “closing means,” interpreted as in view of the 112f interpretation, is understood to be a mask or a slide, of which Otaki is understood to teach, as Otaki recites is mask 5 that has a light blocking device 3. Otaki is understood to be in the same field of invention, although directed towards liquid crystal display panel, the field of invention relates to the application of laser a surface, which is understood to be reasonably in the same field of invention. Otaki’s light blocking device only allowing certain wavelengths of light is understood to be done by plates 6A and 6B of the device. Blocking plates 6C and 6D adjust the length of light being irradiated, and it is understood adjusting a physical length of a laser light would at least partially physically adjust the size of the area being affected by the laser, which is understood to be the equivalent of adjust a maximum decotable surface to a working surface.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Matsuda does not teach the fixing means as claims, in particular “the claimed ‘fixing means comprising a slide.’ In claim 5, is designed to slide an interchangeable mask in front of the laser beam to position a selected mask’ In response to applicant's argument that “the claimed ‘fixing means comprising a slide.’ In claim 5, is designed to slide an interchangeable mask in front of the laser beam to position a selected mask” rather than “correct irradiation pattern as the workpiece moves” as taught by Matsuda, applicant’s claim does not specify interchanging masks, and only recites the ability to slide a mask in front of a laser beam. Although Matsuda has a different application of a slidable fixing means, it is still understood teach the limitation. Additionally, although Matsuda is not directed to a window, it is understood to be in the same field of invention of laser applying apparatuses, so would be understood to be obvious to combine.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/20/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761