Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 02/17/2026, regarding the amended claim language of claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lee et al. US 20070118248 A1 (“Lee”) in combination with Hoshino US 20160327954 A1 (“Hoshino”) cannot teach the amended claim language “determining the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile, triggering the first positioning circuit to stop transmitting the first request message, and triggering the second positioning circuit to stop transmitting the second request message under a condition that the signal receiver…” of the amended claim 1. Applicant specifically argues on page 13 regarding Hoshino, which is the reference primarily relied upon regarding the robot being in contact with the charging pile, that Hoshino teaches a completely different solution to the problem of determining whether the docking of the robot to the charging pile is completed, on the grounds that in Hoshino it is determined whether the vacuum cleaner body connected to the charging unit based on whether or not the charging terminals of the vacuum cleaner body and the charging terminals of the charging unit are connected to each other mechanically and electrically. However, as the claim is written, the method by which Hoshino determines that the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile is irrelevant. The claim amendments do not include any language that states that “[i]f the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile, the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, which means the docking of the robot to the charging pile is completed” as described by the applicant on page 13. For this reason, the claims are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, and the dependent claims are also rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-10, and 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20070118248 A1 (“Lee”) in combination with Hoshino US 20160327954 A1 (“Hoshino”).
Regarding Claim 1. Lee teaches a control method for providing guidance performed by a control device for providing guidance in a charging pile (A position recognition technique and method and apparatus for reckoning the position of a moving robot using dead-reckoning and range sensing [paragraph 3], wherein a reference object fixed in a space or a beacon is required for the range sensing, wherein the reference object may be a charge station [paragraph 39]), comprising:
triggering a first positioning circuit to transmit a first request message at a preset period, and triggering a second positioning circuit to transmit a second request message at the preset period after receiving a guidance request message transmitted by a robot, thereby the robot transmitting a first response message after receiving the first request message, and transmitting a second response message after receiving the second request message (FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the moving robot. The robot includes a transceiver 110, a distance calculator 120, a traveling unit 140, an encoder 150, a relocation determining unit 160, and an auxiliary sensor 170 [paragraph 42]. The transceiver 110 transmits and receives an ultrawide band (UWB) signal between the transceivers 210 and 220 of the charge station 200 [paragraph 43]. FIG. 5 shows a process of transmitting and receiving UWB signals. First, a transmitter side transmits a UWB pulse 4a having a specific intensity (voltage) to a receiver side. Then, the receiver side receives a distorted signal 5a from the UWB pulse 4a after the lapse of a specified time T [paragraph 45], which reads on a second response message);
determining a first distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit according to a time delay between the first positioning circuit transmitting the first request message and receiving the first response message after the first positioning circuit receiving the first response message (The distance calculator of 120 calculates the distance between the moving robot 100 and the charge station 200 using timing of the signal transmitted and received by the transceiver 110. In the present embodiment, two UWB signals provided in the charge station 200 are used as a non-limiting example of the distance calculator 120 [paragraph 44]. The distance between the transceiver 110 and the transceivers 210 and 220 can be calculated by multiplication of the effective time and speed of a radio wave through the air [paragraph 51]. See FIGS. 9 and 10 as well);
determining a second distance between the robot and the second positioning circuit according to a time delay between the second positioning circuit transmitting the second request message and receiving the second response message after the second positioning circuit receiving the second response message (See paragraphs 44 and 51, and FIGS. 9 and 10);
determining a position of the robot relative to the charging pile according to the first distance and the second distance (Paragraphs 44, 51, and 62 as well. Paragraph 62 describes the FIGS. 9 and 10, and the distance measurements between the first and second transceivers).
Lee does not expressly teach:
transmitting information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile;
and
determining the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile, triggering the first positioning circuit to stop transmitting the first request message, and triggering the second positioning circuit to stop transmitting the second request message under a condition that the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and transmitting a guidance ending instruction to the robot.
However, Hoshino teaches:
transmitting information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile (Paragraph 50); and
determining the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile (When the vacuum cleaner body 11 is connected to the charging unit 12 (when the charging terminals 45 and the charging terminals 53 are connected to each other mechanically and electrically), the vacuum cleaner body 11 stops transmission of the demand signal S from the light emitting part 33 [paragraph 55], indicating that the system detects when the charging terminals are in contact with one another in order to stop transmission of the demand signal), triggering the first positioning circuit to stop transmitting the first request message, and triggering the second positioning circuit to stop transmitting the second request message under a condition that the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and transmitting a guidance ending instruction to the robot (When the vacuum cleaner body 11 is connected to the charging unit 12 (when the charging terminals 45 and the charging terminals 53 are connected to each other mechanically and electrically), the vacuum cleaner body 11 stops transmission of the demand signal S from the light emitting part 33. Then, the charging unit 12 stops transmission of a guide signal from the charging unit light emitting part 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with transmitting information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile; and determining the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile, triggering the first positioning circuit to stop transmitting the first request message, and triggering the second positioning circuit to stop transmitting the second request message under a condition that the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and transmitting a guidance ending instruction to the robot as taught by Hoshino so as to allow the robot to utilize the data transmission between the charging station and the robot to guide the robot directly to the charging station and to stop using power transmitting the signals to the robot once it has docked with the charging pile. This is an obvious combination of known elements to produce a predictable result with a high likelihood of success.
Lee in combination with Hoshino do not expressly teach detecting whether a signal receiver in the charging pile receives a signal transmitted by a signal transmitter in the charging pile, wherein the signal receiver is configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile. However, as stated by MPEP2144.04: “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. Hoshino teaches in paragraph 55 that the charging unit 12 stops transmission of a guide signal from the charging unit light emitting part 55, and it is implicit that the charging station is made aware when the robot has connected to the charging electrodes, as the stopping of the transmission signal indicates that the charging unit controller at 58 of FIG. 2B is stopping the signal because the controller is made aware that the robot has connected to the charging unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the disclosures of Lee in combination with Hoshino with detecting whether a signal receiver in the charging pile receives a signal transmitted by a signal transmitter in the charging pile, wherein the signal receiver is configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile because it would save on power to stop transmitting the signals to the robot once it has docked with the charging pile.
Regarding Claim 3. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control method according to claim 1.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the determining a first distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit comprises:
extracting a first transmitting time of the first positioning circuit for transmitting the first request message and a first receiving time of the first positioning circuit for receiving the first response message; and
calculating the first distance according to the difference between the first receiving time and the first transmitting time (FIG. 8 shows the method of calculating the distance between a moving robot and a charge station using a UWB signal as a function of time. Paragraphs 47-51 elaborate on how this process works, and how the distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit is performed).
Regarding Claim 4. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control method according to claim 3.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the determining a first distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit further comprises:
extracting a second receiving time of the robot for receiving the first request message and a second transmitting time of the robot for transmitting the first response message from the first response message ([paragraph 48]);
wherein the calculating the first distance comprises:
calculating a first difference between the first receiving time and the first transmitting time, and a second difference between the second transmitting time and the second receiving time; and
calculating the first distance according to a difference between the first difference and the second difference (paragraphs 47-51).
Regarding Claim 5. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control method according to claim 1.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the determining a second distance between the robot and the second positioning circuit comprises:
extracting a third transmitting time of the second positioning circuit for transmitting the second request message, and a third receiving time of the second positioning circuit for receiving the second response message; and
calculating the second distance according to a difference between the third receiving time and the third transmitting time (FIG. 8 shows the method of calculating the distance between a moving robot and a charge station using a UWB signal as a function of time. Paragraphs 47-51 elaborate on how this process works, and how the distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit is performed. Note that the charge station 200 is provided with two transceivers 210 and 220 spaced apart from each other by a specified distance. A signal is transmitted or received between the transceiver 110 of the moving robot 100 and the first transceiver 210 of the charge station 200 and between the transceiver 110 and the second transceiver 220 of the charge station 200, whereby the distances r1 and r2 between them can be obtained [paragraph 41], so the process of measuring a first distance can be repeated for a second distance r2 between the transceiver of the robot and the second transceiver of the charge station).
Regarding Claim 6. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control method according to claim 5.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the determining a second distance between the robot and the second positioning circuit further comprises:
extracting a fourth receiving time of the robot for receiving the second request message and a fourth transmitting time of the robot for transmitting the second response message from the second response message ([paragraph 48]);
wherein the calculating the second distance comprises:
calculating a third difference between the third receiving time and the third transmitting time, and a fourth difference between the fourth transmitting time and the fourth receiving time; and
calculating the second distance according to a difference between the third difference and the fourth difference (paragraphs 47-51).
Regarding Claim 7. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control method according to claim 1.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the determining a position of the robot relative to the charging pile according to the first distance and the second distance comprises:
determining a first circular trajectory by taking a position of the first positioning circuit as a circle center and the first distance as a radius;
determining a second circular trajectory by taking a position of the second positioning circuit as a circle center and the second distance as a radius; and
taking the intersection point of the first circular trajectory and the second circular trajectory as the position of the robot relative to the charging pile (FIG. 11 shows a pair of circular trajectories, each centered around the distances r1 and r2, wherein the crossing area at 190 is an intersection between the two circles, occurring around the transceiver at 110, and is used to determine the robot’s position relative to the charging pile [paragraph 79]).
Regarding Claim 9. Lee teaches a control device for providing guidance, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory coupled to the processor, storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor (Paragraph 92 discloses processors and storage medium to execute functions of the disclosure), cause the processor to:
trigger a first positioning circuit to transmit a first request message at a preset period, and trigger a second positioning circuit to transmit a second request message at the preset period after receiving a guidance request message transmitted by a robot, thereby the robot transmitting a first response message after receiving the first request message, and transmitting a second response message after receiving the second request message (FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the moving robot. The robot includes a transceiver 110, a distance calculator 120, a traveling unit 140, an encoder 150, a relocation determining unit 160, and an auxiliary sensor 170 [paragraph 42]. The transceiver 110 transmits and receives an ultrawide band (UWB) signal between the transceivers 210 and 220 of the charge station 200 [paragraph 43]. FIG. 5 shows a process of transmitting and receiving UWB signals. First, a transmitter side transmits a UWB pulse 4a having a specific intensity (voltage) to a receiver side. Then, the receiver side receives a distorted signal 5a from the UWB pulse 4a after the lapse of a specified time T [paragraph 45], which reads on a second response message);
determine a first distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit according to a time delay between the first positioning circuit transmitting the first request message and receiving the first response message after the first positioning circuit receiving the first response message;
determine a second distance between the robot and the second positioning circuit according to a time delay between the second positioning circuit transmitting the second request message and receiving the second response message after the second positioning circuit receiving the second response message (The distance calculator of 120 calculates the distance between the moving robot 100 and the charge station 200 using timing of the signal transmitted and received by the transceiver 110. In the present embodiment, two UWB signals provided in the charge station 200 are used as a non-limiting example of the distance calculator 120 [paragraph 44]. The distance between the transceiver 110 and the transceivers 210 and 220 can be calculated by multiplication of the effective time and speed of a radio wave through the air [paragraph 51]. See FIGS. 9 and 10 as well);
determine a position of the robot relative to the charging pile according to the first distance and the second distance (Paragraphs 44, 51, and 62 as well. Paragraph 62 describes the FIGS. 9 and 10, and the distance measurements between the first and second transceivers).
Lee does not expressly teach:
transmit information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile; and
determine the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile.
However, Hoshino teaches:
transmit information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile (Paragraph 50); and
determine the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile (When the vacuum cleaner body 11 is connected to the charging unit 12 (when the charging terminals 45 and the charging terminals 53 are connected to each other mechanically and electrically), the vacuum cleaner body 11 stops transmission of the demand signal S from the light emitting part 33 [paragraph 55], indicating that the system detects when the charging terminals are in contact with one another in order to stop transmission of the demand signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with transmit information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile; and determine the charging electrode of the robot is in contact with the charging electrode of the charging pile as taught by Hoshino so as to allow the robot to utilize the data transmission between the charging station and the robot to guide the robot directly to the charging station. In effect, the disclosure of Hoshino is merely applying the disclosure of Lee to fulfill a function that is common in the art.
Lee in combination with Hoshino do not expressly teach detect whether a signal receiver in the charging pile receives a signal transmitted by a signal transmitter in the charging pile, wherein the signal receiver is configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile. However, as stated by MPEP2144.04: “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. Hoshino teaches in paragraph 55 that the charging unit 12 stops transmission of a guide signal from the charging unit light emitting part 55, and it is implicit that the charging station is made aware when the robot has connected to the charging electrodes, as the stopping of the transmission signal indicates that the charging unit controller at 58 of FIG. 2B is stopping the signal because the controller is made aware that the robot has connected to the charging unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the disclosures of Lee in combination with Hoshino with detect whether a signal receiver in the charging pile receives a signal transmitted by a signal transmitter in the charging pile, wherein the signal receiver is configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, and the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile because it would save on power to stop transmitting the signals to the robot once it has docked with the charging pile.
Regarding Claim 10. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control device for providing guidance according to claim 9.
Lee also teaches:
A charging pile, comprising:
a first communicating circuit configured to transmit a guidance request transmitted by a robot to the control device for providing guidance and transmit information about a position determined by the control device for providing guidance to the robot (FIG. 3 shows the charging station, with a first and second transceivers at 210 and 220 [paragraph 41]);
a first positioning circuit configured to transmit a first request message at a preset period according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance and receive a first response message transmitted by the robot upon receiving the first request message (FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the moving robot. The robot includes a transceiver 110, a distance calculator 120, a traveling unit 140, an encoder 150, a relocation determining unit 160, and an auxiliary sensor 170 [paragraph 42]. The transceiver 110 transmits and receives an ultrawide band (UWB) signal between the transceivers 210 and 220 of the charge station 200 [paragraph 43]. FIG. 5 shows a process of transmitting and receiving UWB signals. First, a transmitter side transmits a UWB pulse 4a having a specific intensity (voltage) to a receiver side. Then, the receiver side receives a distorted signal 5a from the UWB pulse 4a after the lapse of a specified time T [paragraph 45], which reads on a second response message); and
a second positioning circuit configured to transmit a second request message at a preset period according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance, and receive the second response message transmitted by the robot upon receiving the second request message (See paragraphs 44 and 51, and FIGS. 9 and 10).; and
a signal transmitter (FIG. 6 is a view illustrating an example of a waveform of a UWB pulse transmitted from a transmitter side [paragraph 26]).
Lee does not expressly teach:
transmit information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile;
transmit a guidance ending instruction transmitted by the guidance control device to the robot; and
stop transmitting the first request message according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance, and stop transmitting the second request message according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance; and
a signal receiver configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, wherein the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile.
However, Hoshino teaches:
transmit information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile (Paragraph 50);
transmit a guidance ending instruction transmitted by the guidance control device to the robot; and
stop transmitting the first request message according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance, and stop transmitting the second request message according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance (When the vacuum cleaner body 11 is connected to the charging unit 12 (when the charging terminals 45 and the charging terminals 53 are connected to each other mechanically and electrically), the vacuum cleaner body 11 stops transmission of the demand signal S from the light emitting part 33. Then, the charging unit 12 stops transmission of a guide signal from the charging unit light emitting part 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with transmit information about the position to the robot, thereby the robot adjusting a path according to the position to complete the docking of the robot to the charging pile; transmit a guidance ending instruction transmitted by the guidance control device to the robot; and stop transmitting the first request message according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance, and stop transmitting the second request message according to a trigger instruction transmitted by the control device for providing guidance as taught by Hoshino so as to allow the robot to utilize the data transmission between the charging station and the robot to guide the robot directly to the charging station and to stop using power transmitting the signals to the robot once it has docked with the charging pile. This is an obvious combination of known elements to produce a predictable result with a high likelihood of success.
Lee in combination with Hoshino do not expressly teach a signal receiver configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, wherein the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile. However, as stated by MPEP2111.04: “[t]he broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.” In light of this, the examiner is interpreting the claim language to mean that the charging pile simply does not include the ability to transmit a signal to the robot while the robot electrode is in contact with the charging pile electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the disclosures of Lee in combination with Hoshino with a signal receiver configured to receive a signal transmitted by the signal transmitter, wherein the signal receiver cannot receive the signal transmitted by the signal transmitter under a condition that a charging electrode of the robot is in contact with a charging electrode of the charging pile because it would save on power to stop transmitting the signals to the robot once it has docked with the charging pile.
Regarding Claim 17. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches a robot control device, comprising:
a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, storing program instructions which, when executed by the processor (Paragraph 92 discloses processors and storage medium to execute functions of the disclosure), cause the processor to:
detect whether the robot is currently in a preset guidance area in the process of approaching the charging pile according to claim 10 (The robot can determine whether the current position is within a specified effective area [paragraphs 14-15], illustrated in detail in FIGS. 11-12);
enter a guidance mode under a condition that the robot is currently in the preset guidance area (In FIG. 15, this is step S15 [paragraph 89]);
transmit a guidance request message to the charging pile, thereby a positioning circuit of the robot transmitting a first response message to the charging pile after receiving a first request transmitted by the charging pile, and transmitting a second response message to the charging pile after receiving a second request transmitted by the charging pile (FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the moving robot. The robot includes a transceiver 110, a distance calculator 120, a traveling unit 140, an encoder 150, a relocation determining unit 160, and an auxiliary sensor 170 [paragraph 42]. The transceiver 110 transmits and receives an ultrawide band (UWB) signal between the transceivers 210 and 220 of the charge station 200 [paragraph 43]. FIG. 5 shows a process of transmitting and receiving UWB signals. First, a transmitter side transmits a UWB pulse 4a having a specific intensity (voltage) to a receiver side. Then, the receiver side receives a distorted signal 5a from the UWB pulse 4a after the lapse of a specified time T [paragraph 45], which reads on a second response message), thereby the charging pile determining a first distance between the robot and the charging pile according to a time delay between the charging pile transmitting the first request message and receiving the first response message (FIG. 8 shows the method of calculating the distance between a moving robot and a charge station using a UWB signal as a function of time. Paragraphs 47-51 elaborate on how this process works, and how the distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit is performed), determining a second distance between the robot and the charging pile according to a time delay between the charging pile transmitting the second request message and receiving the second response message (FIG. 8 shows the method of calculating the distance between a moving robot and a charge station using a UWB signal as a function of time. Paragraphs 47-51 elaborate on how this process works, and how the distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit is performed. Note that the charge station 200 is provided with two transceivers 210 and 220 spaced apart from each other by a specified distance. A signal is transmitted or received between the transceiver 110 of the moving robot 100 and the first transceiver 210 of the charge station 200 and between the transceiver 110 and the second transceiver 220 of the charge station 200, whereby the distances r1 and r2 between them can be obtained [paragraph 41], so the process of measuring a first distance can be repeated for a second distance r2 between the transceiver of the robot and the second transceiver of the charge station), determining a position of the robot relative to the charging pile according to the first distance and the second distance, and transmitting information about the position to the robot (Paragraphs 44, 51, and 62 as well. Paragraph 62 describes the FIGS. 9 and 10, and the distance measurements between the first and second transceivers).
Lee does not expressly teach:
adjust a path according to a position after receiving information about the position transmitted by the charging pile; and
drive a moving mechanism according to the path, thereby the robot docking to the charging pile.
However, Hoshino teaches:
adjust a path according to a position after receiving information about the position transmitted by the charging pile (Paragraph 50); and
drive a moving mechanism according to the path, thereby the robot docking to the charging pile (in response to receipt of the demand signal S at the charging unit light receiving part 56, the charging unit controller 58 transmits a guide signal from the charging unit light emitting part 55 that is a return signal to guide the vacuum cleaner body 11 such that the vacuum cleaner body 11 returns to (moves to) the charging unit 12 [paragraph 50]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with adjust a path according to a position after receiving information about the position transmitted by the charging pile; and drive a moving mechanism according to the path, thereby the robot docking to the charging pile as taught by Hoshino so as to allow the robot to utilize the data transmission between the charging station and the robot to guide the robot directly to the charging station. In effect, the disclosure of Hoshino is merely applying the disclosure of Lee to fulfill a function that is common in the art.
Regarding Claim 18. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches a robot, comprising:
the robot control device according to claim 17.
Lee also teaches:
a communicating circuit configured to transmit the guidance request message transmitted by the robot control device to a charging pile, and transmit information about a position transmitted by the charging pile to the robot control device (FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the moving robot. The robot includes a transceiver 110, a distance calculator 120, a traveling unit 140, an encoder 150, a relocation determining unit 160, and an auxiliary sensor 170 [paragraph 42]. The transceiver 110 transmits and receives an ultrawide band (UWB) signal between the transceivers 210 and 220 of the charge station 200 [paragraph 43]. FIG. 5 shows a process of transmitting and receiving UWB signals. First, a transmitter side transmits a UWB pulse 4a having a specific intensity (voltage) to a receiver side. Then, the receiver side receives a distorted signal 5a from the UWB pulse 4a after the lapse of a specified time T [paragraph 45], which reads on a second response message);
the positioning circuit configured to transmit the first response message to the charging pile after receiving a first request transmitted by the charging pile, and transmit the second response message to the charging pile after receiving the second request transmitted by the charging pile (FIG. 4 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of the moving robot. The robot includes a transceiver 110, a distance calculator 120, a traveling unit 140, an encoder 150, a relocation determining unit 160, and an auxiliary sensor 170 [paragraph 42]. The transceiver 110 transmits and receives an ultrawide band (UWB) signal between the transceivers 210 and 220 of the charge station 200 [paragraph 43]. FIG. 5 shows a process of transmitting and receiving UWB signals. First, a transmitter side transmits a UWB pulse 4a having a specific intensity (voltage) to a receiver side. Then, the receiver side receives a distorted signal 5a from the UWB pulse 4a after the lapse of a specified time T [paragraph 45], which reads on a second response message); and
a moving mechanism configured to drive the robot (paragraph 7).
Lee does not teach:
The moving mechanism is configured to move according to a path provided by the robot control device.
However, Hoshino teaches:
The moving mechanism is configured to move according to a path provided by the robot control device (Paragraph 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with the moving mechanism is configured to move according to a path provided by the robot control device as taught by Hoshino so as to allow the robot to utilize the data transmission between the charging station and the robot to guide the robot directly to the charging station. In effect, the disclosure of Hoshino is merely applying the disclosure of Lee to fulfill a function that is common in the art.
Regarding Claim 19. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control method of claim 1.
Lee does not teach:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores computer instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement the control method of claim 1 (Lee teaches a memory in paragraph 92, but it does not teach that the memory is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium).
However, Hoshino teaches:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores computer instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement the control method of claim 1 (The controller 37 includes: a CPU as a controller body; a ROM as a storage storing fixed data such as a program to be read by the CPU; a RAM as an area storage to dynamically form various memory areas such as a work area to become an area for data processing by a program; and a timer to count time for calendar information such as a current date and time [paragraph 33]. ROM memory is non-transitory by definition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores computer instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement the control method of claim 1 as taught by Hoshino because non-transitory computer readable media are common in the art for use of storing permanent computer program instructions.
Regarding Claim 21. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control device for providing guidance according to claim 9.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
extract a first transmitting time of the first positioning circuit for transmitting the first request message and a first receiving time of the first positioning circuit for receiving the first response message; and
calculate the first distance according to the difference between the first receiving time and the first transmitting time (FIG. 8 shows the method of calculating the distance between a moving robot and a charge station using a UWB signal as a function of time. Paragraphs 47-51 elaborate on how this process works, and how the distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit is performed).
Regarding Claim 22. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control device for providing guidance according to claim 21.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
extract a second receiving time of the robot for receiving the first request message and a second transmitting time of the robot for transmitting the first response message from the first response message ([paragraph 48]);
calculate a first difference between the first receiving time and the first transmitting time, and a second difference between the second transmitting time and the second receiving time; and
calculate the first distance according to a difference between the first difference and the second difference (paragraphs 47-51).
Regarding Claim 23. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control device for providing guidance according to claim 9.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to:
extract a third transmitting time of the second positioning circuit for transmitting the second request message, and a third receiving time of the second positioning circuit for receiving the second response message; and
calculate the second distance according to a difference between the third receiving time and the third transmitting time (FIG. 8 shows the method of calculating the distance between a moving robot and a charge station using a UWB signal as a function of time. Paragraphs 47-51 elaborate on how this process works, and how the distance between the robot and the first positioning circuit is performed. Note that the charge station 200 is provided with two transceivers 210 and 220 spaced apart from each other by a specified distance. A signal is transmitted or received between the transceiver 110 of the moving robot 100 and the first transceiver 210 of the charge station 200 and between the transceiver 110 and the second transceiver 220 of the charge station 200, whereby the distances r1 and r2 between them can be obtained [paragraph 41], so the process of measuring a first distance can be repeated for a second distance r2 between the transceiver of the robot and the second transceiver of the charge station).
Regarding Claim 24. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control device for providing guidance according to claim 23.
Lee also teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to: extract a fourth receiving time of the robot for receiving the second request message and a fourth transmitting time of the robot for transmitting the second response message from the second response message ([paragraph 48]);
calculate a third difference between the third receiving time and the third transmitting time, and a fourth difference between the fourth transmitting time and the fourth receiving time; and
calculate the second distance according to a difference between the third difference and the fourth difference (paragraphs 47-51).
Regarding Claim 25. Lee in combination with Hoshino teaches the control device for providing guidance according to claim 9.
Lee also teaches:
wherein:
the first response message comprises a time of the positioning circuit for receiving the first request message and a time of the positioning circuit for transmitting the first response message; and
the second response message comprises a time of the positioning circuit for receiving the second request message and a time of the positioning circuit for transmitting the second response message (FIG. 11 shows a pair of circular trajectories, each centered around the distances r1 and r2, wherein the crossing area at 190 is an intersection between the two circles, occurring around the transceiver at 110, and is used to determine the robot’s position relative to the charging pile [paragraph 79]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656