DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 8/13/2026, claims 10, 21, 24- 25 are amended, claim 12 was cancelled. Claims 1- 11 and 13- 31 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13, second paragraph of remarks, applicant argues, “The Office Action alleges that Pakniat's identification of a neighboring network node as operating in an SA or NSA mode is relevant to the first and second variants of 5G NR recited in independent claim 1. See Office Action, p. 5. However, Pakniat does not teach or suggest a "set of variants" of 5G NR, where a "first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology" and a "second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology," as recited in independent claim 1”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per claim 1’s recitations, “….the set of variants of the first RAT comprises a first variant of the first RAT and a second variant of the first RAT, the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology..”; there is no such requirement. The claim requires only that the second variant be "based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology." It does not recite that the second variant's specification is authored by a non-3GPP standards development organization.
On page 13, third paragraph and page 14 first paragraph of remarks, applicant argues, “Pakniat describes SA and NSA as deployment modes or options discussed within the 3GPP framework, not as different standards specifications or "variants" for 5G NR. For example, Pakniat explains that "[s]tandardization of 5G, including New Radio (NR) and 5th Generation Core Network (5GCN), is ongoing in 3GPP," and describes various "options" for deploying NR with LTE, an Evolved Packet Core (EPC), and a 5GCN. See Pakniat " [0002]- [0006]. Pakniat identifies option 3 as EN-DC, in which LTE is the master node and NR is the secondary node, and refers to that arrangement as "Non-stand-alone [NSA] NR." See id.[0003]. Pakniat separately identifies option 2 as a "stand-alone [SA] NR deployment where a gNB is connected to 5GCN." See id. [0004]. With regard to interfaces that correspond to these deployment options, Pakniat states that these interfaces correspond to specified figures in 3GPP TS 37.340. See id. 1 [0007]. Thus, Pakniat distinguishes SA and NSA based on how NR is deployed and connected with LTE and the core network. The Office Action does not identify any disclosure of Pakniat that describes SA and NSA as first and second variants of 5G NR based on standards specifications having different compatibility with the 3GPP standards specification…. Pakniat's discussions of camping and UE compatibility do not teach or suggest that SA, NSA, or any other disclosed deployment option constitutes a "second variant" of 5G NR that "is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology," as recited in independent claim 1”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully states that as per claim 1’s recitations, “….the set of variants of the first RAT comprises a first variant of the first RAT and a second variant of the first RAT, the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology..”; claim does not specify the source or category of the incompatibility, only that it exists and that it is partial rather than total. Pakniat teaches exactly that.
Claims 2-11, 14-22, 24-28, 30, and 31 are dependent claims of independent Claim 1. At least for the same reasons set forth in response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim above, claims 2-11, 14-22, 24-28, 30, and 31 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 4, 8, 11, 13- 16, 19, 22- 26, 28- 29, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Pakniat et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357095 A1), hereafter Parisa.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 5 and [0061] user device as a UE here), comprising:
receiving indicia that indicates, from a set of variants of a first radio access technology (RAT), a variant of the first RAT according to which a first base station is configured to operate wherein the set of variants of the first RAT comprises a first variant of the first RAT and a second variant of the first RAT (see Fig. 5 and #502 about …receiving (502), by a user device during camping on a cell (i.e. network device , first base station is there), a message comprising a first field, wherein the first field is indicative of availability of another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network (i.e. first RAT) for communication via a base station of the cell… a second field in the message…. (i.e. first and/or second field can be a first/second variant; see [0061]); and
establishing a wireless connection with the first base station when both the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to a same one of the first variant or the second variant (see [0061].. determining (504), based on a second field in the message, whether the user device is allowed to camp on the cell, wherein a value of the second field indicates that the user device is disallowed to access the another type of RAT core network when the implementation version is incompatible with the another type of RAT core network, and obtaining (506) additional information regarding other intra-frequency cells that support another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network available for the user device to reselect.).
But Li fails to state about wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology.
However Parisa teaches in [0202] acquiring (i.e. by UE) network node type information transmitted by a neighbor network node, wherein the network node type information indicates at least one of: i) that the neighbor network node is a Stand-Alone (SA) network node (i.e. fully 5G NR) and ii) that the neighbor network node is a Non-Stand-Alone (NSA) network node (i.e. partially incompatible); further see [0204] A2. The method of A1, wherein the network node type information comprises an SA/NSA indicator; further see [0233] B5. The method of B3, wherein the serving network node is an eNodeB, the method further comprising:[0234] based on a determination that the identified neighbor network node is an SA and NAS network node, determining whether the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes; and [0235] based on a determination that the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes, initiating at least one of: (i) an Inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) handover to the identified neighbor network node and (ii) a configuration of EUTRAN-New Radio Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) with the identified neighbor network node; further see [0237- 0238].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Parisa with the teachings of Li to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, further comprising: refraining from establishing the wireless connection with the first base station when the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant or the second variant (Li already discussed above in [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed).
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first base station is part of a first radio access network (RAN), the method further comprising: refraining from establishing the wireless connection with any base station of the first RAN when the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant or the second variant; Li already discussed above in [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed and any base station can be a cell of an another type of RAT (i.e. first base station of first RAT).
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, wherein receiving the indicia includes: receiving a system information broadcast (SIB) message that includes at least a first field carrying the indicia regarding whether the first base station is configured to operate according to the first variant or the second variant; Li see [0062]… methods 400 and 500, the “another type of RAT” or “another type of core network” may be a next generation core network such as a 5G core network. In methods 400 and 500, the message may comprise a system message such as a system information block, as described herein. In some embodiments, the another type of RAT core network may include a next generation network (e.g., 5G network) that is incompatible with a legacy version of the user device. For example, 4G and earlier versions of UEs may not be able to understand messages from a 5G core network.
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, wherein receiving the indicia includes: receiving identification information from the first base station, the identification information identifying a radio access network (RAN) that includes the first base station; and retrieving the indicia from compatibility information that correlates the identification information in association with either the first variant or the second variant; already discussed above in claim 1 Li see [0061]..
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, further comprising: including the first base station in a cell selection/reselection procedure when both the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to the same one of the first variant or the second variant; and excluding the first base station from the cell selection/reselection procedure when the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant or the second variant; already discussed in claim 1; Li see [0061] and Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising (see Fig. 5 and [0061] user device as a UE here):
A processing system that comprises one or more processors and one or more memories, the processing system configured to cause the UE to: receive indicia that indicates, from a set of variants of a first radio access technology (RAT), a variant of the first RAT according to which a first base station is configured to operate wherein the set of variants of the first RAT comprises a first variant of the first RAT and a second variant of the first RAT (see Fig. 5 and #502 about …receiving (502), by a user device during camping on a cell (i.e. network device , first base station is there), a message comprising a first field, wherein the first field is indicative of availability of another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network (i.e. first RAT) for communication via a base station of the cell… a second field in the message…. (i.e. first and/or second field can be a first/second variant; see [0061]); and
establish a wireless connection with the first base station when both the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to a same one of the first variant or the second variant (see [0061].. determining (504), based on a second field in the message, whether the user device is allowed to camp on the cell, wherein a value of the second field indicates that the user device is disallowed to access the another type of RAT core network when the implementation version is incompatible with the another type of RAT core network, and obtaining (506) additional information regarding other intra-frequency cells that support another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network available for the user device to reselect.).
But Li fails to state about wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology.
However Parisa teaches in [0202] acquiring (i.e. by UE) network node type information transmitted by a neighbor network node, wherein the network node type information indicates at least one of: i) that the neighbor network node is a Stand-Alone (SA) network node (i.e. fully 5G NR) and ii) that the neighbor network node is a Non-Stand-Alone (NSA) network node (i.e. partially incompatible); further see [0204] A2. The method of A1, wherein the network node type information comprises an SA/NSA indicator; further see [0233] B5. The method of B3, wherein the serving network node is an eNodeB, the method further comprising:[0234] based on a determination that the identified neighbor network node is an SA and NAS network node, determining whether the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes; and [0235] based on a determination that the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes, initiating at least one of: (i) an Inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) handover to the identified neighbor network node and (ii) a configuration of EUTRAN-New Radio Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) with the identified neighbor network node; further see [0237- 0238].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Parisa with the teachings of Li to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to refrain from establishing the wireless connection with the first base station when the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant or the second variant (Li already discussed above in [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed).
Regarding claim 15, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, wherein the first base station is part of a first radio access network (RAN), and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to refrain from establishing the wireless connection with any base station of the first RAN when the UE and the first base station are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant or the second variant; Li already discussed above in [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed and any base station can be a cell of an another type of RAT (i.e. first base station of first RAT).
Regarding claim 16, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, wherein processing system is further configured to cause the UE to receive a system information broadcast (SIB) message that includes at least a first field carrying the indicia regarding whether the first base station is configured to operate according to the first variant or the second variant; Li see [0062]… methods 400 and 500, the “another type of RAT” or “another type of core network” may be a next generation core network such as a 5G core network. In methods 400 and 500, the message may comprise a system message such as a system information block, as described herein. In some embodiments, the another type of RAT core network may include a next generation network (e.g., 5G network) that is incompatible with a legacy version of the user device. For example, 4G and earlier versions of UEs may not be able to understand messages from a 5G core network.
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive identification information from the first base station, the identification information identifying a radio access network (RAN) that includes the first base station; and to retrieve the indicia from compatibility information that correlates the identification information in association with either the first variant or the second variant; Li already discussed above in claim 1 see [0061]..
Regarding claim 22, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, further comprising: at least one modem; at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one modem; at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver to wirelessly transmit signals output from the at least one transceiver and to wirelessly receive signals for input into the at least one transceiver; and a housing that encompasses at least the processor, the at least one modem, the at least one transceiver, and at least a portion of the at least one antenna; Li see Fig. 6- 7 and [0064- 0065].
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches a method for wireless communication by a base station, comprising (see Fig. 5 and [0061]):
transmitting indicia that indicates, from a set of variants of a first radio access technology (RAT), a variant of the first RAT according to which a first base station is configured to operate wherein the set of variants of the first RAT comprises a first variant of the first RAT and a second variant of the first RAT (see Fig. 5 and #502 about …receiving (502), by a user device during camping on a cell (i.e. network device , first base station is there), a message comprising a first field, wherein the first field is indicative of availability of another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network (i.e. first RAT) for communication via a base station of the cell… a second field in the message…. (i.e. first and/or second field can be a first/second variant; see [0061]); and
establishing a wireless connection with the UE when both the UE and the base station are configured to operate according to a same one of the first variant or the second variant (see [0061].. determining (504), based on a second field in the message, whether the user device is allowed to camp on the cell, wherein a value of the second field indicates that the user device is disallowed to access the another type of RAT core network when the implementation version is incompatible with the another type of RAT core network, and obtaining (506) additional information regarding other intra-frequency cells that support another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network available for the user device to reselect.).
But Li fails to state about wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology.
However Parisa teaches in [0202] acquiring (i.e. by UE) network node type information transmitted by a neighbor network node, wherein the network node type information indicates at least one of: i) that the neighbor network node is a Stand-Alone (SA) network node (i.e. fully 5G NR) and ii) that the neighbor network node is a Non-Stand-Alone (NSA) network node (i.e. partially incompatible); further see [0204] A2. The method of A1, wherein the network node type information comprises an SA/NSA indicator; further see [0233] B5. The method of B3, wherein the serving network node is an eNodeB, the method further comprising:[0234] based on a determination that the identified neighbor network node is an SA and NAS network node, determining whether the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes; and [0235] based on a determination that the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes, initiating at least one of: (i) an Inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) handover to the identified neighbor network node and (ii) a configuration of EUTRAN-New Radio Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) with the identified neighbor network node; further see [0237- 0238].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Parisa with the teachings of Li to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 24, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 23, further comprising: rejecting a request from the UE to establish the wireless connection with the base station when the base station and the UE are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant and the second variant (Li already discussed above in [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed).
Regarding claim 25, Li in view of Jin teaches as per claim 24, Li states wherein rejecting the request includes at least one member selected from a group consisting of:
transmitting a system information broadcast (SIB) message that includes at least a first field carrying the indicia regarding whether the base station is configured to operate according to the first variant or the second variant;
transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes a reject code indicating that the UE and the base station are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant and the second variant;
transmitting an RRC message that includes a redirection code instructing the UE to establish the wireless connection to a different base station that is configured to operate according to the same one of the first variant or the second variant as the UE;
transmitting an RRC message that includes a redirection code instructing the UE to establish the wireless connection to a legacy base station that is configured to operate according to a second RAT; and
transmitting a non-access stratum (NAS) message from a core network to the UE via the wireless connection, the NAS message carrying compatibility information that includes one or more mobile country codes (MCCs) associated with a geographic region and which variant of the first RAT is associated with the geographic region; see [0025]… or example, when an eLTE base station is only connected to the 5G core, this requires that the eLTE system message design, to ensure that the traditional UE can decode the system message, but also to inform the traditional UE cannot access the base station, and the new UE can access the base station..; further see [0033- 0036, 0043- 0045].
Regarding claim 26, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 23, further comprising: receiving information that indicates the UE is associated with a first core network that is different from a second core network associated with the base station; and rejecting the request when the first core network and the second core network are associated with different ones of the first variant and the second variant; Li in context with see [0025]… or example, when an eLTE base station is only connected to the 5G core, this requires that the eLTE system message design, to ensure that the traditional UE can decode the system message, but also to inform the traditional UE cannot access the base station, and the new UE can access the base station..; further see [0033- 0036, 0043- 0045]; pls refer to [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed.
Regarding claim 28, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 23, further comprising: transmitting identification information to the UE, the identification information identifying a radio access network (RAN) that includes the base station, wherein the identification information is usable by the UE with compatibility information that correlates the identification information in association with either the first variant or the second variant; Li already discussed above in claim 1 see [0061].
Regarding claim 29, Li teaches a base station, comprising (see Fig. 5 and [0061]): a processing system that comprises one or more processors and one or more memories, wherein the processing system is configured to cause the base station to:
transmit indicia that indicates, from a set of variants of a first radio access technology (RAT), a variant of the first RAT according to which a first base station is configured to operate wherein the set of variants of the first RAT comprises a first variant of the first RAT and a second variant of the first RAT (see Fig. 5 and #502 about …receiving (502), by a user device during camping on a cell (i.e. network device , first base station is there), a message comprising a first field, wherein the first field is indicative of availability of another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network (i.e. first RAT) for communication via a base station of the cell… a second field in the message…. (i.e. first and/or second field can be a first/second variant; see [0061]); and
establish a wireless connection with the UE when both the UE and the base station are configured to operate according to a same one of the first variant or the second variant (see [0061].. determining (504), based on a second field in the message, whether the user device is allowed to camp on the cell, wherein a value of the second field indicates that the user device is disallowed to access the another type of RAT core network when the implementation version is incompatible with the another type of RAT core network, and obtaining (506) additional information regarding other intra-frequency cells that support another type of radio access technology (RAT) core network available for the user device to reselect.).
But Li fails to state about wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology.
However Parisa teaches in [0202] acquiring (i.e. by UE) network node type information transmitted by a neighbor network node, wherein the network node type information indicates at least one of: i) that the neighbor network node is a Stand-Alone (SA) network node (i.e. fully 5G NR) and ii) that the neighbor network node is a Non-Stand-Alone (NSA) network node (i.e. partially incompatible); further see [0204] A2. The method of A1, wherein the network node type information comprises an SA/NSA indicator; further see [0233] B5. The method of B3, wherein the serving network node is an eNodeB, the method further comprising:[0234] based on a determination that the identified neighbor network node is an SA and NAS network node, determining whether the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes; and [0235] based on a determination that the wireless device is compatible with both SA and NSA network nodes, initiating at least one of: (i) an Inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) handover to the identified neighbor network node and (ii) a configuration of EUTRAN-New Radio Dual Connectivity (EN-DC) with the identified neighbor network node; further see [0237- 0238].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Parisa with the teachings of Li to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first RAT is a 5G New Radio (5G NR) access technology, wherein the first variant is compatible with a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standards specification for the 5G NR access technology, and wherein the second variant is based on a standards specification that is partially incompatible with the 3GPP standards specification for the 5G NR access technology; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 30, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 29, further comprising: at least one modem:at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one modem; at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver to wirelessly transmit signals output from the at least one transceiver and to wirelessly receive signals for input into the at least one transceiver; and a housing that encompasses at least the processor, the at least one modem, the at least one transceiver, and at least a portion of the at least one antenna; Li see Fig. 6- 7 and [0064- 0065].
Regarding claim 31, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 29, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the base station to reject a request from the UE to establish the wireless connection with the base station when the base station and the UE are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant and the second variant; Li already discussed above in [0061] regarding based on compatibility user device is allowed or not allowed and any base station can be a cell of an another type of RAT (i.e. first base station of first RAT).
Claim(s) 5, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Pakniat et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357095 A1), hereafter Parisa and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0148486 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, but Li fails to state about wherein receiving the indicia includes: receiving location data that indicates that the UE is located in a geographic area; and retrieving the indicia from compatibility information that correlates the geographic area in association with a standards specification for a particular one of the first variant or the second variant; however Kim states in Fig. 6 regarding receiving user terminal position information from GPS satellite and comparing that with AP (i.e. base station here). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving the indicia includes: receiving location data that indicates that the UE is located in a geographic area; and retrieving the indicia from compatibility information that correlates the geographic area in association with a standards specification for a particular one of the first variant or the second variant; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, but Li fails to state about wherein receive location data that indicates that the UE is located in a geographic area; and retrieve the indicia from compatibility information that correlates the geographic area in association with a standards specification for a particular one of the first variant or the second variant; however Kim states in Fig. 6 regarding receiving user terminal position information from GPS satellite and comparing that with AP (i.e. base station here). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receive location data that indicates that the UE is located in a geographic area; and retrieve the indicia from compatibility information that correlates the geographic area in association with a standards specification for a particular one of the first variant or the second variant; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 6- 7, 18, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Pakniat et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357095 A1), hereafter Parisa and further in view of Sharma et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0086953 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, but Li fails to state about wherein receiving the indicia includes: attempting to establish the wireless connection with the first base station; receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message from the first base station; and retrieving the indicia from the RRC message; however Sharma states in claim 20 regarding communications device (i.e. UE) configured to transmit or receive signals via a wireless access interface provided by a wireless communications network to or from one or more infrastructure equipment (i.e. base station) forming part of the wireless communications network, wherein the communications device is configured to: receive a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from one of the infrastructure equipment comprising an indication that the infrastructure equipment is capable of operating in accordance with a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) in accordance with a first radio access technology…... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sharma with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving the indicia includes: attempting to establish the wireless connection with the first base station; receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message from the first base station; and retrieving the indicia from the RRC message; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, Li states about wherein receiving the indicia includes at least one member of a group consisting of: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message that carries one or more configuration elements for a feature that is specific to a particular one of the first variant or the second variant;
receiving an RRC connection rejection message that carries a reject code indicating that the first base station is configured to operate according to a different one of the first variant or the second variant than the UE;
receiving an RRC redirection message that carries a redirection code instructing the UE to establish the wireless connection to a second base station that is configured to operate according to the same one of the first variant or the second variant as the UE; and
receiving an RRC redirection message that carries a redirection code instructing the UE to establish the wireless connection to a second base station that is configured to operate according to a second RAT; however Sharma states in claim 20 regarding communications device (i.e. UE) configured to transmit or receive signals via a wireless access interface provided by a wireless communications network to or from one or more infrastructure equipment (i.e. base station) forming part of the wireless communications network, wherein the communications device is configured to: receive a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from one of the infrastructure equipment comprising an indication that the infrastructure equipment is capable of operating in accordance with a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) in accordance with a first radio access technology…... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sharma with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving the indicia includes at least one member of a group consisting of: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message that carries one or more configuration elements for a feature that is specific to a particular one of the first variant or the second variant; receiving an RRC connection rejection message that carries a reject code indicating that the first base station is configured to operate according to a different one of the first variant or the second variant than the UE; receiving an RRC redirection message that carries a redirection code instructing the UE to establish the wireless connection to a second base station that is configured to operate according to the same one of the first variant or the second variant as the UE; and receiving an RRC redirection message that carries a redirection code instructing the UE to establish the wireless connection to a second base station that is configured to operate according to a second RAT; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, but Li fails to state about attempt to establish the wireless connection with the first base station, and receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from the first base station; and retrieve the indicia from the RRC message; however Sharma states in claim 20 regarding communications device (i.e. UE) configured to transmit or receive signals via a wireless access interface provided by a wireless communications network to or from one or more infrastructure equipment (i.e. base station) forming part of the wireless communications network, wherein the communications device is configured to: receive a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message from one of the infrastructure equipment comprising an indication that the infrastructure equipment is capable of operating in accordance with a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) in accordance with a first radio access technology…... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sharma with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism attempt to establish the wireless connection with the first base station, and receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from the first base station; and retrieve the indicia from the RRC message; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Pakniat et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357095 A1), hereafter Parisa and further in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0029756 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, but Li fails to state about wherein receiving the indicia includes: receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) message from a core network via the first base station or a second base station; and retrieving the indicia from the NAS message; however Lu states in [0309] regarding …Based on the manner 1, S410 may include that the terminal determines, based on the NAS message, the service accept message, and the recorded information indicating that the access technology type of the first PDU session is changed, to send the third message to the AMF network element.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lu with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving the indicia includes: receiving a non-access stratum (NAS) message from a core network via the first base station or a second base station; and retrieving the indicia from the NAS message; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 20, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 13, but Li fails to state about receive a non-access stratum (NAS) message from a core network via the first base station or a second base station; and retrieve the indicia from the NAS message; however Lu states in [0309] regarding …Based on the manner 1, S410 may include that the terminal determines, based on the NAS message, the service accept message, and the recorded information indicating that the access technology type of the first PDU session is changed, to send the third message to the AMF network element.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lu with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism to receive a non-access stratum (NAS) message from a core network via the first base station or a second base station; and retrieve the indicia from the NAS message; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Pakniat et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357095 A1), hereafter Parisa and further in view of Jiang et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0252863 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 1, but Li fails to state about retrieving the indicia from compatibility information stored in a memory of the UE, wherein the compatibility information compatibility information correlates a mobile country code (MCC) of the first base station in association with a geographic region, the compatibility information including one or more MCCs for respective geographic regions that support either the first variant or the second variant of the first RAT; however Jiang in context with [0078, 0107] states in [0110- 0111] regarding … in this embodiment of the present invention, the storage unit 305 (i.e. of apparatus 300 i.e. here UE) stores program data, and the processor unit 302 executes the program data to obtain an MCC of a roaming area. The communications unit 304 is further configured to obtain a preferential roaming list (i.e. variant) from a network server, where the preferential roaming list is used to indicate information about at least one network that a user preferentially attempts to register with when the user is roaming. Optionally, the storage unit 305 may store the preferential roaming list. The processor unit 302 executes the program data stored in the storage unit 305, so as to select a network that matches the MCC from the preferential roaming list obtained by the communications unit 304.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Jiang with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism retrieving the indicia from compatibility information stored in a memory of the UE, wherein the compatibility information compatibility information correlates a mobile country code (MCC) of the first base station in association with a geographic region, the compatibility information including one or more MCCs for respective geographic regions that support either the first variant or the second variant of the first RAT; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 21, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 20, but Li fails to state about to retrieve the indicia from compatibility information stored in a memory of the UE, wherein the compatibility information compatibility information correlates a mobile country code (MCC) of the first base station in association with a geographic region, the compatibility information including one or more MCCs for respective geographic regions that support either the first variant or the second variant of the first RAT; however Jiang in context with [0078, 0107] states in [0110- 0111] regarding … in this embodiment of the present invention, the storage unit 305 (i.e. of apparatus 300 i.e. here UE) stores program data, and the processor unit 302 executes the program data to obtain an MCC of a roaming area. The communications unit 304 is further configured to obtain a preferential roaming list (i.e. variant) from a network server, where the preferential roaming list is used to indicate information about at least one network that a user preferentially attempts to register with when the user is roaming. Optionally, the storage unit 305 may store the preferential roaming list. The processor unit 302 executes the program data stored in the storage unit 305, so as to select a network that matches the MCC from the preferential roaming list obtained by the communications unit 304.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Jiang with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more effective. Having a mechanism to retrieve the indicia from compatibility information stored in a memory of the UE, wherein the compatibility information compatibility information correlates a mobile country code (MCC) of the first base station in association with a geographic region, the compatibility information including one or more MCCs for respective geographic regions that support either the first variant or the second variant of the first RAT; greater way resources can be utilized./managed in the communication system.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0112908 A1) in view of Pakniat et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357095 A1), hereafter Parisa and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0245258 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Li in view of Parisa teaches as per claim 24, but Li fails to state about receiving information regarding a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) of the UE, wherein the base station is acting as a Visiting Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) that is different from the HPLMN; and rejecting the request when the HPLMN and the VPLMN are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant and the second variant.; however Kim teaches in [0199] regarding if a UE, which has subscribed to HPLMN having only roaming agreement for 2G/3G network with VPLMN, but no roaming agreement for LTE with the VPLMN, transmits a mobility management request message such as an Attach/TAU/RAU/Service request message to a network node in any TA of the VPLMN, the one embodiment of the present disclosure allows the network node to transmit a mobility management reject message such as Attach/TAU/Service Reject message including a rejecting cause value #15, a first timer (e.g., T1 timer) and a second timer (e.g., T2 time; further see [0200- 0201]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Li in view of Parisa to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein receiving information regarding a Home Public Land Mobile Network (HPLMN) of the UE, wherein the base station is acting as a Visiting Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN) that is different from the HPLMN; and rejecting the request when the HPLMN and the VPLMN are configured to operate according to different ones of the first variant and the second variant.; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Bolle et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0400381 A1) teaches in [0004] regarding wireless communication systems 101 pursuant to the 3GPP Fifth Generation (5G) System (5GS), also referred to as New Radio (NR) or 5G, the access nodes 300 correspond typically to a 5G NodeB (gNB) and the core network node 200 corresponds typically to either an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and/or a User Plane Function (UPF). The gNB is part of the access network 320, which in this case is the Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN), while the AMF and UPF are both part of the 5G Core Network (5GC); further see [0022].
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479