DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5-26-2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the prior art does not disclose allocating resources relative to an area of interest, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The disclosure of Aksu, para. 13, speaks to requesting radar data in a particular area and the allocation of resources discussed throughout the art are to comply with the request for data in a given area.
With respect to applicant’s argument that the prior art does not disclose configuring a first bandwidth for radar and a second bandwidth for data, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Aksu, para. 46, teaches a case where the data and communications use a particular band and then has the radar transmission be on a broadcast channel, separate from the data channel.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0249339, published August 6, 2020 in view of Aksu, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0053463, filed August 14, 2020.
As per claims 1 and 12, Li discloses a base station for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Li, Fig. 10) and configured to cause the base station to:
configure time-frequency resources for radar-sensing in a Radio Access Network ("RAN"), the time-frequency resources comprising a radar-sensing slot (Li, ¶50);
receive radar-sensing information (Li, ¶53);
and determine an obstacle in a cell based on the radar-sensing information (¶54).
Li fails to expressly disclose determining an area of interest, configuring time slots for radar and data on separate bandwidth parts and receiving backscatter.
Aksu teaches determining an area of interest (¶13), configuring communication slots for radar sensing and receive the reflected signal (¶10) as well as separate bandwidths for data and radar (¶46).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an area of interest and receive radar returns in order to gain the benefit of detecting information about the obstacle and its location to avoid signal blockages.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the bandwidth parts limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 2, Li as modified by Aksu discloses the base station of claim 1, further comprising a full-duplex transceiver, wherein the backscatter signal comprises a backscattered signal of a dedicated downlink ("DL") reference signal ("RS") for radar sensing, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to: transmit the dedicated DL RS on the configured time- frequency resources, wherein a periodicity of the dedicated DL RS is based on one or more of: a frequency range containing the DL RS, a beam width of the DL RS, long-term beam failure statistics, or a combination thereof (Li, Fig. 10, ¶9 and 50-53 where OFDM is used).
As per claim 3, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses he base station of claim 1, further comprising a full-duplex transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to:
As per claim 5, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 1, further comprising wherein to configure the time-frequency resources, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to indicate an area of interest and to configure a plurality of half-duplex Transmit-Receive Points ("TRPs") with resources for transmission, measurement and reporting of orthogonal radar-sensing reference signal ("RS") in radar-sensing specific resources (Li, ¶50 resource blocks).
As per claim 6, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 5, wherein to configure the plurality of TRPs, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to configure each TRP to: transmit radar-sensing RS in one or more downlink ("DL") slots; measure the RS signals from at least one other TRP on configured one or more uplink ("UL") slots; and report measurements of the radar-sensing RS from the at least one other TRP (Li, ¶54).
As per claim 7, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to receive a measurement report from a TRP, wherein the measurement report combines multiple measurements from multiple TRPs (Li, ¶50 where it is understood that the signal is transmitted more than once).
As per claim 8, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to select a set of full-duplex User Equipments ("UEs") based on a location relative to an area of interest (Li, ¶67 and 72 and Fig. 11 showing the coverage area as the area of interest).
As per claim 9, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses The base station of claim 1, wherein to configure the time- frequency resources, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to configure a set of User Equipments ("UEs") with resources for measurement and reporting of at least one radar-sensing reference signal (Li, ¶69).
As per claim 10, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses The base station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to select a group of User Equipments ("UEs") to transmit orthogonal radar-sensing reference signals ("RSs") in radar-sensing specific resources (Li, ¶50 and 69).
As per claim 11, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses The base station of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to select a group of User Equipments ("UEs") to transmit radar- sensing reference signals ("RSs") in orthogonal Sidelink ("SL") resources (Li, ¶50 and 69).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use sidelink, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Li in providing for obstacle detection.
Claims 13-15 and 21 are disclosed by Lee as modified by Aksu as they are the UE side of the communications system presented (Fig. 11 and ¶72).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use UEs instead of the base station for transmission or measurement as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Li in providing for obstacle detection. It is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine what data should be communicated or processed within each unit of a system.
As per claim 16, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 5, wherein to receive the radar-sensing information, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to receive, from the plurality of half-duplex TRPs, reporting containing measurements of the radar-sensing RS performed by each TRP (Li, ¶50).
As per claim 17, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 8, wherein to configure the time-frequency resources, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to configure the set of full-duplex UEs with resources for a transmission, a measurement and a reporting of at least one radar-sensing reference signal ("RS") (Li, ¶50).
As per claim 18, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 9, wherein to receive the radar-sensing information, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to receive a report from the set of UE, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to configure a UE with area-of-interest information (Li, ¶50 and Fig. 11 where the operating region is the area of interest).
As per claim 19, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 10, wherein to configure the time-frequency resources, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to configure the group of UEs with the radar-sensing RSs to be transmitted on radar-sensing specific uplink ("UL") slots (Li, ¶50).
As per claim 20, Li as modified by Aksu further discloses the base station of claim 11, wherein to configure the time-frequency resources, the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to configure the group of UEs with radar-sensing RS to be transmitted on radar-sensing specific SL slots, wherein each UE of the group of UEs is configured with a SL transmit resource to transmit a radar-sensing RS and configured with one or more SL receive resources to measure radar sensing RS from at least one other UE (Li, ¶50 and 72).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646