DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 9 – 14, and 16 – 17 are amended.
Claims 18 – 39 and 40 – 45 are cancelled.
Claims 1 – 17 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/02/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 17 have been considered but are persuasive.
Applicant amended the independent claim 1. The amendment submitted on 06/02/2026 are same as submission of 01/26/2026; therefore, same ground of rejection has been kept in view of prior arts CHO (KR 20160064756 A) and Griffin et al. (US 2020/0004347 A1).
Applicant argued on page 1: last three paragraphs of the remark, that claims 40 – 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2019/0339652 Al).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark. The claims 40 – 42 are currently cancelled. Therefore, applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 2: middle paragraph of the remark, " In the Office Action, Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over the combination of Chen, Subramanian, Alameh, Khoshkava, Kim, and Wu”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees applicant’s argument. The combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the limitations of the currently amended claim 1; the dependent claims 2 – 12 are rejected as being obvious over the combination of CHO, Griffin, Chen, Khoshkava, Kim, Wu and Alameh; Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not accurate.
Applicant argued on pages 3 of the remark: regarding gap in prior art (previous citation), rejected dependent claims and objected dependent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Since, the combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the limitations of the currently amended independent claim 1, therefore, the dependent claims are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims.
Applicant argued on pages 4 of the remark: regarding specification support of the amendments. According to the applicant “an "enhanced ring" (first separate wearable device with short-range radio) and a "paired device" (second separate wearable device with short-range and long-range radios), with both devices maintained on the body” .
Examiner respectfully agrees with applicant’s comment. The prior art CHO teaches two wearable devices. Regarding fig.3 and ¶ [0081], a ring type wearable device 300 is a smart ring and regarding Fig.2 and ¶ [0071], smart watch 200 is worn on a wrist. Therefore, both the wearable devices are maintained on the body. Accordingly, CHO teaches the limitation in question.
Finally examiner would like to mention that applicant’s argument does not mention any comments about the prior art CHO. It only argued about previous citation using Chen.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the arguments filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below. Finally examiner would like to cite a new prior art Dwarakanath et al. (US 2016/0381727 A1) that also discloses two wearable devices that are maintained on user’s body and are physically separated from one another (Fig.1 and ¶ [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO in view of Griffin et al. (Griffin hereinafter referred to Griffin) (US 2020/0004347 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, CHO teaches (Title, WEARABLE DEVICE) a method of switch-enabled communication (Fig.3 and [0086], When user input unit 330 is configured as a mechanical input unit, at least three control commands are input through an up/ down movement of the switch 335 using a finger and a push operation of the switch 335. Here, the control commands are based on the switch movement; therefore, it is a switch enabled communication) by a virtual communication device including a wearable enhanced ring (Fig.3 and [0081], a ring type wearable device 300 is a smart ring; the smart ring 300 includes features similar to the features of a mobile terminal. Here, the smart ring works as a virtual communication device, since it has similar features of a mobile terminal), with a physical switch interface (Fig.3 and [0086], switch 335), and a paired device, that is a second wearable device (Fig.2 and [0071], smart watch 200 is configured to be worn on a wrist. Here, the smart watch 200 is a second wearable device) physically separate from the wearable enhanced ring (Regarding Fig.2 and Fig.3 the wearable devices are physically separated), wirelessly paired to the wearable enhanced ring ([0090], the smart watch 200 connects short distance wireless communication with the smart ring 300. Here, the short distance wireless communication means they are wirelessly paired with each other), wherein the wearable enhanced ring and the paired second wearable device are, at least initially, maintained on a body of a user ([0071], smart watch 200 is worn on a wrist; [0090], the smart ring 300 is mounted on user's finger), the method comprising:
detecting a physical switch input from the user at the physical switch interface, wherein the physical switch input is indicative of activation of the switch-enabled communication ([0093], when the user input unit 330 of the smart ring 300 is composed of a mechanical input means, the first or second control signal is input through the up/ down movement of the switch 335 using the thumb. Here, the movement of the switch 335 using the thumb is a physical switch input from the user at the physical switch interface);
exchanging, via a short-range radio access technology (RAT), an activation signal between the wearable enhanced ring and the paired second wearable device of the virtual communication device ([0093], When the first or second control signal is input, the smart ring 300 transmits the control signal to the smart watch 200 through the connected short-range wireless communication. Here the control signal is an activation signal between the two wearable devices), wherein the activation signal indicates activation of the switch-enabled communication (As mentioned above, the control/ activation signal is based on the movement of the switch 335; therefore, the activation signal indicates activation of the switch-enabled communication); and
transmitting, via a long-range RAT, a predetermined transmission from the paired second wearable device to one or more designated recipients ([0073], The smart watch 200 is configured to enable wireless communication, and an antenna for the wireless communication; [0074], the smart watch 200 is configured to exchange (or interwork) data with other wearable devices as well as other mobile terminals. Here, the other wearable devices or the other mobile terminals are one or more designated recipients, that receives the wireless transmission from the smart watch 200).
CHO does not specifically teach
transmitting, in response to the activation signal.
However, Griffin teaches a method (Title, WEARABLE ELECTRONIC DEVICES HAVING USER INTERFACE MIRRORING BASED ON DEVICE POSITION) by a wearable enhanced ring (Fig.3 and [0058], second wearable electronic device is an electronic ring 120), and a paired device, that is a second wearable device (Fig.3 and [0058], first wearable electronic device is a head mounted electronic display unit 110. Here, the electronic display unit is a second wearable device) physically separate from the wearable enhanced ring (Regarding Fig.3 the wearable devices are physically separated), wirelessly paired to the wearable enhanced ring (Fig.2 and [0056], a communication network 32, which is a wired connection, a Wi-Fi network, WiMAX, Zigbee, Z-Wave, Bluetooth™, Bluetooth™ Low Energy, near-field communication, or any other type of connection capable of providing uni-directional or bi-directional communication between the second wearable electronic device 34 and the first wearable electronic device 30), wherein the wearable enhanced ring and the paired second wearable device are, at least initially, maintained on a body of a user ([0058], The head mounted electronic display unit 110 is a pair of glasses; [0060], The electronic ring 120 is worn around a finger of a user), the method comprising:
exchanging, via a short-range radio access technology (RAT), an activation signal (Fig.5 and [0078], the second wearable electronic device transmits the device orientation signal; [0079], the first wearable electronic device receives the device orientation signal that indicates the orientation of the second wearable electronic device to the first wearable electronic device. Here, the device orientation signal is considered as an activation signal) between the wearable enhanced ring and the paired second wearable device (Fig.2 and [0056], First wearable electronic device 30 communicates with second wearable electronic device 34 via a communications channel, e.g. a Wi-Fi network, WiMAX, Zigbee, Z-Wave, Bluetooth™, Bluetooth™ Low Energy, near-field communication. Here, the communications channel provides a short-range RAT); and
transmitting, via a long-range RAT, a predetermined transmission from the paired second wearable device to one or more designated recipients (Fig.1 and [0050], The one or more communication interfaces 16 receive and send signals; convert electrical signals to/from electromagnetic signals and communicate with communications networks and other communications devices via the electromagnetic signals; The one or more communication interfaces 16 optionally communicate with networks, e.g. Internet, an intranet and/or a wireless network, such as a cellular telephone network, a wireless local area network (LAN) and/or a metropolitan area network (MAN), and other devices by wireless communication. Here, the other communication devices are designated recipients and the communication networks are long-range RAT. Since, the communication interfaces 16 receives, sends and/ or convert signals; therefore, it is obvious that the second wearable device transmits a predetermined transmission via a long-range RAT to one or more designated recipients) in response to the activation signal (Fig.5 and [0080], an orientable user interface generated and/or presented on a display of the first wearable electronic device is dynamically oriented in response to the first wearable electronic device receiving the orientation signal. Here, displaying of orientation information is in response to the orientation signal/ activation signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CHO as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Griffin. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, devices, and methods relate to wearable electronic devices having user interface mirroring based on device position (Griffin, Title and [0001]).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 2, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
CHO further teaches
wherein the wearable enhanced ring includes a first short-range communication circuit configured for the exchanging the activation signal ([0093], When the first or second control signal is input, the smart ring 300 transmits the control signal to the smart watch 200 through the connected short-range wireless communication. As mentioned above, the control signal is an activation signal between the two wearable devices; therefore, it is obvious that the enhanced ring includes a first short-range communication circuit), and
wherein the paired second wearable device includes a second short-range communication circuit configured for the exchanging the activation signal (Fig.2 and [0074], the smart watch 200 is configured to exchange (or interwork) data with other wearable devices; The short range communication module (not shown) detects (or recognizes) a wearable device that can communicate around the smart watch 200. Here, the short range communication module is a second short-range communication circuit) and a first long-range communication circuit configured for the transmitting the predetermined transmission ([0073], The smart watch 200 is configured to enable wireless communication, and an antenna for the wireless communication. Since, the smart watch does wireless communications via antenna; therefore, it is obvious that it includes a first long-range communication circuit configured for the transmitting the predetermined transmission).
Griffin further teaches
wherein the wearable enhanced ring includes a first short-range communication circuit (Fig.2 and [0056], First wearable electronic device 30 communicates with second wearable electronic device 34 via a communications channel, e.g. a Wi-Fi network, WiMAX, Zigbee, Z-Wave, Bluetooth™, Bluetooth™ Low Energy, near-field communication. Here, the communications channel provides a short-range RAT; therefore, it is obvious that the wearable enhanced ring includes a first short-range communication circuit) configured for the exchanging the activation signal ([0078] and [0079], device orientation signal), and
wherein the paired second wearable device includes a second short-range communication circuit (same as above, since the first and the second wearable devices communicates with each other via the short-range communication; therefore, it is obvious that the wearable second device includes a second short-range communication circuit ) configured for the exchanging the activation signal ([0078] and [0079], device orientation signal) and a first long-range communication circuit configured (Fig.1 and [0050], The one or more communication interfaces 16 receive and send signals; communicates with networks, e.g. Internet, an intranet and/or a wireless network, such as a cellular telephone network, a wireless local area network (LAN) and/or a metropolitan area network (MAN), and other devices by wireless communication. Here, the communication networks are long-range RAT. Since, the second wearable devices communicates long range; therefore, it is obvious that the wearable second device includes a first long-range communication circuit) for the transmitting the predetermined transmission ([0050], signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO and Griffin as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of Griffin. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, devices, and methods relate to wearable electronic devices having user interface mirroring based on device position (Griffin, Title and [0001]).
(Original) Regarding claim 3, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
CHO further teaches
wherein the detecting the physical switch input includes one of:
detecting movement of the physical switch interface between one of two switch points (Fig.3 and [0086], an up/ down movement of the switch 335 using a finger. Here, the up/ down movement of the switch is movement between one of two switch points); or
detecting movement of the physical switch interface between one of a plurality of switch points; or
detecting a sequence of movement of the physical switch interface between one of: the two switch points or the plurality of switch points (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 4, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 3, respectively as outlined above.
CHO further teaches
wherein the activation signal includes one of (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
a single activation signal triggered in response to the detecting the movement of the physical switch interface between the one of two switch points, wherein the single activation signal flags activation of the switch-enabled communication to the paired second wearable device; or
a selected activation signal from a plurality of predetermined candidate activation signals (Fig.3 and [0086], When user input unit 330 is configured as a mechanical input unit, at least three control commands are input through an up/ down movement of the switch 335 using a finger and a push operation of the switch 335. [0093], When the first or second control signal is input, the smart ring 300 transmits the control signal to the smart watch 200 through the connected short-range wireless communication. Here, the control signal is a selected activation signal) selected in response to the detecting one of (Due to alternative language “one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only): the movement of the physical switch interface between the one of the plurality of switch points, or the sequence of movement of the physical switch interface between the one of: the two switch points (As mentioned in claim 41, the up/ down movement of the switch is movement between one of two switch points) or the plurality of switch points, wherein each candidate activation signal of the plurality of predetermined candidate activation signals is one of: a distinct predetermined action ([0086], at least three control commands are input through division of touch areas (e.g., Up, Down, Select, 331, 332, and 333), or distinct predetermined information.
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 9, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
wherein the predetermined transmission includes transmission data that includes one or more of:
identification (ID) information associated with the user;
location data;
video data;
audio data;
image data;
orientation information of one or more of the wearable enhanced ring and the second wearable paired device;
direction information of movement of one or more of the wearable enhanced ring and the second wearable paired device; or
ID information associated with one or more neighboring wireless user devices in proximity to the second wearable paired device.
However, Griffin teaches
wherein the predetermined transmission includes transmission data that includes one or more of (Due to alternative language “one or more of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
identification (ID) information associated with the user;
location data;
video data;
audio data;
image data;
orientation information of one or more of the wearable enhanced ring and the second wearable paired device (Fig.5 and [0080], an orientable user interface generated and/or presented on a display of the first wearable electronic device is dynamically oriented in response to the first wearable electronic device receiving the orientation signal. Here, the orientation signal is orientation information of the wearable enhanced ring);
direction information of movement of one or more of the wearable enhanced ring and the second wearable paired device; or
ID information associated with one or more neighboring wireless user devices in proximity to the second wearable paired device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO and Griffin as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of Griffin. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems, devices, and methods relate to wearable electronic devices having user interface mirroring based on device position (Griffin, Title and [0001]).
Claims 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO in view of Griffin and further in view of Chen et al. (Chen hereinafter referred to Chen) (US 2019/0339652 A1).
(Original) Regarding claim 5, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
wherein predetermined transmission includes a selected predetermined transmission from a plurality of candidate predetermined transmissions, wherein each of the plurality of candidate predetermined transmissions is associated with one of the plurality of predetermined candidate activation signals.
However, Chen teaches (Title, WEARABLE DEVICE, AND NOTIFICATION SYSTEM AND NOTIFICATION METHOD THEREOF)
wherein predetermined transmission ([0024], mode signal) includes a selected predetermined transmission from a plurality of candidate predetermined transmissions ([0027], switches 120_A, 120_B, and 120_C have different preset voltages), wherein each of the plurality of candidate predetermined transmissions is associated with one of the plurality of predetermined candidate activation signals (Fig.3A and [0030], a mode signal in response to 4V (that is, a signal for indicating the first mode); Fig.3B and [0031], a mode signal in response to 8V (that is, a signal for indicating the second mode); Fig.3C and [0032], a mode signal in response to 6V (that is, a signal for indicating the third mode)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO and Griffin as mentioned in claim 4 and further incorporate the teaching of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a wearable device with smart notification, and a notification system and a notification method (Chen, Title and [0002]).
(Original) Regarding claim 6, combination of CHO, Griffin and Chen teaches all the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
wherein each of the plurality of candidate predetermined transmissions includes one or more of:
request of a service for the user;
identification of an emergency situation;
identification of one of information or communication of the user; or
indicating presence of the user to the one or more designated recipients.
However, Chen teaches
wherein each of the plurality of candidate predetermined transmissions includes one or more of (Due to alternative language “one or more of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
request of a service for the user;
identification of an emergency situation;
identification of one of information or communication of the user (Fig.5 and [0037], a plurality of mode names, such as “SELECTED”, “ALL”, and “OFF”, are printed on a surface of the first rotating plate 510; The user rotates the rotatable ring 110 to drive the first rotating plate 510 to rotate, so as to display one of the mode names in the first opening 410 and trigger the switches 120 to generate the control signal (i.e. the total voltage level); [0044], if the current mode of the electronic apparatus 20 is “SELECTED”, the application determines whether to transmit the notification message, such as a call notification, an SMS notification, a schedule notification, or a mail notification); or
indicating presence of the user to the one or more designated recipients.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO, Griffin and Chen as mentioned in claim 5 and further incorporate the teaching of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a wearable device with smart notification, and a notification system and a notification method (Chen, Title and [0002]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO in view of Griffin and further in view of KHOSHKAVA et al. (KHOSHKAVA hereinafter referred to KHOSHKAVA) (US 2019/0325716 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 7, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
providing, by the wearable enhanced ring, a haptic response to the user in response to the exchanging of the activation signal.
However KHOSHKAVA teaches (Title, HAPTIC-ENABLED WEARABLE DEVICE)
providing, by the wearable enhanced ring, a haptic response to the user (Fig.4 and [0034], haptic-enabled wearable devices 400A, 400B are configured as a ring to provide haptic feedback to fingers or toes. Here, haptic feedback/ response is provided by the wearable devices 400A, 400B (i.e. enhanced ring) to fingers or toes of a user) in response to the exchanging of the activation signal (Fig.6 and [0036], measured acceleration versus time in response to a drive signal of the haptic-enabled wearable device. Here, the drive signal is considered as an activation signal; therefore, acceleration/ haptic response is generated because of the activation signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO and Griffin as mentioned in claim 4 and further incorporate the teaching of KHOSHKAVA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide electronic devices configured to produce haptic effects that substantially improve upon the related art (KHOSHKAVA, [0005]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO, Griffin and KHOSHKAVA in view of KIM et al. (KIM hereinafter referred to KIM) (US 2022/0123605 A1).
(Original) Regarding claim 8, combination of CHO, Griffin and KHOSHKAVA teaches all the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
wherein the haptic response includes one of a plurality of haptic response patterns associated with the each candidate activation signal of the plurality of predetermined candidate activation signals.
However KIM teaches (Title, WIRELESS CHARGING DEVICE FOR PROVIDING TOUCH PAD AND HAPTIC)
wherein the haptic response includes one of a plurality of haptic response patterns associated with the each candidate activation signal of the plurality of predetermined candidate activation signals (Fig.2 and [0136], processor 240 transmits various control signals (e.g., the vibration voltage, the vibration frequency, the vibration period and/or the vibration time) to the plurality of the piezoelectric elements 230 through the haptic sensor circuit 510, and the plurality of the piezoelectric elements 230 output haptic feedbacks having various haptic patterns. Here, a plurality of haptic response patterns are associated with the plurality of control signals/ candidate activation signals; therefore, it is obvious that one of a plurality of haptic response patterns is associated with the each candidate activation signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO, Griffin and KHOSHKAVA as mentioned in claim 7 and further incorporate the teaching of KIM. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an electronic device capable of providing haptic feedbacks having various haptic patterns in response to various control signals (KIM, [0108] and [0136]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO in view of Griffin and further in view of Wu et al. (Wu hereinafter referred to Wu) (US 2019/0104409 A1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 10, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
wherein the location data includes one or more of :
global navigational satellite system (GNSS) coordinates obtained from one of: a GNSS receiver at the paired second wearable device, the one or more neighboring wireless user devices, a neighboring cellular base station in communication with the paired second wearable device, or a neighboring wireless access point in communication with the paired second wearable device; and
location information associated with one of the neighboring cellular base station or the neighboring wireless access point.
However Wu teaches (Title, LOCATION/THINGS AWARE CLOUD SERVICES DELIVERY SOLUTION)
wherein the location data includes one or more of (Due to alternative language “one or more of” in the claim, examiner did not address all limitations):
global navigational satellite system (GNSS) coordinates obtained from one of: a GNSS receiver at the paired second wearable device ([0045], The location data includes, for example, a latitude and longitude pair (e.g., as obtained by the device from a GNSS receiver such as a GPS receiver)), the one or more neighboring wireless user devices, a neighboring cellular base station in communication with the paired second wearable device, or a neighboring wireless access point in communication with the paired second wearable device; and
location information associated with one of the neighboring cellular base station or the neighboring wireless access point ([0045], location of an access point or radio antenna for the provider network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO and Griffin as mentioned in claim 9 and further incorporate the teaching of Wu. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for policy-based authentication, where the policy designates locations and/or forms of proof of locations, for use in authentication (Wu, Abstract).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO in view of Griffin and further in view of Alameh et al. (Alameh hereinafter referred to Alameh) (US 10,506,650 B1).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 11, combination of CHO and Griffin teaches all the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
establishing a peer-to-peer (P2P) connection between the paired second wearable device and one or more external devices including one or more of: one or more neighboring mobile devices, one or more wireless access points, and one or more cellular base stations; and
retrieving, by the paired second wearable device, one or more portions of the transmission data from the one or more external devices.
However Alameh teaches (Title, Methods And Systems For Pairing Electronic Devices Based Upon Proximity)
establishing a peer-to-peer (P2P) connection between the paired second wearable device and one or more external devices (Fig.1 and Col.9: Line 53 – 56, data sharing process includes engaging, with a wireless communication circuit of electronic device 100, in a pairing procedure to establish a peer-to-peer wireless communication link with external electronic device 104. Here, the electronic device 100 is a paired second wearable device) including one or more of (Due to alternative language “one or more of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only): one or more neighboring mobile devices (Fig.1, Fig.3 and Col.10: line 1-4, Only one external electronic device, i.e., external electronic device 104, is shown in FIG. 3 for ease of illustration. However, were there more external electronic devices operating within the environment 105), one or more wireless access points, and one or more cellular base stations; and
retrieving, by the paired second wearable device, one or more portions of the transmission data from the one or more external devices (Fig.3 and Col.9: line 65 – Col.10: line 1, electronic device 100 receives, with its wireless communication circuit, one or more local area wireless communication signals 304 from the external electronic device 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO and Griffin as mentioned in claim 9 and further incorporate the teaching of Alameh. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an improved methods and systems for establishing communication with other electronic devices by providing simple, intuitive methods and systems for selecting an electronic device with which to perform a discovery, pairing, or communication operation (Alameh, Col.1: line 19-20 and Col.3: line 29-32).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 12, combination of CHO, Griffin and Alameh teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above.
CHO does not specifically teach
wherein the transmitting the predetermined transmission includes transmission via the paired second wearable device and one or more of the one or more external devices within the P2P connection with the paired second wearable device.
However Alameh teaches
wherein the transmitting the predetermined transmission includes transmission via the paired second wearable device and one or more of the one or more external devices within the P2P connection with the paired second wearable device (Fig.1 and Col.9: Line 53 – 56, data sharing process includes engaging, with a wireless communication circuit of electronic device 100, in a pairing procedure to establish a peer-to-peer wireless communication link with external electronic device 104. Here, the data sharing process is between the paired device and the one or more external devices; therefore, it is obvious that the predetermined transmission includes transmission via the paired device and one or more of the one or more external devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of CHO, Griffin and Alameh as mentioned in claim 11 and further incorporate the teaching of Alameh. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an improved methods and systems for establishing communication with other electronic devices by providing simple, intuitive methods and systems for selecting an electronic device with which to perform a discovery, pairing, or communication operation (Alameh, Col.1: line 19-20 and Col.3: line 29-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 – 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dwarakanath et al. (PUB. No. US 2016/0381727 A1) – “ELECTRONIC DATA TRANSFER BETWEEN TRUST CONTACTS” discloses data transfers between portable electronic devices. Mobile devices is wirelessly linked to an increasing number of wearable devices. Sensors included in both mobile and wearable devices possessed by a first party and a second party detects physical, biometric, or environmental inputs. A logic circuit in each of the portable electronic devices autonomously determines whether these inputs are indicative of a trusted contact between the first and the second parties in various social, business, and commercial settings based at least in part on local social, business, and interpersonal practices and norms. A first portable electronic device possessed by a first party and a second portable electronic device possessed by a second party autonomously exchange public or private information based on detecting a trusted contact between the first party and the second party.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474