DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 07/31/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/31/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-31, 33 and 35-37 are pending
Claims 5, 16, 26, 31 and 33 are amended
Claims 2, 17, 32 and 34 are canceled
Claims 35-37 are new
Claims 5, 31, 33 and 35-37 are allowable
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-30 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-9, 12-14, 16, 18-22, 25-28, 30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sabella, in view of Dattagupta et al. (US 20210075697 A1), hereinafter referenced as Dattagupta, and further in view of Sungduck CHUN (US 20220070815 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chun.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Sabella teaches a method for wireless communication by an access device (Para. [0135]-Sabella discloses the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology such as LTE, MuLTEfire, and/or NR/5G (e.g., as provided by Radio Access Network (RAN) node 1231 and/or RAN nodes 1232), WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies (e.g., as provided by access point (AP) 1233 and/or RAN nodes 1232), and/or the like), comprising:
connecting with a serving base station (BS) of a cellular network (Para. [0306-0307]-Sabella discloses the UE 2902 may additionally communicate with an AP 2906 via an over-the-air (OTA) connection. The AP 2906 manages a WLAN connection, which may serve to offload some/all network traffic from the RAN 2904. The connection between the UE 2902 and the AP 2906 may be consistent with any IEEE 802.11 protocol. Additionally, the UE 2902, RAN 2904, and AP 2906 may utilize cellular-WLAN aggregation/integration (e.g., LWA/LWIP). Cellular-WLAN aggregation may involve the UE 2902 being configured by the RAN 2904 to utilize both cellular radio resources and WLAN resources … The RAN 2904 includes one or more access network nodes (ANs) 2908. The ANs 2908 terminate air-interface(s) for the UE 2902 by providing access stratum protocols including RRC, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and PHY/L1 protocols. In this manner, the AN 2908 enables data/voice connectivity between CN 2920 and the UE 2902. The ANs 2908 may be a macrocell base station or a low power base station for providing femtocells, picocells or other like cells having smaller coverage areas. (See also Para. [0149]));
managing at least a first basic service set (BSS) of a wireless local area network (WLAN) (Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Fig. 24, Para. [0241]-Sabella discloses MEC system level, MEC host level, and network level entities ... includes various external network level entities, such as a 3GPP network, a local area network (e.g., a LAN, WLAN, PAN, DN, LADN, etc.), and external network(s));
receiving a request for a service of the cellular network from a station (STA) associated with the first BSS (Fig. 10, Para. [0124]-Sabella discloses at step 1005, the client 1010 provides a service request with the authentication token to the service 1020, and in response, the service 1020 provides a service response to the client 1010 at step 1006. Para. [0257]-Sabella discloses the WLAN Access Information may be adjusted based on parameters such as information per station … Information about the APs and client stations can be requested either by querying. (See also Para. [0473]). Para. [0503-0504]-Sabella discloses “basic service set” or “BSS” at least in some embodiments refers to a set of STAs that have successfully synchronized using the JOIN service primitives and one STA that has used the START primitive ... the same coordination function logic is active in every STA in a basic service set (BSS) whenever the network is in operation. Para. [0135]-Sabella discloses the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology such as LTE, MuLTEfire, and/or NR/5G (e.g., as provided by Radio Access Network (RAN) node 1231 and/or RAN nodes 1232), WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies (e.g., as provided by access point (AP) 1233 and/or RAN nodes 1232)),
the service is an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) service (Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G);
managing one or more settings for the first BSS, …, at least in part, on a quality of service (QoS) Indicator (QI) associated with the network slice (Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Para. [0529]-Sabella discloses network addresses include ... Network Slice Instance (NSI) ID, Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI), Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID, QoS Flow ID (QFI) and/or 5G QoS Identifier (5QI). Para. [0528]-Sabella discloses Traffic shaping ensures sufficient network bandwidth for time-sensitive, critical applications using policy rules, data classification, queuing, QoS, and other techniques. Para. [0170]-Sabella discloses to achieve results with low latency, the services executed within the edge cloud 1310 balance varying requirements in terms of: (a) Priority (throughput or latency) and Quality of Service (QoS) (e.g., traffic for an autonomous car may have higher priority than a temperature sensor in terms of response time requirement. See also Para. [0331])),
managing the one or more settings comprises managing the first BSS to satisfy a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) associated with the URLLC service (Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement). Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G).
Sabella fails to teach establishing a traffic flow between the STA to a network slice of the cellular network, the traffic flow enabling the STA to access the service via the first BSS and the network slice.
However, Dattagupta teaches establishing a traffic flow between the STA to a network slice of the cellular network (Para. [0121]-Dattagupta discloses analyzing network traffic on the network slice; determining which of the first network segment and third network segment to utilize for the third device based on the network policy and said analyzing; and adding the third device to said determined network segment. Para. [0008-0009]-Dattagupta discloses beacon request/report pair enables a station (STA) to request from another STA a list of access points (APs) whose beacons it can receive on a specified channel or channels ... The frame request/report pair returns a picture of all the channel traffic and a count of all the frames received at the measuring STA. Para. [0062-0063]-Dattagupta discloses Network devices may move between fixed and mobile networks based on user action or movement as well as under control of the SBN controller. The SBN controller may facilitate seamless handover of the device between network segments providing both continuous connectivity and maintain the SLA by extending the network slice across the fixed and mobile networks seamlessly to guarantee services across the networks ... observed behavior may include physical movement between fixed networks, movement between fixed WLANs and mobile wireless connections (e.g. cellular networks)),
the traffic flow enabling the STA to access the service via the first BSS and the network slice (Para. [0121]-Dattagupta discloses analyzing network traffic on the network slice; determining which of the first network segment and third network segment to utilize for the third device based on the network policy and said analyzing; and adding the third device to said determined network segment. Para. [0008-0009]-Dattagupta discloses beacon request/report pair enables a station (STA) to request from another STA a list of access points (APs) whose beacons it can receive on a specified channel or channels ... The frame request/report pair returns a picture of all the channel traffic and a count of all the frames received at the measuring STA. Para. [0039]-Dattagupta discloses two devices sharing a network segment can see traffic from other devices on the network segment and may be able to communicate with each other directly. A BSS is an example of a network segment); and
managing one or more settings for the first BSS, or both the first BSS and the traffic flow based, at least in part, on a quality of service (QoS) Indicator (QI) associated with the network slice (Para. [0012-0015]-Dattagupta discloses the STA statistics request/report pair returns groups of values for STA counters and for basic service set (BSS) Average Access Delay ... The link measurement request/report exchange provides measurements of the RF characteristics of a STA-to-STA link. This measurement indicates the instantaneous quality of a link. [0016] The Transmit Stream/Category measurement is a request/report pair that enables a quality of service (QoS) STA to inquire of a peer QoS STA the condition of an ongoing traffic stream between them. Para. [0042]-Dattagupta discloses network slicing of a SDN to provide different slices with different service-level agreements (SLAs) using various systems and methods. A SLA can define various parameters (i.e. network policies) that define various aspects of the network for tenants of the slice, such as a minimum bandwidth, a quality of service (QoS), a maximum latency, or other parameters relative to computer network communication).
Sabella and Dattagupta are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with balancing of an interlinked set of computer networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella to incorporate the teachings of Dattagupta on service traffic flow via BSS, with a motivation to establish a traffic flow between the STA to a network slice, and guarantee dynamically supporting multiple entities (e.g., multiple tenants, users, stakeholders, service instances, applications, etc.), (Sabella, Para. [0011]).
Sabella fails to explicitly teach the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service.
However, Chun teaches the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service (Table 15, Para. [0426]-Chun discloses upon receiving the SystemlnformationBlockTypel or SystemlnformationBlockTypel-BR either via broadcast or via dedicated signalling, the UE shall: ... if the frequency band indicated in the freqBandlndicator is part of the frequency bands supported by the UE ... forward the cellldentity to upper layers. Para. [0094]-Chun discloses requirement areas of 5G include ... an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) area. Para. [0259]-Chun discloses dedicated bearer may be allocated a bearer with GBR {Guaranteed Bit Rate}. Para. [0242]-Chun discloses various architectures by combining 5G and 4G. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments ... implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments of the present disclosure ... can be implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements described).
Chun is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with a method for performing, by a user equipment (UE) and a base station, registration to a network in a wireless communication system, and a device therefor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella in view of Dattagupta to incorporate the teachings of Chun on network configuration, with a motivation to indicate frequency band, and guarantee dynamically supporting multiple entities (e.g., multiple tenants, users, stakeholders, service instances, applications, etc.), (Sabella, Para. [0011]).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, Sabella teaches method for wireless communication by a station (STA) (Para. [0135]-Sabella discloses the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology such as LTE, MuLTEfire, and/or NR/5G (e.g., as provided by Radio Access Network (RAN) node 1231 and/or RAN nodes 1232), WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies (e.g., as provided by access point (AP) 1233 and/or RAN nodes 1232), and/or the like), comprising:
communicating with a first basic service set (BSS) of a wireless local area network (WLAN) managed by an access device (Para. [0306-0307]-Sabella discloses the UE 2902 may additionally communicate with an AP 2906 via an over-the-air (OTA) connection. The AP 2906 manages a WLAN connection, which may serve to offload some/all network traffic from the RAN 2904. The connection between the UE 2902 and the AP 2906 may be consistent with any IEEE 802.11 protocol. Additionally, the UE 2902, RAN 2904, and AP 2906 may utilize cellular-WLAN aggregation/integration (e.g., LWA/LWIP). Cellular-WLAN aggregation may involve the UE 2902 being configured by the RAN 2904 to utilize both cellular radio resources and WLAN resources … The RAN 2904 includes one or more access network nodes (ANs) 2908. The ANs 2908 terminate air-interface(s) for the UE 2902 by providing access stratum protocols including RRC, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and PHY/L1 protocols. In this manner, the AN 2908 enables data/voice connectivity between CN 2920 and the UE 2902. The ANs 2908 may be a macrocell base station or a low power base station for providing femtocells, picocells or other like cells having smaller coverage areas. (See also Para. [0149]). Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Fig. 24, Para. [0241]-Sabella discloses MEC system level, MEC host level, and network level entities ... includes various external network level entities, such as a 3GPP network, a local area network (e.g., a LAN, WLAN, PAN, DN, LADN, etc.), and external network(s));
transmitting a request to the access device to establish a traffic flow between the STA to a service of a cellular network (Fig. 10, Para. [0124]-Sabella discloses at step 1005, the client 1010 provides a service request with the authentication token to the service 1020, and in response, the service 1020 provides a service response to the client 1010 at step 1006. Para. [0257]-Sabella discloses the WLAN Access Information may be adjusted based on parameters such as information per station … Information about the APs and client stations can be requested either by querying. (See also Para. [0473]). Para. [0503-0504]-Sabella discloses “basic service set” or “BSS” at least in some embodiments refers to a set of STAs that have successfully synchronized using the JOIN service primitives and one STA that has used the START primitive ... the same coordination function logic is active in every STA in a basic service set (BSS) whenever the network is in operation. Para. [0135]-Sabella discloses the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology such as LTE, MuLTEfire, and/or NR/5G (e.g., as provided by Radio Access Network (RAN) node 1231 and/or RAN nodes 1232), WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies (e.g., as provided by access point (AP) 1233 and/or RAN nodes 1232), and/or the like),
the service is an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) service (Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G); and
communicating with the service via the first BSS is in accordance with the QoS for the service (Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Para. [0529]-Sabella discloses network addresses include ... Network Slice Instance (NSI) ID, Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI), Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID, QoS Flow ID (QFI) and/or 5G QoS Identifier (5QI). Para. [0528]-Sabella discloses Traffic shaping ensures sufficient network bandwidth for time-sensitive, critical applications using policy rules, data classification, queuing, QoS, and other techniques. Para. [0170]-Sabella discloses to achieve results with low latency, the services executed within the edge cloud 1310 balance varying requirements in terms of: (a) Priority (throughput or latency) and Quality of Service (QoS) (e.g., traffic for an autonomous car may have higher priority than a temperature sensor in terms of response time requirement. See also Para. [0331])),
the first BSS satisfies a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) associated with the URLLC service (Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement). Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G).
Sabella fails to teach communicating with the service via the first BSS and a network slice of the cellular network, wherein the network slice is associated with a quality of service (QoS) for the service.
However, Dattagupta teaches communicating with the service via the first BSS and a network slice of the cellular network (Para. [0121]-Dattagupta discloses analyzing network traffic on the network slice; determining which of the first network segment and third network segment to utilize for the third device based on the network policy and said analyzing; and adding the third device to said determined network segment. Para. [0008-0009]-Dattagupta discloses beacon request/report pair enables a station (STA) to request from another STA a list of access points (APs) whose beacons it can receive on a specified channel or channels ... The frame request/report pair returns a picture of all the channel traffic and a count of all the frames received at the measuring STA. Para. [0062-0063]-Dattagupta discloses Network devices may move between fixed and mobile networks based on user action or movement as well as under control of the SBN controller. The SBN controller may facilitate seamless handover of the device between network segments providing both continuous connectivity and maintain the SLA by extending the network slice across the fixed and mobile networks seamlessly to guarantee services across the networks ... observed behavior may include physical movement between fixed networks, movement between fixed WLANs and mobile wireless connections (e.g. cellular networks). Para. [0039]-Dattagupta discloses two devices sharing a network segment can see traffic from other devices on the network segment and may be able to communicate with each other directly. A BSS is an example of a network segment),
the network slice is associated with a quality of service (QoS) for the service (Para. [0121]-Dattagupta discloses analyzing network traffic on the network slice; determining which of the first network segment and third network segment to utilize for the third device based on the network policy and said analyzing; and adding the third device to said determined network segment. Para. [0008-0009]-Dattagupta discloses beacon request/report pair enables a station (STA) to request from another STA a list of access points (APs) whose beacons it can receive on a specified channel or channels ... The frame request/report pair returns a picture of all the channel traffic and a count of all the frames received at the measuring STA. Para. [0039]-Dattagupta discloses two devices sharing a network segment can see traffic from other devices on the network segment and may be able to communicate with each other directly. A BSS is an example of a network segment),
communicating with the service via the first BSS is in accordance with the QoS for the service (Para. [0012-0015]-Dattagupta discloses the STA statistics request/report pair returns groups of values for STA counters and for basic service set (BSS) Average Access Delay ... The link measurement request/report exchange provides measurements of the RF characteristics of a STA-to-STA link. This measurement indicates the instantaneous quality of a link. [0016] The Transmit Stream/Category measurement is a request/report pair that enables a quality of service (QoS) STA to inquire of a peer QoS STA the condition of an ongoing traffic stream between them. Para. [0042]-Dattagupta discloses network slicing of a SDN to provide different slices with different service-level agreements (SLAs) using various systems and methods. A SLA can define various parameters (i.e. network policies) that define various aspects of the network for tenants of the slice, such as a minimum bandwidth, a quality of service (QoS), a maximum latency, or other parameters relative to computer network communication).
Sabella and Dattagupta are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication network, dealing with balancing of an interlinked set of computer networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella to incorporate the teachings of Dattagupta on service traffic flow via BSS, with a motivation to establish a traffic flow between the STA to a network slice, and allow multiple logical networks (i.e. slices) to run on a shared physical network, (Dattagupta, Para. [0028]).
Sabella fails to explicitly teach the STA uses a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, for the communicating in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service.
However, Chun teaches the STA uses a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, for the communicating in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service (Table 15, Para. [0426]-Chun discloses upon receiving the SystemlnformationBlockTypel or SystemlnformationBlockTypel-BR either via broadcast or via dedicated signalling, the UE shall: ... if the frequency band indicated in the freqBandlndicator is part of the frequency bands supported by the UE ... forward the cellldentity to upper layers. Para. [0094]-Chun discloses requirement areas of 5G include ... an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) area. Para. [0259]-Chun discloses dedicated bearer may be allocated a bearer with GBR {Guaranteed Bit Rate}. Para. [0242]-Chun discloses various architectures by combining 5G and 4G. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments ... implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments of the present disclosure ... can be implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements described).
Chun is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with a method for performing, by a user equipment (UE) and a base station, registration to a network in a wireless communication system, and a device therefor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella in view of Dattagupta to incorporate the teachings of Chun on network configuration, with a motivation to indicate frequency band, and guarantee dynamically supporting multiple entities (e.g., multiple tenants, users, stakeholders, service instances, applications, etc.), (Sabella, Para. [0011]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claim 1 and the access device of claim 16,
Sabella further teaches establishing the traffic flow includes: establishing a first packet data network (PDN) bearer to the network slice that is dedicated to the STA (Fig. 29, Para. [0322-0339]-Sabella discloses PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 2924; MME 2924 selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 2924 and the SGSN 2928 enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states ... The NSSF 2950 selects a set of network slice instances serving the UE 2902 ... The DN 2936 may be an operator external public, a private PDN, or an intra-operator packet data network. Para. [0473]-Sabella discloses "UE" may be considered synonymous to, and may be referred to as, client, mobile, mobile device, mobile terminal, user terminal, mobile unit, station, mobile station, mobile user, subscriber, user, remote station); and
mapping the first PDN bearer to a buffer of the access device to manage uplink and downlink traffic for the STA according to the QI (Fig. 29, Para. [0322-0331]-Sabella discloses PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 2924; MME 2924 selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 2924 and the SGSN 2928 enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states ... performs uplink traffic verification (e.g., SDF-to-QoS flow mapping), transport level packet marking in the uplink and downlink, and performs downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering. UPF 2948 may include an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network).
Regarding claims 4, 14, 19 and 28, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claims 1 and 12 and the access device of claims 16 and the STA of claim 26 respectively,
Sabella further teaches managing, by the access device, a second BSS of the WLAN (Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Fig. 24, Para. [0241]-Sabella discloses MEC system level, MEC host level, and network level entities ... includes various external network level entities, such as a 3GPP network, a local area network (e.g., a LAN, WLAN, PAN, DN, LADN, etc.), and external network(s)),
the request for the service is received from the STA via the second BSS (Fig. 10, Para. [0124]-Sabella discloses at step 1005, the client 1010 provides a service request with the authentication token to the service 1020, and in response, the service 1020 provides a service response to the client 1010 at step 1006. Para. [0257]-Sabella discloses the WLAN Access Information may be adjusted based on parameters such as information per station … Information about the APs and client stations can be requested either by querying. (See also Para. [0473]). Para. [0503-0504]-Sabella discloses “basic service set” or “BSS” at least in some embodiments refers to a set of STAs that have successfully synchronized using the JOIN service primitives and one STA that has used the START primitive ... the same coordination function logic is active in every STA in a basic service set (BSS) whenever the network is in operation).
Sabella fails to teach determining that the second BSS cannot support the QI and that the first BSS does support the QI; and causing the STA to associate with the first BSS before establishing the traffic flow in accordance with determining that the second BSS cannot support the QI and the first BSS does support the QI.
However, Dattagupta teaches determining that the second BSS cannot support the QI and that the first BSS does support the QI (Para. [0060-0061]-Dattagupta discloses the SBN controller may monitor both fronthaul capacity and QoE and backhaul capacity and QoE to find if the topology needs a change to continue to enforce the network policies for the network slice In addition, any change to the network polices due to explicit or implicit changes made by users or administrators may also cause backhaul re-balancing ... The SBN may be used to provide a particular set of services delivered at a particular minimum quality of experience (QoE) for a customer. Para. [0049]-Dattagupta discloses the Fronthaul balancing may be performed by the SBN controller. This may be accomplished through device steering; stations in a WLAN may be steered from one BSS to another to balance the capacity of the network); and
causing the STA to associate with the first BSS before establishing the traffic flow in accordance with determining that the second BSS cannot support the QI and the first BSS does support the QI (Para. [0049]-Dattagupta discloses the Fronthaul balancing may be performed by the SBN controller. This may be accomplished through device steering; stations in a WLAN may be steered from one BSS to another to balance the capacity of the network. Para. [0019]-Dattagupta discloses BSS transition management which enables an AP to request non-AP STAs to transition to a specific AP, or to indicate to a non-AP STA a set of preferred APs, due to network load balancing or BSS termination {Corresponding to second BSS not supporting QI}).
Dattagupta is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication network, dealing with balancing of an interlinked set of computer networks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella in view of Chun to incorporate the teachings of Dattagupta on BSS, with a motivation to determine the BSS that supports QoS, and allow multiple logical networks (i.e. slices) to run on a shared physical network, (Dattagupta, Para. [0028]).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claim 1 and the access device of claim 16 respectively,
Sabella further teaches the one or more settings includes a selected modulation and coding scheme (MCS) that is selected for uplink and downlink communication to the STA (Para. [0151]-Sabella discloses the RNC function(s) dynamically allocate resources (e.g., PRBs and modulation and coding schemes (MCS)) to each UE 1211, 1221 at each transmission time interval (TTI). A TTI is the duration of a transmission on a radio link 1203, 1205, and is related to the size of the data blocks passed to the radio link layer from higher network layers. Para. [0473]-Sabella discloses "UE" may be considered synonymous to, and may be referred to as, client, mobile, mobile device, mobile terminal, user terminal, mobile unit, station, mobile station, mobile user, subscriber, user, remote station), the method further comprising:
selecting the MCS based, at least in part, on the QI associated with the service (Para. [0148]-Sabella discloses the communication technique may include a suitable modulation scheme. Para. [0325]-Sabella discloses the PCRF 2934 is communicatively coupled to the app/content server 2938 to determine appropriate QoS and charging parameters for service flows. (See also Para. [0501]). Para. [0211]-Sabella discloses edge computing deployment by requesting the 3GPP management system to deploy the UPF 2948, and NFVO to connect the UPF 2948 and local data network with the QoS requirements for the connection between UPF 2948 and local data network).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claim 1 and the access device of claim 16 respectively,
Sabella further teaches prioritizing traffic for the traffic flow in a highest traffic queue of the access device when the QI is associated with the GBR or a delay critical GBR (Para. [0170]-Sabella discloses use cases 1405 may access resources under usage pressure from incoming streams, due to multiple services utilizing the edge cloud. To achieve results with low latency, the services executed within the edge cloud 1310 balance varying requirements in terms of: (a) Priority (throughput or latency) and Quality of Service (QoS) (e.g., traffic for an autonomous car may have higher priority. Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claim 1 and the access device of claim 16 respectively,
Sabella further teaches enabling orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) and beamforming when the QI is associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) or a delay critical GBR (Para. [0150]-Sabella discloses the UEs 1211, 1221 can be configured to communicate using OFDM communication signals with each other or with any of the NANs 1231, 1232 over a multicarrier communication channel in accordance with various communication techniques, such as, but not limited to, an OFDMA communication technique. Para. [0501-0502]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates ... “beamformer” ... a STA that transmits a physical layer PDU (PPDU) using a beamforming steering matrix ... a matrix determined using knowledge of the channel between a Tx and an intended Rx that maps from space-time streams to transmit antennas with the goal of improving the signal power, SNR, and/or some other signaling metrics at the intended Rx).
Regarding claims 13 and 27, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claim 12 and the STA of claim 26 respectively,
Sabella further teaches the QoS provided by the first BSS is based, at least in part, on a QoS Indicator (QI) associated with the network slice (Para. [0528]-Sabella discloses Traffic shaping ensures sufficient network bandwidth for time-sensitive, critical applications using policy rules, data classification, queuing, QoS, and other techniques. Para. [0170]-Sabella discloses to achieve results with low latency, the services executed within the edge cloud 1310 balance varying requirements in terms of: (a) Priority (throughput or latency) and Quality of Service (QoS) (e.g., traffic for an autonomous car may have higher priority than a temperature sensor in terms of response time requirement. See also Para. [0331]). Para. [0529]-Sabella discloses network addresses include ... Network Slice Instance (NSI) ID, Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI), Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID, QoS Flow ID (QFI) and/or 5G QoS Identifier (5QI). Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS)).
Regarding claims 25 and 30, Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the access device of claims 16 and the STA of claim 26 respectively,
Sabella further teaches at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one interface; at least one antenna coupled to the at least one transceiver to wirelessly transmit signals output from the at least one transceiver and to wirelessly receive signals for input into the at least one transceiver (Para. [0359]-Sabella discloses the communication circuitry 3112 may include one or more transceivers (TRx) 3121, each of which include various hardware devices/components such as baseband processor(s), switches, filters, amplifiers, antenna elements, and the like to facilitate communications over an air interface. Para. [0371]-Sabella discloses the transceiver 3266 may use any number of frequencies and protocols); and
a housing that encompasses the at least one interface, the at least one transceiver and at least a portion of the at least one antenna (Para. [0177]-Sabella discloses housings and/or surfaces thereof may include or connect to mounting hardware to enable attachment to structures such as buildings, telecommunication structures (e.g., poles, antenna structures, etc.). Para. [0159]-Sabella discloses communications systems (e.g., including network interface controllers, one or more transmitters/receivers connected to one or more antennas, etc.)).
Claims 10-11, 15, 23-24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sabella, in view of Dattagupta et al. (US 20210075697 A1), hereinafter referenced as Dattagupta, and further in view of Sungduck CHUN (US 20220070815 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chun, and further in view of Seok et al. (US 20210315025 A1), hereinafter referenced as Seok.
Regarding claims 10, 15, 23 and 29 Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun teaches the method of claims 1 and 12 and the access device of claims 16 and the STA of claim 26 respectively,
Sabella further teaches determining that the QI is associated with a delay critical GBR (Para. [0026]-Sabella discloses some equipment may be treated preferably (less delay) or may have access to more information/data than other equipment. Para. [0254]-Sabella discloses Edge applications to provide requirements, e.g., delay, throughput, loss, for influencing traffic management operations. Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates, throughput, transmission delay);
managing scheduling of the first BSS to prioritize access for uplink communication from the STA associated with the traffic flow (Para. [0170]-Sabella discloses use cases 1405 may access resources under usage pressure from incoming streams, due to multiple services utilizing the edge cloud. To achieve results with low latency, the services executed within the edge cloud 1310 balance varying requirements in terms of: (a) Priority (throughput or latency) and Quality of Service (QoS) (e.g., traffic for an autonomous car may have higher priority. Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0052]-Sabella discloses the capacity is defined per frequency and per access category with defined prioritization, the user can define the device priority. Para. [0025]-Sabella discloses a BSS is serviced by an access point, is an infrastructure BSS).
Sabella fails to teach configuring contention parameters for the access device to suppress single user (SU) communication in favor of a multi-user enhanced distributed controlled access (MU-EDCA) mode downlink or uplink communications between the access device and the STA.
However, Seok teaches configuring contention parameters for the access device to suppress single user (SU) communication in favor of a multi-user enhanced distributed controlled access (MU-EDCA) mode downlink or uplink communications between the access device and the STA (Fig. 9, Para. [0072]-Seok discloses when the contention window for an access category (CW[AC]) for each STA is the same, the multi-link device chooses an integer value randomly. Fig. 1, Para. [0051]-Seok discloses multi-link cooperative AP 105 includes a 5 GHz transceiver 110 and a 2.4 GHz transceiver 115. Other types of transceivers that operate on different bands, such as 6 GHz and above, can also be used by the multi-link cooperative AP 105. Para. [0054]-Seok discloses depending the Quality of Service (QoS) policy of the Basic Service Set (B SS), an AP may allocate the traffic to different links based on traffic type. Para. [0059]-Seok discloses the MLD includes a multilink management/scheduler 370 for scheduling frame transmissions during a TXOP. Para. [0005]-Seok discloses the MLD must determine on which link or links to transmit the queued data frame Using existing techniques (e.g., Asynchronous TXOP), each STA in the multi-link device performs an independent Enhanced Distributed Channel Access (EDCA) mechanism on each link with its own EDCA parameters (e.g., CWmin, CWmax, AIFS, CW, and Retry Counter)).
Seok is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with systems and methods for wirelessly transmitting data from a multi-link device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella in view of Dattagupta to incorporate the teachings of Seok on MU-EDCA, with a motivation to configure contention parameters for multi-users, and guarantee increased performance and reliability of wireless transmissions while preventing or reducing IDC interference caused by simultaneous transmission and reception by the MLD, (Seok, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Sabella in view of Dattagupta, Chun and Seok teaches the method of claim 10 and the access device of claim 23 respectively,
Sabella further teaches managing the scheduling for uplink communication includes at least one member selected from a group comprising: decreasing a buffer threshold for an amount of buffered traffic associated with triggering the uplink communication from the STA (Fig. 29, Para. [0322-0331]-Sabella discloses PDN and S-GW selection as specified by MME 2924; MME 2924 selection for handovers; etc. The S3 reference point between the MME 2924 and the SGSN 2928 enable user and bearer information exchange for inter-3GPP access network mobility in idle/active states ... performs uplink traffic verification (e.g., SDF-to-QoS flow mapping), transport level packet marking in the uplink and downlink, and performs downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering. UPF 2948 may include an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network);
allocating resources of an uplink multi-user (UL-MU) trigger frame to support the delay critical GBR (Para. [0011]-Sabella discloses resource allocation … for adapting various edge computing devices and entities to dynamically support multiple entities (e.g., multiple tenants, users, stakeholders, service instances, applications, etc.) in a distributed edge computing environment. Para. [0150]-Sabella discloses any of the RAN nodes 1231, 1232 can fulfill various logical functions for the RAN including, ... uplink and downlink dynamic resource allocation. Para. [0181]-Sabella discloses a multi-tenant environment, the respective edge nodes 1622, 1624 may operate as security feature enforcement points for local resources allocated to multiple tenants per node. Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement) ... performs downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering. UPF 2948 may include an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network. Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates);
transmitting a sufficient quantity of trigger frames to the STA over a duration of time to satisfy the delay critical GBR (Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement) ... performs downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering. UPF 2948 may include an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network. Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0151]-Sabella discloses the RAN function(s) operated by the RAN or individual NANs 1231-1232 organize downlink transmissions (e.g., from any of the RAN nodes 1231, 1232 to the UEs 1211, 1221) and uplink transmissions (e.g., from the UEs 1211, 1221 to RAN nodes 1231, 1232) into radio frames (or simply “frames”) with 10 millisecond (ms) durations, where each frame includes ten 1 ms subframes); and
transmitting a plurality of trigger frames using a periodicity to satisfy the delay critical GBR (Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement) ... performs downlink packet buffering and downlink data notification triggering. UPF 2948 may include an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network. Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0151]-Sabella discloses the RAN function(s) operated by the RAN or individual NANs 1231-1232 organize downlink transmissions (e.g., from any of the RAN nodes 1231, 1232 to the UEs 1211, 1221) and uplink transmissions (e.g., from the UEs 1211, 1221 to RAN nodes 1231, 1232) into radio frames (or simply “frames”) with 10 millisecond (ms) durations, where each frame includes ten 1 ms subframes).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1), hereinafter referenced as Sabella, in view of Dattagupta et al. (US 20210075697 A1), hereinafter referenced as Dattagupta, and further in view of Sungduck CHUN (US 20220070815 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chun, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20230103810 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Sabella in view of Dattagupta in view of Chun teaches the method of claim 1,
Sabella fails to teach determining whether the STA supports multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) communication using at least two spatial streams; establishing the traffic flow when the STA supports the MIMO communication using at least two spatial streams; and rejecting the request for the service when the STA does not support the MIMO communication using at least two spatial streams.
However, Kim teaches determining whether the STA supports multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) communication using at least two spatial streams (Fig. 9, Table 4, Para. [0138]-Kim discloses the second bit (e.g., B11-B14) may include information related to the number of spatial streams allocated to the plurality of user STAs which are allocated based on the MU-MIMO scheme … four spatial streams may be allocated);
establishing the traffic flow when the STA supports the MIMO communication using at least two spatial streams (Para. [0317]-Kim discloses the recommend link (element/field) may be optionally included in a link switching response and may then be transmitted. For example, an STA may establish connection to the link that is recommended by the AP, based on the corresponding element/field (i.e., recommend link)); and
rejecting the request for the service when the STA does not support the MIMO communication using at least two spatial streams (Para. [0445]-Kim discloses the STA may request for switching or reconnection to only one link in the Anchored Link List. If the STA requests for switching or reconnection to another link that is not included in the list, the AP MLD may transmit a reject message to the STA).
Kim is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with multi-link communication in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Sabella in view of Dattagupta and Chun to incorporate the teachings of Kim on MIMO, with a motivation to establish the traffic flow when the STA supports the MIMO communication, and guarantee high throughput and high data rate, a wide bandwidth (e.g., 160/320 MHz), 16 streams, and/or a multi-link (or multi-band) operation, (Kim, Para. [0005]).
Allowable Subject matter
Claims 5 and 35-37 is allowable.
Dependent claims 5 and 35-37 which depend on claims 1, 12, 16 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 recite the limitation, “…the first BSS utilizes a 6 Gigahertz (6 GHz) frequency band that supports contention and scheduling management capabilities to support the QI, and wherein the first frequency band that the STA is indicated to use in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service is the 6 GHz frequency band,” and is similarly recited in claims 35-37. However, no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on the claim as recited. The closest prior arts found are:
Seok et al. (US 20210315025 A1), which in Para. [0055]-Seok discloses data transmitted over a first wireless link, such as the 5 GHz wireless link provided by 5 GHz transceiver 110 or 160, can be retransmitted over a different wireless link. For example, if a data transmission over the 5 GHz wireless link is sent unsuccessfully (e.g., no acknowledgment received), the data can be retransmitted over the 2.4 GHz wireless link provided by 2.4 GHz transceiver 115/165.The data transmission (e.g., a PPDU) can be originally encoded for transmission on a first wireless link (e.g., a 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz wireless link). Para. [0003]-Seok discloses “dual band” devices that include at least two wireless transceivers capable of operating in different frequency bands, e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz. Fig. 1, Para. [0051]-Seok discloses multi-link cooperative AP 105 includes a 5 GHz transceiver 110 and a 2.4 GHz transceiver 115. Other types of transceivers that operate on different bands, such as 6 GHz and above, can also be used by the multi-link cooperative AP 105. Para. [0054]-Seok discloses depending the Quality of Service (QoS) policy of the Basic Service Set (B SS), an AP may allocate the traffic to different links based on traffic type. Para. [0059]-Seok discloses the MLD includes a multilink management/scheduler 370 for scheduling frame transmissions during a TXOP. Fig. 9, Para. [0072]-Seok discloses when the contention window for an access category (CW[AC]) for each STA is the same, the multi-link device chooses an integer value randomly. However, Seok fails to teach the first BSS utilizes a 6 Gigahertz (6 GHz) frequency band that supports contention and scheduling management capabilities to support the QI, and wherein the first frequency band that the STA is indicated to use in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service is the 6 GHz frequency band.
Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1), which in Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement). Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G. However, Sabella fails to teach the first BSS utilizes a 6 Gigahertz (6 GHz) frequency band that supports contention and scheduling management capabilities to support the QI, and wherein the first frequency band that the STA is indicated to use in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service is the 6 GHz frequency band.
Dattagupta et al. (US 20210075697 A1), which in Abstract-Dattagupta discloses self-balancing network may be created by establishing a single control point for a software-defined network (SDN). The SDN includes one or more network slices and utilizes a first network segment using non-routable IP addresses, a second network segment using routable IP addresses, and a third network segment. A first device and a second device are added to a network slice of the one or more network slices of the SDN. The first device is coupled to the first network segment. A network policy is obtained as a part of a service-level agreement for the network slice and at least one of the first network segment, the second network segment, or the third network segment, is configured, by the single control point, to enforce the network policy for communication between the first device and the second device. However, Dattagupta fails to teach the first BSS utilizes a 6 Gigahertz (6 GHz) frequency band that supports contention and scheduling management capabilities to support the QI, and wherein the first frequency band that the STA is indicated to use in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service is the 6 GHz frequency band.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 31 and 33 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
An updated search has been performed and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on the claims as recited, i.e. “…communicating with a first basic service set (BSS) of a wireless local area network (WLAN) managed by an access device; transmitting, via the first BSS, a request to the access device to establish a traffic flow between the STA to a service of a cellular network; receiving, from the access device, a redirection message that instructs the STA to transmit the request via a second BSS of the WLAN managed by the access device, wherein the redirection message is in accordance with: the first BSS not supporting a quality of service (QoS) associated with a network slice of the cellular network via which the service is to be communicated, and the second BSS supporting the QoS associated with the network slice of the cellular network via which the service is to be communicated, wherein: the second BSS utilizes a 6 Gigahertz (GHz) frequency band that supports contention and scheduling management capabilities to support the QoS, and the redirection message instructs the STA to transmit the request via the second BSS in accordance with the second BSS utilizing the 6 GHz frequency band; transmitting, via the second BSS, the request to the access device to establish the traffic flow between the STA to the service of the cellular network in accordance with the redirection message instructing the STA to transmit the request via the second BSS; and communicating with the service via the second BSS and the network slice of the cellular network, wherein the network slice is associated with the QoS for the service, and wherein communicating with the service via the second BSS is in accordance with the QoS for the service,” as recited in the incumbent claim 31 and similarly in claim 33. The closest prior arts found are as follows:
Seok et al. (US 20210315025 A1), which in Para. [0055]-Seok discloses data transmitted over a first wireless link, such as the 5 GHz wireless link provided by 5 GHz transceiver 110 or 160, can be retransmitted over a different wireless link. For example, if a data transmission over the 5 GHz wireless link is sent unsuccessfully (e.g., no acknowledgment received), the data can be retransmitted over the 2.4 GHz wireless link provided by 2.4 GHz transceiver 115/165.The data transmission (e.g., a PPDU) can be originally encoded for transmission on a first wireless link (e.g., a 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz wireless link). Para. [0003]-Seok discloses “dual band” devices that include at least two wireless transceivers capable of operating in different frequency bands, e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz. Fig. 1, Para. [0051]-Seok discloses multi-link cooperative AP 105 includes a 5 GHz transceiver 110 and a 2.4 GHz transceiver 115. Other types of transceivers that operate on different bands, such as 6 GHz and above, can also be used by the multi-link cooperative AP 105. Para. [0054]-Seok discloses depending the Quality of Service (QoS) policy of the Basic Service Set (B SS), an AP may allocate the traffic to different links based on traffic type. Para. [0059]-Seok discloses the MLD includes a multilink management/scheduler 370 for scheduling frame transmissions during a TXOP. Fig. 9, Para. [0072]-Seok discloses when the contention window for an access category (CW[AC]) for each STA is the same, the multi-link device chooses an integer value randomly. However, Seok et al. (US 20210315025 A1) fails to teach the limitations of the incumbent claims 31 and 33 as recited;
Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1), which in Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement). Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G. However, Sabella et al. (US 20220086218 A1) fails to teach the limitations of the incumbent claims 31 and 33 as recited;
Dattagupta et al. (US 20210075697 A1), which in Abstract-Dattagupta discloses self-balancing network may be created by establishing a single control point for a software-defined network (SDN). The SDN includes one or more network slices and utilizes a first network segment using non-routable IP addresses, a second network segment using routable IP addresses, and a third network segment. A first device and a second device are added to a network slice of the one or more network slices of the SDN. The first device is coupled to the first network segment. A network policy is obtained as a part of a service-level agreement for the network slice and at least one of the first network segment, the second network segment, or the third network segment, is configured, by the single control point, to enforce the network policy for communication between the first device and the second device. However, Dattagupta et al. (US 20210075697 A1) fails to teach the limitations of the incumbent claims 31 and 33 as recited.
None of these references, taken alone or in any reasonable combination, teach the incumbent claims 31 and 33 as recited, and thus the claims are allowed over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 07/31/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-16 and 18-30 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 16 and 18, Lines [19-23 and 21-26 respectively], Applicant argues that: “…The Office Action alleges that this SIB 1 frequency-band check is relevant to "an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service," as recited in independent claim 1. However, Chun's freqBandindicator disclosure does not teach or suggest this feature,” and “…The Office Action alleges that this same SIB 1 frequency-band check is relevant to "the STA uses a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, for the communicating in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service," as recited in independent claim 12. However, for the same reasons discussed above with respect to independent claim 1, Chun's freqBandindicator procedure does not teach or suggest this feature,” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
With regards to the limitation, “…the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service,” as recited in the incumbent claim 1 (and similarly stated in claim 12), the prior art on record (Sungduck CHUN (US 20220070815 A1)) discloses:
the referenced “indication” of frequency bands (Please see Table 15, Para. [0426] of Chun, which recites, “…the frequency band indicated in the freqBandlndicator is part of the frequency bands supported by the UE”);
the referenced “GBR” (Please see Para. [0259] of Chun, which recites, “…dedicated bearer may be allocated a bearer with GBR {Guaranteed Bit Rate}”);
the referenced “URLLC service” (Please see Para. [0094] of Chun, which recites, “…requirement areas of 5G include ... an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) area”);
Hence, Chun teaches the referenced incumbent claim 1 and 12’s limitation: the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service (Table 15, Para. [0426]-Chun discloses upon receiving the SystemlnformationBlockTypel or SystemlnformationBlockTypel-BR either via broadcast or via dedicated signalling, the UE shall: ... if the frequency band indicated in the freqBandlndicator is part of the frequency bands supported by the UE ... forward the cellldentity to upper layers. Para. [0094]-Chun discloses requirement areas of 5G include ... an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) area. Para. [0259]-Chun discloses dedicated bearer may be allocated a bearer with GBR {Guaranteed Bit Rate}. Para. [0242]-Chun discloses various architectures by combining 5G and 4G. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments ... implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments of the present disclosure ... can be implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements described).
In the remarks, on pages 17 and 18, Lines [1-5 and 26-29 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Chun's freqBandindicator, GBR, and URLLC disclosures each appear in unconnected portions of the reference, and the Office Action articulates no rationale for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would combine a SIB 1 cell-barring frequency check with a GBR bearer to arrive at a frequency-band indication conditioned on a GBR associated with a URLLC service,” and “…Chun's disclosures relating to a GBR (Chun ,i [0259]) and to URLLC (Chun ,i [0094]) appear in portions of the reference unconnected to the freqBandindicator procedure of Table 15, and the Office Action articulates no rationale for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would combine these disparate teachings” respectively. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
The secondary prior art on record (Sungduck CHUN (US 20220070815 A1)) in Para. [0107], recites, “…embodiments of the present disclosure ... can be implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements described.”
Hence, Chun teaches the referenced incumbent claim 1 and 12’s limitation: the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service (Table 15, Para. [0426]-Chun discloses upon receiving the SystemlnformationBlockTypel or SystemlnformationBlockTypel-BR either via broadcast or via dedicated signalling, the UE shall: ... if the frequency band indicated in the freqBandlndicator is part of the frequency bands supported by the UE ... forward the cellldentity to upper layers. Para. [0094]-Chun discloses requirement areas of 5G include ... an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) area. Para. [0259]-Chun discloses dedicated bearer may be allocated a bearer with GBR {Guaranteed Bit Rate}. Para. [0242]-Chun discloses various architectures by combining 5G and 4G. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments ... implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements).
In the remarks, on pages 15-16, Lines [16-32 and 1-5 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Sabella, Dattagupta, Chun, Seok, and Kim-alone or in any combination-do not teach or suggest: connecting with a serving base station (BS) of a cellular network; managing at least a first basic service set (BSS) of a wireless local area network (WLAN); receiving a request for a service of the cellular network from a station (STA) associated with the first BSS, wherein the service is an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) service; establishing a traffic flow between the STA to a network slice of the cellular network, the traffic flow enabling the STA to access the service via the first BSS and the network slice; and managing one or more settings for the first BSS or both the first BSS and the traffic flow based, at least in part, on a quality of service (QoS) Indicator (QI) associated with the network slice, wherein: managing the one or more settings comprises managing the first BSS to satisfy a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) associated with the URLLC service, and the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service, as recited in independent claim 1.”
However, Sabella teaches connecting with a serving base station (BS) of a cellular network (Para. [0306-0307]-Sabella discloses the UE 2902 may additionally communicate with an AP 2906 via an over-the-air (OTA) connection. The AP 2906 manages a WLAN connection, which may serve to offload some/all network traffic from the RAN 2904. The connection between the UE 2902 and the AP 2906 may be consistent with any IEEE 802.11 protocol. Additionally, the UE 2902, RAN 2904, and AP 2906 may utilize cellular-WLAN aggregation/integration (e.g., LWA/LWIP). Cellular-WLAN aggregation may involve the UE 2902 being configured by the RAN 2904 to utilize both cellular radio resources and WLAN resources … The RAN 2904 includes one or more access network nodes (ANs) 2908. The ANs 2908 terminate air-interface(s) for the UE 2902 by providing access stratum protocols including RRC, PDCP, RLC, MAC, and PHY/L1 protocols. In this manner, the AN 2908 enables data/voice connectivity between CN 2920 and the UE 2902. The ANs 2908 may be a macrocell base station or a low power base station for providing femtocells, picocells or other like cells having smaller coverage areas. (See also Para. [0149])); managing at least a first basic service set (BSS) of a wireless local area network (WLAN) (Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Fig. 24, Para. [0241]-Sabella discloses MEC system level, MEC host level, and network level entities ... includes various external network level entities, such as a 3GPP network, a local area network (e.g., a LAN, WLAN, PAN, DN, LADN, etc.), and external network(s)); receiving a request for a service of the cellular network from a station (STA) associated with the first BSS (Fig. 10, Para. [0124]-Sabella discloses at step 1005, the client 1010 provides a service request with the authentication token to the service 1020, and in response, the service 1020 provides a service response to the client 1010 at step 1006. Para. [0257]-Sabella discloses the WLAN Access Information may be adjusted based on parameters such as information per station … Information about the APs and client stations can be requested either by querying. (See also Para. [0473]). Para. [0503-0504]-Sabella discloses “basic service set” or “BSS” at least in some embodiments refers to a set of STAs that have successfully synchronized using the JOIN service primitives and one STA that has used the START primitive ... the same coordination function logic is active in every STA in a basic service set (BSS) whenever the network is in operation. Para. [0135]-Sabella discloses the communication networks and/or access technologies may include cellular technology such as LTE, MuLTEfire, and/or NR/5G (e.g., as provided by Radio Access Network (RAN) node 1231 and/or RAN nodes 1232), WiFi or wireless local area network (WLAN) technologies (e.g., as provided by access point (AP) 1233 and/or RAN nodes 1232)), wherein the service is an Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) service (Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G); … managing one or more settings for the first BSS, …, at least in part, on a quality of service (QoS) Indicator (QI) associated with the network slice (Para. [0504]-Sabella discloses system used to interconnect a set of basic service sets (BSSs) and integrated local area networks (LANs) to create an extended service set (ESS). Para. [0529]-Sabella discloses network addresses include ... Network Slice Instance (NSI) ID, Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI), Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) ID, QoS Flow ID (QFI) and/or 5G QoS Identifier (5QI). Para. [0528]-Sabella discloses Traffic shaping ensures sufficient network bandwidth for time-sensitive, critical applications using policy rules, data classification, queuing, QoS, and other techniques. Para. [0170]-Sabella discloses to achieve results with low latency, the services executed within the edge cloud 1310 balance varying requirements in terms of: (a) Priority (throughput or latency) and Quality of Service (QoS) (e.g., traffic for an autonomous car may have higher priority than a temperature sensor in terms of response time requirement. See also Para. [0331])), wherein: managing the one or more settings comprises managing the first BSS to satisfy a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) associated with the URLLC service (Para. [0331]-Sabella discloses the UPF 2948 also performs packet routing and forwarding, packet inspection, enforces user plane part of policy rules, lawfully intercept packets (UP collection), performs traffic usage reporting, perform QoS handling for a user plane (e.g., packet filtering, gating, UL/DL rate enforcement). Para. [0501]-Sabella discloses QoS is the ability to provide different priorities to different applications, users, or flows, or to guarantee a certain level of performance to a flow ... Several related aspects of the service may be considered when quantifying the QoS, including packet loss rates, bit rates. Para. [0005]-Sabella discloses with 5G being extensively deployed in several geographies, new features such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communications (URLLC) and massive Machine Type Communication (mMTC) call for complementary edge computing capabilities to realize the full market potential of 5G); while
Dattagupta teaches establishing a traffic flow between the STA to a network slice of the cellular network (Para. [0121]-Dattagupta discloses analyzing network traffic on the network slice; determining which of the first network segment and third network segment to utilize for the third device based on the network policy and said analyzing; and adding the third device to said determined network segment. Para. [0008-0009]-Dattagupta discloses beacon request/report pair enables a station (STA) to request from another STA a list of access points (APs) whose beacons it can receive on a specified channel or channels ... The frame request/report pair returns a picture of all the channel traffic and a count of all the frames received at the measuring STA. Para. [0062-0063]-Dattagupta discloses Network devices may move between fixed and mobile networks based on user action or movement as well as under control of the SBN controller. The SBN controller may facilitate seamless handover of the device between network segments providing both continuous connectivity and maintain the SLA by extending the network slice across the fixed and mobile networks seamlessly to guarantee services across the networks ... observed behavior may include physical movement between fixed networks, movement between fixed WLANs and mobile wireless connections (e.g. cellular networks)), the traffic flow enabling the STA to access the service via the first BSS and the network slice (Para. [0121]-Dattagupta discloses analyzing network traffic on the network slice; determining which of the first network segment and third network segment to utilize for the third device based on the network policy and said analyzing; and adding the third device to said determined network segment. Para. [0008-0009]-Dattagupta discloses beacon request/report pair enables a station (STA) to request from another STA a list of access points (APs) whose beacons it can receive on a specified channel or channels ... The frame request/report pair returns a picture of all the channel traffic and a count of all the frames received at the measuring STA. Para. [0039]-Dattagupta discloses two devices sharing a network segment can see traffic from other devices on the network segment and may be able to communicate with each other directly. A BSS is an example of a network segment); and managing one or more settings for the first BSS, or both the first BSS and the traffic flow based, at least in part, on a quality of service (QoS) Indicator (QI) associated with the network slice (Para. [0012-0015]-Dattagupta discloses the STA statistics request/report pair returns groups of values for STA counters and for basic service set (BSS) Average Access Delay ... The link measurement request/report exchange provides measurements of the RF characteristics of a STA-to-STA link. This measurement indicates the instantaneous quality of a link. [0016] The Transmit Stream/Category measurement is a request/report pair that enables a quality of service (QoS) STA to inquire of a peer QoS STA the condition of an ongoing traffic stream between them. Para. [0042]-Dattagupta discloses network slicing of a SDN to provide different slices with different service-level agreements (SLAs) using various systems and methods. A SLA can define various parameters (i.e. network policies) that define various aspects of the network for tenants of the slice, such as a minimum bandwidth, a quality of service (QoS), a maximum latency, or other parameters relative to computer network communication); and
Chun teaches the one or more settings comprise an indication for the STA to use a first frequency band, from a plurality of frequency bands established between the STA and the access device, in accordance with the GBR associated with the URLLC service (Table 15, Para. [0426]-Chun discloses upon receiving the SystemlnformationBlockTypel or SystemlnformationBlockTypel-BR either via broadcast or via dedicated signalling, the UE shall: ... if the frequency band indicated in the freqBandlndicator is part of the frequency bands supported by the UE ... forward the cellldentity to upper layers. Para. [0094]-Chun discloses requirement areas of 5G include ... an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) area. Para. [0259]-Chun discloses dedicated bearer may be allocated a bearer with GBR {Guaranteed Bit Rate}. Para. [0242]-Chun discloses various architectures by combining 5G and 4G. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments ... implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements. Para. [0107]-Chun discloses embodiments of the present disclosure ... can be implemented through the combination or the modification in order to meet the 5G requirements described).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472