DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/253,596 filed on 05/19/2023 in which claims 1-15 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of preliminary amendment filed on 05/19/2023 in which claims 1-15 have been amended while claims 16-20 have been newly added. By this amendment, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application for prosecution in first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 08/22/2023 and 06/23/2025 have been considered and placed of record. Initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,8-10,12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao USPAT 9,595,790 B1 (also cited by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1: Cao at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1C,3A-3D,4 and 5: A socket(110,205)(see Figs. 1C,3A-3B) comprising:
a housing(325) and
an actuator(335) detachably mountable or mounted on an outside(see Fig. 3B) of the housing(325) and configured to actuate a locking element(combo 330 and 390) for locking the socket(((110), Fig. 1C);((205), Figs. 3A-3D)) to a connector(120) in a locking position, wherein the housing(325) comprises a passage(320A; see Fig. 3C) configured to guide the locking element(combo 330 and 390) through the housing(325)(see col. 9, lines 18-46), and
wherein the passage(320A) is configured to penetrate the housing(325) and is arranged within a sealing region(as shown in Figs. 3C and 3D) of the housing(325).
Regarding claim 2: Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the passage(320A) forms at least two openings(395 and 345A)(see col. 9, lines 30-39)on the outside of the housing(325).
Regarding claim 3: Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the passage(320A) is configured to penetrate the housing(325), at least in sections(see underlying slots 320A,320B in Fig. 3D)(via aperture 395 and elongate slots 345A; see Figs. 3C-3D), substantially parallel or oblique to a plug-in directions of the socket(110,205)(see Figs. 3B-3D) and/or the locking element(combo 330 and 390) is configured to be operable(via the hinges 315A-315D and motor 335)(note- the locking pin 330 is coupled to a separate motor that can move the locking pin from a first to a second position. When charging is complete, or when decoupling of the charging connector and charge port interface is otherwise desired, the locking pin 330 can be retracted to release the charging connector. For example, the locking pin 330 may be supported by a hinged support structure 345 that moves the locking pin 330 between extended and retracted positions; see Figs. 3C-3D; see col. 9, lines 23-35), at least in sections, substantially parallel or at an angle to the plug-in directions of the socket(see Fig. 1C)
Regarding claim 4: Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the sealing region(as shown in Figs. 3C and 3D) comprises a dry region, in which is arranged at least a portion of at least one contact element for transmitting electrical energy(power pins 310A,310B) and/or electrical signals(310C)(see Figs. 3A-3E; col. 7, lines 11-27).
Regarding claim 5: Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein in a view, the actuator(335) is detachably mountable (see Fig. 3B) and/or is arranged on the outside of the housing within a contour of the housing(325).
Regarding claim 8, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the actuator (335) is operable and/or controllable via at least one contact element of the socket (205)(note-The motor 335 can be housed in control unit 340, which can optionally house additional components such as one or more processors with computer-executable instructions for controlling one or more of activation of the motor 335 to move the charge port body 205, see col. 9, lines 46-53).
Regarding claim 9, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the locking element (330) is cylindrical or pin-shaped at least in sections(see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the housing(325) has on the outside, a mounting portion(see Fig. 3B) configured for mounting of an assembly(exterior of control unit 340)(see col. 6, lines 58 to col. 7, line 33).
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein the passage (320A) is integrally formed as one piece, at least in sections(see Figs. 3C and 3D).
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Cao further discloses, wherein a cross section of the passage (320A) is substantially round(see Figs. 3C-3D) and/or oval and/or rectangular at least in sections.
Regarding claim 14, Cao discloses an arrangement, comprising: the socket(110,205) of claim 1; and a connector(120).
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses a vehicle (not illustrated but charge port body (110,205) is embedded or is part of the vehicle; see Fig. 1C,2A and col. 6, lines 31-33) comprising:
the socket(110,205) of claim 1(note- the charge port body 110,205, charging of vehicle batteries via the charging interface, opening of a portion of the vehicle body exterior to reveal the charging interface, and extension/retraction of the locking pin 330; see col. 9, lines 46-53).
Regarding claim 16, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 2. Cao further discloses, wherein the at least two openings are arranged opposite one another(395 and 345A)(see col. 9, lines 30-39).
Regarding claim 17, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 5. Cao further discloses, wherein the view is a side view(see Figs. 3A-3B) in the plug-in direction of the socket(110,205), and wherein the actuator(335) is detachably mountable and/or is arranged on the outside of the housing(325) within a contour of the sealing region.
Regarding claim 18, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 10. Cao further discloses, wherein the mounting portion is on the outside of the housing (325) opposite a connector face of the socket(110,205)(see Fig. 3B and col. 7, lines 34-43)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao USPAT 9,595,790 B1 in view of US 2019/0047426 A1 to Effenberger et al., (Effenberger) (both cited by Applicants).
Regarding 11: Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1 except for the limitations of,
Wherein at least one seal is arranged between the actuator and the outside of the housing.
Effenberger teaches factual evidence of, wherein at least one seal(44)([0072]) is arranged between the actuator and the outside of the housing(12)([0075])
Cao and Effenberger are electric vehicle charging interface analogous art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Effenberger with Cao by having, wherein at least one seal is arranged between the actuator and the outside of the housing, as recited, for the reasonable expectation of success in providing air-tight and/or dust-resistant and/or waterproof sealing in the connector-face receiving opening in conjunction with the collar, as per the teachings of Effenberger ([0072]).
Accordingly claim 11 would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 19, Cao in view of Effenberger discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 11. Effenberger further discloses, wherein the at least one seal(44) is arranged circumferentially around an opening(22) of the passage(see Figs. 2-3).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao USPAT 9,595,790 B1 (also cited by Applicants) in view of Hanano et al., (Hanano) USPAT 5,344,123.
Regarding claim 20, Cao discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 12. Cao further teaches, wherein the passage (320A)(see Fig. 3C is formed integrally as one piece with a first housing part(325) and/or with a second housing part. Cao does not expressly disclose:
and wherein the passage comprises an insulating material.
However, Hanano discloses factual evidence, wherein the passage(3) comprises an insulating material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a suitable material, such as an insulating material, for the passage of the socket of Cao, as taught by Hanano in order to provide safety to the vehicle user during charging. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to have had, wherein the passage comprises an insulating material, as recited, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Accordingly claim 20 would have been obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, patentability exits at least in part with the claimed limitations of, wherein the housing comprises a first housing part and a second housing part detachably mountable on the first housing part and wherein the passage is configured to penetrate the first housing part and the second housing part.
Claim 7 depend directly from claim 6 and is therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 February 25, 2026