DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 01/21/2026.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 21-22, 29-31, and 33-38 are presented for examination.
Claims 8, 11-20, 23-28, and 32 are cancelled.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on January 21, 2026. Claim 1 have been amended. Claims 8, 11-20, 23-28, and 32 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 21-22, 29-31, and 33-38 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed January 21, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues (see Remarks, pp. 4–16) that Hong (“D1”), in view of Shao Fei (“D2”), and further in view of Liu (“D3”) and Jha Satish (“D4”), fails to teach or suggest: “one or more other transmission units,” “aggregation transmission,” “uplink aggregation transmission,” or “uplink joint transmission” for PDCP SDUs in the same cell, including joint transmission or aggregation transmission performed by multiple different transmission units, wherein a transmission unit utilizes a PDCP numbering and/or sorting function to uniformly number PDCP SDUs received from an upper layer, and wherein a PDCP sub-layer is arranged for and shared by at least two transmission units. Applicant further contends that D2, D3, and D4 do not disclose uplink joint transmission or uplink aggregation transmission performed by multiple different transmission units for the same cell or network device, nor do the references disclose utilizing a PDCP numbering function in the context of joint transmission as recited in claims 1, 5, 7, 9, and 21.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the outset, the Examiner notes that during patent examination, pending claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) consistent with the specification as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2111; see also In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“the PTO applies to the verbiage of the proposed claims the broadest reasonable meaning of the words in their ordinary usage”); and In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Accordingly, the claims are not limited to the narrower interpretation advanced by Applicant.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, D1 teaches the disputed limitations. Specifically, D1 discloses “one or more other transmission units” through disclosure of transmitting data “through one or more radio cells” corresponding to multiple transmission paths or transmission units (see D1, ¶ [0096]). Further, D1 discloses uplink aggregation transmission and/or uplink joint transmission for PDCP SDUs in the same cell or across coordinated transmission paths. In particular, D1 teaches that, during uplink transmission, a PDCP entity duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs or PDCP SDUs having an identical sequence number (SN) and transmits the duplicated data through one or more radio cells (see D1, ¶¶ [0097], [0196]). Such disclosure reasonably teaches aggregation transmission and coordinated uplink transmission through multiple transmission paths.
Moreover, D1 discloses that the PDCP entity uniformly numbers PDCP SDUs received from an upper layer by assigning identical sequence numbers to duplicated PDCP PDUs/SDUs transmitted through multiple carriers or radio paths (see D1, ¶ [0095]). The use of identical sequence numbers across multiple radio cells or carriers constitutes the claimed “uniform numbering” of PDCP SDUs to be uplink transmitted through different transmission units. The claims do not require any particular proprietary numbering implementation beyond coordinated numbering across multiple transmission paths. Therefore, Applicant’s attempt to narrowly construe the claimed “uniform numbering” is not commensurate with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims.
Additionally, D1 teaches a PDCP sub-layer arranged for and shared by multiple transmission units. As disclosed in D1, the UE transmits data using PDCP duplication through a plurality of carriers or multiple radio paths, wherein the PDCP entity duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs/SDUs having identical sequence numbers for duplicate transmission through multiple radio cells (see D1, ¶¶ [0097], [0202], [0228], [0328]). D1 further discloses interaction between the PDCP layer and the RLC layer in controlling duplicate transmission operations. Such disclosure reasonably teaches a shared PDCP processing structure supporting multiple transmission paths or units. The Examiner notes that the claims do not require physically separate PDCP entities for each transmission unit, but merely require PDCP processing shared among at least two transmission units, which is satisfied by D1’s disclosure of duplicated PDCP processing across multiple carriers/radio paths.
Applicant’s arguments attacking D2, D3, and D4 individually are likewise unpersuasive because the rejection is based on the combined teachings of the references rather than any single reference alone. Non-obviousness cannot be established by attacking references individually where the rejection is predicated upon a combination of prior art teachings. See In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Examiner relies on D1 for the primary teachings relating to PDCP duplication, uplink aggregation transmission, shared PDCP processing, and coordinated numbering functions, while D2–D4 are relied upon for additional teachings and implementation details as set forth in the rejection.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of D1–D4 to improve transmission reliability, transmission efficiency, coordinated uplink operation, and multi-path data handling in wireless communication systems. Such a rationale is consistent with KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007), which held that a combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it yields predictable results. The references collectively teach the use of coordinated transmission paths, PDCP duplication, sequence numbering, and multi-path uplink communication, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of combining these teachings to achieve improved uplink aggregation and transmission reliability.
Accordingly, the combination of HONG, SHAO FEI, LIU, and JHA SATISH teaches or at least renders obvious the claimed limitations as presently recited. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive, and the rejection of claims 1, 5, 7, 9, and 21 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0268799), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0170496), (“D2”, hereinafter). As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a transmission method performed by a transmission unit ([see, [0096], and Fig. 1, the method of transmitting side and a receiving side disclosed]), the transmission unit supporting to provide, together with one or more other transmission units ([see, [0096], through one or more radio cells]), the transmission unit supporting to provide, together with one or more other transmission units in a same cell or of a same network device,
uplink aggregation transmission or uplink joint transmission for Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data units (SDUs) in a same cell or PDCP SDUs of a same network device ([see, [0097, 0196], wherein UL transmission, a PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]),
the transmission unit supporting a same network standard as the other transmission units ([see, [0047], under the related standard, the LTE system or the LTE-advanced system, the UL and the DL are configured based on a single carrier or a pair of carriers]),
the transmission method comprising:
in the case of the joint transmission (i.e., a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths),
to uniformly number PDCP SDUs received from an upper layer ([see, [0095], an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]); or
in the case of the aggregation transmission (i.e., a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths)),
utilizing a PDCP sub-layer and a Radio Link Control (RLC) sub-layer that are used to be shared with the other transmission units ([see, [0097, 0202, 0228, 0328], wherein the UE transmits data using PDCP duplicate based on a single base station through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), and PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) and instructing the duplicate transmission to be activated based on a control PDU defined by the RLC layer through one or more radio cells]), as well as respective Medium Access Control (MAC) sub-layers ([see, [0200], a MAC header]) and respective physical sub-layers of the transmission unit ([see, [0228], the physical layer disclosed]) and the other transmission units, to process the PDCP SDUs received from the upper layer ([see, 0232], the UE may monitor DL radio quality for a specific cell or all cells, process PDCP data (PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU) duplicate transmission, PDCP data duplicate transmission to a higher layer]); or
in the case of the aggregation transmission (i.e., a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths),
utilizing a PDCP sub-layer that is used to be shared with the other transmission units ([see, [0202, 0228], wherein using PDCP duplicate through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) through one or more radio cells]), as well as respective RLC sub-layers ([see, [0202-0203], one or more RLC entities]), respective MAC sub-layers([see, [0200], a MAC header]) and respective physical sub-layers of the transmission unit ([see, [0228], the physical layer disclosed]) and
the other transmission units, to process the PDCP SDUs received from the upper layer ([see, 0232], the UE may monitor DL radio quality for a specific cell or all cells, process PDCP data (PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU) duplicate transmission, PDCP data duplicate transmission to a higher layer]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: utilizing a PDCP numbering function and/or a PDCP sorting function, to uniformly number PDCP SDUs received from an upper layer, wherein the uniformly numbering comprises uniformly numbering the PDCP SDUs to be uplink transmitted through different transmission units.
However, D2 discloses to uniformly number PDCP SDUs received from an upper layer ([see, [0008-0009], wherein determining the sequence numbers (SN) are subsequent assigned, receiving a PDCP SDU from an upper layer]),
wherein the uniformly numbering comprises uniformly numbering the PDCP SDUs ([see, [0078-0079], associate the PDCP SN corresponding to Next_PDCP_TX_SN to this PDCP SDU uniformly increment Next_PDCP_TX_SN by 1]), to be uplink transmitted through different transmission units ([see, [0111], the PDCP PDU with the PDCP SN 1951 is transmitted to the receiving side PDCP entity]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance between the transmission of UE and eNB (D2, [0007])
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the transmission method according to claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are arranged in an independent entity, and the independent entity is shared by all of the transmission units; or
the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are integrated into a PDCP entity ([see, [0049, 0107-0108], and Fig. 13, wherein Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer of the second layer (L2) performs utilizing a PDCP function, wherein the transmitting side PDCP entity may transmit as much PDCP PDUs, a PDCP SDU requiring SN assignment has been received from an upper layer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance between the transmission of UE and eNB (D2, [0007])
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the transmission method according to claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses further comprising:
in the case that the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are arranged in the independent entity, transmitting, by the independent entity, each of the numbered PDCP SDUs to a PDCP entity of a corresponding transmission unit for processing; or in the case that the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are integrated in the PDCP entity ([see, [0049, 0107-0108], and Fig. 13, wherein Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer of the second layer (L2) performs utilizing a PDCP function, wherein the transmitting side PDCP entity may transmit as much PDCP PDUs, a PDCP SDU requiring SN assignment has been received from an upper layer]), transmitting, by the PDCP entity, the numbered PDCP SDUs to a PDCP entity of the other transmission unit for processing ([see, [0008-0009], wherein determining the sequence numbers (SN) are subsequent assigned, receiving a PDCP SDU from an upper layer]), or
processing, by the PDCP entity integrated with the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function, the numbered PDCP SDUs directly ([see, [0008-0009], wherein determining the sequence numbers (SN) are subsequent assigned, receiving a PDCP SDU from an upper layer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance between the transmission of UE and eNB (D2, [0007]).
As per Claim 29, is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 29 is anticipated by apparatus being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 35, D1 and D2 disclose the transmission unit according to claim 29, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the PDCP numbering function ([see, [0049, 0107-0108], and Fig. 13, wherein Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer of the second layer (L2) performs utilizing a PDCP function, wherein the transmitting side PDCP entity may transmit as much PDCP PDUs, a PDCP SDU requiring SN assignment has been received from an upper layer]); or
the PDCP sorting function are arranged in an independent entity ([see, [0008-0009], wherein determining the sequence numbers (SN) are subsequent assigned, receiving a PDCP SDU from an upper layer]), and
the independent entity is shared by all of the transmission units; or the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are integrated into a PDCP entity ([see, [0049, 0107-0108], and Fig. 13, wherein Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer of the second layer (L2) performs utilizing a PDCP function, wherein the transmitting side PDCP entity may transmit as much PDCP PDUs, a PDCP SDU requiring SN assignment has been received from an upper layer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance between the transmission of UE and eNB (D2, [0007]).
As per Claim 36, D1 and D2 disclose the transmission unit according to claim 29, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to:
in the case that the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are arranged in the independent entity, transmitting, by the independent entity ([see, [0008-0009], wherein determining the sequence numbers (SN) are subsequent assigned, receiving a PDCP SDU from an upper layer]), each of the numbered PDCP SDUs to a PDCP entity of a corresponding transmission unit for processing; or in the case that the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function are integrated in the PDCP entity ([see, pages 8-9, lines 27-37, and 1-15, the PDCP sorting function are integrated into a PDCP entity due to the PDCP layer triggers the sorting function disclosed]), transmitting, by the PDCP entity, the numbered PDCP SDUs to a PDCP entity of the other transmission unit for processing ([see, page 5, lines 5-15, PDCP layer sorts the SDUs, forwarding data by the PDCP number and submits them to the upper layer]), or processing, by the PDCP entity integrated with the PDCP numbering function and/or the PDCP sorting function, the numbered PDCP SDUs directly ([see, [0049, 0107-0108], and Fig. 13, wherein Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer of the second layer (L2) performs utilizing a PDCP function, wherein the transmitting side PDCP entity may transmit as much PDCP PDUs, a PDCP SDU requiring SN assignment has been received from an upper layer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance between the transmission of UE and eNB (D2, [0007]).
Claims 5, 7, 9, 29-31, and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0268799), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of SHAO FEI et al. (International Publication No. WO 2008025253 A1), (“D3”, hereinafter, examiner use CN 2007002545 W with machine translation for mapping).
As per Claim 5, D1 discloses a transmission method performed by a network side device ([see, [0096], a transmitting side such as base station]), comprising:
PDCP Protocol Data Units (PDUs) ([see, [0202, 0228, 0328], PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data through one or more radio cells]),
the PDCP PDUs being transmitted by different transmission units in a same cell or different transmission units of a same network device through uplink aggregation transmission or uplink joint transmission ([see, [0096, 0138], wherein a transmitting side may transmit data having an identical PDCP SN through two paths, and a receiving side may detect the duplicate data based on the PDCP SN, the base station preform the uplink processing such an operation to the UE based on transmit data having an identical PDCP SN through two paths. In addition, on [0138], transmit data in duplicate using two MAC entities of the UEs through one or more carriers provided according to CA]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: performing joint sorting processing on PDCP Protocol Data Units (PDUs).
However, D3 discloses performing joint sorting processing on PDCP Protocol Data Units (PDUs) ([see, pages 8-9, lines 27-37, and 1-15, the PDCP number and PDCP layer triggers the sorting function disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance (D3, page 2, lines 1-10]).
As per Claim 7, D1 discloses a transmission method performed by a network side device ([see, [0096], a transmitting side such as base station]), the network side device being used to provide, in a same cell or a same network device ([see, [0096, 0138], wherein a transmitting side may transmit data having an identical PDCP SN through two paths, and a receiving side may detect the duplicate data based on the PDCP SN, the base station preform the uplink processing such an operation to the UE based on transmit data having an identical PDCP SN through two paths. In addition, on [0138], transmit data in duplicate using two MAC entities of the UEs through one or more carriers provided according to CA]),
downlink aggregation transmission or downlink joint transmission ([see, [0058], The eNB performs DL transmission to UEs]) for PDCP SDUs to at least two transmission units ([see, [0196], A PDCP entity of the base station duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]),
the transmission method comprising:
in the case of the joint transmission, uniformly numbering the PDCP SDUs received from an upper layer ([see, [0095], an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]), and
jointly transmitting (i.e., a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), through at least two bearers in a same cell or at least two bearers of a same network device ([see, [0095], an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]),
the PDCP SDUs to at least two transmission units configured for performing the joint transmission ([see, [0096, 0138], wherein a transmitting side may transmit data having an identical PDCP SN through two paths, and a receiving side may detect the duplicate data based on the PDCP SN, the base station preform the uplink processing such an operation to the UE based on transmit data having an identical PDCP SN through two paths. In addition, on [0138], transmit data in duplicate using two MAC entities of the UEs through one or more carriers provided according to CA]); or
in the case of the aggregation transmission (i.e., a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths)), processing, through a PDCP sub-layer and an RLC sub-layer that are arranged for and shared by the at least two transmission units ([see, [0202, 0228], wherein using PDCP duplicate through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) through one or more radio cells]), as well as an MAC sub-layer ([see, [0200], a MAC header]) and a physical sub-layer ([see, [0228], the physical layer disclosed]) that are arranged for each of the at least two transmission units ([see, 0050], wherein the CoMP system may include at least two multiple transmission/reception points and UEs]), the PDCP SDUs received from the upper layer ([see, 0232], the UE may monitor DL radio quality for a specific cell or all cells, process PDCP data (PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU) duplicate transmission, PDCP data duplicate transmission to a higher layer]); or
in the case of the aggregation transmission, processing, through a PDCP sub-layer that is arranged for and shared by the at least two transmission units ([see, [0202, 0228, 0328], wherein the UE transmits data using PDCP duplicate based on a single base station through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), and PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) and instructing the duplicate transmission to be activated based on a control PDU defined by the RLC layer through one or more radio cells]), as well as respective RLC sub- layers ([see, [0202-0203], one or more RLC entities]), respective MAC sub-layers ([see, [0200], a MAC header]) and respective physical sub-layers ([see, [0228], the physical layer disclosed]) that are arranged for the at least two transmission units, the PDCP SDUs received from the upper layer ([see, 0232], the UE may monitor DL radio quality for a specific cell or all cells, process PDCP data (PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU) duplicate transmission, PDCP data duplicate transmission to a higher layer]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the transmission method utilizing a PDCP numbering function and/or a PDCP sorting function.
However, D3 discloses the transmission method utilizing a PDCP numbering function and/or a PDCP sorting function ([see, pages 8-9, lines 27-37, and 1-15, the PDCP number and PDCP layer triggers the sorting function disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance (D3, page 2, lines 1-10]).
As per Claim 9, D1 discloses a transmission method performed by a transmission unit ([see, [0096], and Fig. 1, the method of transmitting side and a receiving side disclosed]), comprising:
receiving PDCP SDUs, the PDCP SDUs being transmitted by a network side device to different transmission units ([see, [0095], PDCP entity of the base station duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]), and
uniformly numbered by the network side device ([see, [0095], an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]), and
utilizing a physical sub-layer ([see, [0228], the physical layer disclosed]) and an MAC sub-layer ([see, [0200], a MAC header]) of the transmission unit ([see, 0232], the UE may monitor DL radio quality for a specific cell or all cells, process PDCP data (PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU) duplicate transmission, PDCP data duplicate transmission to a higher layer]), as well as an RLC sub-layer ([see, [0202-0203], one or more RLC entities]), and
a PDCP sub-layer shared with one or more other transmission units ([see, [0202, 0228], wherein using PDCP duplicate through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) through one or more radio cells]), to process PDCP SDUs ([see, [0095], duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting]); or
utilizing a physical sub-layer ([see, [0228], the physical layer disclosed]), an MAC sub-layer ([see, [0200], a MAC header]) and an RLC sub-layer ([see, [0202-0203], one or more RLC entities]), of the transmission unit ([see, 0232], the UE may monitor DL radio quality for a specific cell or all cells, process PDCP data (PDCP SDU or PDCP PDU) duplicate transmission, PDCP data duplicate transmission to a higher layer]), as well as an RLC sub-layer ([see, [0202-0203], one or more RLC entities]), and
a PDCP sub-layer shared with one or more other transmission units ([see, [0202, 0228], wherein using PDCP duplicate through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) through one or more radio cells]), to process PDCP SDUs ([see, [0095], duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: performing re-sorting on the PDCP SDUs.
However, D3 discloses performing re-sorting on the PDCP SDUs ([see, pages 8-9, lines 27-37, and 1-15, the PDCP number and PDCP layer has the sorting function disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide process the PDCP SDUs function results improve system performance (D3, page 2, lines 1-10]).
As per Claim 30, is the device claim corresponding to the method claim 21 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 21. Claim 30 is anticipated by device being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 21.
As per Claim 31, is the device claim corresponding to the method claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 31 is anticipated by device being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
As per Claim 33, is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 33 is anticipated by apparatus being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
As per Claim 34, is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 9 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claim 34 is anticipated by apparatus being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 9.
Claims 4, 6, 10, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of LIU (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0327623), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 4, 37, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising:
transmitting first indication information to a network side device,
the first indication information being used to indicate that the transmission units at least support
the aggregation transmission in a same cell or
the aggregation transmission of a same network device, or
the joint transmission in a same cell or
the joint transmission of a same network device; or
receiving second indication information transmitted by the network side device, the second indication information being used to indicate the aggregation transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or
the aggregation transmission for the transmission units of a same network device, or
the joint transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or
the joint transmission for the transmission units of a same network device.
However, D4 discloses transmitting first indication information to a network side device ([see, [0016], first indication information sent by a wireless access device]),
the first indication information being used to indicate that the transmission unit at least support the aggregation transmission in a same cell ([see, [0018, 087], the configuration indication can indicate that the master wireless access device supports a duplication operation]), or
the aggregation transmission of a same network device, or
the joint transmission in a same cell or
the joint transmission of a same network device; or
receiving second indication information transmitted by the network side device ([see, [0111], the wireless access device further needs to send second indication information to the UE]), the second indication information being used to indicate the aggregation transmission (i.e., duplication operation, such as multiple radio paths) for the transmission units in a same cell ([see, [0121], the UE receives the cell identification information sent by the wireless access device, where a serving cell indicated by the cell identification information is a serving cell for performing the duplication operation]); or
the aggregation transmission for the transmission units of a same network device, or
the joint transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or
the joint transmission for the transmission units of a same network device.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the plurality of links used results improve reliability of the data transmission (D4, [0008]]).
As per Claims 6, 38, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising:
receiving first indication information from the transmission unit, the first indication information being used to indicate that the transmission units at least support
the aggregation transmission in a same cell or
the aggregation transmission of a same network device or
the joint transmission in a same cell or
the joint transmission of a same network device; or
transmitting second indication information to the transmission units, the second indication information being used to indicate
the aggregation transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or
the aggregation transmission for the transmission units of a same network device, or
the joint transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or
the joint transmission for the transmission units of a same network device.
However, D4 discloses receiving first indication information from the transmission unit ([see, [0016], first indication information sent by a wireless access device]), the first indication information being used to indicate that the transmission units at least support the aggregation transmission in a same cell ([see, [0018, 087], the configuration indication can indicate that the master wireless access device supports a duplication operation]), or
the aggregation transmission of a same network device or
the joint transmission in a same cell or
the joint transmission of a same network device; or
transmitting second indication information to the transmission units ([see, [0111], the wireless access device further needs to send second indication information to the UE]), the second indication information being used to indicate the aggregation transmission(i.e., duplication operation, such as multiple radio paths) for the transmission units in a same cell ([see, [0121], the UE receives the cell identification information sent by the wireless access device, where a serving cell indicated by the cell identification information is a serving cell for performing the duplication operation]); or
the aggregation transmission for the transmission units of a same network device, or
the joint transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or
the joint transmission for the transmission units of a same network device.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the plurality of links used results improve reliability of the data transmission (D4, [0008]]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the transmission method according to claim 9, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising:
transmitting first indication information to the network side device, the first indication information being used to indicate that the transmission units at least support aggregation transmission in a same cell or aggregation transmission of a same network device, or
joint transmission in a same cell or joint transmission of a same network device; or receiving second indication information transmitted by the network side device, the second indication information being used to indicate the aggregation transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or the aggregation transmission for the transmission units of a same network device, or the joint transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or the joint transmission for the transmission units of a same network device.
However, D4 discloses transmitting first indication information to the network side device ([see, [0016], first indication information sent by a wireless access device]), the first indication information being used to indicate that the transmission units at least support aggregation transmission in a same cell or aggregation transmission of a same network device ([see, [0018, 087], the configuration indication can indicate that the master wireless access device supports a duplication operation]), or
joint transmission in a same cell or joint transmission of a same network device; or
receiving second indication information transmitted by the network side device ([see, [0111], the wireless access device further needs to send second indication information to the UE]), the second indication information being used to indicate the aggregation transmission (i.e., duplication operation, such as multiple radio paths) for the transmission units in a same cell or the aggregation transmission for the transmission units of a same network device ([see, [0121], the UE receives the cell identification information sent by the wireless access device, where a serving cell indicated by the cell identification information is a serving cell for performing the duplication operation]), or the joint transmission for the transmission units in a same cell or the joint transmission for the transmission units of a same network device.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the plurality of links used results improve reliability of the data transmission (D4, [0008]]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0268799), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of JHA SATISH et al. (International Publication No. WO 2017192164 A1), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 21, D1 discloses a transmission method performed by a first UE ([see, [0096], and Fig. 1, the method of transmitting side and a receiving side disclosed]), comprising:
receiving PDCP SDUs, wherein the PDCP SDUs are transmitted by a network side device ([see, [0096] A PDCP entity of the UE receives the PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) received through one or more radio cells]); and
a second UE respectively, and
are uniformly numbered by the network side device ([see, [0097], a PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate through one or more radio cells]), and
the master UE is configured to perform, together with the slave UE, joint transmission or aggregation transmission ([see, [0202, 0228, 0328], wherein the UE transmits data using PDCP duplicate based on a single base station through a plurality of carriers (aggregation or multiple radio paths), and PDCP entity of the UE duplicates or copies PDCP PDUs (or PDCP SDUs) having an identical sequence number (SN) for transmitting data in duplicate (shared) and instructing the duplicate transmission to be activated based on a control PDU defined by the RLC layer through one or more radio cells]).
performing re-sorting on the PDCP SDUs ([see, [0115, 0121], the UE may perform operations may be reordered]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a master UE and a slave UE.
However, D5 discloses a master UE and a slave UE ([see, [0044], and Fig. 2, a nUE (network UE) with full sidelink and direct link protocol stacks (e.g., with full C/U (control/user)-plane functions), which can act as a master UE, and tUEs (Things UEs, e.g., wearable UEs), can act as a slave UE in the sidelink cell/PAN]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide higher layer functionality results improve reliability of the user plane messaging between a network UE (nUE) and one or more 5G NR Things UEs (tUEs) within a personal area network (PAN). (D5, [0059]]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0268799), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of JHA SATISH et al. (International Publication No. WO 2017192164 A1), (“D5”, hereinafter), and further in view of LIU (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0327623), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 22, D1 and D4 disclose the transmission method according to claim 21, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising: transmitting first indication information to a network side device, the first indication information being used to indicate a master-slave relation between the UEs; or receiving second indication information transmitted by the network side device, the second indication information being used to indicate the master-slave relation between the UEs.
However, D4 discloses comprising: transmitting first indication information to a network side device ([see, [0016], first indication information sent by a wireless access device]), the first indication information being used to indicate a master-slave relation between the UEs ([see, [0013, 0028], the second indication information indicates the UEs establishes a signaling radio bearer (SRB) that the links corresponding to the SRB, and the UE sends same PDCP PDUs on a plurality of links]); or
receiving second indication information transmitted by the network side device ([see, [0111], the wireless access device further needs to send second indication information to the UE]), the second indication information being used to indicate the master-slave relation between the UEs ([see, [0013, 0028], the second indication information indicates the UEs establishes a signaling radio bearer (SRB) that the links corresponding to the SRB, and the UE sends same PDCP PDUs on a plurality of links]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the plurality of links used results improve reliability of the data transmission (D4, [0008]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418