DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/29/2026.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the phrase “determined by XRF analysis” and “determined by XPS surface analysis” as recited by Claims 3-4 and 7 are not considered to add patentable weight to the claimed ranges. Absent evidence that the particular method of measuring the composition of the particles by such methods yields bulk/surface layer composition values distinct from those reported by other measurement techniques, the composition of a material is considered fully described by the claimed weight percentage value.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 4 and 7, “Ta2Os” is interpreted as a typographical error in the formula for tantalum pentoxide, Ta2O5. The appearance of “Ta2Os” should be corrected to “Ta2O5”.
In Claims 5-6, “28” is interpreted as a typographical error for the diffraction angle 2θ in x-ray diffraction. “28” should therefore be corrected to “2θ”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 7 recite the limitation "the MoO3 content". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as Claim 1 only requires molybdenum and not MoO3. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim as requiring that the molybdenum is present in the tantalum oxide particles in the form of MoO3, wherein the content thereof is limited by the claimed range.
Claims 4 and 7 recite the limitation "the Ta2O5 content". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as Claim 1 only requires tantalum oxide and not Ta2O5. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim as requiring that the molybdenum is present in the tantalum oxide particles in the form of MoO3, wherein the content thereof is limited by the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Tantalum oxide-supported metal oxide (Re2O7, CrO3, MoO3, WO3, V2O5, and Nb2O5) catalysts: synthesis, Raman characterization and chemically probed by methanol oxidation, Journal of Catalysis, 2003), hereinafter ‘Chen’.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses tantalum oxide particles comprising molybdenum (3.1.1. Determination of monolayer surface coverage of Ta2O5-supported metal oxides: a catalyst comprising 1.5% MoO3 supported on Ta2O5 is disclosed).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Chen discloses a catalyst comprising 1.5% MoO3 supported on Ta2O5 as discussed above – this catalyst therefore comprises 1.5 wt% MoO3 and 98.5 wt% Ta2O5.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses that the monolayer surface coverages of the different supported metal oxides on Ta2O5 should not exceed the above values since the microcrystals generally form near and after complete formation of the two-dimensional surface metal oxide monolayer (3.1.1. Determination of monolayer surface coverage of Ta2O5-supported metal oxides). Therefore, the 1.5 wt% MoO3 sample describes a sample in which 1.5% of the surface layer comprises MoO3, with the remaining composition of said surface layers comprising Ta2O5.
Regarding Claim 8, as discussed above, Chen discloses supported metal oxides deposited on Ta2O5 in which the supported metal oxides exist primarily on the surface of the support. The MoO3 sample of Chen is therefore considered to be selectively rich in molybdenum in the surface layers of the tantalum oxide particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Tantalum oxide-supported metal oxide (Re2O7, CrO3, MoO3, WO3, V2O5, and Nb2O5) catalysts: synthesis, Raman characterization and chemically probed by methanol oxidation, Journal of Catalysis, 2003), hereinafter ‘Chen’, in view of CN111137923A, hereinafter ‘Geng’.
Regarding Claim 2, while Chen discloses impregnating a tantalum oxide support with molybdenum oxide (2.1. Catalyst preparation), Chen does not disclose that the tantalum oxide comprises polyhedral-shaped particles.
However, polyhedral-shaped tantalum oxide particles were known in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention. As shown by Geng, a method of producing rod-shaped, prismatic nanoparticles of Ta2O5 is disclosed as comprising a heat treatment of (NH₄)₂Ta₂O₃F₆ - the resulting particles are disclosed as having photocatalytic activity ([0007]) and having good thermal and chemical stability ([0009]), which are desirable characteristics for a catalytic material which may be exposed to extreme temperatures and chemical environments when applied to catalyze reactions.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute the tantalum oxide support of Chen with the prismatic polyhedral-shaped T2O5 particles of Geng. Both oxide materials are known in the art to be used as catalytic materials, and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using either material as the tantalum oxide support in the process of Chen, thereby producing tantalum oxide particles comprising polyhedral-shaped particles.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose nor reasonably suggest the limitations of Claims 5-6, drawn to the particular crystallite size at diffraction angles of 22.8° and 36.6°. Chen does not disclose any x-ray diffraction studies, nor does it disclose any criticality or discussion regarding the crystallite size of the tantalum oxide particles.
The prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest the limitations of Claim 9, requiring the tantalum particles have a specific surface area of 10 m2/g or less. The particles of Chen have a specific surface area of 15.0 m2/g (3.1.1. Determination of monolayer surface coverage of Ta2O5-supported metal oxides), and there is no suggestion within Chen to lower this value to fall within the claimed range.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736