DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and/or species of SEQ ID NOs: 29 and 31, in the reply filed on 13MAY2026 is acknowledged.
The election of species requirement of SEQ ID NOs: 29 and 31 of claims 1-10, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 13MAR2026, has been reconsidered. The species election requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of an allowable claim.
Claims 11-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13MAY2026.
Claim Status
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-22 are pending in the instant application (i.e., Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are independent).
Claims 11-22 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are examined on the merits.
Priority
The present application is a 371 National Stage of PCT International Application No. PCT/CN2021/131757, filed 19NOV2021, which is a CIP of PCT/CN2020/130409 filed 20NOV2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02DEC2025 is/are acknowledged and the references cited therein have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). To facilitate compact prosecution, Examiner will evaluate claims 5-9 on the merits as each being dependent from claim 1.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 contains a typographical error: “wherein each of the cysteine residue” should be corrected to “wherein each cysteine residue” or “wherein each of the cysteine residues” or something of a similar nature. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, recites the phrase "optionally," which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(h)(II).
Written Description
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Scope of the claimed genus:
Applicant has broadly claimed an isolated IgG antibody comprising two identical HCs each comprising (a) a hinge region comprising SEQ ID NO: 33, wherein X1 is a 0-7 aa residue sequence and X2 is a 2-7 aa residue sequence, wherein the aa can be anything other than cysteine and (b) a CH1 domain located upstream of and connected to the hinge region, the CH1 domain comprising a cysteine at the position 142 according to the IMGT numbering scheme. The broadest claims do not require isolated IgG antibody to have any specific binding function, with dependent limitations adding additional functional limitations, such as, further comprising a Fab domain that specifically binds to an antigen selected from a group consisting of EGFR, HER2, etc., of claim 9 or wherein the Cys between X1 and X2 forms a H-H disulfide bond of claim 8. Furthermore, it is unclear in claim 9, whether the Fab domain is meant to be a part of HC (i.e., the antigen-binding domain of the HC) or whether there is an additional Fab domain attached to the HC. Thus no claims recite any specific or particular structure of the isolated IgG antibody that gives rise to the specific structure, apart from claims 6 and 7 (partially), which recite specific sequences of the hinge region and nothing more.
State of the relevant art:
With regard to antibodies, it should be pointed out that it is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three different complementarity determining regions, CDR1, 2 and 3, which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin (Janeway, et al., Immunobiology: The Immune System in Health and Disease, 5th edition, 2001, section 3.6). It is also known that single amino acid changes in a CDR can abrogate the antigen binding function of an antibody (Rudikoff, et al., PNAS, 1982, 79, 1979-1983 see entire document, particularly the abstract and the middle of the left column of p 1982). Thus, based upon the prior art, skilled artisans would reasonably understand that it is the structure of the CDRs within an antibody which gives rise to the functional property of antigen binding, the epitope to which said CDRs bind is an inherent property which appears to necessarily be present due to conservation of critical structural elements, namely the CDR sequences themselves.
Artisans are well aware that knowledge of a given antigen (for instance a specific epitope of EGFR, HER2, etc.) provides no information concerning the sequence/structure of antibodies that bind the given antigen. For example, Edwards et al. teach that over 1,000 different antibodies to a single protein can be generated, all with different sequences spanning almost the entire heavy and light chain germline repertoire (42/49 functional heavy chain germlines and 33 of 70 V-lambda and V-kappa light chain germlines, and with extensive diversity in the HCDR3 region sequences (that are generated by VDJ germline segment recombination) as well (Edwards, et al., J Mol Biol, 2003, 334, 103-118, see entire document). Goel et al. disclose the synthesis of three monoclonal antibodies that bind to the same short (12-mer) peptide and found that the sequences of these antibodies which bound the same epitope exhibited diverse V gene usage indicating their independent germline origin (Goel, et al., J Immunol, 2004, 173, 7358-7367, see entire document). Further, it should be noted that degenerate binding of the same structural motif by antibodies does not require the existence of sequence homology or identity at any of their CDRs or other chemical similarities at the antigen-binding sites; side chain mobility of epitope residues can confer steric and electrostatic complementarity to differently shaped combining sites, allowing functional mimicry to occur (Lescar et al., J Biol Chem, 1995, 270, 18067-18076, see entire document, in particular Abstract and Discussion). As such, it does not seem possible to predict the sequence/structure of an antibody that binds a given antigen as there does not appear to be any common or core structure present within all antibodies that gives rise to the function of antigen binding. Further, given data such as that of Edwards et al. indicating the diversity of sequences in a population of antibodies that bind to a given antigen, no number of species appears to reasonably represent the breadth of the genus of antibodies that bind the given antigen in the instant application.
Furthermore, the differences between the hinge regions of IgG1, IgG2, and IgG4 as well as CH1 are taught by Konitzer, et al., (PLoS One, 2015, 10, 1-20, see entire document, specifically see p 8-11).
HC Isotype
Upper hinge region
Core hinge region-underline denotes difference between native and claimed species
CH1-Position 131 Kabat is the same as Position 142 IMGT- underline denotes difference between native and claimed species
IgG1
EPKSCDKTHT
CPPCP
Serine
IgG2
ERK
CCVECPPCP
Cysteine
IgG4
ESKYGPP
CPSCP
Cysteine
Therefore, the only difference between any native IgG1 antibody and the claimed antibody of claim 1 is substituting the serine in the CH1 region with a cysteine and the only difference between any native IgG2 antibody and the claimed antibody of claim 1 is substituting the first cysteine for a serine in the core hinge region. Additionally, the recited hinge sequence of claim 1 is extraordinarily broad; for example, if X1 is 0 amino acid residues and X2 is 7 amino acid residues, wherein the 7 aa residues of X2 can be any aa excluding cysteine (i.e., 19 naturally occurring amino acid residues), there are nearly 9 x 108 potential sequences.
Accordingly, the skilled artisan would be unable to envisage the entire isolated IgG antibody that binds to essentially anything and comprises a very broad hinge region a priori given the current state of the antibody arts.
Description of representative species in the specification:
MPEP § 2163 states that “a representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species.
To support such broad claims, the specification teaches 24 full-length IgG antibodies, comprising two HCs and two LCs, wherein each of the HCs comprise a hinge sequence of SEQ ID NOs: 1-13 or 28 (i.e., 14 hinge regions of SEQ ID NO: 33 of nearly 9 x 108 potential hinge region sequences which is exclusive of X1 being 1-7 aa residues in length), and wherein the full-length IgG antibodies bind to EGFR, HER2, or HER3, and further comprise a cysteine at position 142 of the CH1 domain according IMGT numbering (i.e., position 131 according to Kabat numbering) (See Table 1). However, given the immense breadth of the claims and the depth and diversity of the antibody repertoire as described above, such a disclosure would not reasonably be considered representative of the genus: an antibody, which is only described by its hinge region and potential mutation of the CH1 domain.
Identifying characteristics and structure/function correlation:
In the absence of a representative number of species, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
In The Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412) 19 F. 3d 1559, the court held that disclosure of a single member of a genus (rat insulin) did not provide adequate written support for the claimed genus (all mammalian insulins). In this same case, the court also noted:
“A definition by function, as we have previously indicated, does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is. See Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1169-71, 25 USPQ2d at 1605-06 (discussing Amgen). It is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what achieves that result. Many such genes may achieve that result. The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does “little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, naming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material.”
The court has further stated that “Adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention.” Id. at 1566, 43 USPQ2d at 1404 (quoting Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d at 1606). Also see Enzo-Biochem v. Gen-Probe 01-1230 (CAFC 2002). Recent court cases have emphasized the need for correlation between a well-defined structure and recited functional limitations. For example, the courts have indicated that recitation of an antibody which has specific functional properties in the absence of knowledge of the antibody sequences that give rise to said functional properties do not satisfy the requirements for written description. See for example AbbVie Deutschland GmbH v. Janssen Biotech. Inc. 759 F.3d 1285 (Fed. Cir. 2014) as well as Amgen v. Sanofi, (Fed Cir, 2017-1480. 10/5/2017). In Amgen v. Sanofi, the court indicates that that it is improper to allow patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen, as knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen does not give the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding antibodies, with the antibody-antigen relationship be analogized as a search for a key on a ring with a million keys on it. As such, knowledge of where an antibody binds provides no information as to what such an antibody necessarily looks like (i.e., its primary amino acid structure).
It should also be noted that the USPTO has released a Memo on the Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, 02/22/2018. See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf. This Memo clarifies the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) concerning the written description requirement for claims drawn to antibodies and states: “In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.” Further, the courts have indicated that the enablement and written description requirements of 35 USC 112 are separable as can be seen in for example Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111.
To meet this requirement in the instant case, the specification must describe structural features that the skilled artisan as of the effective filing date would have expected to convey the claimed antigen binding activity and effective hinge sequence. Although the claims are drawn to essentially any IgG antibody, comprising two HCs comprising a wide variety of potential hinge sequences and a CH1 region comprising a cysteine at position 142 according to IMGT numbering, the experimental data teach the full-length HCs and LCs of 11 IgG antibodies (i.e., inclusive of six nondegenerate CDRs), which function to bind EGFR, HER2, or HER3, and the HC comprises one of a wide variety of hinge regions (i.e., claim 10).
Claim analysis:
The specification provides neither a representative number of the encompassed antibodies, nor does it provide a descriptive of structural features that are common to the encompassed antibodies. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, the artisan cannot envision the detailed structure of the encompassed antibodies therefore Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10994021 B1, herein referred to as “’021” in view of Konitzer, et al., (PLoS One, 2015, 10, 1-20), herein referred to as “Konitzer.”
The issued claims of ‘021 recite:
In this instance, SEQ ID NO: 7 (i.e., long chain, first segment, is 99.2% query match to SEQ ID NO: 15 of the instant application) and comprises the hinge sequence of EPKSCDKTHTCPPCP (i.e., 100% query match to SEQ ID NO: 4 of the instant application) and SEQ ID NO: 8 (i.e., short chain) is 100% query match to SEQ ID NO: 23 of the instant application (see OA.APPENDIX). Although the ‘021 patent is silent with regard to the antibody construct comprising a hinge region, wherein the cysteine between X1 and X2 forming disulfide bonds between the HCs in claim 8, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP §2112.01). Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the antibody construct taught by the ‘021 patent would have the claimed properties recited in claim 8.
However, they do not claim: that the CH1 region comprises a cysteine in position 142 according to IMGT numbering.
Nevertheless, Konitzer teaches modification of an IgG1 antibody, wherein the serine at position 131 according to Kabat numbering (i.e., same as position 142 according to IMGT numbering) is modified to a cysteine (see entire document, specifically see p 11, Fig 3A, fourth line). In this instance, Konitzer teaches that IgG1 modification of the CH1 to mimic the IgG2 or IgG4 CH1 region (i.e., S131C modification within the IgG1 CH1 region) resulted in significantly increased apoptosis induction levels to 334% compared to the native IgG1 (see Fig 3B).
It would have been obvious to artisans to modify the CH1 region of the issued antibody of the ADC as claimed by the ‘021 patent to include a cysteine at position 142 according to IMGT or position 131 according to Kabat, as taught by Konitzer. This is because Konitzer teaches that IgG1 modification of the CH1 to mimic the IgG2 or IgG4 CH1 region (i.e., S131C modification within the IgG1 CH1 region) resulted in significantly increased apoptosis induction levels. One would have been motivated to do so, given the direction by the ‘021 patent that the antibody sequence has one or more mutations (i.e., claim 4). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that by modifying the CH1 taught by the ‘021 patent by substituting a serine for a cysteine at position 142 (IMGT) or 131 (Kabat) would result in a more effective antibody, as taught by Konitzer.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9-23 of co-pending Application No. 18/253703; herein referred to as the “reference application.” Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the isolated anti-CD73 antibody comprising a hinge region of SEQ ID NO: 26 and a cysteine in position 142 of an IgG1, IgG2, IgG3, or IgG4 sequence of claim 5 of the reference application anticipates the IgG antibody comprising a hinge region of SEQ ID NO: 28 (i.e., 100% query match) of the instant application.
Co-pending claims of the reference application:
Instant Application patent claims, underline corresponds to direct mapping to claim 5 of the reference application and italics corresponds to the additional claim limitations.
5. An isolated antibody, or an antigen-binding portion thereof, comprising: two heavy chains each comprising: (a) a hinge region comprising the amino acid sequence set forth in any of SEQ ID NOs: 25-26; and (b) a human CH1 domain located N-terminal of and connected to the hinge region, the CH1 domain comprising a cysteine corresponding to S142C of the native human IgG1 or the CH1 domain comprising the CH1 sequence of the native human IgG2, IgG3, or IgG4; wherein the antibody specifically binds to human CD73 protein.
9. The antibody or the antigen-binding portion thereof of claim 5, further comprising two kappa LCs each paired with one of the HCs.
10. The antibody or the antigen-binding portion thereof of claim 5, wherein the CH1 domain of the antibody has the same sequence as that of the CH1 domain of a native human IgG2, IgG3, or IgG4 subclass antibody.
11. The antibody or the antigen-binding portion thereof of claim 5, wherein the CH1 domain of the antibody has the sequence of that of the CH1 domain of a native human IgG1 antibody with the mutation S142C.
12. The antibody or the antigen-binding portion thereof of claim 5, wherein each of the heavy chains further comprises a Fc domain of a native human IgG1, IgG2, IgG3, IgG4 subclass antibody downstream of and connected to the hinge region, wherein the Fc domain optionally includes one or more substitutions.
15. The antibody, or the antigen-binding portion thereof, of any of the foregoing claims, wherein: (a) each of the heavy chains comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in one of SEQ ID NO: 17; and each of the light chains comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in one of SEQ ID NO: 18; or (b) each of the heavy chains comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in one of SEQ ID NO: 19; and each of the light chains comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in one of SEQ ID NO: 20; or (c) each of the heavy chains comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in one of SEQ ID NO: 21; and each of the light chains comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in one of SEQ ID NO: 22.
1. An isolated IgG antibody, comprising: two identical heavy chains each comprising (a) a hinge region comprising an amino acid sequence of: -(X1)-C-(X2)-CPPCP- (SEQ ID NO: 33), wherein X1 is a polypeptide segment having 0-7 amino acid residues each independently selected from any amino acid residue that is not a cysteine residue, and X2 is a polypeptide segment having 2-7 amino acid residues each independently selected from any amino acid residue that is not a cysteine residue; and (b) a CH1 domain located upstream of and connected to the hinge region, the CH1 domain comprising a cysteine at the position of 142 according to the IMGT numbering scheme.
2. The IgG antibody of claim 1,further comprising two identical kappa light chains.
3. The IgG antibody of any of claims 1-2, wherein the CH1 domain of the IgG antibody has the same sequence as that of the CH1 domain of a native human IgG2, IgG3, or IgG4 subclass antibody.
4. The IgG antibody of any of claims 1-2, wherein the CH1 domain of the IgG antibody has the sequence of the CH1 domain of a native IgG1 antibody with the S142C mutation.
5. The IgG antibody of claim 1 hinge region, wherein the CH2-CH3 optionally include one or more mutations.
6. The IgG antibody of claim 1
7. The IgG antibody of claim 1
8. The IgG antibody of claim 1
9. The IgG antibody of claim 1
10. An isolated IgG antibody comprising one of the following: (a) two identical HCs comprising an aa sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14 and two LCs each comprising an aa sequence of SEQ ID NO: 23;…(j) …SEQ ID NO: 29 and …SEQ ID NO: 31; and ….
In this instance, because the antibody of claim 5 of the reference application comprises a hinge region of SEQ ID NO: 26 (i.e., 100% query match to the species of SEQ ID NO: 28 of the instant application) and comprises a cysteine at position 142 in the CH1 domain and because claim 10 of the instant application recites “An isolated IgG antibody comprising one of the following:… (j) two identical HCs comprising an aa sequence of SEQ ID NO: 29 and two LCs comprising an aa sequence of SEQ ID NO: 31” the scope of the claim encompasses the full-length SEQ ID NO or any portion of the SEQ ID NO (i.e., SEQ ID NOs: 19 and 20 of claim 15 of the reference application comprises a portion of SEQ ID NOs: 29 and 31 of the instant application), there is no clear difference in the scope between the products of the instant and reference applications. Furthermore, although the reference application is silent with regard to the antibody, wherein the cysteine between X1 and X2 forms disulfide bonds between the HCs in claim 8, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP §2112.01). Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the antibody taught by the reference application would have the claimed properties recited in claim 8. In response, it is suggested that applicant either file a terminal disclaimer or amend the claims such that a clear and unmistakable line of separation exists between the products claimed in the instant application and those of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konitzer, et al., (PLoS One, 2015, 10, 1-20), herein referred to as “Konitzer.”
Konitzer teaches modification of rituximab (i.e., anti-CD20, IgG1 antibody, comprising two HCs and two LCs) by substitution of the serine at position 131 according to Kabat numbering (i.e., same as position 142 according to IMGT numbering) to a cysteine, wherein the HCs comprise the native IgG1 hinge sequence (i.e., 100% identity of SEQ ID NO: 4) (see entire document, specifically see p 8-11, Fig 2A, first line and Fig 3A, fourth line). In this instance, Konitzer teaches that IgG1 modification of the CH1 to mimic the IgG2 or IgG4 CH1 region (i.e., S131C modification within the IgG1 CH1 region) resulted in significantly increased apoptosis induction levels to 334% compared to the native IgG1 (see Fig 3B).
Although Konitzer is silent with regard to the modified rituximab comprising the cysteine between X1 and X2 forming disulfide bonds between the HCs in claim 8, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP §2112.01). Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the modified rituximab antibody taught by Konitzer would have the claimed properties recited in claim 8.
Therefore, the prior art anticipates the invention as presently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/027325 A1 (Imaginab, Inc., et al., 16FEB2017), herein referred to as “325” and in view of US Patent 8628773 B2 (Guo, 14JAN2014), herein referred to as “’773.”
‘325 teaches antibodies comprising effective hinge regions, wherein the middle or core hinge region provides stability, such as SEQ ID NO: 56 (i.e., SCVECPPCP) or the upper and core sequence of SEQ ID NO: 167 (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 167 (ERKSCVECPPCP) is 100% query match to SEQ ID NO: 3 of the instant application, see OA.APPENDIX) (¶0006). Furthermore, ‘325 teaches that mutations of the first cysteine of the IgG1 and IgG2 hinges was advantageous for preventing cysteine mispairing (¶0218).
However, they do not teach: the antibody comprises a cysteine in position 142 of the CH1 and the anti-EGFR HCs comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14 and LCs comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 23.
Nevertheless, ‘773 teaches well-known anti-EGFR IgG2 antibody, panitumumab, which has been approved in the US for treating metastatic colorectal cancer, comprising HCs and LCs of SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 2, respectively (i.e., 99.7% and 100% query match to SEQ ID NO: 14 and SEQ ID NO: 23 of the instant application, respectively) (col 1, lines 55-67). In this instance, because panitumumab is an IgG2 isotype, the CH1 region natively comprises a cysteine at position 142 and the core hinge region comprises the native amino acid sequence of ERKCCVECPPCP (i.e., the underlined cysteine is the single amino acid difference between the HC of ‘325 and the HC of the instant application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stable antibody hinge construct disclosed by ‘325 by introducing said construct to a well-known anti-EGFR IgG2 antibody disclosed by ‘773 because the hinge region disclosed by ‘325 prevents cysteine mispairing. One would have been motivated to do so, given the teachings of ‘325 that the modification of the first cysteine of the IgG2 core hinge region to serine resulted in the reduction of cysteine mispairing in antibody constructs. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that panitumumab which is already an approved therapy for metastatic colorectal cancer as taught by ‘773 would maintain efficacy and potentially be more stable by effectively substituting a single amino acid (i.e., the first cysteine of the IgG2 core hinge region) to a serine as taught by ‘325.
Although ‘325 is silent with regard to the antibody construct comprising a hinge region, wherein the cysteine between X1 and X2 forming disulfide bonds between the HCs in claim 8, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP §2112.01). Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the antibody construct taught by ‘325 would have the claimed properties recited in claim 8.
Thus, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2012/064733 A2 (Medimmune, LLC, et al., 18MAY2012), herein referred to as “’733” and in view of Konitzer, et al., (PLoS One, 2015, 10, 1-20), herein referred to as “Konitzer.”
‘733 teaches the anti-EGFR antibody, panitumumab, wherein the isotype has been modified to comprise the IgG1 isotype (SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 are 100% and 99.6% query match to SEQ ID NOs: 23 (LC) and 15 (HC) of the instant application, respectively, see OA.APPENDIX), wherein the hinge region comprises the IgG1 native hinge region of EPKSCDKTHTCPPCP (i.e., 100% query match to SEQ ID NO: 4 of the instant application) and wherein the technology encompasses further modifications comprising one or more aa residue substitutions in the VH, VL, and Fc regions of the antibodies of SEQ ID NOs: 1-10 for covalently attaching a moiety and/or to alter or fine tune the characteristics (biochemical, binding, and/or functional) of the antibodies (p 56).
However, they do not teach: that the CH1 comprises a cysteine in position 142 according to IMGT numbering.
Nevertheless, Konitzer teaches modification of an IgG1 antibody, wherein the serine at position 131 according to Kabat numbering (i.e., same as position 142 according to IMGT numbering) is modified to a cysteine (see entire document, specifically see p 11, Fig 3A, fourth line). In this instance, Konitzer teaches that IgG1 modification of the CH1 to mimic the IgG2 or IgG4 CH1 region (i.e., S131C modification within the IgG1 CH1 region) resulted in significantly increased apoptosis induction levels to 334% compared to the native IgG1 (see Fig 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the anti-EGFR antibody, comprising the antigen-binding region of panitumumab and the CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3 of the IgG1 isotype disclosed by ‘733 by modification of the IgG1 CH1 to mimic the IgG2 or IgG4 CH1 region (i.e., S131C modification within the IgG1 CH1 region) resulted in significantly increased apoptosis induction levels disclosed by Konitzer. One would have been motivated to do so, given the teachings of ‘733 that SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2 could be further modified to include single amino acid substitutions in the Fc region to fine tune the biochemical, binding, and/or functional characteristics of the antibodies. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, given the knowledge that the S131C (Kabat) or S142C (IMGT) substitution lead to a more effective IgG1 isotype antibody as taught by Konitzer.
Although ‘733 is silent with regard to the antibody construct comprising a hinge region, wherein the cysteine between X1 and X2 forming disulfide bonds between the HCs in claim 8, it is noted that a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing (see In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP §2112.01). Therefore, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the antibody construct taught by ‘733 would have the claimed properties recited in claim 8.
Thus, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SAMANTHA LAKE HOPKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1641
/MISOOK YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1641