DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedrick et al. (US 2016/0213707).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 3: Hedrick et al. teaches a polyamine having an N-acylated ethylenimine unit having the structure
(para. 83), which reads on claimed formula (I) where R3 and R4 are hydrogen in an amount of 1-70% (para. 73). The *---C(=O)K’ group can be
(para. 95), which is the embodiment where R1 is -CO-R2 and R2 is –(CnH2n-O)o-(CpH2p-O)q-R6, where o is zero, p is 2, q is 1 and R6 is hydrogen. Hedrick et al. also teaches the structural unit of claimed formula (II)/disclosed formula (5) (para. 98)
which is claimed formula (II) where R7 is hydrogen in an amount of 1-50 units out of 100-400 total units (para. 103), which is 12.5-50 mol %, which overlaps the claimed range. Hedrick et al. also teaches that a structure of claimed formula (III)/disclosed formula (3b) is optional when an alternative structure such as structure (3a) is present (para. 84-90) and can therefore be 0 mol%. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the overlapping amount of monomer units in the copolymer of Hedrick et al. and would have been motivated to do so since Hedrick et al. teaches these are acceptable amounts to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claims 4, 15, and 16: Hedrick et al. further teaches the unit
(para. 99), which reads on formula (I) where R1 is -CO-R2 and R2/R’ is methyl, ethyl, propyl or butyl.
Regarding claim 5: Hedrick et al. teaches the case where R2 is alkyl and therefore the embodiment where R2 is –(CnH2n-O)o-(CpH2p-O)q-R6 is optional.
Regarding claims 12 and 14: Hedrick et al. teaches the polyamines can be in the form of a powder containing pharmaceutical active ingredients (para. 144).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedrick et al. (US 2016/0213707) as applied to claim 12 set forth above and in view of Englert et al. “Enhancing the biocompatibility and biodegradability of linear poly(ethylene imine) through controlled oxidation.” Macromolecules (2015).
Regarding claim 13: Hedrick et al. teaches the basic claimed particle as set forth above. Not disclosed is the size. However, Englert et al. teaches a similar polyamine having a size of less than 1 µm (fig. 6B). Hedrick et al. and Englert et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely poly(ethylene) imines. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the size of Englert et al. for the particles of Hedrick et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to make them more bioavailable to cells.
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedrick et al. (US 2016/0213707) as applied to claim 12 set forth above and in view of Lizio et al. (US 2017/0333361).
Regarding claims 13 and 17: Hedrick et al. teaches the basic claimed particles as set forth above. Not disclosed is the size. However, Lizio et al. teaches a similar particle made of polyethylene imines having an active ingredient in a range of 10-300 nm (abstract). Hedrick et al. and Lizio et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyethylene imine particles with active ingredients. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to make the particles of Hedrick et al. with the size of Lizio et al. and would have been motivated to do so since Lizio et al. discloses that this size can yield an almost transparent dispersion (examples).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A) Applicant’s argument that Scheme 3 of Hedrick et al. no longer recites an embodiment that reads on the claims is not persuasive since the *---C(=O)K’ group can be
(para. 95), which is the embodiment where R1 is -CO-R2 and R2 is –(CnH2n-O)o-(CpH2p-O)q-R6, where o is zero, p is 2, q is 1 and R6 is hydrogen.
B) Applicant’s argument that the modification of Hedrick et al. required to arrive at the claimed copolymer would change the principle of operation of Hedrick et al. is not persuasive. Hedrick et al. teaches each of the claimed limitations of claim 1 in overlapping ranges.
C) Applicant’s argument that Hedrick et al. requires two mandatory elements, units of (3a) and a hydroxyl group bearing K’ group is not germane as the instant claims do not exclude either of these elements.
D) Applicant’s argument that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to combine Hedrick et al. and Englert since Englert produces polymers that lack mannose groups entirely is not persuasive. Hedrick et al. does not require mannose groups, paragraph 74 does not contain the word mannose, and mannose groups are one optional embodiment of the K’ groups. Other K’ groups can be present instead, such as the K’ groups highlighted in the rejection above (see para. 92 of Hedrick et al.). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not discard Englert for not mentioning mannose groups.
E) Applicant’s argument that the terminal disclaimer filed overcomes the double patenting rejection is not persuasive. The terminal disclaimer was not approved, as discussed below. However, the claims of application 18/253,649 were amended so that there is no longer overlapping scope between the instant application and the copending application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on August 18, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18/253,649 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted.
The terminal disclaimer does not comply with 37 CFR 1.321 because:
This application was filed on or after September 16, 2012. The person who signed the terminal disclaimer is not the applicant, the patentee or an attorney or agent of record. See 37 CFR 1.321(a) and (b). Please file a power of attorney that gives power to the attorney who is signing the terminal disclaimer, along with another copy of the terminal disclaimer that is signed by the applicant.
It should be noted that applicant is not required to pay another disclaimer fee as set forth in 37 CFR 1.20(d) when submitting a replacement or supplemental terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767