DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10/13/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 08/04/2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 8-10 are newly added. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First Argument:
Applicant argues Xu fails to satisfy the plain meaning of the claim language, and therefore, fails to teach or suggest claims 1 and 7. Specifically, this continuous maintenance of the sidelink connection is fundamentally different from the claimed sequence where the notification occurs specifically when the terminal enters the state where terminal-to-terminal communication becomes available.
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
In regards to the language of the claim, Applicant states that independent claim 1 recites, in part, “a communication system comprising a communication terminal that, once connected to a base station, enters a state in which terminal- to-terminal communication with another communication terminal is available. The communication terminal then notifies the base station connected of connection state information indicating that the communication terminal has entered this state.”
Examiner would like to direct Applicant’s attention to Xu, Fig. 1 and 2C, ¶0096, as shown at 108, the UE 204A attaches, i.e. establishes a cellular connection to the target network apparatus 202B by requesting to attach, to the target network apparatus 202B when detecting a sufficient cellular signal from the target network apparatus 202B, for example, when entering the coverage area 212B as shown in FIG. 2C. ¶0097 then states as shown at 110, the UE 204A reports to the target network apparatus 202B the link state information received from the UE 204B through the sidelink such that the target network apparatus is made aware of the presence of the UE 204B and its link state information. The UE 204A may forward the link state information of the UE 204B to the target network apparatus 202B while reporting its own link state information… Therefore, steps 108 and 110 in Fig. 1 show attachment to a network apparatus (connection to a base station), where terminal-to-terminal communication with another communication terminal is available through the maintained sidelink connection, in which ¶0085 states maintaining the sidelink between the UE 204A and the UE 204B may require setting up the sidelink by connecting and/or reconnecting the sidelink during the assisted handover process 100. The process of reconnecting a sidelink connection would indicate availability, and the base station would have been indicated prior to the assisted handover process that the communication terminal is capable of terminal-to-terminal communication due to the sidelink maintenance connection. The base station knows the terminal has entered the state in order to move forward with the assisted handover process.
Examiner would then like to direct Applicant’s attention to the below response to the second main argument regarding link state information. For further context, please see Xu, Fig. 2, 8 & ¶0159. This shows the communication terminal (UE) is notifying the base station (reporting link state information to the attached network apparatus) of connection state information (link state information which is established to include connection state information), which shows it provides indication that terminal-to-terminal communication with another communication is available since it is able to maintain a sidelink connection.
Independent claim 1 further recites, “based on this connection state information, the base station determines whether to change the connection destination of the communication terminal to another base station via a relay communication terminal.” Then, as cited, Examiner uses Xu, Fig. 1, 9 & ¶0059 - The link state information of the assisted UE may assist the attached network apparatus to identify connectivity condition(s) of the assisted UE(s) to determine if and/or when the assisted UE(s) may be handed over. Examiner also noted ¶0063, where it states the attached network apparatus may then decide, based on the conveyed link state information, when and whether to initiate the detachment, the handover and/or the attachment of the handed over UE(s).
Second Argument:
Applicant argues furthermore, the "link state information" described in Xu is different from the claimed "connection state information." Xu's link state information relates to "channel measurement(s) that may indicate among other indications, a quality and/or strength of the cellular signal and may include, for example, a signal arrival/departure time and/or angle, a timing difference between two signals, an RSRP, an RSRQ and other measurement related to the cellular channel."
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
In regards to the link state information in Xu, Examiner would like to note that in ¶0059, it states the assisting UE may receive link state information from the assisted UE(s), for example, channel measurements information and/or connectivity state information and may relay it to the attached network apparatus … The link state information of the assisted UE may assist the attached network apparatus to identify connectivity condition(s) of the assisted UE(s) to determine if and/or when the assisted UE(s) may be handed over, therefore information regarding the state of a connection is explicitly mentioned. Examiner also acknowledges ¶0080, where it states the link state information may include, for example, channel measurement(s) that may indicate among other indications, a quality and/or strength of the cellular signal and may include, for example, a signal arrival/departure time and/or angle, a timing difference between two signals, an RSRP, an RSRQ and other measurement related to the cellular channel, however, the following sentence(s) in ¶0080 further state the link state information may further include connectivity indications of the respective UE, for example, attach/detach information with respect to a respective network apparatus, quality of service (QoS) and/or the like. The first UE that periodically reports its link state information to the target network apparatuses may include the link state information received from the second UE to the reported information. Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the statement the "link state information" described in Xu is different from the claimed "connection state information” because connection state information is included.
Third Argument:
Applicant argues regarding claim 2, the Office has alleged that Feng discloses the communication terminal notifying the base station when terminal-to-terminal communication quality is better than base station communication quality. However, Feng teaches away from this claimed feature.
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Examiner would like to direct Applicant’s attention to Feng, Fig. 2 in which base station 21, terminal equipment 12 and the relay nodes mentioned in ¶0137 occur, but for further context, to see ¶0117 where it states the operation in S201 can be understood as an operation that the base station 21 configures the terminal equipment 12 to perform signal quality measurement, and specifically, the base station 21 configures the terminal equipment 12 to perform Uu and/or SL measurement. ¶0119 further states optionally, after receiving the configuration information, the terminal equipment 12 may perform signal quality measurement. In such a manner, the terminal equipment 12 may determine signal quality information between the terminal equipment 12 and the base station 21. ¶0127 - It can be understood that, when the configuration information in S201 is sent by the base station 21 in the broadcast form, the base station 21 may receive terminal information of multiple terminal equipment. Hence, Feng does not teach away from the claimed feature. As a result of the terminal determining signal quality, it then sends the terminal information (which includes signal quality information) to the base station in which the subsequent steps of cited ¶0137 can occur.
Fourth Argument:
Applicant argues neither Xu nor Kwon teaches or suggests the specific scenario recited in claim 6 where the communication terminal requests resource scheduling specifically for transmitting data to a core network via a relay communication terminal.
In response to applicant's argument, Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument, that neither Xu nor Kwon teaches or suggests the specific scenario recited in claim 6, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Kwon’s invention relates to a method and apparatus for direct communication in a wireless system. According to Kwon’s abstract, a base station receives a direct communication request message from a first terminal to request a direct communication with a second terminal without going through the base station, the base station then allocates resources to be used for the direct communication and transmits resource allocation information to the first and second terminals. For further context, page 2, ¶7 states for example, instead of communicating directly with a base station, a terminal may access a useful relay node nearby and transmit and receive data. Using a relay node, the terminal can obtain higher spectral efficiency with less power than when the terminal directly transmits data to the base station.
In Xu’s invention, Fig. 9, 13-14 and ¶0179 states a network apparatus such as the network apparatuses 202 executing the process 800 is connected to a network core such as the network core 1310. The network apparatuses 202, for example, the source network apparatus 202A and/or the target network apparatus 202B may provide connectivity to a cellular network for a plurality of UEs such as the UE 204. Xu establishes a network apparatus that is connected to a core network and provides connectivity for a plurality of UEs, and Kwon establishes a first terminal (first UE) requesting a base station for direct communication with a second terminal (second UE), where the base station responds to the request by transmitting resource allocation information to both UEs, therefore Xu sets the environment of a network apparatus (base station) connected to a first and second UE in a plurality of UEs in a core network, and Kwon teaches or suggests the communication terminal requesting resource scheduling via a relay node to transmit and receive data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2019/0223066), Xu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1,
Xu teaches a communication system comprising:
base stations; and (Fig. 1-2, 8-9);
a communication terminal to support terminal-to-terminal communication in which communication terminals directly communicate with each other, wherein (¶0084 - The UEs 204 are D2D enabled allowing each of the UEs 204 to communicate directly with one or more of the other UEs 204 over the sidelink channel (referred to as sidelink herein after). Please also see ¶0085);
once the communication terminal connected to a base station enters a state in which terminal-to-terminal communication with another communication terminal is available, the other communication terminal being served by another base station different from the base station connected, the communication terminal notifies the base station connected, of connection state information indicating that the communication terminal has entered the state, (¶0059 - The assisting UE may receive link state information from the assisted UE(s), for example, …connectivity state information and may relay it to the attached network apparatus. ¶0085 - However, through the entire process 100 the UE 204A continuously maintains the sidelink with the UE 204B such that the UE 204A and UE 204B may communicate with each other throughout the process 100 as shown in FIG. 2A through FIG. 2E);
the base station having received notification of the connection state information determines, on the basis of the connection state information, whether to change a connection destination of the communication terminal having notified the base station of the connection state information, (Fig. 1, 9 & ¶0059 - The link state information of the assisted UE may assist the attached network apparatus to identify connectivity condition(s) of the assisted UE(s) to determine if and/or when the assisted UE(s) may be handed over. Please also see ¶0063) to the other base station via a relay communication terminal, the relay communication terminal being served by the other base station, the relay communication terminal being the other communication terminal, and (¶0059 - The assisting UE (“relay communication terminal”) that is attached to an attached network apparatus, for example… the target network apparatus assists the handover by relaying information between the attached network apparatus and the (assisted) handed over UE(s) through the sidelink channel, for example, D2D communication supported by, for example, the 5G cellular network);
requests the communication terminal to release connection with the base station in response to determining to change the connection destination of the communication terminal having notified the base station of the connection state information, and (¶0099 - The first control information calculated by the target network apparatus 202B may be based on the evaluation conducted by the target network apparatus 202B based on the reported link state information of the UE 204B. The first control information may further include control information for the UE 204A and/or for the UE 204B, for example… instructing the UE 204B to detach from the source network apparatus 202A and/or the like);
in response to being requested by the base station connected to release the connection with the base station after notifying the base station of the connection state information, the communication terminal releases the connection with the base station, and connects to the other base station via the other communication terminal (¶0101 - The second control information may further include control information for the UE 204B, for example, instructing the UE 204B to attach to the target network apparatus 202B, instructing the UE 204B to detach from the source network apparatus 202A and/or the like. Please also see steps 124 and 126 in Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 3,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches the communication terminal notifies the base station of the connection state information when connection for performing the terminal-to-terminal communication with the relay communication terminal is completed, and upon receiving the notification of the connection state information, the base station requests the release of connection from the communication terminal having notified the base station of the connection state information (Fig. 1, 8 & ¶0161 - As shown at 804, the attached network apparatus 202 receives link state information reported by the attached assisting UE 204. The reported link state information may include link state information of the assisted UE 204 received by the assisting UE 204 through the sidelink with the assisted UE 204. The assisting UE 204 may include forward the link state information of the assisted UE 204 as part of its own reported link state information. ¶0163 - The first control information may further include control information for the assisting UE 204 and/or for the assisted UE 204, for example… instructing the assisted UE 204 to detach and/or the like. Please see steps 802-808 in Fig. 8).
Re. Claim 4,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches upon starting the terminal-to-terminal communication with the other communication terminal connected to the other base station different from the base station connected, the communication terminal notifies the base station connected, of the connection state information indicating that the terminal-to-terminal communication has started and communication quality of the terminal-to-terminal communication, (Fig. 1-2, 8-9 & ¶0080 - The link state information may include… a quality and/or strength of the cellular signal and may include, for example, a signal arrival/departure time and/or angle, a timing difference between two signals, an RSRP, an RSRQ and other measurement related to the cellular channel. ¶0161 - As shown at 804, the attached network apparatus 202 receives link state information reported by the attached assisting UE 204. The reported link state information may include link state information of the assisted UE 204 received by the assisting UE 204 through the sidelink with the assisted UE 204);
and the base station having received the notification of the connection state information and the communication quality determines, on the basis of the communication quality, whether to change the connection destination of the communication terminal having notified the base station of the connection state information and the communication quality, to the other base station to which the relay communication terminal that is the other communication terminal is connected, (¶0105 - Assuming the target network apparatus 202BA has sufficient cellular resources to serve the UE 204B, the UE 204A may be instructed by the target network apparatus 202B to further perform as the relay to transfer uplink and/or downlink data between the target network apparatus 202B and the UE 204B. ¶0109 - The source network apparatus 202A may instruct the UE 204B to take one of several actions with respect to reconnecting and/or maintaining the sidelink with the UE 204A and/or a handover of the UE 204B to the network apparatus 202B);
and in response to determining to change the connection destination of the communication terminal having notified the base station of the connection state information and the communication quality, causes a handover to be executed for changing the connection destination of the communication terminal to the other base station via the relay communication terminal (¶0111 - A second action taken by the source network infrastructure apparatus 202A may be performing a direct handover of the UE 204B to the target network infrastructure apparatus 202B. Please also see steps 122, 124 and 125 in Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 5,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches once the communication terminal served by the base station enters a state in which the terminal-to-terminal communication with the other communication terminal is available, the other communication terminal being served by the other base station different from the base station serving the communication terminal, the communication terminal receives, via the other communication terminal, system information transmitted from the other base station serving the other communication terminal, and operates according to the system information received (Fig. 1-2, 8-9 & ¶0080 - The first UE assists the second UE during the handover by forwarding information from the target network apparatus to the second UE and vice versa. The first UE may forward, for example, timing synchronization information and/or control information transmitted from the target network apparatus to the second UE. The control information may include, for example, instructions issued by the network apparatus to the UE(s), for example, sidelink maintain/discard, initiate attachment, initiate detachment and/or the like).
Re. Claim 7,
Xu teaches a communication terminal supporting terminal-to-terminal communication in which communication terminals directly communicate with each other, wherein (Fig. 1-2, 8-9 & ¶0084 - The UEs 204 are D2D enabled allowing each of the UEs 204 to communicate directly with one or more of the other UEs 204 over the sidelink channel (referred to as sidelink herein after). Please also see ¶0085);
once the communication terminal connected to a base station enters a state in which terminal-to-terminal communication with another communication terminal is available, the other communication terminal being served by another base station different from the base station connected, the communication terminal notifies the base station connected of connection state information indicating that the communication terminal has entered the state, and (¶0059 - The assisting UE may receive link state information from the assisted UE(s), for example, …connectivity state information and may relay it to the attached network apparatus. ¶0085 - However, through the entire process 100 the UE 204A continuously maintains the sidelink with the UE 204B such that the UE 204A and UE 204B may communicate with each other throughout the process 100 as shown in FIG. 2A through FIG. 2E);
in response to being requested by the base station connected to release connection with the base station after notifying the base station of the connection state information, the communication terminal releases the connection with the base station, and connects to the other base station via the other communication terminal (¶0101 - The second control information may further include control information for the UE 204B, for example, instructing the UE 204B to attach to the target network apparatus 202B, instructing the UE 204B to detach from the source network apparatus 202A and/or the like. Please also see steps 124 and 126 in Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 9,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches the base station transmits scheduling information for the terminal-to-terminal communication to the communication terminal, (Fig. 1-2, 5, 8-9 & ¶0080 - The first UE assists the second UE during the handover by forwarding information from the target network apparatus to the second UE and vice versa. The first UE may forward, for example, timing synchronization information and/or control information transmitted from the target network apparatus to the second UE);
and the communication terminal performs the terminal-to-terminal communication with the other communication terminal according to the scheduling information received from the base station (¶0165 - The attach request received from the assisted UE 204 may be based on the second control information received from the assisting UE 204 that in turn is based on the first control information received from the attached network apparatus … In such case, the assisted UE 204 may adapt the timing synchronization information, for example the TA provided by the attached network apparatus 202 and forwarded by the assisting UE 204).
Re. Claim 10,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches the communication terminal maintains synchronization with the base station while simultaneously maintaining the terminal-to-terminal communication with the other communication terminal, (Fig. 5 & ¶0129 - As shown at 504, simultaneously to maintaining the connection to the source network apparatus 202A, i.e. (remains attached), the UE 204B maintains the sidelink with the UE 204 that may not be attached to any network apparatus 202, in particular, the UE 204A is not attached to the source network apparatus 202A) and releases the synchronization with the base station only after establishing synchronization with the other base station via the other communication terminal (¶0137 - The second control information may include timing synchronization information, for example, the TA, for use by the UE 204A. The second control information may further include control information for the UE 204A, for example, instructing the UE 204A to attach to the target network apparatus 202B, instructing the UE 204A to detach from the source network apparatus 202A and/or the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, and further in view of Feng (US 2021/0084555), Feng hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches and upon receiving the notification of the connection state information, the base station requests the release of connection from the communication terminal having notified the base station of the connection state information (Fig. 1-2, 9 & ¶0099 - The first control information calculated by the target network apparatus 202B may be based on the evaluation conducted by the target network apparatus 202B based on the reported link state information of the UE 204B. The first control information may further include control information for the UE 204A and/or for the UE 204B, for example… instructing the UE 204B to detach from the source network apparatus 202A and/or the like);
Yet, Xu does not explicitly teach the communication terminal notifies the base station of the connection state information when communication quality of the terminal-to-terminal communication with the relay communication terminal is better than quality of communication with the base station connected;
However, in the analogous art, Feng explicitly teaches the communication terminal notifies the base station of the connection state information when communication quality of the terminal-to-terminal communication with the relay communication terminal is better than quality of communication with the base station connected, (Fig. 2 & ¶0137 - the base station 21 may determine the first relay node 11 as the relay for communication between the terminal equipment 12 and the base station 21 according to signal quality between the terminal equipment 12 and the base station 21, signal quality between the terminal equipment 12 and the first relay node 11 and signal quality between the first relay node 11 and the base station 21. For example, when the signal quality between the terminal equipment 12 and the base station 21 gets poor… but the signal quality between the terminal equipment 12 and the first relay node 11 and the signal quality between the first relay node 11 and the base station 21 are higher…, the base station 21 may determine the first relay node 11 as the relay for communication between the terminal equipment .12 and the base station 21. Please also see ¶0117, ¶0119 and ¶0127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Feng to the teaching of Xu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention describe how communication quality between the terminal equipment and the base station may be ensured (¶0046, Feng).
Re. Claim 8,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Xu does not explicitly teach the communication terminal determines whether to notify the base station of the connection state information based on a comparison between signal strength of the terminal-to-terminal communication with the other communication terminal and a predetermined threshold value, and notifies the base station only when the signal strength exceeds the predetermined threshold value.
However, in the analogous art, Feng explicitly teaches the communication terminal determines whether to notify the base station of the connection state information based on a comparison between signal strength of the terminal-to-terminal communication with the other communication terminal and a predetermined threshold value, (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0048 - the configuration information including the decision criterion, wherein the decision criterion may include at least one of a preset power threshold value or a preset load threshold value. ¶0120 - Optionally, after receiving the configuration information, the terminal equipment 12 mays further initiate a D2D discovery process, thereby determining the signal quality information between the terminal equipment 12 and the other terminal equipment in its vicinity. For example, the terminal equipment 12 may determine signal quality information with the other terminal equipment 11. Please also see ¶0167-¶0170);
and notifies the base station only when the signal strength exceeds the predetermined threshold value (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0141 - Optionally, the base station 21 may determine the first relay node 11 as the relay for communication between the terminal equipment 12 and the base station 21 according to the terminal information received in S202 and the relay information received in S203. For example, when the signal quality between the terminal equipment 12 and the first relay node 11 is high (for example, higher than a certain preset second threshold value) and power of the first relay node 11 is high (for example, higher than a certain preset power threshold value), the base station 21 may determine the first relay node 11 as the relay for communication between the terminal equipment 12 and the base station 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Feng to the teaching of Xu. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention describe how communication quality between the terminal equipment and the base station may be ensured (¶0046, Feng).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, and further in view of Kwon (WO2011132818A1), Kwon hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6,
Xu teaches Claim 1.
Xu further teaches in transmitting data to a core network when being connected to the other base station via the relay communication terminal, (Fig. 9, 13-14 & ¶0179 - A network apparatus such as the network apparatuses 202 executing the process 800 is connected to a network core such as the network core 1310. The network apparatuses 202, for example, the source network apparatus 202A and/or the target network apparatus 202B may provide connectivity to a cellular network for a plurality of UEs such as the UE 204);
Yet, Xu does not explicitly teach the communication terminal requests the other base station to schedule resources for the terminal-to-terminal communication in which the data is transmitted.
However, in the analogous art, Kwon explicitly teaches the communication terminal requests the other base station to schedule resources for the terminal-to-terminal communication in which the data is transmitted (Abstract - a base station receives a direct communication request message from a first terminal to request a direct communication with a second terminal without going through the base station, the base station then allocates resources to be used for the direct communication and transmits resource allocation information to the first and second terminals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Kwon to the teaching of Xu. The motivation would be because the invention relates to a wireless communication system, particularly to a method for direct communication in a wireless communication system (¶0001, Kwon).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465