DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunkle et al. 3639893.
In reference to claim 1, Kunkle teaches a connecting-finger connector (shown in figure 1), comprising: a first contact module (34) , comprising a first main body portion (near lead line 42) and a first contact portion (38) configured to be electrically connected to a connecting finger (64), the first contact portion being electrically connected to the first main body portion; and a connecting member (i.e. the housing of 10), provided with a mounting structure (i.e. the rear portion of 10; fig. 2) configured to connect an external terminal (70; fig. 1) to the first main body portion.
In reference to claim 2, Kunkle teaches wherein the first contact module is integrally formed, and the first main body portion and the first contact portion are connected by a bend (see fig. 3).
In reference to claim 3, Kunkle teaches wherein the first main body portion is arranged on an outer side of the connecting member (the housing of 10. See fig. 2, 3) and is provided with a first via hole (42; fig. 1) , the mounting structure is a connecting hole (62) provided with internal threads (pertaining to threads of the nut 50 mounted into 62), and the first via hole (42) is communicated with the connecting hole (62).
In reference to claim 6, Kunkle teaches wherein the first contact module comprises an abutting portion (32; fig. 2),the connecting member comprises a limiting portion (46; fig. 2), and the abutting portion abuts against the limiting portion to limit a displacement of the first contact module in an insertion direction of inserting the connecting finger into the connecting- finger connector.
In reference to claim 11, Kunkle teaches a power connection module (shown in figure 1), comprising a connecting-finger connector (10), wherein the connecting-finger connector comprises: a first contact module (34), comprising a first main body portion (near lead line 42) and a first contact portion (36) configured to be electrically connected to a connecting finger (64), the first contact portion (36) being electrically connected to the first main body portion; and a connecting member(i.e. the housing of 10), provided with a mounting structure (i.e. the rear portion of 10; fig. 2) configured to connect an external terminal (70) to the first main body portion.
Claims 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H08264242A (herein JP242).
In reference to claim 1, JP242 teaches a connecting-finger connector (shown in figure 2), comprising: a first contact module, comprising a first main body portion (8) and a first contact portion (15) configured to be electrically connected to a connecting finger (8a), the first contact portion being electrically connected to the first main body portion; and a connecting member (11; fig. 2), provided with a mounting structure (body of 11; fig. 2,3 ) configured to connect an external terminal to the first main body portion.
In reference to claim 12, JP242 teaches a power supply cabinet (not shown, but houses the modular controller shown in figure 1), comprising a power connection module (shown in figure 1), wherein the power connection module comprises a connecting-finger connector (shown in figure 2) comprising: a first contact module, comprising a first main body portion (8) and a first contact portion (15) configured to be electrically connected to a connecting finger (8a), the first contact portion being electrically connected to the first main body portion; and a connecting member (11; fig. 2), provided with a mounting structure (body of 11; fig. 2, 3) configured to connect an external terminal to the first main body portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP242 in view of DE 202020106219 (herein DE219).
In reference to claim 7, JP242 teaches wherein the first main body portion is a printed circuit board (see fig. 2, 3), and the first contact portion comprises a first signal contact region (front portion of 15) configured to be electrically connected to the connecting finger (see fig. 4) and a second signal contact region (rear portion of 15) configured to be electrically connected to the first main body portion (see fig. 3), the connecting member is a connector electrically connected to the first main body portion.
However JP242 does not teach the mounting structure is a socket arranged in the connecting member.
DE219 teaches the mounting structure is a socket (near lead line 416; fig. 9) arranged in the connecting member (400; fig. 9, 10). Using the teachings of DE219 to modify JP242 to arrive at the results of claim 7 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings DE219 to modify JP242 to arrive at the results of claim 7. The connecting member still connects to an external terminal, therefore new results are not produced.
Claims 8-10, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP242 and DE 202020106219 (herein DE219), further in view of WO 2013136751 A1 (herein WO751).
In reference to claim 8, JP242 substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However JP242 does not teach wherein the first main body portion is provided with a voltage dividing element configured to provide a voltage value for determining whether the first signal contact region is electrically connected to the connecting finger.
WO751 teaches of using a voltage dividing element (C2a; fig. 7B). Using the teaching of WO751 to modify JP242 to arrive at the results of claim 8 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of WO751 to modify JP242 in order to arrive at the results of claim 8. With a reasonable expectation of success, the voltage dividing element of WO751 to modify JP242 would yield the claimed “voltage value for determining whether the first signal contact region is electrically connected to the connecting finger”.
In reference to claim 9, JP242 teaches wherein the first main body portion is further provided with a signal connection terminal (pertaining to 10; fig. 2, 3) configured for cascade connection.
Regarding the limitation configured for cascade connection, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
In reference to claim 10, JP242 teaches wherein the first contact module further comprises a third contact portion (15 of the adjacent contacts housed in 9; fig. 2, 3), the third contact portion comprises a third signal contact region and a fourth signal contact region (similar to the top and bottom 15 shown in figure 4), the first signal contact region and the third signal contact region form a slot for holding the connecting finger (8a), and the second signal contact region and the fourth signal contact region form a slot for holding the first main body portion (8).
In reference to claim 15, JP242 teaches wherein the first contact module further comprises a third contact portion (15 of the adjacent contacts housed in 9; fig. 2, 3), the third contact portion comprises a third signal contact region and a fourth signal contact region (similar to the top and bottom 15 shown in figure 4), the first signal contact region and the third signal contact region form a slot for holding the connecting finger (8a), and the second signal contact region and the fourth signal contact region form a slot for holding the first main body portion (8).
In reference to claim 16, JP242 teaches wherein the first contact module further comprises a third contact portion (15 of the adjacent contacts housed in 9; fig. 2, 3), the third contact portion comprises a third signal contact region and a fourth signal contact region (similar to the top and bottom 15 shown in figure 4), the first signal contact region and the third signal contact region form a slot for holding the connecting finger (8a), and the second signal contact region and the fourth signal contact region form a slot for holding the first main body portion (8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 13, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 09/25/2025