DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10/24/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 08/01/2025. Independent claims 1, 28, 45 and 72 are amended. Claims 5-13, 15, 20, 22-27, 31-33, 38-44, 46, 48-57, 59, 64-71, 74-77 and 82-92 were cancelled earlier. Claims 14, 16, 34-35, 58, 60 and 78-79 are currently cancelled. Claims 93-100 are currently added. Therefore, claims 1-4, 17-19, 21, 28-30, 36-37, 45, 47, 61-63, 72-73, 80-81 and 93-100 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 17-18, 21, 28-30, 36-37, 45, 47, 61-62, 72-73 and 80-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA et al. (2024/0039669), KOSKELA hereinafter, in view of Islam et al. (2022/0159574 ), Islam hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 45, KOSKELA teaches a method (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0057-¶0058/¶0061/¶0074) of wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 7) for by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 120/122,Fig.7, 120, Fig. 9), and an apparatus (Fig.1, 120/122, Fig. 9) for wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 7) at a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1, 120/122, Fig.7, 120 ,Fig. 9): one or more memories (Fig. 9, 14); and one or more processors (Fig., 12), coupled to the one or more memories individually or in any combination configured to cause the apparatus (Fig. 9 & ¶0097-¶0102) to: receive, from a New Radio (NR) network node, an indication that includes a configuration for at least one reference signal (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0046 - UE 120 is a user equipment (camping) in a radio resource control, RRC, idle or inactive state. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0057 - UE may receive a configuration for transmission of SSBs during an SS-burst in a cell 102. This may be received over system information block 1, SIB1. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0058 - The RS configuration (also called RS resource configuration) may be carried to the UE in SIB… … the configuration of RS occasions to the IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs can be provided independently for each broadcast/SSB beam. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032)); and measure, while in an idle mode or inactive state, the at least one reference signal based at least in part on the indication of the configuration and based at least in part on the activation. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0046 - UE 120 is a user equipment (camping) in a radio resource control, RRC, idle or inactive state. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0057 - UE may receive a configuration for transmission of SSBs during an SS-burst in a cell 102. This may be received over system information block 1, SIB1. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0058 - The RS configuration (also called RS resource configuration) may be carried to the UE in SIB….… the configuration of RS occasions to the IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs can be provided independently for each broadcast/SSB beam. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0061 - In step 206, the UE may determine, based on the PI and the obtained PI configuration, whether a given reference signal occasion indicated by the at least one RS configuration carries a reference signal. Based on this determination the UE may advantageously decide either to monitor for the reference signal or not in the given RS occasion. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032). Fig. 1-8 & ¶0075 - the presence indicator may be provided (UE 120 may receive it) to UE 120 or UEs in RRC CONNECTED mode. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0077 - the PI is a one 1-bit indication indicating that TRS/CSI-RS are present for a group of SSBs that are under the same grouping parameter in ssb-PositionsInBurst. When the PI-bit is set, the UE determines that all the SSBs that are indicated to be transmitted within the same group (e.g. via grouping parameters (groupPresence/inOneGroup)) and have the TRS/CSI-RS occasion configured can be assumed to have the TRS/CSI-RS present.).
Yet, KOSKELA does not expressly teach receive, from the NR network node and via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message, an activation associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the activation includes a data structure that encodes a bit indicating activation and an index associated with the at least one reference signal;
However, in the analogous art, Islam explicitly discloses receive, from the NR network node and via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message (Fig. 1-20 & ¶0219 - One or more UE-specific configurations can be dynamically indicated in the UE-specific fields. Such configurations can include one or more of the following: a Ngap or an offset to the start position of ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, e.g., drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer; ON duration for PDCCH monitoring; Fig. 1-20 & ¶0220 - UE-specific field may have 2 bits which may be configured according to Table 4. In this table, A given value of Ngap, ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, or bandwidth part ID can be chosen/mapped to the corresponding bit value labels from a set of supported values of the parameters. Also, see claim 3, which recites, “wherein the monitoring comprises: receiving, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a downlink control information (DCI) message; and detecting the wake-up signal within the DCI message.”, claim 8, “wherein the DCI message is associated with a group-common DCI format, and wherein the UE is one of a plurality of UEs, and each of the plurality of UEs is configured to monitor for the group-common DCI format, and wherein the group-common DCI format comprises a UE-specific field that indicates whether the UE is to wake up.”, claim 10, “wherein the group-common DCI format includes one or more UE-specific bits that map to one or more of: a wake-up indication, cross-slot scheduling configuration, trigger for a reference signal, indication of an uplink resource for channel state report, activation of a cell, deactivation of a cell, activation of a carrier, deactivation of a carrier, trigger for BWP switching, PDCCH decoding information, DRX configuration, or an indication of a number of DRX cycles to be skipped or active.” ), an activation associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the activation includes a data structure that encodes a bit indicating activation and an index associated with the at least one reference signal (Fig. 1-20 & ¶0006 - group-common DCI format includes one or more UE-specific bits that map to one or more of: a wake-up indication, cross-slot scheduling configuration, trigger for a reference signal, indication of an uplink resource for channel state report, activation of a cell, deactivation of a cell, activation of a carrier, deactivation of a carrier, trigger for BWP switching, PDCCH decoding information, DRX configuration, or an indication of a number of DRX cycles to be skipped or active. Fig. 1-20 & ¶0219 - One or more UE-specific configurations can be dynamically indicated in the UE-specific fields. Such configurations can include one or more of the following: a Ngap or an offset to the start position of ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, e.g., drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer; ON duration for PDCCH monitoring; Fig. 1-20 & ¶0220 - UE-specific field may have 2 bits which may be configured according to Table 4. In this table, A given value of Ngap, ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, or bandwidth part ID can be chosen/mapped to the corresponding bit value labels from a set of supported values of the parameters. See Table 4 below along with claims 3, 8 and 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system to include Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in monitoring wake up signal with reduced complexities and improved power consumption of the user equipment operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0235, Islam)
Re. Claim 2, KOSKELA and Islam teach claim 1.
KOSKELA further teaches wherein the one or more processors individually or in any combination are further configured to cause the apparatus (Fig. 9 & ¶0097-¶0102) to: monitor a next paging occasion associated with the UE based at least in part on measurement of the at least one reference signal (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0071 - the presence indicator (PI) is received in an early paging indicator message (EPI/PEI). For NR idle/inactive-mode paging enhancement, paging early indication before paging occasion (PO) may be supported. Paging early indication before a target PO, may also be referred as wake up signalling (WUS) or DCP (DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI), and may be used for indicating to the UE whether the UE needs to wake up to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) at the PO. In other words, the EPI/PEI may indicate to a UE whether it will be or may be paged on a PO associated with the EPI/PEI.).
Re. claims 28 and 72, KOSKELA teaches a method (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0057-¶0058/¶0061/¶0074) of wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 7) for by a network node (Fig.1, 110/112, Fig.7, 110, Fig. 10), and an apparatus (Fig.1, 110/112, Fig.7, 110, Fig. 10) for wireless communication (Fig. 1/Fig. 7) at a network node (Fig.1, 110/112, Fig.7, 110, Fig. 10), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 10, 54); and one or more processors (Fig. 10, 52), coupled to the one or more memories, and individually or in any combination configured to cause the apparatus (Fig. 10 & ¶0103-¶0108) to: transmit, to a New Radio (NR) user equipment (UE), an indication that includes a configuration for at least one reference signal (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0046 - UE 120 is a user equipment (camping) in a radio resource control, RRC, idle or inactive state. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0057 - UE may receive a configuration for transmission of SSBs during an SS-burst in a cell 102. This may be received over system information block 1, SIB1. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0058 - The RS configuration (also called RS resource configuration) may be carried to the UE in SIB… … the configuration of RS occasions to the IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs can be provided independently for each broadcast/SSB beam. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032)); and transmit, to the NR UE while the NR UE is in an idle mode or inactive state, the at least one reference signal based at least in part on the indication of the configuration and based at least in part on the activation(Fig. 1-8 & ¶0046 - UE 120 is a user equipment (camping) in a radio resource control, RRC, idle or inactive state. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0057 - UE may receive a configuration for transmission of SSBs during an SS-burst in a cell 102. This may be received over system information block 1, SIB1. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0058 - The RS configuration (also called RS resource configuration) may be carried to the UE in SIB….… the configuration of RS occasions to the IDLE/INACTIVE mode UEs can be provided independently for each broadcast/SSB beam. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0061 - In step 206, the UE may determine, based on the PI and the obtained PI configuration, whether a given reference signal occasion indicated by the at least one RS configuration carries a reference signal. Based on this determination the UE may advantageously decide either to monitor for the reference signal or not in the given RS occasion. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032). Fig. 1-8 & ¶0075 - the presence indicator may be provided (UE 120 may receive it) to UE 120 or UEs in RRC CONNECTED mode. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0077 - the PI is a one 1-bit indication indicating that TRS/CSI-RS are present for a group of SSBs that are under the same grouping parameter in ssb-PositionsInBurst. When the PI-bit is set, the UE determines that all the SSBs that are indicated to be transmitted within the same group (e.g. via grouping parameters (groupPresence/inOneGroup)) and have the TRS/CSI-RS occasion configured can be assumed to have the TRS/CSI-RS present.).
Yet, KOSKELA does not expressly teach transmit, to the NR UE and via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message, an activation associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the activation includes a data structure that encodes a bit indicating activation and an index associated with the at least one reference signal;
However, in the analogous art, Islam explicitly discloses transmit, to the NR UE and via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message (Fig. 1-20 & ¶0219 - One or more UE-specific configurations can be dynamically indicated in the UE-specific fields. Such configurations can include one or more of the following: a Ngap or an offset to the start position of ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, e.g., drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer; ON duration for PDCCH monitoring; Fig. 1-20 & ¶0220 - UE-specific field may have 2 bits which may be configured according to Table 4. In this table, A given value of Ngap, ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, or bandwidth part ID can be chosen/mapped to the corresponding bit value labels from a set of supported values of the parameters. Also, see claim 3, which recites, “wherein the monitoring comprises: receiving, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a downlink control information (DCI) message; and detecting the wake-up signal within the DCI message.”, claim 8, “wherein the DCI message is associated with a group-common DCI format, and wherein the UE is one of a plurality of UEs, and each of the plurality of UEs is configured to monitor for the group-common DCI format, and wherein the group-common DCI format comprises a UE-specific field that indicates whether the UE is to wake up.”, claim 10, “wherein the group-common DCI format includes one or more UE-specific bits that map to one or more of: a wake-up indication, cross-slot scheduling configuration, trigger for a reference signal, indication of an uplink resource for channel state report, activation of a cell, deactivation of a cell, activation of a carrier, deactivation of a carrier, trigger for BWP switching, PDCCH decoding information, DRX configuration, or an indication of a number of DRX cycles to be skipped or active.”), an activation associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the activation includes a data structure that encodes a bit indicating activation and an index associated with the at least one reference signal (Fig. 1-20 & ¶0006 - group-common DCI format includes one or more UE-specific bits that map to one or more of: a wake-up indication, cross-slot scheduling configuration, trigger for a reference signal, indication of an uplink resource for channel state report, activation of a cell, deactivation of a cell, activation of a carrier, deactivation of a carrier, trigger for BWP switching, PDCCH decoding information, DRX configuration, or an indication of a number of DRX cycles to be skipped or active. Fig. 1-20 & ¶0219 - One or more UE-specific configurations can be dynamically indicated in the UE-specific fields. Such configurations can include one or more of the following: a Ngap or an offset to the start position of ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, e.g., drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer; ON duration for PDCCH monitoring; Fig. 1-20 & ¶0220 - UE-specific field may have 2 bits which may be configured according to Table 4. In this table, A given value of Ngap, ON duration for PDCCH monitoring, or bandwidth part ID can be chosen/mapped to the corresponding bit value labels from a set of supported values of the parameters. See Table 4 below along with claims 3, 8 and 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system to include Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in monitoring wake up signal with reduced complexities and improved power consumption of the user equipment operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0235, Islam)
Re. Claims 3, 29, 47 and 73, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1, 28, 45 and 72.
KOSKELA further teaches wherein the at least one reference signal includes a tracking reference signal (TRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a combination thereof. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032)).
Re. Claims 4 and 30, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1 and 28.
KOSKELA further teaches wherein the indication of the configuration is included in a system information block (SIB) message. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032))
Re. Claims 17, 36, 61 and 80, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1, 28, 45 and 72.
KOSKELA further teaches wherein the activation indicates that the at least one reference signal will be transmitted once before a next paging occasion for the UE (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0071 - the presence indicator (PI) is received in an early paging indicator message (EPI/PEI). For NR idle/inactive-mode paging enhancement, paging early indication before paging occasion (PO) may be supported. Paging early indication before a target PO, may also be referred as wake up signalling (WUS) or DCP (DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI), and may be used for indicating to the UE whether the UE needs to wake up to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) at the PO. In other words, the EPI/PEI may indicate to a UE whether it will be or may be paged on a PO associated with the EPI/PEI. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0092 - the presence information/indicator (PI) is provided UE-group specifically. In this way, a group of UEs is provided with information indicating whether or not a given TRS/CSI-RS is present. This may take place before their paging occasion(s), for example in the early paging indication (EPI/PEI). Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), a plurality of times before a plurality of paging occasions, or periodically until deactivation.
Re. Claims 18 and 62, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1 and 45.
KOSKELA further teaches receiving, from the NR network node base station, a deactivation associated with the at least one reference signal (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032). Fig. 1-8 & ¶0077 - the PI is a one 1-bit indication indicating that TRS/CSI-RS are present for a group of SSBs that are under the same grouping parameter in ssb-PositionsInBurst….. On the other hand, when UE detects that the bit is not set (or is set to ‘0’), the UE 120 may assume that none of the TRS/CSI-RS occasions are present for the whole group of SSBs).
Re. Claim 21, KOSKELA and Islam teach claim 18.
KOSKELA further teaches wherein the deactivation is included in an SIB message, a paging early indication (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032). Fig. 1-8 & ¶0077 - the PI is a one 1-bit indication indicating that TRS/CSI-RS are present for a group of SSBs that are under the same grouping parameter in ssb-PositionsInBurst….. On the other hand, when UE detects that the bit is not set (or is set to ‘0’), the UE 120 may assume that none of the TRS/CSI-RS occasions are present for the whole group of SSBs. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), a paging PDCCH message, or a combination thereof.
Re. Claims 37 and 81, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 28 and 72.
KOSKELA further teaches transmitting, to the NR UE, a deactivation associated with the at least one reference signal. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator (PI) is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032) may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110 (e.g., 5G/NR, see ¶0012/¶0031-¶0032). Fig. 1-8 & ¶0077 - the PI is a one 1-bit indication indicating that TRS/CSI-RS are present for a group of SSBs that are under the same grouping parameter in ssb-PositionsInBurst….. On the other hand, when UE detects that the bit is not set (or is set to ‘0’), the UE 120 may assume that none of the TRS/CSI-RS occasions are present for the whole group of SSBs).
Claims 19 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of Islam, further in view of WU et al. (2022/0046585), WU hereinafter.
Re. Claims 19 and 63, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 18 and 62.
Yet, KOSKELA does not expressly teach wherein the one or more processors individually or in any combination are configured to cause the apparatus to: refrain from measuring the at least one reference signal based at least in part on the deactivation.
However, in the analogous art, WU explicitly discloses wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 3A, 340) individually or in any combination are configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 3A & ¶0078-¶0084): refrain from measuring the at least one reference signal based at least in part on the deactivation (Fig. 5-11 & ¶0130 - PEI may indicate in advance whether there is a paging message to be transmitted on one PO, for example, the PEI may indicate with 1-bit information. …As shown in FIG. 5, the PEI can indicate that there is a paging message to be transmitted on the corresponding PO, for example, it can be indicated by the value “1” in 1-bit information, and when the UE receives the PEI, the corresponding action of the UE is to monitor the PO; in addition, the PEI can indicate that there is no paging message to be transmitted on the corresponding PO, for example, it can be indicated by the value “0” in 1-bit information, when the UE receives the PEI, the corresponding action of the UE is to skip this PO, that is, not to monitor this PO.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system and Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system to include WU’s invention of a system and a method for performing paging in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in monitoring paging message by a user equipment (UE) by eliminating monitoring any specific paging occasion (PO), in turns, reduces power consumption of the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0017, WU)
Claims 93 and 96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of Islam, further in view of Ji et al. (2020/0145918), Ji hereinafter, further in view of He et al. (2023/0254081), He hereinafter
Re. Claims 93 and 96, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1 and 45.
Yet, KOSKELA and Islam do not expressly teach receiving, from the NR network node, an indication that includes a time window associated with transmission of the at least one reference signal, wherein the time window comprises a duration before a paging occasion, wherein the at least one reference signal is measured within the time window.
However, in the analogous art, Ji explicitly discloses receiving, from the NR network node, an indication that includes a time window associated with transmission of the at least one reference signal, wherein the time window comprises a duration before a paging occasion (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0093 - base station may transmit reference signal information (e.g., TRS and/or CSI-RS) before (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 slots) or during a DRX paging occasion. Similar to above descriptions regarding CDRX, this behavior may be implicit or predefined by the standard or may be explicitly specified during DRX configuration, e.g., as an index pointing to a quasi co-located (QCL) SSB, as a generic indication that reference signal information will be transmitted, specifying a number of slots before or after the beginning of the paging occasion, etc.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system and Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system to include Ji’s invention of a system and a method for performing power saving for a wireless device in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in performing power saving for a UE (User Equipment) for receiving a plurality of reference signal information (e.g., TRS and/or CSI-RS) in different RRC state (e.g., Connected mode, idle/Inactive mode) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0092-¶0093, Ji)
Yet, KOSKELA, Islam and Ji do not expressly teach wherein the at least one reference signal is measured within the time window.
However, in the analogous art, He explicitly discloses wherein the at least one reference signal is measured within the time window. (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0140 - For example, as shown in FIG. 5, the terminal device detects the common PDCCH in the monitoring occasion of the common PDCCH and acquires the resource information of the reference signal based on the target information carried by the common PDCCH. The terminal device may monitor the reference signal within one monitoring time interval of the reference signal.. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0152 - For example, as shown in FIG. 6, the terminal device detects the common PDCCH in the monitoring occasion of the common PDCCH, and acquires the monitoring occasion information of the reference signal based on the target information carried by the common PDCCH. The terminal device may monitor the reference signal within one monitoring time interval of the reference signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system and Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a system and a method for performing power saving for a wireless device in a wireless communication system to include He’s invention of a system and a method for indicating resource information of reference signal and monitoring occasion information of the reference signal to a user equipment (UE) in idle/active RRC state operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism with reduced system overhead along with good backward compatibility for receiving the resource information of the reference signal by the UE operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0020, He)
Claims 94 and 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of Islam, further in view of Tayeb et al. (2022/0174593), Tayeb hereinafter.
Re. Claims 94 and 97, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1 and 45.
Yet, KOSKELA and Islam do not expressly teach remove the configuration from the one or more memories based at least in part on expiry of a timer, transitioning to a connected state, establishing a connection with a new serving cell, or an indication from the NR network node.
However, in the analogous art, Tayeb explicitly discloses remove the configuration from the one or more memories based at least in part on expiry of a timer, transitioning to a connected state, establishing a connection with a new serving cell (Fig. 6 & ¶0134 - UE determines that the second timer has expired (step 608). Once the second timer expires, the UE deletes the idle mode measurements (e.g., deletes a report(s) containing the idle mode measurements) and, in some embodiments, the idle mode measurement configuration (step 610). By deleting the idle mode measurements, the UE ensures that the idle mode measurements (which now may be too old) are not reported to the network when the UE transitions from the dormant state back to the connected state. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” in the limitation), or an indication from the NR network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system and Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system to include Tayeb’s invention of a system and a method for determining the validity of idle mode measurements in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for determining that one or more idle mode measurement reports are invalid based on validity time value and deleting the one or more idle mode measurement reports after determining that the one or more idle mode measurement reports are invalid based on the validity time value in the wireless communication system. (¶0046, Tayeb)
Claims 95 and 98 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of Islam, further in view of Hakola et al. (2021/0051590), Hakola hereinafter.
Re. Claims 95 and 98, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 1 and 45.
Yet, KOSKELA and Islam do not expressly teach measure the at least one reference signal, using blind detection, outside a time window indicated in the configuration for the at least one reference signal.
However, in the analogous art, Hakola explicitly discloses measure the at least one reference signal, using blind detection, outside a time window indicated in the configuration for the at least one reference signal. (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0039 - During the configuration (300), the UE 104 can configure discontinuous reception (DRX), such as long DRX configurations and/or short DRX configurations. During the configuration (300), the UE 104 can configure monitoring occasions 204, such as PDCCH monitoring occasions, both during and/or inside the active time 218 and outside, and/or before and after, the active time 218. During the configuration (300), the UE 104 can configure adaptations, such as bandwidth part (BWP) switching 216, aperiodic channel state information reference signal (A-CSI-RS) measurement and reporting triggering 212, aperiodic tracking reference signal (A-TRS-X) triggering 214, and component carrier activation. The base station 102 can indicate the adaptations to configure outside the active time 218, such as via a PDCCH-based power-saving channel, and/or during blind detection 206 and/or trigger reception 208.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system and Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system to include Hakola’s invention of a system and a method for extending active state of a User Equipment (UE) by determining an adaptation based on a wakeup signal in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for detecting a PDCCH-based power-saving signal in the wireless communication system. (¶0039-¶0040, Hakola)
Claims 99 and 100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of Islam, further in view of Ji.
Re. Claims 99 and 100, KOSKELA and Islam teach claims 28 and 72.
Yet, KOSKELA and Islam do not expressly teach transmitting, to the NR UE, an indication that includes a time window associated with transmission of the at least one reference signal, wherein the time window comprises a duration before a paging occasion.
However, in the analogous art, Ji explicitly discloses transmitting, to the NR UE, an indication that includes a time window associated with transmission of the at least one reference signal, wherein the time window comprises a duration before a paging occasion (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0093 - base station may transmit reference signal information (e.g., TRS and/or CSI-RS) before (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 slots) or during a DRX paging occasion. Similar to above descriptions regarding CDRX, this behavior may be implicit or predefined by the standard or may be explicitly specified during DRX configuration, e.g., as an index pointing to a quasi co-located (QCL) SSB, as a generic indication that reference signal information will be transmitted, specifying a number of slots before or after the beginning of the paging occasion, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive users in a wireless communication system and Islam’s invention of a system and a method for control channel signaling for user equipment (UE) power saving in a wireless communication system to include Ji’s invention of a system and a method for performing power saving for a wireless device in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in performing power saving for a UE (User Equipment) in receiving a plurality of reference signal information (e.g., TRS and/or CSI-RS) in different RRC state (e.g., Connected mode, idle/Inactive mode) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0092-¶0093, Ji)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/24/2025 for 35 USC §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks at page 13 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that KOSKELA fails to teach, “receive, from the NR network node and via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message, an activation associated with the at least one reference signal, wherein the activation includes a data structure that encodes a bit indicating activation and an index associated with the at least one reference signal.”, examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Islam (2022/0159574 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference) discloses these limitations as mapped in the §103 rejection.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 1 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of Islam (2022/0159574 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 28 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOSKELA, in view of in view of Islam (2022/0159574 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 28, 45 and 72, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467