DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments filed on 5/19/2023.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 10/24/2025.
Independent claims 1, 10, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 11-16, filed 12/8/2025, with respect to Claims 1, 10 and 15 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) that includes a RIS nor describes joint transmission/reception, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claims 1, 10, and 15. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation of an APD including a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Further, instant application Wang et al. (US 20240014860 A1; hereinafter Wang) defines an RIS as “including configurable surface materials that shape how incident signals striking the surface of the materials are transformed…the configuration of the surface materials can affect the phase, amplitude, and/or polarization of the transformed signal as well as its reflected beam direction and reflected beamwidth (¶23).”
Here, Dutta et al. (US 20230361948 A1; hereinafter Dutta) in ¶85 discloses beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device to shape or steer an antenna along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device where the adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device.
Further, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Here, Dutta was relied upon to disclose previous Claims 1, 10, and 15. As provided in the previous office action Dutta in ¶96 discloses that a UE may signal an indication of the simultaneous transmission over a control channel to a receiving UE and may also determine a set of resources for joint transmission.
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 5-8, 10, 14-15, and 19-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dutta et al. (US 20230361948 A1; hereinafter Dutta).
Regarding Claim 1, Dutta disclose(s):
A method performed by a base station for using an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) in an intra-user equipment-coordination set (intra-UECS) communication path, the APD being an apparatus that includes a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for use in a communication path between user equipments (UEs) in a user equipment-coordination set (UECS) and/or between the base station and one or more UEs in the UECS, the method comprising:
selecting an APD for use by a user equipment-coordination set, UECS, in one or more intra-UECS communication paths, the UECS comprising multiple UEs configured to perform joint transmission and/or joint reception of communications for a target UE; [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0083] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may be equipped with multiple antennas, which may be used to employ techniques such as transmit diversity, receive diversity, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications, or beamforming. The antennas of a base station 105 or a UE 115 may be located within one or more antenna arrays or antenna panels, which may support MIMO operations or transmit or receive beamforming. For example, one or more base station antennas or antenna arrays may be co-located at an antenna assembly, such as an antenna tower. In some examples, antennas or antenna arrays associated with a base station 105 may be located in diverse geographic locations. A base station 105 may have an antenna array with a number of rows and columns of antenna ports that the base station 105 may use to support beamforming of communications with a UE 115. Likewise, a UE 115 may have one or more antenna arrays that may support various MIMO or beamforming operations. Additionally or alternatively, an antenna panel may support radio frequency beamforming for a signal transmitted via an antenna port.
[0084] The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing or space-division multiplexing (SDM). The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Likewise, the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Each of the multiple signals may be referred to as a separate spatial stream and may carry bits associated with the same data stream (e.g., the same codeword) or different data streams (e.g., different codewords). Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0088] In some examples, transmissions by a device (e.g., by a base station 105 or a UE 115) may be performed using multiple beam directions, and the device may use a combination of digital precoding or radio frequency beamforming to generate a combined beam for transmission (e.g., from a base station 105 to a UE 115). The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
[0089] A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals. For example, a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets (e.g., different directional listening weight sets) applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, or by processing received signals according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, any of which may be referred to as “listening” according to different receive configurations or receive directions. In some examples, a receiving device may use a single receive configuration to receive along a single beam direction (e.g., when receiving a data signal). The single receive configuration may be aligned in a beam direction determined based on listening according to different receive configuration directions (e.g., a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions).
[0094] The wireless communications system 200 may support sidelink communications. Examples of sidelink communication may be D2D communication, V2V communication, V2X communication and the like. In some examples, a UE may communicate with other UEs via sidelink communication using multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs). For example, UE 115-a may communicate with UE 115-b, UE 115-c, and UE 115-d via TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Alternatively, a UE may communicate with a single TRP. For example, UE 115-b may communicate via TRP 205-c and UE 115-c may communicate via TRP 205-d. TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b may utilize different radio frequency (RF) modules with a shared hardware and/or software controller and may be separated by some distance (e.g., a distance of three to four meters for cars and a distance of approximately twenty meters for trailers). In some examples, TRP 205-a may view a channel differently than TRP 205-b. This may due to the distance separating TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Distance between TRPs may cause a multi-TRP UE to receive signals from the same UE in different ways. For example, signal 210-a and signal 210-b may be transmitted from UE 115-b via TRP 205-c. Signal 210-a from UE 115-b to TRP 205-a may be classified as an NLoS signal and signal 210-b may be classified as an LoS signal. NLoS are transmissions across a path that is at least partially obstructed or reflected and LoS are transmissions across a path that has no or minimal obstruction. As such, signal 210-b may reflect off object 215-a to reach TRP 205-a, whereas signal 210-a may be capable of reaching TRP 205-b without reflection. In another example, both signal 210-c and signal 210-d may be classified as NLoS. However, unlike signal 210-c that has object 215-b to reflect off of to reach TRP 205-a, signal 210-d does not and thus, signal 210-c is obstructed by UE 115-d.
]
communicating APD information about the APD to a coordinating user equipment (UE) of the UECS; [(see Dutta ¶63; ¶68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0089] A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals. For example, a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets (e.g., different directional listening weight sets) applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, or by processing received signals according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, any of which may be referred to as “listening” according to different receive configurations or receive directions. In some examples, a receiving device may use a single receive configuration to receive along a single beam direction (e.g., when receiving a data signal). The single receive configuration may be aligned in a beam direction determined based on listening according to different receive configuration directions (e.g., a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions).
]
apportioning APD-access to the APD for the UECS; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0077] In some examples, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 over a device-to-device (D2D) communication link 135 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or D2D protocol). One or more UEs 115 utilizing D2D communications may be within the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105. Other UEs 115 in such a group may be outside the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105 or be otherwise unable to receive transmissions from a base station 105. In some examples, groups of the UEs 115 communicating via D2D communications may utilize a one-to-many (1:M) system in which each UE 115 transmits to every other UE 115 in the group. In some examples, a base station 105 facilitates the scheduling of resources for D2D communications. In other cases, D2D communications are carried out between the UEs 115 without the involvement of a base station 105.
[0080] Some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity 140, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access network entity 140 may communicate with the UEs 115 through one or more other access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). Each access network transmission entity 145 may include one or more antenna panels. In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and ANCs) or consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105).
[0084] The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing or space-division multiplexing (SDM). The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Likewise, the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Each of the multiple signals may be referred to as a separate spatial stream and may carry bits associated with the same data stream (e.g., the same codeword) or different data streams (e.g., different codewords). Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.
]
indicating the apportioned APD-access to the coordinating UE of the UECS. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶79-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0080] Some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity 140, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access network entity 140 may communicate with the UEs 115 through one or more other access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). Each access network transmission entity 145 may include one or more antenna panels. In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and ANCs) or consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105).
[0086] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may use beam sweeping techniques as part of beam forming operations. For example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels) to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105.
[0096] In order to support simultaneous SDM transmissions via two or more TRPs, UE 115-a may signal an indication of the simultaneous transmission over a control channel (e.g., PSCCH) to a receiving UE 115. UE 115-a may determine a set of resources for joint transmission. If two or more packets are determined to be SDMed, the multi-TRP capable UE may map the two or more packet to two or more spatial layers, where each spatial layer corresponds to a respective TRP 205 used for transmission of that spatial layer. For example, UE 115-a may map a first packet to a first layer corresponding to TRP 205-a and map a second packet to a second layer corresponding to TRP 205-b…
]
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
selecting a surface configuration for the APD based on downlink or uplink communications with the UECS; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0083] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may be equipped with multiple antennas, which may be used to employ techniques such as transmit diversity, receive diversity, multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) communications, or beamforming. The antennas of a base station 105 or a UE 115 may be located within one or more antenna arrays or antenna panels, which may support MIMO operations or transmit or receive beamforming. For example, one or more base station antennas or antenna arrays may be co-located at an antenna assembly, such as an antenna tower. In some examples, antennas or antenna arrays associated with a base station 105 may be located in diverse geographic locations. A base station 105 may have an antenna array with a number of rows and columns of antenna ports that the base station 105 may use to support beamforming of communications with a UE 115. Likewise, a UE 115 may have one or more antenna arrays that may support various MIMO or beamforming operations. Additionally or alternatively, an antenna panel may support radio frequency beamforming for a signal transmitted via an antenna port.
[0086] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may use beam sweeping techniques as part of beam forming operations. For example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels) to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105.
[0088] In some examples, transmissions by a device (e.g., by a base station 105 or a UE 115) may be performed using multiple beam directions, and the device may use a combination of digital precoding or radio frequency beamforming to generate a combined beam for transmission (e.g., from a base station 105 to a UE 115). The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
]
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited claim 1 further comprising:
receiving, from the coordinating UE of the UECS, a surface configuration determined by the coordinating UE; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0086] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may use beam sweeping techniques as part of beam forming operations. For example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels) to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105.
[0087] Some signals, such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115). In some examples, the beam direction associated with transmissions along a single beam direction may be determined based on a signal that was transmitted in one or more beam directions. For example, a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality.
]
directing the APD to update a surface of the APD using the surface configuration determined by the coordinating UE. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0086] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may use beam sweeping techniques as part of beam forming operations. For example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels) to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105.
[0087] Some signals, such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115). In some examples, the beam direction associated with transmissions along a single beam direction may be determined based on a signal that was transmitted in one or more beam directions. For example, a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality. ]
Regarding Claim 7, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 6, wherein directing the APD to update the surface of the APD further comprises:
directing the APD to update the surface of the APD based on the apportioned APD-access. [
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0086] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may use beam sweeping techniques as part of beam forming operations. For example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels) to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105.
[0087] Some signals, such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115). In some examples, the beam direction associated with transmissions along a single beam direction may be determined based on a signal that was transmitted in one or more beam directions. For example, a UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the base station 105 in different directions and may report to the base station 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality or an otherwise acceptable signal quality.
]
communicating the surface configuration to the coordinating UE of the UECS. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
Regarding Claim 8, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein selecting the APD for use by the UECS further comprises:
receiving, from the coordinating UE, a request to use the APD in the one or more intra- UECS communication paths. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0077] In some examples, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 over a device-to-device (D2D) communication link 135 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or D2D protocol). One or more UEs 115 utilizing D2D communications may be within the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105. Other UEs 115 in such a group may be outside the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105 or be otherwise unable to receive transmissions from a base station 105. In some examples, groups of the UEs 115 communicating via D2D communications may utilize a one-to-many (1:M) system in which each UE 115 transmits to every other UE 115 in the group. In some examples, a base station 105 facilitates the scheduling of resources for D2D communications. In other cases, D2D communications are carried out between the UEs 115 without the involvement of a base station 105.
]
Regarding Claim 10, Dutta disclose(s):
A method performed by a coordinating user equipment (UE) in a user equipment- coordination set (UECS) for using an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) in an intra-UECS communication path, the APD being an apparatus that includes a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for use in a communication path between user equipments (UEs) in a user equipment-coordination set (UECS) and/or between the base station and one or more UEs in the UECS, the method comprising:
identifying a condition that indicates to utilize an APD in one or more intra-UECS communication paths between at least two UEs included in the UECS, the UECS comprising multiple UEs configured to perform joint transmission and/or joint reception of communications for a target UE; [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0094] The wireless communications system 200 may support sidelink communications. Examples of sidelink communication may be D2D communication, V2V communication, V2X communication and the like. In some examples, a UE may communicate with other UEs via sidelink communication using multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs). For example, UE 115-a may communicate with UE 115-b, UE 115-c, and UE 115-d via TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Alternatively, a UE may communicate with a single TRP. For example, UE 115-b may communicate via TRP 205-c and UE 115-c may communicate via TRP 205-d. TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b may utilize different radio frequency (RF) modules with a shared hardware and/or software controller and may be separated by some distance (e.g., a distance of three to four meters for cars and a distance of approximately twenty meters for trailers). In some examples, TRP 205-a may view a channel differently than TRP 205-b. This may due to the distance separating TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Distance between TRPs may cause a multi-TRP UE to receive signals from the same UE in different ways. For example, signal 210-a and signal 210-b may be transmitted from UE 115-b via TRP 205-c. Signal 210-a from UE 115-b to TRP 205-a may be classified as an NLoS signal and signal 210-b may be classified as an LoS signal. NLoS are transmissions across a path that is at least partially obstructed or reflected and LoS are transmissions across a path that has no or minimal obstruction. As such, signal 210-b may reflect off object 215-a to reach TRP 205-a, whereas signal 210-a may be capable of reaching TRP 205-b without reflection. In another example, both signal 210-c and signal 210-d may be classified as NLoS. However, unlike signal 210-c that has object 215-b to reflect off of to reach TRP 205-a, signal 210-d does not and thus, signal 210-c is obstructed by UE 115-d.
]
obtaining apportioned APD-access to the APD from a base station; [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0080] Some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity 140, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access network entity 140 may communicate with the UEs 115 through one or more other access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). Each access network transmission entity 145 may include one or more antenna panels. In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and ANCs) or consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105).
[0084] The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing or space-division multiplexing (SDM). The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Likewise, the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Each of the multiple signals may be referred to as a separate spatial stream and may carry bits associated with the same data stream (e.g., the same codeword) or different data streams (e.g., different codewords). Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.
]
selecting a surface configuration for the APD based on the apportioned APD-access; [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶79-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0084] The base stations 105 or the UEs 115 may use MIMO communications to exploit multipath signal propagation and increase the spectral efficiency by transmitting or receiving multiple signals via different spatial layers. Such techniques may be referred to as spatial multiplexing or space-division multiplexing (SDM). The multiple signals may, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Likewise, the multiple signals may be received by the receiving device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. Each of the multiple signals may be referred to as a separate spatial stream and may carry bits associated with the same data stream (e.g., the same codeword) or different data streams (e.g., different codewords). Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0088] In some examples, transmissions by a device (e.g., by a base station 105 or a UE 115) may be performed using multiple beam directions, and the device may use a combination of digital precoding or radio frequency beamforming to generate a combined beam for transmission (e.g., from a base station 105 to a UE 115). The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
]
directing the APD to configure a surface of the APD using the surface configuration; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶79-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0085] Beamforming, which may also be referred to as spatial filtering, directional transmission, or directional reception, is a signal processing technique that may be used at a transmitting device or a receiving device (e.g., a base station 105, a UE 115) to shape or steer an antenna beam (e.g., a transmit beam, a receive beam) along a spatial path between the transmitting device and the receiving device. Beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference. The adjustment of signals communicated via the antenna elements may include a transmitting device or a receiving device applying amplitude offsets, phase offsets, or both to signals carried via the antenna elements associated with the device. The adjustments associated with each of the antenna elements may be defined by a beamforming weight set associated with a particular orientation (e.g., with respect to the antenna array of the transmitting device or receiving device, or with respect to some other orientation).
[0086] A base station 105 or a UE 115 may use beam sweeping techniques as part of beam forming operations. For example, a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays (e.g., antenna panels) to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. Some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions. For example, the base station 105 may transmit a signal according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by a transmitting device, such as a base station 105, or by a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for later transmission or reception by the base station 105.
[0088] In some examples, transmissions by a device (e.g., by a base station 105 or a UE 115) may be performed using multiple beam directions, and the device may use a combination of digital precoding or radio frequency beamforming to generate a combined beam for transmission (e.g., from a base station 105 to a UE 115). The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
]
directing at least the two UEs to include the APD in the one or more intra-UECS communication paths. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶79-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0096] In order to support simultaneous SDM transmissions via two or more TRPs, UE 115-a may signal an indication of the simultaneous transmission over a control channel (e.g., PSCCH) to a receiving UE 115. UE 115-a may determine a set of resources for joint transmission. If two or more packets are determined to be SDMed, the multi-TRP capable UE may map the two or more packet to two or more spatial layers, where each spatial layer corresponds to a respective TRP 205 used for transmission of that spatial layer. For example, UE 115-a may map a first packet to a first layer corresponding to TRP 205-a and map a second packet to a second layer corresponding to TRP 205-b…
]
Regarding Claim 14, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 10, wherein identifying the condition that indicates to utilize the APD in the one or more intra-UECS communication paths further comprises at least one of:
(i) analyzing intra-UECS communications between the at least two UEs included in the UECS; and
identifying at least one channel impairment between the UEs included in the UECS; or [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0094] The wireless communications system 200 may support sidelink communications. Examples of sidelink communication may be D2D communication, V2V communication, V2X communication and the like. In some examples, a UE may communicate with other UEs via sidelink communication using multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs). For example, UE 115-a may communicate with UE 115-b, UE 115-c, and UE 115-d via TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Alternatively, a UE may communicate with a single TRP. For example, UE 115-b may communicate via TRP 205-c and UE 115-c may communicate via TRP 205-d. TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b may utilize different radio frequency (RF) modules with a shared hardware and/or software controller and may be separated by some distance (e.g., a distance of three to four meters for cars and a distance of approximately twenty meters for trailers). In some examples, TRP 205-a may view a channel differently than TRP 205-b. This may due to the distance separating TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Distance between TRPs may cause a multi-TRP UE to receive signals from the same UE in different ways. For example, signal 210-a and signal 210-b may be transmitted from UE 115-b via TRP 205-c. Signal 210-a from UE 115-b to TRP 205-a may be classified as an NLoS signal and signal 210-b may be classified as an LoS signal. NLoS are transmissions across a path that is at least partially obstructed or reflected and LoS are transmissions across a path that has no or minimal obstruction. As such, signal 210-b may reflect off object 215-a to reach TRP 205-a, whereas signal 210-a may be capable of reaching TRP 205-b without reflection. In another example, both signal 210-c and signal 210-d may be classified as NLoS. However, unlike signal 210-c that has object 215-b to reflect off of to reach TRP 205-a, signal 210-d does not and thus, signal 210-c is obstructed by UE 115-d.
]
(ii) receiving, from a non-coordinating UE participating in the UECS, an estimated UE- location of the non-coordinating UE participating in the UECS; and
identifying that the estimated UE-location is associated with APD-usage.
Regarding Claim 15, Dutta disclose(s):
The apparatus for using an adaptive phase changing device (APD) in an intra-user equipment-coordination set (intra-UECS) communication path, the APD being an apparatus that includes a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) for use in a communication path between user equipments (UEs) in a user equipment-coordination set (UECS) and/or between the apparatus and one or more UEs in the UECS, the apparatus comprising:
a processor; and [(see Dutta ¶ 170-174; Fig. 9)]
computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by the processor, direct the apparatus to: [(see Dutta ¶ 170-174; Fig. 9)]
select an adaptive phase-changing device (APD) for use by a user equipment-coordination set (UECS) in one or more intra-UECS communication paths, the UECS comprising multiple UEs configured to perform joint transmission and/or joint reception of communications for a target UE; [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
communicate APD information about the APD to a coordinating user equipment (UE) of the UECS; [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
apportion APD-access to the APD for the UECS; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
indicate the apportioned APD-access to the coordinating UE of the UECS. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶79-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-4, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dutta et al. (US 20230361948 A1; hereinafter Dutta) and further in view of Astrom et al. (US 20230246674 A1; hereinafter Astrom).
Regarding Claims 2 and 16, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 1, wherein apportioning the APD-access further comprises at least one of:
selecting a first configuration for apportioned [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
selecting a second configuration for apportioned [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0074] Physical channels may be multiplexed on a carrier according to various techniques. A physical control channel and a physical data channel may be multiplexed on a downlink carrier, for example, using one or more of time division multiplexing (TDM) techniques, frequency division multiplexing (FDM) techniques, or hybrid TDM-FDM techniques. A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets, and each search space set may include one or multiple control channel candidates in one or more aggregation levels arranged in a cascaded manner. An aggregation level for a control channel candidate may refer to a number of control channel resources (e.g., control channel elements (CCEs)) associated with encoded information for a control information format having a given payload size. Search space sets may include common search space sets configured for sending control information to multiple UEs 115 and UE-specific search space sets for sending control information to a specific UE 115.
[0088] In some examples, transmissions by a device (e.g., by a base station 105 or a UE 115) may be performed using multiple beam directions, and the device may use a combination of digital precoding or radio frequency beamforming to generate a combined beam for transmission (e.g., from a base station 105 to a UE 115). The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
[0089] A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals. For example, a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets (e.g., different directional listening weight sets) applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, or by processing received signals according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, any of which may be referred to as “listening” according to different receive configurations or receive directions. In some examples, a receiving device may use a single receive configuration to receive along a single beam direction (e.g., when receiving a data signal). The single receive configuration may be aligned in a beam direction determined based on listening according to different receive configuration directions (e.g., a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions).
[0094] The wireless communications system 200 may support sidelink communications. Examples of sidelink communication may be D2D communication, V2V communication, V2X communication and the like. In some examples, a UE may communicate with other UEs via sidelink communication using multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs). For example, UE 115-a may communicate with UE 115-b, UE 115-c, and UE 115-d via TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Alternatively, a UE may communicate with a single TRP. For example, UE 115-b may communicate via TRP 205-c and UE 115-c may communicate via TRP 205-d. TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b may utilize different radio frequency (RF) modules with a shared hardware and/or software controller and may be separated by some distance (e.g., a distance of three to four meters for cars and a distance of approximately twenty meters for trailers). In some examples, TRP 205-a may view a channel differently than TRP 205-b. This may due to the distance separating TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Distance between TRPs may cause a multi-TRP UE to receive signals from the same UE in different ways. For example, signal 210-a and signal 210-b may be transmitted from UE 115-b via TRP 205-c. Signal 210-a from UE 115-b to TRP 205-a may be classified as an NLoS signal and signal 210-b may be classified as an LoS signal. NLoS are transmissions across a path that is at least partially obstructed or reflected and LoS are transmissions across a path that has no or minimal obstruction. As such, signal 210-b may reflect off object 215-a to reach TRP 205-a, whereas signal 210-a may be capable of reaching TRP 205-b without reflection. In another example, both signal 210-c and signal 210-d may be classified as NLoS. However, unlike signal 210-c that has object 215-b to reflect off of to reach TRP 205-a, signal 210-d does not and thus, signal 210-c is obstructed by UE 115-d.
]
Dutta fails to explicitly disclose:
selecting a first configuration for apportioned control-access to the APD; or
selecting a second configuration for apportioned reflection-access to the APD.
However Astrom, analogous art also disclosing antenna solutions for line-of-sight problems, does disclose:
selecting a first configuration for apportioned control-access to the APD; or [(see Astrom ¶6-7; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)
[0033] … In some embodiments, the at least one transceiver transmits a command directing the reconfigurable reflective surface to reconfigure to: a disabled mode in which the reconfigurable reflective surface is set to a default configuration; an idle mode in which the reconfigurable reflective surface awaits a next control signal from the network node; or an update mode in which the reconfigurable reflective surface reconfigures to a next configuration. In some embodiments, the determining of the configuration is based at least in part on an angle of arrival from the WD to the reconfigurable reflective surface. In some embodiments, the at least one transceiver is configured to transmit a signal instructing the WD to direct a beam to the reconfigurable reflective surface. In some embodiments, the determined configuration is selected based on a pilot signal received from the WD.
[0099] In cases where the WD 14 is connected directly to the network node 18, the network node 18 may, prior to a first time instance, optionally send a second message to the rIS 20 to configure the rIS 20 into a second default mode of operation (Block S136). The second default mode of operation may be one of: [0100] Disabled mode: the rIS 20 may set the reflection in a default mode to reduce possible interference; [0101] Idle mode: a standby mode where the rIS 20 awaits new control information form the network node 18; or [0102] Update mode: the rIS 20 updates information about its state and angular information for each of a plurality of WDs that can be reached (which, in an active array, may scan for WDs and/or update location information for WDs). At some later time instance, the network node 18 may communicate with the WD 14 (Block S136). The communication may be uplink and/or downlink.
]
selecting a second configuration for apportioned reflection-access to the APD. [(see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Dutta with that of Astrom to include the reconfigurable intelligent surface in order to establish a pseudo-line of sight channel and being able to update the RIS in the case of movement, as per Astrom (¶10; ¶33), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 3 and 17, Dutta and Astrom disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 2, wherein apportioning the APD-access further comprises at least one of:
apportioning, as the first configuration, a first subset of physical resources of an APD- control channel to the UECS; or [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
apportioning, as the second configuration, reflection-access to the APD using at least one of: [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
time-partitioning; or [Dutta discloses time-division multiplexing (see Dutta ¶59; ¶69-74; ¶101-102)]
configurable-surface-element partitioning. [Dutta discloses space-division multiplexing (see Dutta ¶59; ¶68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2))]
Regarding Claims 4 and 18, Dutta and Astrom disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 3, wherein apportioning the reflection-access further comprises:
identifying that the APD supports surface sharing through configurable-surface-element partitioning; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)
[0094] In another embodiment, the reflection angle can be used to determine a preferred subset of the surface to use for communications between the WD 14 and the network node 18. Assume the rIS 20 has a matrix of surfaces and may hence be partitioned into sub-surfaces, where each subsurface may serve a different device. In some embodiments, each subsurface is associated with a set of reflective array elements that is less than all available reflective array elements. In one embodiment, the subsurface is selected such that it gives a smallest tilt compared to the “zero-tilt” in the surface for the pseudo-LoS channel. In another embodiment, the subsurface is selected such that the resulting tilt is below a maximum tilt that the subsurface is able to provide. In some embodiments, the configuration is limited to the subsurface used for the specific WD 14.
]
based on identifying that the APD supports surface sharing, allocating a subset of configurable surface elements to the UECS. [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
Regarding Claim 11, Dutta disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 10, wherein obtaining the apportioned APD-access to the APD further comprises:
sending, to the base station, a request to access the APD; and [(see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0077] In some examples, a UE 115 may also be able to communicate directly with other UEs 115 over a device-to-device (D2D) communication link 135 (e.g., using a peer-to-peer (P2P) or D2D protocol). One or more UEs 115 utilizing D2D communications may be within the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105. Other UEs 115 in such a group may be outside the geographic coverage area 110 of a base station 105 or be otherwise unable to receive transmissions from a base station 105. In some examples, groups of the UEs 115 communicating via D2D communications may utilize a one-to-many (1:M) system in which each UE 115 transmits to every other UE 115 in the group. In some examples, a base station 105 facilitates the scheduling of resources for D2D communications. In other cases, D2D communications are carried out between the UEs 115 without the involvement of a base station 105.
]
obtaining at least one of:
a first configuration for apportioned [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)]
a second configuration for apportioned [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2)
[0074] Physical channels may be multiplexed on a carrier according to various techniques. A physical control channel and a physical data channel may be multiplexed on a downlink carrier, for example, using one or more of time division multiplexing (TDM) techniques, frequency division multiplexing (FDM) techniques, or hybrid TDM-FDM techniques. A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system b1andwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets, and each search space set may include one or multiple control channel candidates in one or more aggregation levels arranged in a cascaded manner. An aggregation level for a control channel candidate may refer to a number of control channel resources (e.g., control channel elements (CCEs)) associated with encoded information for a control information format having a given payload size. Search space sets may include common search space sets configured for sending control information to multiple UEs 115 and UE-specific search space sets for sending control information to a specific UE 115.
[0088] In some examples, transmissions by a device (e.g., by a base station 105 or a UE 115) may be performed using multiple beam directions, and the device may use a combination of digital precoding or radio frequency beamforming to generate a combined beam for transmission (e.g., from a base station 105 to a UE 115). The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
[0089] A receiving device (e.g., a UE 115) may try multiple receive configurations (e.g., directional listening) when receiving various signals from the base station 105, such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals. For example, a receiving device may try multiple receive directions by receiving via different antenna subarrays, by processing received signals according to different antenna subarrays, by receiving according to different receive beamforming weight sets (e.g., different directional listening weight sets) applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, or by processing received signals according to different receive beamforming weight sets applied to signals received at multiple antenna elements of an antenna array, any of which may be referred to as “listening” according to different receive configurations or receive directions. In some examples, a receiving device may use a single receive configuration to receive along a single beam direction (e.g., when receiving a data signal). The single receive configuration may be aligned in a beam direction determined based on listening according to different receive configuration directions (e.g., a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions).
[0094] The wireless communications system 200 may support sidelink communications. Examples of sidelink communication may be D2D communication, V2V communication, V2X communication and the like. In some examples, a UE may communicate with other UEs via sidelink communication using multiple transmission and reception points (TRPs). For example, UE 115-a may communicate with UE 115-b, UE 115-c, and UE 115-d via TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Alternatively, a UE may communicate with a single TRP. For example, UE 115-b may communicate via TRP 205-c and UE 115-c may communicate via TRP 205-d. TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b may utilize different radio frequency (RF) modules with a shared hardware and/or software controller and may be separated by some distance (e.g., a distance of three to four meters for cars and a distance of approximately twenty meters for trailers). In some examples, TRP 205-a may view a channel differently than TRP 205-b. This may due to the distance separating TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b. Distance between TRPs may cause a multi-TRP UE to receive signals from the same UE in different ways. For example, signal 210-a and signal 210-b may be transmitted from UE 115-b via TRP 205-c. Signal 210-a from UE 115-b to TRP 205-a may be classified as an NLoS signal and signal 210-b may be classified as an LoS signal. NLoS are transmissions across a path that is at least partially obstructed or reflected and LoS are transmissions across a path that has no or minimal obstruction. As such, signal 210-b may reflect off object 215-a to reach TRP 205-a, whereas signal 210-a may be capable of reaching TRP 205-b without reflection. In another example, both signal 210-c and signal 210-d may be classified as NLoS. However, unlike signal 210-c that has object 215-b to reflect off of to reach TRP 205-a, signal 210-d does not and thus, signal 210-c is obstructed by UE 115-d.
]
Dutta fails to explicitly disclose:
obtaining at least one of:
a first configuration for apportioned control-access to the APD; or
a second configuration for apportioned reflection-access to the APD.
However Astrom, analogous art also disclosing antenna solutions for line-of-sight problems, does disclose:
obtaining at least one of:
a first configuration for apportioned control-access to the APD; or [(see Astrom ¶6-7; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
a second configuration for apportioned reflection-access to the APD. [(see Astrom ¶6-7; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Dutta with that of Astrom to include the reconfigurable intelligent surface in order to establish a pseudo-line of sight channel and being able to update the RIS in the case of movement, as per Astrom (¶10; ¶33), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 12, Dutta and Astrom disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 11, wherein obtaining the apportioned APD-access to the APD comprises at least one of:
receiving, as the first configuration, a first allocation of apportioned physical resources of an APD-control channel; or [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
receiving, as the second configuration, a second allocation of at least one of:
time-partitioned reflection-access to the APD; or [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
configurable-surface-element-partitioned reflection-access to the APD. [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
Regarding Claim 13, Dutta and Astrom disclose(s):
The method as recited in claim 10, wherein directing the APD to configure the surface of the APD using the surface configuration comprises:
communicating the surface configuration to the APD using an APD-control channel; or
communicating the surface configuration to the APD through the base station. [ (see Dutta ¶ 68; ¶74-80; ¶83-96; Fig. 1-2) (see Astrom ¶10; ¶33; ¶ 62-67; ¶94-116; Fig. 2-5)]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468