DETAILED ACTION
The amended claims filed 6/26/2026 are under consideration.
The claims are not properly annotated. The phrase “and a unique molecular identifier (UMI) sequence” in part (b) of claim 1 is both underlined and struck through. In an interview with Tian Yong Zheng on 8/17/2026, it was confirmed that the text in question is not intended to be part of the claim.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 6/26/2026 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The objection to the abstract is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the abstract.
b) The rejection of claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 23, 41, 157, 158, 159 and 160 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (WO 2017/177017) are withdrawn in view of the amendments incorporating elements of now cancelled claim 156.
c) The rejections of claim(s) 38, 39, 40, 156 and 161 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2017/177017) in view of Shapero (WO 2018/223053 A1), because neither reference describes a bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequence.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks regarding issues not listed above are detailed below in this Office action.
New and modified grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below and this action is made FINAL.
Priority
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/US2021/060647 (filed 11/23/2021).
The application also claims benefit to US provisional applications:
63/116,997; 63/126,414; 63/157,924; 63/183,876, 63/222,963; and 63/234,635;
The Remarks argue the ‘997 provisional application supports claims 38, 39, 156 and 157, but is silent regarding support for independent claim 1.
The Remarks argue the ‘414 provisional application supports claims 157, 158 and 159, but is silent regarding support for independent claim 1.
The Remarks argue the ‘924 provisional application provides support by disclosing a padlock probe. The padlock probe disclosed supports the “recognition element” of claim 1. The ‘924 provisional application does not support bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequences. Thus, the ‘924 provisional application does not fully support independent claim 1.
The Remarks argue the ‘876 provisional application supports claims 38, 39, 156, 157, 158 and 159, but is silent regarding support for independent claim 1.
The Remarks argue the ‘963 provisional application supports steps (b)-(d) of claim 1. The ‘963 provisional application does not support bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequence. Thus, the ‘963 provisional application does not fully support independent claim 1.
The Remarks argue the ‘635 provisional application supports steps (b)-(d) of claim 1. The ‘635 provisional application also describes bisulfite conversion followed by padlock probe ligation.
While as a combination, the provisional applications provide support for independent claim 1, the effective filing date is based on the earliest disclosure of the combination of the elements claim 1. The earliest disclosure of step (a) is in the ‘635 provisional application. Thus, independent claim 1 and its dependent claims are given the earliest effective filing date of 8/18/2021, which is the filing date of the ‘635 provisional application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or cited on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 38-41 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The following rejection has been modified as necessitated by the amendments to the claim.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 requires an “exonuclease cleanup step” after step (c). The claim broadly encompasses carrying out the “exonuclease cleanup step” after the “rolling circle amplification” element of step (d) or after the “subjecting” of step (e).
The instant specification does not describe how to perform an exonuclease cleanup step in the presence of a rolling circle amplification product, which would be single stranded. The instant specification does not describe how to protect a rolling circle amplification product from exonuclease activity. One would have not reasonably found applicant to be in possession of a method in which a rolling circle amplification product is subjected to exonuclease treatment.
The instant specification fails to provide support for claim 2 in view of the 1/2/2024 supplemental amendments to the claims. The instant specification describes subjecting PCR reactions to exonuclease treatment to remove unused primers, unreacted probes and other single-stranded nucleic acids, but not double-stranded PCR products. The instant specification describes treating circularized probes to exonuclease treatment to remove single-stranded targets, but this is prior to amplification of the circularized probe sequences. Thus, claim 2 encompasses new matter.
The following are new rejections necessitated by the amendments.
Claims 38-41 encompass methods in which step (b) encompasses hybridizing a recognition element to: 1) a bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequence in the sample; and 2) a mutated sequence, a point mutation, a substitution, insertion and/or deletion and/or a copy number variation in the sample.
The instant specification contemplates separate embodiments in which methylation is analyzed via providing a sample with bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequence or mutations are analyzed using nucleic acids that have not been treated with bisulfite. The specification further describes an embodiment in which the sample is split into two separate streams, one for methylation analysis and one for non-methylation analysis. See Fig. 6, para. 379.
Embodiments in which both methylation and mutations are analyzed in a sample comprising bisulfite converted nucleic are new matter.
Response to the traversal of the written description rejection
The Remarks argue claim 2 has been amended and is supported by Fig. 9, 15 and 22 and paragraph 372 (p. 9).
The arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The claim as amended broadly encompasses carrying out the “exonuclease cleanup step” after the rolling circle amplification step and thus, still encompasses the subject matter that was previously the basis for the written description rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim states a “3-ary nucleotide alphabet comprising three of A, C, G and T”. Based on the use of the term “comprising” the “3-ary nucleotide alphabet” may include additional elements. It is unclear if a fourth nucleotide is encompassed by “3-ary nucleotide alphabet”.
Response to the traversal of the 112(b) rejection
The Remarks argue the amendments to claim 12 overcome the rejection and the claim is based on the specification describing generating codes using a constrained alphabet of fewer than four nucleotides (p. 9).
The arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The claim is not drawn to a “3-ary nucleotide alphabet” using fewer than four nucleotides, as the “3-ary nucleotide alphabet” “comprises” three of A, C, G and T. The claim is interpreted as encompassing a “3-ary nucleotide alphabet” having at least 3 of A, C, G and T.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-10, 12-14, 23, 38-41 and 157-161 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (WO 2017/177017; previously cited) in view of Buis (WO 2018/094031 A1).
The following are new rejections necessitated by the amendments.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 38, 39, 40, and 161, Zhang teaches providing a sample with a target and hybridizing a capture pair to the target nucleic acid as a “recognition element”.
Zhang further teaches the capture pair is then circularized or “transformed” into a “circular recognition element” using a variety of methods.
Zhang teaches the circular molecule includes a primer binding site and using rolling circle amplification to produce a long concatemer extension product suitable for sequencing. See p. 40, lines 10-21.
Zhang teaches the amplified circular molecule is detected using sequencing (p. 40, line 22-25).
Zhang further teaches the “recognition element” includes a “code” from a set in the form of a Zip barcode (p. 41, lines 5-30).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches “counting” barcodes and “estimating” the quantity of the target by scoring the variant/SNP and Zip barcode (p. 41, lines 12-30). See also, p. 48, lines 1-8.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the barcodes have a length of 3 to 30 nucleotides, inclusive (p. 21, lines 28-30).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the barcodes are homopolymer free (p. 21, lines 18-27).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches barcode sequences, such as GTCAGTCAGTCA (p. 21, lines 18-27), which has all the structural elements of code formed from a 4-ary nucleotide alphabet of A, C, G and T.
It is noted that claim 10 does not require an active method step of generating a set of codes. The language is interpreted as describing the structure of the codes based on how they are made. The claim broadly encompasses any code having the structure implied by the process, regardless of how the codes of the prior art are made.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches barcode sequences, such as GTCAGTCAGTCA (p. 21, lines 18-27), which has all the structural elements of code formed from a 3-ary nucleotide alphabet comprising three A, C, G and T.
It is noted that claim 12 does not require an active method step of generating a set of codes. The language is interpreted as describing the structure of the codes based on how they are made. The claim broadly encompasses any code having the structure implied by the process, regardless of how the codes of the prior art are made.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches barcode sequences, such as GTCAGTCAGTCA (p. 21, lines 18-27), which has all the structural elements of code generated using a “4-state encoding trellis with 3 transitions per state”.
It is noted that claim 13 does not require an active method step of generating a set of codes. The language is interpreted as describing the structure of the codes based on how they are made. The claim broadly encompasses any code having the structure implied by the process, regardless of how the codes of the prior art are made.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches the “recognition elements” includes a universal primer “associated” with the “code” (p. 22, lines 10-31; p. 23, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang teaches ligating the termini of the capture pair using the target as a guide to orientate the termini in the proper orientation (Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 41, Zhang teaches the target may be part of an aneuploidy (p. 7, lines 1-5; p. 24, lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 157, Zhang teaches the sequencing uses fluorescent nucleotides or oligonucleotides which involves measuring fluorescent in order to sequence the molecules (p. 4, lines 5-10; p. 37, lines 7-16).
Regarding claim 158, Zhang teaches the “coded targets” include a universal priming sequence (p. 38, line 11-15) as a “sequencing adapter” and performing sequencing as noted above.
Regarding claim 159, Zhang teaches immobilizing the “amplified codes” of the rolling circle amplification for sequencing (p. 46, lines 9-16; p. 53, lines 8-18) and measuring fluorescence as part of the sequencing process as noted above.
Regarding claim 160, Zhang teaches the method is performed in a well of a substrate (p. 19, lines 20-25).
While Zhang teaches the above method, Zhang does not teach a bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequence as a target or the additional element specific to claims 2, 38, 40 and 161.
However, Buis teaches molecular inversion probes are used to capture bisulfite converted methylated nucleic acid sequences (p. 13, 49 and 66-67).
Buis further teaches thousands of targets are analyzed (p. 32-33, 53 and 73). Buis further teaches thousands of different short nucleotide sequence tags are used to identify a nucleic acid (p. 34).
Buis further teaches targets in samples include point mutations, insertions and deletions, copy number variants, chromosomal translocations and inversions (p. 1 and 7).
Buis further teaches using an exonuclease to digest non-circular, linear nucleic acids done after ligation and before amplification (p. 74, 78 and 88).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the time of filing to have modified the method of Zhang by detecting different types of variants using the probes of Zhang and/or detecting hundreds of targets described by Buis. The modifications have a reasonable expectation of success as each one is an obvious variant of the teaching of Buis that demonstrate the each are functionally equivalent as they detect a variant of interest.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682