DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura (JP 2003231758 A, attached with translation) in view of Nakayama (US 2018/0171100 A1) and further in view of Motohashi (JP 2013117014 A1, attached with translation) and Itakura (JP 2011016910 A1, attached with translation).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-6, Nomura teaches a composition of polypropylene, glass fibers, and additional polyamide or polyester resin (claims 7-9). The additional polyamide or polyester resin may be present in amounts ranging from 5-50 wt% of the total resin content (p. 6, [0019]). The fibers may be present in amounts ranging from 10-60 wt% (p. 6, [0020]). These prior art ranges overlap all claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
However, Nomura is silent as to use of a modified polyolefin resin, and as to the melt viscosity ratio of the polypropylene and additional resin. In the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a composition including polypropylene, reinforcing fiber, polyamide, and modified polyolefin (p. 10, Table 1). Specifically, acid-modified polyolefin or maleic anhydride-modified polyolefin may preferably be used in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 30 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of resin (p. 8, [0164], [0169]). This prior art range overlaps the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range See MPEP 2144.05.
Nomura and Nakayama do not specify the melt viscosities of the resins in the composition. In the same field of endeavor, Motohashi teaches use of Amilan CM1007 nylon 6 in a composition with thermoplastic resin and carbon fiber (p. 15, Ex. 6; Abstract). Also in the same field of endeavor, Itakura teaches use of Prime Polypro J13B in a composition with a modified polyolefin, reinforcing fiber, and epoxy resin (p. 24, Ex. 4). The instant specification states that J13B has a melt viscosity of 38 Pa*s at 250*C, 120/sec, and that CM1007 has a melt viscosity of 112 Pa*s under the same conditions (p. 41, [0088]; p. 42, [0088]). These values result in a melt viscosity ratio of 38:112, or 0.339, which reads on the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the resins of Motohashi and Itakura for use in the composition of Nomura as modified by Nakayama, to arrive at the claimed invention and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 3, Nomura in view of Nakayama remains as applied to claim 1 above. Nomura further teaches use of nylon 6 (polyamide 6) in the composition (p. 8, [0026]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Nomura in view of Nakayama remains as applied to claim 1 above. Nomura is further silent as to use of the composition in a molded article. In the same field of endeavor, Nakayama teaches a composition including polypropylene, reinforcing fiber, polyamide, and modified polyolefin that may be used in molded articles (p. 10, Table 1; p. 9, [0191]). Specifically, the articles may be automobile interior components (p. 9, [0191]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Nomura with the automobile molded article application of Nakayama to arrive at the claimed invention, and to produce a molded article having superior mechanical strength and elastic modulus, as taught by Nakayama (p. 9, [0192]).
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762