DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“medical imaging device” in claims 1-20 defined as “endoscope” in pages 7, 23, and 27 of the Specification; and
“control device” in claims 1-20 defined as a surgery control device being “program […] including a processing unit” in page 3 and “camera control unit […] and is, for example, an information processing device having an FPGA, a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, a GPU, and an I/F” in page 10 of the Specification as well as an arm control device which “includes a processor such as a CPU” in page 16 of the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plummer (U.S. Publication 2006/0152516).
As to Claim 1, Plummer discloses a surgery system (10) in [0046] and Fig. 1 comprising:
a medical imaging device (24) in [0046] that captures a surgery region to acquire a surgery image (40) in [0052] and Fig. 1 that is an image of the surgery region as shown in Fig. 1; and
a control device (20) in [0046] and Fig. 1 that outputs a display image to a display device (22) in [0046] on a basis of the surgery image acquired by the medical imaging device,
wherein, with at least one of a surgical instrument and a hand reflected (a touchscreen being sensitive to hand controls and therefore a reflection of a hand) on the surgery image as an operation body (hand controls being operations on the touchscreen), the control device accepts a predetermined instruction operation by the operation body related to control of the medical imaging device or the control device on a basis of an image of the operation body in the surgery image via (34, 36) in [0050] being “virtual buttons” as shown in Fig. 1 along with (50) in [0054]-[0055] and additional virtual menus as shown in Figs. 2-24.
As to Claim 2, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 1,
wherein the instruction operation includes an operation via (34, 36) in [0050] as shown in Fig. 1 for selecting any one of a plurality of kinds of instruction contents related to the control.
As to Claim 3, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 1,
wherein the instruction operation includes an operation via (34, 36) in [0050] as shown in Fig. 1 for giving an instruction to switch the content of the control.
As to Claim 4, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 1,
wherein the control device generates the display image in which an image of a virtual menu via (34, 36) in [0050] being “virtual buttons” as shown in Fig. 1 along with (50) in [0054]-[0055] and additional virtual menus as shown in Figs. 2-24 and which is virtually presented in a space of the surgery region and represents instruction contents that is able to be instructed with respect to the control is superimposed on the surgery image as described in [0050].
As to Claim 5, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 4,
wherein the control device accepts an operation of the operation body on the virtual menu as the instruction operation as described in [0050].
As to Claim 6, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 4,
wherein the control device accepts the instruction operation in a case where the operation body comes into contact with the virtual menu as described in [0050].
As to Claim 7, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 6,
wherein the control device detects an image of a distal end part of the operation body reflected on the surgery image and detects contact of the operation body with the virtual menu on a basis of a position of the image of the distal end part in the surgery image as described in [0050].
As to Claim 8, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 6,
wherein the control device detects an image of a distal end part of the operation body reflected on the surgery image and detects contact of the operation body with the virtual menu on a basis of an overlapping region between a position of the image of the distal end part in the surgery image and a position of the image of the virtual menu in the surgery image as described in [0065] and shown in Fig. 13.
As to Claim 9, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 8,
wherein the distal end part of the operation body includes a distal end part of the surgical instrument or a distal end part of a finger of the hand (hand controls from fingers being operations on the touchscreen).
As to Claim 10, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 8,
wherein the control device accepts the instruction operation in a case where the overlapping region has occurred and a motion of the operation body in a predetermined direction on the virtual menu has been detected as described in [0065] and shown in Fig. 13.
As to Claim 11, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 10,
wherein the virtual menu has a plane of the touchscreen with which the operation body is able to come into contact, and
the motion of the operation body in the predetermined direction such as during a “single press” in [0064] includes a reciprocating motion in the normal direction of the plane.
As to Claim 12, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 8,
wherein the control device accepts the instruction operation in a case where the overlapping region has occurred such as during a “single press” in [0064] and a period of time equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value “predetermined period of time” as described in [0063] that is determined in advance has elapsed.
As to Claim 13, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 4,
wherein the control device superimposes the image of the virtual menu on a region different from an important region in the surgery in the surgery image as described in [0065] and shown in Fig. 13.
As to Claim 14, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 13,
wherein the important region includes any one or more of a region where bleeding is occurring, a region of an organ, a region for surgery, and a region of a center part of the display image as shown in Fig. 13.
As to Claim 16, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 4,
wherein the control device does not present the virtual menu while an energy device is being used (certain source and destination icons not shown as described in [0050]).
As to Claim 17, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 4,
wherein the control device presents the virtual menu at a position that is away from an organ by a predetermined distance as shown in Figs. 1-7.
As to Claim 18, Plummer discloses a surgery control device (10) in [0046] and Fig. 1 comprising:
a processing unit (20) in [0046] and Fig. 1 that accepts, with at least one of a surgical instrument and a hand reflected (a touchscreen being sensitive to hand controls and therefore a reflection of a hand) on a surgery image (40) in [0052] and Fig. 1 obtained by photographing a surgery region as an operation body (hand controls being operations on the touchscreen), a predetermined instruction operation by the operation body on a basis of an image of the operation body in the surgery image via (34, 36) in [0050] being “virtual buttons” as shown in Fig. 1 along with (50) in [0054]-[0055] and additional virtual menus as shown in Figs. 2-24.
As to Claim 19, Plummer discloses a control method,
wherein a surgery control device (10) in [0046] and Fig. 1 has a processing unit (20) in [0046] and Fig. 1 and the processing unit accepts, with at least one of a surgical instrument and a hand reflected (a touchscreen being sensitive to hand controls and therefore a reflection of a hand) on a surgery image (40) in [0052] and Fig. 1 obtained by photographing a surgery region as an operation body (hand controls being operations on the touchscreen), a predetermined instruction operation by the operation body on a basis of an image of the operation body in the surgery image via (34, 36) in [0050] being “virtual buttons” as shown in Fig. 1 along with (50) in [0054]-[0055] and additional virtual menus as shown in Figs. 2-24.
As to Claim 20, Plummer discloses a program that causes a computer (20) in [0046] and Fig. 1 to function as a processing unit that accepts, with at least one of a surgical instrument and a hand reflected (a touchscreen being sensitive to hand controls and therefore a reflection of a hand) on a surgery image (40) in [0052] and Fig. 1 obtained by photographing a surgery region as an operation body (hand controls being operations on the touchscreen), a predetermined instruction operation by the operation body on a basis of an image of the operation body via (34, 36) in [0050] being “virtual buttons” as shown in Fig. 1 along with (50) in [0054]-[0055] and additional virtual menus as shown in Figs. 2-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziraknejad and in further view of Kuroda et al. (U.S. Publication 2021/0369351, hereinafter “Kuroda”).
As to Claim 15, Plummer discloses the surgery system according to claim 4, however does not specifically disclose voice input. Kuroda teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein a voice input unit “microphone” in [0073] for detecting voice is provided, and the control device switches presence or absence of presentation of the virtual menu on a basis of voice from the voice input unit (the user’s voice being a modality of control). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the surgery system of Plummer with the voice input means taught by Kuroda in order to fulfill the same function of providing input control with predictable results.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795