The amendment filed 7/7/2025 has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 3,001,665 (Tomarin hereinafter) in view of US PG Pub No. 2020/0163474 (McCartney of record) and US PG Pub No. 2009/0250368 (Earl et al. hereinafter) and US Patent No. 10,336,504 (Prezecki II of record).
In re claim 1, with reference to Figs. 1, 2, and 5, Tomarin discloses: A food portions controlling device comprising: a hollow body defining a useful volume, the hollow body including a bottom (12) and an inner wall (20) connecting said bottom to a peripheral edge (22) of the hollow body, three vertical fixed walls (14, 16, 18) manufactured in one-piece with the body and rigidly fastened to the bottom and to the inner wall, dividing the useful volume into three compartments (A, B, and C below), a central axis from which said walls extend radially (see Fig. 1).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “food portions controlling”) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114, II.
Tomarin fails to disclose a movable wall in a respective compartment, being mounted so as to slide along the central axis and to pivot about the central axis, authorizing translational movements of the vertical movable walls along said central axis, so as to vary a volume of use of each respective compartment alone without modifying the volumes of use of the other compartments.
However, with reference to Fig. 3 below, McCartney teaches the concept and motivation for adding movable walls to a compartment formed by at least a fixed wall (4), for the purposes of modifying the volume of the compartment to match the dietary requirements of a user by defining portion sizes (paragraphs 0039-0040), vertical movable walls being mounted so as to slide along a central axis (31) and to pivot about the central axis relative to the fixed wall.
Further, with reference to Fig. 6, Earl et al. discloses a container with separate compartments, and a vertical movable wall (110) in a respective compartment (formed by fixed walls 210), so as to vary a volume of use of a respective compartment alone without modifying the volumes of use of the other compartments (“Since separators 110 are rotatable, an angular movement of separator 110 changes the volume of compartment 150. This self-adjusting feature permits storage of differing quantities and sizes of materials within compartments 150”, Earl et al. paragraph 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Tomarin in view of McCartney to have included a movable wall in each fixed compartment of Tomarin as taught by Earl et al. for the purposes of providing a self-adjusting feature which permits storage of differing quantities and sizes of materials within compartments (Earl et al., paragraph 0044).
Tomarin in view of McCartney and Earl et al. fail to disclose wherein said central axis including at an upper end includes a locking means blocking or authorizing translational movements of the vertical movable walls along said central axis.
However, with reference to Figs. 1 and 4, Prezecki II teaches a storage device, wherein adjustable/rotatable walls (221-224) are rotatable about a center axis, wherein said central axis including at an upper end a locking means (50, and threaded shaft at 36) blocking or authorizing translational movements of the vertical movable walls along said central axis (column 4, lines 34-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a locking means to the shaft of Tomarin in view of McCartney and Earl et al. as taught by Prezecki II for the purposes of securing the storage divider system in position in order to maintain the new customized configuration of the storage device (Prezecki II column 4, lines 34-50).
In re claim 3, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Tomarin in view of McCartney and Earl et al. disclose the claimed invention including wherein the body has a frustoconical shape closed at a small base by the bottom and open at a large base by the peripheral edge (See Tomarin Fig. 5 above).
In re claim 4, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Tomarin in view of McCartney, Earl et al. and Prezecki II disclose the claimed invention including wherein the movable wall of each respective compartment is able to occupy different angular positions in each respective compartment, but not wherein angular positions of said wall being marked by indicators located on a peripheral edge of the body.
However, as in re claim 1 above, McCartney discloses marked indicators (6) located on a peripheral edge of the body (2), for assisting a user in locating angular positions of a rotatable compartment wall (paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the device of Tomarin in view of McCartney, Earl et al., and Prezecki II further to have included marked positions as further taught by McCartney for the purposes of assisting a user measuring out correct portions of food (paragraph 0046).
In re claim 5, with reference to Figs. noted above, Tomarin in view of McCartney, Earl et al., Prezecki II disclose the claimed invention including wherein the locking means comprises a threaded plug (50) sliding on a tapped portion (36) of the central axis (see Fig. 4 of Prezecki II above), closure and opening of the locking means corresponding respectively to a movement from top to bottom and from bottom to the top.
In re claim 6, with reference to the Figs. noted above, Tomarin in view of McCartney, Earl et al. and Prezecki II disclose the claimed invention including a cover able to hermetically close the body (column 2, lines 25-30, and column 3, lines 4-8, noting that Tomarin requires push-out plugs 70 in order to release air/steam, and thereby prior to the opening of such plugs, the cover is interpreted as to not allow for the release of air/steam, and thereby meet the requirements of a hermetic cover).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T KIRSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733