DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are cancelled.
Claims 26-34 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 26-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell et al. (WO2019213703A1) hereinafter Mitchell in view of Becker et al. (“Evidence for a hydrogen-sink mechanism of (+)catechin-mediated emission reduction of the ruminant greenhouse gas methane”, Metabolomics (2014) 10:179–189) hereinafter Becker.
Regarding claims 26-34, Mitchell is drawn to animal supplements and feeds comprising an extract derived from sugar cane, in particular, animal supplements and feeds comprising a polyphenolic extract derived from sugar cane. Mitchell is also drawn to animal supplements, animal feeds, methods and uses for improving or maintaining the health of animals to the benefit of improved food production and food quality (abstract). Mitchell discloses a non-human animal formulated supplement comprising an extract derived from sugar cane, the extract comprising from about 10 catechin equivalent (CE) g/L to about 50 CE g/L of polyphenols or from about 100 CE mg/g to about 500 CE mg/g of polyphenols [10]. Mitchell discloses the extract derived from sugar cane comprises at least about 10 CE g/L of polyphenols or at least about 150 mg CE/g of polyphenols. As explained above, the term "CE", or "catechin equivalent" is a measure of total polyphenolic content, expressed as catechin equivalents mg/g extract derived from sugar cane or catechin equivalents g/L extract derived from sugar cane [167].
Mitchell discloses the extracts derived from sugar cane, together with a conventional adjuvant, carrier or diluent, may be placed into the form of a veterinary composition and unit dosages thereof, and in such form may be employed as solids, such as tablets, powders or filled capsules, liquids as solutions, suspensions, emulsions, syrups, elixirs or capsules filled with the same, creams, serums, gels, and oils. Extracts derived from sugar cane of the present disclosure, together with other conventional additives may be placed in animal feed supplements or animal feeds [239].
Mitchell discloses the compositions, animal supplements or animal feeds of the present disclosure may comprise the extracts derived from sugar cane of the present disclosure in an amount of up to about 20.0 wt % based upon the total weight of the composition, animal supplement or animal feed [253].
Mitchell discloses the compositions, supplements and feeds comprising the extracts can be used for improving or maintaining health in an animal subject. The present inventors have surprisingly found that the extracts derived from sugar cane of the present disclosure have properties making them favorable for use in improving or maintaining the health of animals. Representative properties include: wherein gastrointestinal microbiota function is improved or maintained [264]. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect success wherein gastrointestinal microbiota function is improved mitigates greenhouse gas emissions by an animal.
Mitchell further teaches that the polyphenols of their disclosed extract include, for example, catechin. Mitchell teaches all of the limitations of the composition, but does not teach that it would result in mitigating greenhouse gas emissions by changing the composition of microbial communities associated with the animal.
However, Becker teaches that catechin acts as an anti-reductant, by acting as a hydrogen-sink by competing with methane production by rumen methanogens, thereby reducing emissions of methane gas by ruminants.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mitchell, wherein catechin acts as an anti-reductant, by acting as a hydrogen-sink by competing with methane production, thereby reducing emissions of methane gas by ruminants, as previously disclosed by Becker, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because although Mitchell does not recognize that the composition has the effect of mitigant greenhouse gas emissions by ruminants, this effect would have been recognized in view of the teachings of Becker since Mitchell teaches that their extract includes catechins. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 4-7 of the 12/17/2025 remarks have been fully considered; however, while the claim was amended to narrow the range of the amount of extract, the preamble of the claim appears to be a latent property that would inherently result based on practicing the recited method steps, which is particularly disclosed and claimed by Mitchell, such as in claim 9, drawn to a method for improving digestibility in a non-human animal subject. Mitchell teaches that the non-human animal subject can be a ruminant (see para 110). Further note that claim 3 limits the amount of supplement to up to 2 wt%, thereby encompassing the instantly claimed range. Although the prior art does not expressly teach that their disclosed method results in mitigating greenhouse gas emissions by changing the composition of microbial communities associated with the animal, this result would flow naturally. MPEP 2145 notes that mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. The recitation of an additional advantage associated with doing what the prior art suggests does not lend patentability to an otherwise unpatentable invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615