Response to Amendment
2. Applicant' s amendment filed on 07/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are amended. Claims 31 and 32 are added new. Claims 1-32 are still pending in this application with claims 1, 23, 29 and 30 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 3, 23, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tejedor et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0059962 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tejedor et al. teach a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.2/Fig.6 for UE), comprising: one or more memories (see Fig.6, block 22 and para [0160]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first UE (see Fig.6, block 20 inside UE and para [0160] wherein a controller/processor being connected to a memory, is mentioned) to: determine a transmit diversity configuration that indicates a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band (see para [0095] wherein the terminal or UE receiving information from a network node about one or more carriers in which the UE may or may not perform V2X operation on the sidelink & the received information mainly depicting interference or load situation on one or more carriers which can be used for V2X operation by the UE on the sidelink of these carriers, is mentioned and also see para [0096] wherein in one variant the received information comprising the signal levels and/or a signal pattern in a channel (or carriers) in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required) (that includes determining a transmit diversity configuration indicating a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band), which the UE can use for V2X operation, is mentioned and also see para [0100]);
perform the channel access procedure for the plurality of component carriers in the shared radio frequency spectrum band to determine the result of the channel access procedure based at least in part on the transmit diversity criterion (see para [0096] wherein in one variant the received information comprising the signal levels and/or a signal pattern in a channel (or carriers) in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), which the UE can use for V2X operation, is mentioned and also see para [0100] wherein in the step-2, the UE using the received information about load situation on the indicated carriers from the network node to determine whether to perform channel access procedure (e.g. sensing, LBT, CCA etc.) for transmit V2X related signals on the sidelink of one or more indicated carriers, is mentioned and also see para [0122] wherein the UE performing carrier sensing (LBT) for V2X operation on the sidelink of the carriers which is selected or determined by the UE in step-2, is mentioned and also see para [0047]); and
transmit or refrain from transmitting a message over at least one component carrier of the plurality of component carriers based at least in part on the result of the channel access procedure (see para [0123] wherein if the carrier sensing procedure is successful, then the UE allocating or reserving one or more radio resources on the SL of the carrier for certain time period & directly starting transmission, is mentioned and also see para [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Tejedor et al. further teach the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: receive, from a second UE or a node, an indication of the transmit diversity criterion to declare the result of the channel access procedure for the plurality of component carriers in the shared radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on an observed interference level satisfying a threshold (see para [0129] wherein the network node determining if one or more UEs are operating or expected to operate in sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned, also see para [0150] wherein the network node transmitting information obtained in step-2 to a UE and/or other network nodes, e.g. for operation on sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned and also see para [0153] wherein the information including radio measurement results e.g. signal quality, signal strength, interference etc., is mentioned).
Regarding claim 23, Tejedor et al. teach a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.2/Fig.6 for UE), comprising: one or more memories (see Fig.6, block 22 and para [0160]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the first UE (see Fig.6, block 20 inside UE and para [0160]) to: measure one or more sidelink reference signals to determine an observed interference level at the first UE (see para [0102] wherein the UE performing one or more radio measurements on one or more carriers whose load situation is indicated by the network node to the UE, is mentioned and also the UE further performing signal level measurement result with a threshold, is mentioned and also see para [0109] wherein the UE measurement for one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum including RS-SINR (Reference Signal Signal-To-Interference and Noise Ratio), is mentioned and also see para [0095]); and
communicate, to a second UE, a message comprising an indication of a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the observed interference level satisfying a threshold (see para [0102] wherein the UE performing one or more radio measurements on one or more carriers whose load situation is indicated by the network node to the UE, is mentioned and also the UE further performing signal level measurement result with a threshold, is mentioned, also see para [0125] wherein the UE transmitting information about the use of V2X operation on SL of one or more carriers to another UE and/or to the network node, is mentioned and also the UE indicating to the network node/UE (e.g. a network node operating in the licensed spectrum) which carriers are used or expected to be used by the UE and/or which carriers cannot be used until certain time period (T3), not used or not expected to be used for certain time (T4) for V2X operation e.g. due to high load, is mentioned and also see para [0129] wherein the terminal determining if one or more UEs are operating or expected to operate in sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “communicating, to a second UE, a message comprising an indication of a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the observed interference level satisfying a threshold” and also see para [0095]).
Regarding claim 29, Tejedor et al. teach a node for wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.2/Fig.12), comprising one or more memories (see Fig.12, block 120 and para [0166] wherein a 120/controller being connected to memory, is mentioned); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the node (see Fig.12, block 120/processor and para [0166]) to: transmit a transmit diversity configuration that indicates a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band (see para [0095] wherein the terminal or UE receiving information that is transmitted from a network node about one or more carriers in which the UE may or may not perform V2X operation on the sidelink & the received information mainly depicting interference or load situation on one or more carriers which can be used for V2X operation by the UE on the sidelink of these carriers, is mentioned and also see para [0096] wherein in one variant the received information comprising the signal levels and/or a signal pattern in a channel (or carriers) in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required) (that includes a transmit diversity configuration indicating a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band), which the UE can use for V2X operation, is mentioned and also see para [0129]);
measure one or more reference signals to determine an observed interference level at the node (see para [0129] wherein the network node determining if one or more UEs are operating or expected to operate in sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned and also the network node operating on carriers (that includes measuring one or more reference signals) which may belong to either licensed band or unlicensed band, is mentioned and also see para [0150] wherein the network node transmitting information obtained in step-2 to a UE and/or other network nodes, e.g. for operation on sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned and also see para [0153] wherein the information including radio measurement results e.g. signal quality, signal strength, interference etc., is mentioned and also see para [0141] ); and
communicate, to a user equipment (UE), a message comprising an indication of an updated transmit diversity criterion to declare the result of the channel access procedure for the plurality of component carriers in the shared radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the observed interference level satisfying a threshold (see para [0129] wherein the network node determining if one or more UEs are operating or expected to operate in sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned, also see para [0150] wherein the network node transmitting information obtained in step-2 to a UE and/or other network nodes, e.g. for operation on sidelink of one or more carriers in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), is mentioned and also see para [0153] wherein the information including radio measurement results e.g. signal quality, signal strength, interference etc., is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “communicating, to a user equipment (UE), a message comprising an indication of an updated transmit diversity criterion to declare the result of the channel access procedure for the plurality of component carriers in the shared radio frequency spectrum band based at least in part on the observed interference level satisfying a threshold” and also see para [0148]).
Regarding claim 30, Tejedor et al. teach a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (see Abstract and Fig.2/Fig.6 for UE), comprising: determining a transmit diversity configuration that indicates a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band (see para [0095] wherein the terminal or UE receiving information from a network node about one or more carriers in which the UE may or may not perform V2X operation on the sidelink & the received information mainly depicting interference or load situation on one or more carriers which can be used for V2X operation by the UE on the sidelink of these carriers, is mentioned and also see para [0096] wherein in one variant the received information comprising the signal levels and/or a signal pattern in a channel (or carriers) in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required) (that includes determining a transmit diversity configuration indicating a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band), which the UE can use for V2X operation, is mentioned and also see para [0100]);
performing the channel access procedure for the plurality of component carriers in the shared radio frequency spectrum band to determine the result of the channel access procedure based at least in part on the transmit diversity criterion (see para [0096] wherein in one variant the received information comprising the signal levels and/or a signal pattern in a channel (or carriers) in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), which the UE can use for V2X operation, is mentioned and also see para [0100] wherein in the step-2, the UE using the received information about load situation on the indicated carriers from the network node to determine whether to perform channel access procedure (e.g. sensing, LBT, CCA etc.) for transmit V2X related signals on the sidelink of one or more indicated carriers, is mentioned and also see para [0122] wherein the UE performing carrier sensing (LBT) for V2X operation on the sidelink of the carriers which is selected or determined by the UE in step-2, is mentioned and also see para [0047]); and transmitting or refraining from transmitting a message over at least one component carrier of the plurality of component carriers based at least in part on the result of the channel access procedure (see para [0123] wherein if the carrier sensing procedure is successful, then the UE allocating or reserving one or more radio resources on the SL of the carrier for certain time period & directly starting transmission, is mentioned and also see para [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 2 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tejedor et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0059962 A1) in view of Cai et al. (US Pub. No: 2012/0008510 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tejedor et al. teach the first UE of claim 1.
Tejedor et al. is silent in teaching the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that indicates the transmit diversity configuration, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) element message, or a downlink control information message, or a combination thereof.
However, Cai et al. teach a first UE (see Abstract and Fig.2/WTRU 110) wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that indicates the transmit diversity configuration, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) element message, or a downlink control information message, or a combination thereof (see para [0169] wherein the UE receiving UL transmit diversity configuration via RRC (radio resource control) signaling, is mentioned and also see para [0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above UE of Tejedor et al. to have the one or more processors being further configured to receive a control message indicating the transmit diversity configuration, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, disclosed by Cai et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless transmit/receiver unit (WTRU) for efficiently switching an antenna to use for uplink transmission based on the received channel quality information from a network node in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 31, Tejedor et al. teach the node of claim 29.
Tejedor et al. is silent in teaching the node of claim 29, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the node to: transmit a control message that indicates the transmit diversity configuration, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element message, or a downlink control information message, or a combination thereof.
However, Cai et al. teach a node (see Abstract and node B-120) wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the node to: transmit a control message that indicates the transmit diversity configuration, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, a medium access control (MAC) control element message, or a downlink control information message, or a combination thereof (see para [0169] wherein the UE receiving UL transmit diversity configuration via RRC (radio resource control) signaling from the network/node, is mentioned and also see para [0171).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above node of Tejedor et al. to have the one or more processors being further configured to transmit a control message that indicates the transmit diversity configuration, wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control message, disclosed by Cai et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless transmit/receiver unit (WTRU) for efficiently switching an antenna to use for uplink transmission based on the received channel quality information from a network node in wireless communication system.
5. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tejedor et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0059962 A1) in view of PARK et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0343670 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Tejedor et al. teach the first UE of claim 1.
Tejedor et al. is silent in teaching the first UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: determine a probability of the result of the channel access procedure based at least in part on a probability model and declare the result of the channel access procedure based at least in part on the probability.
However, PARK et al. teach a UE (see Abstract and Fig. 3/UE) wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: determine a probability of the result of the channel access procedure based at least in part on a probability model and declare the result of the channel access procedure based at least in part on the probability (see para [0334] wherein a UL LBT success probability being defined as a first parameter and the UL LBT success probability being determined based on following equation, is mentioned and also see para [0335]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above apparatus of Tejedor et al. to have the processor being further configured to determine a probability of the result of the channel access procedure using a probability model and declare the result of the channel access procedure for based at least in part on the probability, disclosed by PARK et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of UE for both providing effective uplink channel access in a wireless communication system and determining occupancy of an unlicensed band before uplink scheduling in the wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4-21, 24-28 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed on 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
8. In pages 11-12 of Applicant’s Remarks, regarding independent claim1, Applicant mainly mentions that the cited reference Tejedor et al. does not disclose "determine a transmit diversity configuration that indicates a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band," as recited in independent claim 1.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees to the above statements of the as follows.
Tejedor et al. clearly teach (see para [0095]) that the terminal or UE receives information from a network node about one or more carriers in which the UE may or may not perform V2X operation on the sidelink and the received information mainly depicts interference & load situation on one or more carriers which can be used for V2X operation by the UE on the sidelink of these carriers. Tejedor et al. also teach (see para [0096]) that in one variant the received information comprising the signal levels and a signal pattern in a channel (or carriers) in unlicensed spectrum (or in license-exempt spectrum or in a spectrum where LBT is required), which the UE can use for V2X operation. Tejedor et al. further teach in para [0100] that the UE may use the received information about load situation on the indicated carriers from the network node to determine whether to perform channel access procedure (e.g. sensing, LBT, CCA etc.) for transmit V2X related signals on the sidelink of one or more indicated carriers. Thus, the above teaching of Tejedor et al. includes and is equivalent to, as per Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of claim limitations, ‘determining a transmit diversity configuration that indicates a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band’ as the interference & load situation on one or more carriers which are used for V2X operation by the UE on the sidelink of these carriers and which are being used to determine whether to perform channel access procedure (e.g. sensing, LBT, CCA etc.) for transmit V2X related signals on the sidelink of more indicated carriers (that includes a transmit diversity criterion to declare a result of a channel access procedure for a plurality of component carriers in a shared radio frequency spectrum band) and which is also consistent w.r.t. Applicant’s disclosure of an indication of a transmit diversity criterion for declaring a result of a channel access procedure for a set of multiple CCs in a shared radio frequency spectrum band based on the observed interference level (see para [0029] of Applicant’s specification publication).
9. The above Examiner’s explanation of independent claim 1 is also applicable to independent claims 23, 29 and 30 and Tejedor et al. clearly teach all the limitations of independent claims 23, 29 and 30, as already mentioned above under Claim Rejections.
10. The rejection of all other claims is already mentioned above under Claim Rejections.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GHEORGHIU et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0052869 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method of receiving (1505) an activation message that indicates an activation of a first component carrier group for carrier aggregation communication between a user equipment (UE) and a base station.
XUE et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0014892 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to measuring a channel occupancy time (COT) in a shared spectrum using a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure by using a first user equipment (UE).
Lei et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0053536 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to method and apparatus for subband based channel access on unlicensed spectrum in wireless communication system.
LI et al. (US Pub. No: 2017/0303196 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a station that uses a power spectral density as large as possible to perform data transmission, so as to maximize transmission efficiency of a system.
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 10/02/2026