DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US 2020/0165045) in view of Horinouchi et al. (JP 2019-151782).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses a lid material for PTP (abstract) comprising lid material film 4A comprises thermoplastic material such as polypropylene resin (0033-0036) but does not disclose the same polypropylene and properties as claimed in present claim and specification.
Horinouchi discloses thermoplastic resin composition for packing materials comprising polypropylene resin such as PLB00A to obtain excellent in balance between mechanical strength and ductility (page 3, example 1). Given that Horinouchi discloses the same polypropylene resin as discloses in present specification, it is clear that the polypropylene resin of Horinouchi would have the same properties as claimed in present claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the specific polypropylene resin of Horinouchi in the lid material of Kondo to obtain excellent in balance between mechanical strength and ductility.
Kondo discloses the lid material film is stretched film to obtain improved tensile strength (0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to stretch the film of Kondo in view of Horinouchi to a certain degree of orientation to obtain desired tensile strength. Given that Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the same lid material for PTP as recited in present claim, it is clear that the lid material of Kondo in view of Horinouchi would intrinsically possess the same properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 3, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the lid material for PTP of claim 1, wherein given that Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the same material as claimed in present specification, it is clear that the lid of Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in present claim.
Regarding claim 4, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the lid material for PTP of claim 1, wherein Kondo discloses the thickness of the lid material is 5 to 50 microns (0053). Given that Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the same material as claimed in present specification, it is clear that the lid of Kondo in view of Horinouchi would intrinsically possess the same properties as claimed in present claim.
Regarding claim 5, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the lid material for PTP of claim 1, wherein Kondo discloses adding inorganic filler to reduce thrust strength (0045). Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of inorganic material is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the strength is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of inorganic material, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of inorganic material in lid material to obtain the desired thrust strength (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 6, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the lid material for PTP of claim 1, wherein Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses a layer containing the polypropylene resin and one layer containing polyethylene (0061, 0134).
Regarding claim 7, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses a PTP body comprising the lid material for PTP of claim 1 (0001) and a bottom material having a cavity that accommodates contained matter (0002, 0025).
Regarding claim 13, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the lid material for PTP of claim 1, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses a layer containing the polypropylene resin as explained in claim 1 above, the only resin that has the claimed molecular weight, (0061, 0134).
Regarding claim 14, Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses the lid material for PTP of claim 1, wherein Kondo in view of Horinouchi discloses a layer containing the polypropylene resin as explained in claim 1 above and one layer containing polyethylene (0061, 0134).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant points to example 1 and comparative example 4 in specification and argues that example 1 has superior penetrability and film odor. However, it is noted that both the example 1 and comparative example 4 have MD degree of orientation of 0.04 which is outside of the claimed range. Further, there is no side by side comparison between example 1 and comparative example 4 given that example 1 discloses TPO based second layer and PP based bottom layer while comparative example 4 discloses PE based second layer and PP/PE based bottom layer. Further, both examples disclose different enthalpy of crystal fusion, crystallinity and draw temperature. Therefore, the data is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Horinouchi does not disclose the specific weight average molecular weight. However, it is noted that Horinouchi discloses the same polypropylene as discloses in the present specification, i.e. PLB00A. Applicant discloses in their own specification in 0069 that PLB00A has a weight average molecular weight of 2.2 X 105.
Applicant points that MD degree of orientation of -0.035 to 0.035 achieves excellent outward penetrability and compares example 4 with example 1 and argues that example 4 has superior outward penetrability. However, it is noted that the data is not persuasive given that there is no side by side comparison between example 1 and example 4. Both examples disclose different MD degree of orientation, enthalpy of crystal fusion, crystallinity and draw temperature.
Regarding claim 13, applicant argues that Horinouchi does not provide any suggestion or motivation to adopt the claimed layer containing, as a resin, only the polypropylene resin having the claimed weight average molecular weight. However, it is noted that Kondo in view of Horinouchi does disclose claim 13 as explained above. Further, Horinouchi does disclose polypropylene resin such as PLB00A which is the only resin that has a weight average molecular weight of 2.2 X 105.
Regarding claim 14, applicant argues that Horinouchi discloses PLB00A which has a melt flow rate outside the claimed range. However, it is noted that a polypropylene resin having a melt flow rate is an optional limitation in claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787