DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/01/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-22 are pending in this application.
Claim 13, and 21 are cancelled. Claim 22 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First Argument (pages 7- 8) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that Haug, Kobayashi, Nakamura, and Borghi individually do not explicitly teach checking whether at least one component is in the calibration setting, the component being adjusted into the calibration setting automatically as a function of a vehicle speed of the vehicle, where the vehicle speed being greater than zero, respectively.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Haug teaches onboard calibration using a calibration object carried by a movable vehicle component that is brought into position for the duration of the calibration process so that it is detectable by the image sensor (Haug [0009]). Haug further teaches that the movable component is brought into one or more defined positions for calibration, and that a final control element may be used to adjust the movable components into that calibration position (Haug [0016]). Haug highlights that the calibration process also applies to backward looking image sensor and the calibration objects can be placed on many movable components, and not limited to vehicle hood (Haug [0022]). Haug does not limit the calibration of the vehicle to a stationary position. Nakamura teaches calibration of on vehicle cameras including rear view cameras, known marker coordinates in a reference coordinate system, and calibration using the coordinates of the calibration point in the reference coordinate system and the camera coordinate system (Nakamura [0025], [0028], and [0056]). Borghi teaches a movable component using an actuating device that determines the best position based on the vehicle speed (Borghi [0004], and [0011]). Borghi further teaches that the actuators provide an output indicating the instantaneous position of the component (Borghi [0031], and [0034]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the calibration of an image sensor in a motor vehicle, using calibration objects on the movable vehicle components, where the movable vehicle component is any movable vehicle component that is attached to the vehicle, and calibration of the vehicle is not limited to a stationary position as disclosed by Haug to add the calibration of rearview camera using defined coordinates as disclosed by Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust the movable vehicle component to a defined position, and the position of the movable component is a factor of the speed of the vehicle as disclosed by Borghi to place the movable vehicle component into an optimal position to improve the reliability of determining the position of movable vehicle components as a factor of speed (Borghi [0011]).
Therefore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second Argument (pages 8- 9) under Remarks:
Applicant is unable to identify any motivation for combining the features of Haug, Nakamura, and Borghi to arrive at the claimed invention outside of Applicant's own disclosure. Accordingly, the Office's allegations constitute improper hindsight bias. See MPEP§ 2142 ("[I]mpermissible hindsight must be avoided and the legal conclusion must be reached on the basis of the facts gleaned from the prior art.")
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees Haug teaches onboard calibration using a calibration object carried by a movable vehicle component that is brought into position for the duration of the calibration process so that it is detectable by the image sensor (Haug [0009]). Haug further teaches that the movable component is brought into one or more defined positions for calibration, and that a final control element may be used to adjust the movable components into that calibration position (Haug [0016]). Haug does not limit the calibration of the vehicle to a stationary position. Nakamura teaches calibration of on vehicle cameras including rear view cameras (Nakamura [0025]). Borghi teaches a movable component using an actuating device that determines the best position based on the vehicle speed (Borghi [0004], and [0011]). Borghi further teaches that the actuators provide an output indicating the instantaneous position of the component (Borghi [0031], and [0034]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the calibration of an image sensor in a motor vehicle, using calibration objects on the movable vehicle components, where the movable vehicle component is any movable vehicle component that is attached to the vehicle, and calibration of the vehicle is not limited to a stationary position as disclosed by Haug to add the calibration of rearview camera using defined coordinates as disclosed by Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust the movable vehicle component to a defined position, and the position of the movable component is a factor of the speed of the vehicle as disclosed by Borghi to place the movable vehicle component into an optimal position to improve the reliability of determining the position of movable vehicle components as a factor of speed (Borghi [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-15, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karsten Haug (US 20090033926 A1) (hereinafter Haug)) in view of Yoshihiro Nakamura (US 20100082281 A1) (hereinafter Nakamura) further in view of Fabio Borghi (US 20020093220 A1) (hereinafter Borghi):
Regarding Claim 1, Haug teaches A method for calibrating a rear-view camera on a vehicle (method for calibrating cameras in motor vehicle [0005]], having at least one component which can be adjusted [component that can be adjusted [0016]),
wherein the at least one component can be adjusted into a calibration setting (the adjustment of a component that is ideal for calibration [0016]) and at least one marker is arranged on the at least one component such that the marker lies in an acquisition region of the rear-view camera after the at least one component has been adjusted into the calibration setting (calibration object (part number 4) is arranged on the component (part number 2) , the calibration object is within the acquisition region of the camera (part number 3) [Fig. 1] and [0013-0014]);
reading in at least one marker position, each read marker position being assigned to a respective marker of the at least one marker on a respective component of the at least one component, while the respective component is in the calibration setting (The calibration object is positioned on the vehicle component (part number 2) in the field of view of the camera. The vehicle component is in calibration mode [Fig. 1], [0013-0016])
… while the respective component is in the calibration setting (The component in in the calibration mode [0016]).
Haug does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Nakamura, in analogous art, teaches wherein the rear-view camera is in a camera pose relative to the vehicle [the camera is mounted facing the rear of the vehicle [0025-0027]] the method comprising:
checking whether the at least one component is in the calibration setting (“To park the vehicle in a correct position, the vehicle may be driven forward or backward until the wheels of the vehicle are stopped by a wheel stopper or a groove for accommodating the wheels.” [0004]; “the calibration of the camera 1 is performed in the state where the vehicle 100 is parked in the predetermined position… a front end of the vehicle 100 is detected by a phototube to have the vehicle 100 parked with a high accuracy. [0032]”);
reading in image signals of the rear-view camera [receiving the image signals from the rear-view camera [0038]], the acquisition region of the rear-view camera being aimed at a rear space behind the vehicle [the camera is facing the rear of the vehicle and is aimed at the rear space [0025] and [FIGS 4A and 4B]] such that the read image signals characterize an image of the rear space behind the vehicle [the image is of the rear space of the vehicle [0044] and [Fig. 6,7,8]], while the at least one component is in the calibration setting [The vehicle wheels are set in a calibration position [0026]]
ascertaining at least one image position as a function of the image signals [the image position is ascertained based on the image signals taken by the camera [0043]], each ascertained image position being assigned to a respective marker on the respective component (The image position is linked to a specific marker (the calibration point Q) which is assigned to the marker on the respective component [0028]) …
calibrating the rear-view camera as a function of the read at least one marker position (calibration based on image capture region which are lined to the marker position; the reading of the marker positions influences how the capture region is determined [0044]) of a respective marker and the ascertained image position of the respective marker (the ascertained image position of the marker is determined through image processing in the capture region [0033]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Nakamura does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Borghi, in analogous art, teaches the at least one component being adjusted into the calibration setting automatically as a function of a vehicle speed of the vehicle, the vehicle speed being greater than zero (“The switch from the minimum- to maximum-angle position is made when the vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold speed.” [0004]; “spoiler actuating means for adjusting the position of the spoiler between said minimum-angle position and said maximum-angle position as a function of the speed of the vehicle” [0011]);
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component of Borghi to improve the reliability and stabilize the condition to perform calibration at high speed (Borghi [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Nakamura teaches wherein a transformation matrix and/or the camera pose is ascertained from the marker position read in for the respective marker and the ascertained image position of the respective marker (the camera pose is determined based on the position of the vehicle and marker, which are mapped onto a work coordinate system; the arithmetic operations transform the marker position into coordinates [0042] and [0042]) such that the image position of the respective marker is transformed by the transformation matrix and/or as a function of the camera pose onto the read marker position (the image is transformed based on the camera’s pose/location [0040-0042] and FIG.1).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 2. Nakamura teaches wherein the ascertained at least one image position of the respective marker is specified in image coordinates (the image position of the marker is specified in image coordinates by the camera [0040]) and the image coordinates of the respective marker are transformed as a function of the ascertained transformation matrix and/or the camera pose into transformed image coordinates in a cartesian coordinate system, the marker position of the respective marker likewise being specified in the cartesian coordinate system (transformation of the camera and marker coordinates from the image space into a work coordinate system, which is a cartesian coordinate system; the coordinate system (Xw, Yw, Zw) shows the transformation of the marker’s image coordinates as a function of the camera pose into the cartesian system [0027-0028]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding claim 4, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 2. Nakamura teaches wherein a deviation between the camera pose of the rear-view camera and a prespecified camera setpoint pose is ascertained (the rotational displacement (deviation) of the camera is calculated based on the difference between its actual pose and its intended pose [0056]) and the rear-view camera is aligned such that the deviation is reduced if a limit value for the deviation is exceeded (the camera pose is corrected by calculating and applying a rotation vector to realign the camera; if the deviation exceeds a threshold, the correction process is initiated [0056]), the deviation being compensated for (after the camera is realigned, the deviation is fully compensated for, resulting in a corrected image that matches the expected output).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 4. Haug teaches wherein the alignment of the rear-view camera is carried out before the calibration of the rear-view camera (The alignment of the camera before the calibration [0022]).
Regarding Claim 6, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 4. Nakamura teaches wherein the rear-view camera is adjusted if the limit value is exceeded in order to make the ascertained camera pose approach the camera setpoint pose [the camera position is adjusted based on its deviation from the expected setpoint pose; ensuring that the image output aligns [0056-0057]],
wherein an alignment signal is generated [a signal is generated and transmitted to control the calibration process [0037]] and output as a function of the ascertained deviation between the ascertained camera pose of the rear-view camera and the prespecified camera setpoint pose [the deviation (rotational displacement between the camera pose (camera coordinates) and the setpoint pose (coordinates of the calibration point) are calculated [0037]], and
wherein a camera actuator that cooperates with the rear-view camera is actuated with the alignment signal [a control signal is sent to actuate the camera system [0037]] such that the camera pose of the rear-view camera is adjusted [the camera’s position is adjusted based on the rotational displacement and correction signals; the actuator would adjust the pose of the camera using the alignment signal to ensure the camera’s position matches the desired setpoint pose [0056]].
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration marker is processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070).
Regarding Claim 7, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Haug teaches wherein at least two components are provided (multiple calibration objects (components) with reference features [0017]), the at least two components being brought together or individually into the calibration setting for the calibration of the rear-view camera (the calibration component, contains multiple calibration objects (4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4) that are combined into object 4 for calibration).
Regarding Claim 8, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Borghi teaches wherein the at least one component is at least one air guide which can be adjusted (“a vehicle with movable spoilers” [0010]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component of Borghi to improve the reliability and stabilize the condition to perform calibration at high speed (Borghi [0004]).
Regarding Claim 9, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Haug teaches wherein the at least one component is configured to be adjusted continuously or in stages between a first end setting and a second end setting (the engine hood (the component) can be adjusted through different stages or continuously (raised to different heights) to reach the ideal calibration position [0016]), the at least one component in the calibration setting being:
In an intermediate setting between the first end setting and the second end setting
In the first end setting, or
In the second end setting (the component (engine hood) can be adjusted into an intermediate setting, depending on the control elements used for calibration [0016]).
Regarding Claim 10, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Haug teaches wherein the at least one component can be brought into different calibration settings (the component [engine hood] can be brought into different positions depending on its adjust mechanism [0016]), each marker on the at least on component being assigned a plurality of marker position, each marker position being assigned to one of the different calibration settings (the placement of reference features(markers) on the calibration object, and each marker can correspond to different position depending on the component’s calibration setting [0006]) … for the respectively set calibration setting and the ascertained image position of the marker(the placement of reference features(markers) on the calibration object, and each marker can correspond to different position depending on the component’s calibration setting [0006]).
Haug does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Nakamura teaches the calibration of the rear-view camera can be carried out as a function of the read marker position of a marker (the marker positions are used to calibrate the rear-view camera [0043] and Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding Claim 11, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Haug teaches the at least one component with the at least one marker can be adjusted in an automated fashion by component actuator (the calibration object is aligned with respect to the motor vehicle via a mechanical adjustment device [0005]).
Regarding Claim 12, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 4. Nakamura teaches wherein before image signals of the rear-view camera are read in, a check is made as to whether a calibration mode is activated (step S1 checks of the adjustment mode is activated as the first step of the calibration process [Fig.12 A]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding Claim 14, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Haug teaches a vehicle, having a calibrating arrangement (The calibration arrangement of the vehicle hood [0016]) … and wherein the calibrating arrangement comprises:
at least one component which is adjustable (The calibration arrangement of the vehicle hood [0016]), the at least one component being configured for being adjusted into a calibration setting (the adjustment of a component that is ideal for calibration [0016]) and at least one marker being arranged on the at least one component such that the marker lies in an acquisition region of the rear-view camera when the at least one component is adjusted into the calibration setting (calibration object (part number 4) is arranged on the component (part number 2) , the calibration object is within the acquisition region of the camera (part number 3) [Fig. 1] and [0013-0014]).
Haug does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Nakamura teaches a rear-view camera, wherein the rear-view camera is in a camera pose relative to the vehicle (the camera is mounted facing the rear of the vehicle [0025-0027])
a processor, which is configured to carry out the method as claimed in claim 1 for calibrating the rear -view camera (software and hardware to process the image data (a processor) [0007] and [0036])
…the acquisition region of the rear-view camera being aimed at a rear space behind the vehicle (a rear camera that takes images of the rear of the vehicle [0057]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding Claim 15, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the vehicle as claimed in claim 14. Haug teaches wherein the vehicle comprises a single section, including a motor vehicle, or comprises multiple section including a tractor and a semitrailer (a motor vehicle [0002]).
Regarding Claim 17, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the vehicle as claimed in claim 14. (the component) is brought into the calibration setting (the adjustment of a component that is ideal for calibration [0016]).
Haug does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Borghi teaches the at least one component is at least one air guide (“a vehicle with movable spoilers” [0010]) which can be adjust, and can be brought together or respectively individually (“The switch from the minimum- to maximum-angle position is made when the vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold speed.” [0004]; “spoiler actuating means for adjusting the position of the spoiler between said minimum-angle position and said maximum-angle position as a function of the speed of the vehicle” [0011]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component of Borghi to improve the reliability and stabilize the condition to perform calibration at high speed (Borghi [0004]).
Regarding Claim 18, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the vehicle as claimed in claim 14. Borghi teaches wherein the at least one component can be adjusted in an automated fashion by a component actuator (“spoiler actuating means for adjusting the position of the spoiler between said minimum-angle position and said maximum-angle position as a function of the speed of the vehicle;” [0011]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component of Borghi to improve the reliability and stabilize the condition to perform calibration at high speed (Borghi [0004]).
Regarding Claim 19, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the vehicle as claimed in claim 14. Haug teaches the system further comprising a driver assistance system, the driver assistance system being configured to read in and process the image signals of the calibrated rear-view camera (a rear monitoring system, a navigation system, or a multimedia system of the vehicle that read and process image data for the calibration system [0037-0040] and Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Regarding Claim 20, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the vehicle as claimed in claim 8. Borghi teaches wherein the at least one air guide is one or more of a lateral air guide flap, an upper air guide flap, and a tail air guide flap (“a vehicle with movable spoilers” [0010]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component of Borghi to improve the reliability and stabilize the condition to perform calibration at high speed (Borghi [0004]).
Regarding Claim 22, Haug teaches a method for calibrating a rear-view camera on a vehicle (method for calibrating cameras in motor vehicle [0005]], the method comprising:
a component having at least one marker (calibration object (part number 4) is arranged on the component (part number 2) , the calibration object is within the acquisition region of the camera (part number 3) [Fig. 1] and [0013-0014])… , the deployed position corresponding to a calibration setting for the rear-view camera (the adjustment of a component that is ideal for calibration [0016]);
while the component is in the calibration setting (The component in in the calibration mode [0016]);
reading in at least one marker position, each read marker position being assigned to a respective marker of the at least one markers on the component (The calibration object is positioned on the vehicle component (part number 2) in the field of view of the camera. The vehicle component is in calibration mode [Fig. 1], [0013-0016]);
Haug does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Nakamura, in analogous art, teaches reading in image signals of the rear-view camera [receiving the image signals from the rear-view camera [0038]], an acquisition region of the rear- view camera being aimed at a rear space behind the vehicle [the camera is facing the rear of the vehicle and is aimed at the rear space [0025] and [FIGS 4A and 4B]] such that the read image signals characterize an image of the rear space behind the vehicle [the image is of the rear space of the vehicle [0044] and [Fig. 6,7,8]];
ascertaining at least one image position as a function of the image signals [the image position is ascertained based on the image signals taken by the camera [0043]], each ascertained image position being assigned to a respective marker on the respective component (The image position is linked to a specific marker (the calibration point Q) which is assigned to the marker on the respective component [0028]); and
calibrating the rear-view camera as a function of the read in at least one marker positions (calibration based on image capture region which are lined to the marker position; the reading of the marker positions influences how the capture region is determined [0044]) and the at least one ascertained image positions (the ascertained image position of the marker is determined through image processing in the capture region [0033]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to improve the calibration by ensuring that the calibration markers are processed uniformly (Nakamura [0070]).
Nakamura does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, Borghi, in analogous art, teaches automatically adjusting an air guide component in response to the vehicle reaching a nonzero speed, the air guide component being adjusted from an undeployed position to a deployed position (“The switch from the minimum- to maximum-angle position is made when the vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold speed.” [0004]; “spoiler actuating means for adjusting the position of the spoiler between said minimum-angle position and said maximum-angle position as a function of the speed of the vehicle” [0011]);
air guide component ([0002] teaches a spoiler which is an air guide component)
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the calibration of an image sensor in a motor vehicle, using calibration objects on the movable vehicle components as disclosed by Haug to add the calibration of rearview camera using defined coordinates as disclosed by Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component as disclosed by Borghi to place the movable vehicle component into an optimal position to improve the reliability and stabilize the condition of the vehicle component (Borghi [0004]).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karsten Haug (US 20090033926 A1) (hereinafter Haug)) in view of Yoshihiro Nakamura (US 20100082281 A1) (hereinafter Nakamura) in view of Fabio Borghi (US 20020093220 A1) (hereinafter Borghi) further in view of Hans M Molin (US 20160300113 A1) (hereinafter Hans):
Regarding Claim 16, Haug in view of Nakamura in view of Borghi teaches the vehicle as claimed in claim 15; however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the rear-view camera is arranged on a semitrailer rear of the semitrailer and/or on a tractor rear of the tractor or on a motor vehicle rear of the motor vehicle.
However, Hans, in analogous art, teaches wherein the rear-view camera is arranged on a semitrailer rear of the semitrailer and/or on a tractor rear of the tractor or on a motor vehicle rear of the motor vehicle (rear view cameras are placed on a semitrailer rear [0048] [Fig. 1]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Haug to add the teachings of Nakamura to further add the speed based trigger to adjust a vehicle component of Borghi to further include the variety of different vehicles in Hans to improve adaptability of the camera system (Han [0054]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486