DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A (Figs. 2 and 4) and Species F (Figs. 12 and 13) (i.e. Claims 1, 7, and ) in the reply filed on 6/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 20200266464 (“Kim”).
Kim teaches a fuel cell membrane humidifier comprising a mid-case (10), a cap (20) fastened to the mid-case and having a dry gas discharge hole through which dry gas is discharged, and a pressure regulator (100 – valve) formed in an inner wall of the cap to regulate the pressure of the dry gas in the cap (Abstract, Fig. 1, [0009], [0011], [0025]-[0028], [0031], [0034], and [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20140162150 (“Kim”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 1020040110707 (“Lee”).
Kim teaches its pressure regulator (100 – valve), but does not teach the claimed structure of the valve.
However, Lee discloses a valve comprising a thermally expandable metal (221a and/or 221b) and expanding according to a change in temperature, and a through-hole formed in the thermally expandable metal and partially opening a discharge hole (212) according to expansion of the thermally expandable metal. Lee further teaches that the valve comprises a stopper at an end of the thermally expandable metal and formed of a heat-resistant material (i.e. the structure and size of 211a at the end of the thermally expandable metal will also influence how much the metal expands or stop expanding) (Abstract, Figs. 7-10, and Page 3: Lines 34-54 provided in the translated document). Please see annotated Figs. 9-10 of Lee below disclosing said features.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Kim’s pressure regulator valve have the claimed structure, as demonstrated by Lee, in order to maximize heat/dry gas dissipation (Page 2: Lines 14-15) and optimize the balance between performance, reliability, safety, maintenance, energy efficiency, and cost.
Conclusion
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785