DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The alternatives for the R1 group in claim 2 and the R2 group in claim 3 are too blurry to identify what substituents are being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unterlass et al. (WO 2020/187751) using the English language machine translation and the figures and schemes in the original document for the citations below.
Regarding claim 1: Unterlass et al. teaches a process for the production of polyimide powder (abstract, para. 50) comprising preparing a mixture/dispersion of polyanhydrides and polyamines in water (para. 21) such as distilled water (para. 44) and conducting a reaction at a stirring speed of 500-700 rpm (para. 28) under temperature and pressure conditions/in an autoclave (para. 50). While Unterlass et al. does not teach the entire claimed range of more than 200 rpm with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claim, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the overlapping stirring speed and would have been motivated to do so since Unterlass et al. teaches this speed results in the desired size and properties of the resulting polyimide.
Regarding claims 2-3: Unterlass et al. teaches the scheme:
(original document and para. 38 of translation). The claimed dianhydride is used where R1 is the first claimed structure and the claimed diamine is used where R2 is the last structure on page 10 of the claims.
Regarding claims 4 and 5: Unterlass et al. teaches a stirring speed of 500-700 rpm (para. 28), which overlaps the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 6: Unterlass et al. teaches a reaction time of 4 hours (para. 50).
Regarding claim 7: Unterlass et al. teaches a temperature of 250 °C (para. 50).
Regarding claim 9: Unterlass et al. teaches a polyimide powder (para. 50).
Regarding claims 10-13: Unterlass et al. teaches a D99, and therefore a D50 of less than 100 microns (figure 4B).
Regarding claim 14: While Unterlass et al. does not teach the steps of sintering, the claim is directed to a product that is capable of being sintered. Since the polyimide powder of Unterlass et al. is made by the same method as claimed, the powder would also be capable of being sintered as in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15: while Unterlass et al. does not teach the tensile strength, this is a latent property, and further, the claims are worded such that the powder “can be manufactured”. Therefore, the product of Unterlass et al. is capable of being manufactured to have the claimed properties, such as by adding auxiliary tougheners.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unterlass et al. (WO 2020/187751) using the English language machine translation and the figures and schemes in the original document for the citations below as applied to claim 1 and in view of Inagaki et al. (US 2013/0189523).
Regarding claim 8: Unterlass et al. teaches the basic claimed method as set forth above. Not disclosed is the pressure. However, Inagaki et al. teaches a similar method where the reaction takes place at 10-300 MPa/100-3,000 bar (para. 131). Unterlass et al. and Inagaki et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely making polyimide resins. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the pressure of Inagaki et al. in the method of Unterlass et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to assist with the dispersion.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unterlass et al. (WO 2020/187751) using the English language machine translation and the figures and schemes in the original document for the citations below as applied to claim 9 set forth above and in view of Sakai et al. (US 2021/0261756).
Regarding claim 16: Unterlass et al. teaches the basic claimed article as set forth in claim 9. Unterlass et al. does not teach the article is sintered. However, Sakai et al. teaches a similar polyimide which can be sintered (para. 15). Unterlass et al. and Sakai et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely producing polyimide powders. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to sinter the polyimide of Unterlass et al. as in Inagaki et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to produce products using a powder sintering type 3D printer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. They relate to the production of polyimide powders.
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767