DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/2023, 12/19/2024, 07/18/2025, and 11/10/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kryvobok (US 2016/0231420 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system operative to deflect a beam of laser energy within a two-dimensional scan field (fig. 4), the AOD system including:
a first AOD (45b) operative to deflect the beam of laser energy along a first axis of the two-dimensional scan field (para. 0085);
a second AOD (45a) arranged optically downstream of the first AOD (see fig. 4; para. 0085),
where the second AOD is operative to deflect the beam of laser energy along a second axis of the two-dimensional scan field (para. 0085);
and a controller operatively coupled to the AOD system, where the controller is configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD to deflect the beam of laser energy within the two-dimensional scan field (para. 0083, 0085), and where the controller is further configured to drive the first AOD and the second AOD at least substantially the same diffraction efficiency (para. 0082).
Regarding claim 2 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where the controller is further configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD at a diffraction efficiency of less than 80% (para. 0082).
Regarding claim 3 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where the controller is further configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD at a diffraction efficiency of less than 70% (para. 0082).
Regarding claim 5 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where the controller is further configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD to temporally divide a laser pulse from the beam of laser energy (para. 0082).
Regarding claim 6 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where the beam of laser energy comprises a laser pulse and where the is configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD to deflect the entire laser pulse (para. 0082).
Regarding claim 7 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, further comprising a scan lens arranged optically downstream of the AOD system (para. 0081).
Regarding claim 8 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, further comprising a laser operative to generate the beam of laser energy (para. 0028).
Regarding claim 9 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where the beam of laser energy has a wavelength in the infrared range of the electromagnetic spectrum (para. 0028).
Regarding claim 11 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where the controller is configured to control the diffraction efficiency at which at least one AOD selected from the group consisting of the first AOD and the second AOD is driven by controlling an amplitude of an RF drive signal applied to the at least one AOD selected from the group consisting of the first AOD and the second AOD (para. 0092).
Regarding claim 12 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, where at least one selected from the group consisting of the first AOD and second AOD includes an acousto-optic cell having a plurality of transducers attached thereto and wherein the controller is configured to control the diffraction efficiency at which the at least one AOD selected from the group consisting of the first AOD and the second AOD is driven by controlling a phase with which an RF drive signal is applied to each transducer of the at least one AOD selected from the group consisting of the first AOD and the second AOD (para. 0092).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kryvobok (US 2016/0231420 A1) in view of Riza (US 5,694,216).
Regarding claim 4 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, except where the controller is further configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD at a diffraction efficiency of less than 50%.
Riza teaches where the controller is further configured to drive each of the first AOD and the second AOD at a diffraction efficiency of less than 50% (col. 16, lines 41-61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the surface scan system as taught by Krycobok with the use of a low diffraction efficiency as taught by Riza for the benefit of laser power on sample control.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kryvobok (US 2016/0231420 A1) in view of Abovitz et. al. (US 2015/0016777 A1).
Regarding claim 10 Kryvobok teaches (fig. 4) an acousto-optical deflector (AOD) system, except where the beam of laser energy has a wavelength in the ultraviolet range of the electromagnetic spectrum.
Abovitz teaches where the beam of laser energy has a wavelength in the ultraviolet range of the electromagnetic spectrum (para. 0129).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the surface scan system as taught by Krycobok with the use of a UV laser source as taught by Abovitz for the benefit of fluorescence defect detection or contamination identification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. similar AOD scanning systems include Chang et. al. (US 4,118,113), Johnson (US 4,558,926), Langdon (US 2009/0284826 A1), Zhang et. al. (US 2016/0250714 A1), and Unrath et. al. (US 2019/0329350 A1).
/Robert E. Tallman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872