DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application filed May 23, 2023, and the Response to Restriction Requirement and amended claim set filed August 6, 2026. Claims 1-13 and 15-18 are currently pending.
Non-elected claims 10-13, 15, and 18 are WITHDRAWN.
Elected claims 1-9, 16, and 17 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 16, and 17, in the reply filed on August 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the fluoropolymer of Bassi (WO 2018/189091) includes surfactants, which the amended claims now recite. The examiner agrees with Applicant. However, even with this new limitation, the common technical feature – a fluoropolymer with the recited monomer units that is free flowing and surfactant-free – is not a special technical feature because such a fluoropolymer is known in the art. As discussed in further detail below, Bassi et al. (WO 2018/189090) teaches such a fluoropolymer.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/082234, filed November 19, 2021, which claims priority to EP 20209167.4, filed November 23, 2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “ described herein” is confusing because it is not clear where “herein” is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassi et al. (WO 2018/189090) in view of Koh et al., “CFD Modelling in the Scale-Up of a Stirred Reactor for the Production of Resin Beads,” Second Intl. Conf. on CFD in the Minerals and Process Industries, CSIRO, Melbourne, Aus., 6-8 December 1999.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 16, and 17, Bassi teaches a process for the emulsion polymerization of a fluoropolymer, resulting in a surfactant-free fluoropolymer comprising TFE in the preferred amount of 60-65 mol%, VDF in the preferred amount of 30-49 mol%, and a PAVE in the preferred amount of 1.5-3.5 mol%. (claims 1, 4.) The reaction is carried out at a preferred pressure of 11-25 bar and a preferred temperature of 55-130°C. (claim 2; para. [0016].) The reaction proceeds via a radical initiator. (para. [0012].)
The difference between Bassi and the present claims is that Bassi does not teach the rate of stirring. However, it is known in the art that a high Reynolds number indicates greater turbulent flows, and that the higher the turbulent dissipation rate, the smaller the resulting particle diameter. (Koh, p. 369; Fig. 6, p. 371.) Thus, the high rate of stirring as indicated by the Reynolds number would be considered a result effective variable by one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed rate of stirring cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the rate of stirring, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (See MPEP 2144.05(b).)
Regarding claim 3, in an exemplar process, Bassi teaches that, after forming the fluoropolymer, the polymer is removed from the reactor, washed with demineralized water, then dried, resulting in a powder. (paras. [0046], [0083].)
Regarding claim 4, Bassi teaches the PAVE is typically PMVE, PEVE, or PPVE. (para. [0041].)
Regarding claim 6, Bassi teaches that inorganic persulfates may be used as initiators. (para. [0018].)
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Bassi teaches that the fluorinated polymer may contain monomers other than TFE and VDF. (para. [0032].) PAVE is preferred, but the language “at least one fluorinated monomer different from [TDE and VDF]” implies that multiple different monomers may be present (i.e., PAVE and an additional monomer). (See also para. [0037] for a list of monomer types.) While Bassi is silent as to the amount of the additional monomer, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).) In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the relative amounts of monomeric units to produce a fluoropolymer with desired properties.
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763