Claims
The amended claims submitted on 05/23/2023 are being examined in this office action. Claim 9 and 10 have been cancelled by applicant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The cited prior art does not teach when there is a subordinate outdoor unit that has failed to update, the main outdoor unit instructs all of the plurality of subordinate outdoor units to use the pre-updated program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “normally” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
For the purpose of examination, normally will be understood as being any time an update is performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (US PUB. 20210364186, herein Sato).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches An air-conditioning system comprising:
an air-conditioning device to store a control program in a nonvolatile manner (0035 “storage device 303 is configured, for example, by a non-volatile memory, and temporarily stores an update program used to update the control program of the outdoor unit”);
and a distribution device to distribute, to the air-conditioning device, an update program for updating the control program stored in the air-conditioning device in a nonvolatile manner, the distribution device being connected to the air-conditioning device via a first network, wherein the air-conditioning device includes a plurality of outdoor units commonly connected to one refrigerant circuit (0065 “the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program and the device specification information to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device”, 0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used” fig.1
)
each of the plurality of outdoor units is configured to replace the pre-update program with the distributed update program either at a timing specified by the distribution device or at a timing when a condition specified by the distribution device is satisfied (0067 “the check processing unit 312 of the outdoor unit determines whether or not the update program is saved in the server 1. When the update program is not saved in the server 1 (step S21; No), the processing returns to step S21, and the processing in step S21 is repeated until the update program is saved in the server 1. On the other hand, when the update program is saved in the server 1 (step S21; Yes), the control program update processing is started”, condition is satisfied for updating to begin),
each of the plurality of outdoor units is configured to store the pre-update program and the update program (0034 “The microcomputer 302 controls various operations in the outdoor unit 3, and also executes various functions. The microcomputer 302 has a memory 302a built therein. The memory 302a is, for example, a flash memory, and stores a control program for controlling the outdoor unit”, 0035 “The storage device 303 is configured, for example, by a non-volatile memory, and temporarily stores an update program used to update the control program of the outdoor unit 3. In addition, the storage device 303 temporarily stores a pre-update program of the outdoor unit 3 and setting information data. The setting information data is, for example, data including setting information at the time of the operation, such as validation or invalidation of a power saving function”),
and each of the plurality of outdoor units is configured to use the pre-update program without using the update program when the pre-update program fails to be normally updated to the update program in any one of the plurality of outdoor units (0057 “in step S5, the comparison determination unit 313 compares the version of the pre-update program with the version of the update program, and determines whether or not the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program. When the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program (step S5; Yes), the comparison determination unit 313 saves the pre-update program in the storage device 303 in step S6. On the other hand, when the version of the pre-update program is the same as or newer than the version of the update program (step S5; No), the series of processes is ended”).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 1.
Sato teaches further comprising: a network server connected to the distribution device via a second network, wherein the distribution device is configured to receive distribution of the update program from the network server (0027 “server 1 previously stores a control program (hereinafter, referred to as an “update program”) for updating a control program of each device included in the air-conditioning system 100. When the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device 2”).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 2.
Sato teaches wherein the distribution device collects and stores information necessary for distributing the update program for the air-conditioning device from the air-conditioning device either when the distribution device is powered on or at a constant cycle (0067 “in step S21, the check processing unit 312 of the outdoor unit determines whether or not the update program is saved in the server 1. When the update program is not saved in the server 1 (step S21; No), the processing returns to step S21, and the processing in step S21 is repeated until the update program is saved in the server 1. On the other hand, when the update program is saved in the server 1 (step S21; Yes), the control program update processing is started”, fig. 8 step 21,
, and the network server is configured to access the distribution device, read the information from the distribution device, and distribute the update program according to the information (0065 “server 1 previously stores device specification information indicating the equipment set as the update target in addition to the update program. When the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program and the device specification information to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device”, 0080 “when the control program of the update target device is to be updated, the information obtaining unit 311 of the outdoor unit 3 saves the pre-update program obtained from the indoor unit 4 in the server side storage device 111 instead of the storage device 303. The update execution unit 314 transmits the update program saved in the server side storage device 111 to the indoor unit 4. In addition, when the control program of the update target device is restored to the pre-update program, the update execution unit 314 obtains the pre-update program of the outdoor unit 3 saved in the server side storage device 111, and restores the control program of the update target device to the pre-update program by using the obtained pre-update program”).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 4.
Sato teaches wherein the information includes at least one of a compression method, a data format, and a communication method when the update program is distributed (0083 “when the pre-update program is transmitted from the outdoor unit 3 to the server 101, it is preferable to suppress the influence on the communication traffic by adopting a high speed communication, compressing the pre-update program and dividing and transmitting the update program, performing the update of the control program in a time slot when the influence on the communication is small, for example. In addition, when the pre-update program is saved in a device that is located as dose to the equipment of the update target as possible and also has a free storage capacity, the influence on the communication traffic is decreased, and this configuration is further preferable”).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 1.
Sato teaches wherein the distribution device is a first distribution device, and the air-conditioning device is a first air-conditioning device, the air-conditioning system further comprising (0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used”, fig. 1):
a second air-conditioning device; a second distribution device corresponding to the second air-conditioning device (0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used” fig. 1);
and a network server connected to the first distribution device and the second distribution device via a second network (0027 “The server 1 previously stores a control program (hereinafter, referred to as an “update program”) for updating a control program of each device included in the air-conditioning system 100. When the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device”, 0078 “The central management device 2 is connected by the LAN 10 or other networks to a server 101 that is externally disposed”),
and the network server is configured to store a first update program and a second update program respectively corresponding to the first air-conditioning device and the second air-conditioning device, and first information and second information respectively necessary for distributing the first update program and the second update program (0065 “server 1 previously stores device specification information indicating the equipment set as the update target in addition to the update program. When the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program and the device specification information to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device”, 0080 “when the control program of the update target device is to be updated, the information obtaining unit 311 of the outdoor unit 3 saves the pre-update program obtained from the indoor unit 4 in the server side storage device 111 instead of the storage device 303. The update execution unit 314 transmits the update program saved in the server side storage device 111 to the indoor unit 4. In addition, when the control program of the update target device is restored to the pre-update program, the update execution unit 314 obtains the pre-update program of the outdoor unit 3 saved in the server side storage device 111, and restores the control program of the update target device to the pre-update program by using the obtained pre-update program” 0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used”).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 7.
Sato teaches wherein the network server is configured to distribute a corresponding update program to, out of the first distribution device and the second distribution device, a distribution device corresponding to a rewrite instruction that has been received from an operator or a distribution device corresponding to a rewrite condition that has been established (0062 “the update program stored in the server 1 is transmitted to the outdoor unit 3, and the control program of the outdoor unit 3 is updated to the update program. With this configuration, the operator can update the control program of the outdoor unit 3 by simply saving the update program in the server 1 or thereafter executing the start of the control program update processing. In other words, according to present Embodiment 1, the operator can efficiently update the control program without visiting a location where the equipment of the update target is installed”, 0075 “the operator can update the control programs of the indoor unit 4 and the remote controller 5 by simply saving the update program in the server 1, or thereafter executing the start of the control program update processing. For this reason, according to present Embodiment 1, the operator can efficiently update the control programs of the equipment without visiting the location where the equipment of the update target is installed”).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 1.
Sato teaches wherein when the pre-update program is normally updated to the update program in all of the plurality of outdoor units, each of the plurality of outdoor units is configured to use the update program as the control program and rewrite the pre-update program to the update program (0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used”, 0067 “the check processing unit 312 of the outdoor unit determines whether or not the update program is saved in the server 1. When the update program is not saved in the server 1 (step S21; No), the processing returns to step S21, and the processing in step S21 is repeated until the update program is saved in the server 1. On the other hand, when the update program is saved in the server 1 (step S21; Yes), the control program update processing is started”, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 1.
Sato teaches further comprising: a network server connected to the distribution device via a second network, wherein the network server includes (0026 “central management device 2 is connected, by a local area network (LAN) 10 or other networks, to a server 1 that is externally disposed. The central management device 2 and the outdoor unit 3 are connected to each other by the communication cable”):
a storage device to store the update program (0079 “server 101 has a server side storage device”);
and a processing device to read the update program from the storage device and automatically distribute the update program to the distribution device (0009 “an information obtaining unit configured to obtain the update program from the server and also obtain the pre-update program from the update target device, and store the update program and the pre-update program that are obtained in the storage device, a comparison determination unit configured to compare a version of the update program with a version of the pre-update program, and an update execution unit configured to update, when the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program, the control program of the update target device into the update program stored in the storage device”),
and the processing device is configured to compare versions or time stamps of the update program stored in the storage device and the control program stored in the air-conditioning device in a nonvolatile manner, and distribute the update program to the distribution device when the versions or the time stamps indicate that the update program is newer than the control program (0057 “in step S5, the comparison determination unit 313 compares the version of the pre-update program with the version of the update program, and determines whether or not the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program. When the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program (step S5; Yes), the comparison determination unit 313 saves the pre-update program in the storage device 303 in step S6. On the other hand, when the version of the pre-update program is the same as or newer than the version of the update program (step S5; No), the series of processes is ended”).
Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 1.
Sato teaches further comprising a network server connected to the distribution device via a second network, wherein the network server comprises a storage device configured to store the update program, and a processing unit configured to read the update program from the storage device and automatically distribute the update program to the distribution device (0009 “an information obtaining unit configured to obtain the update program from the server and also obtain the pre-update program from the update target device, and store the update program and the pre-update program that are obtained in the storage device, a comparison determination unit configured to compare a version of the update program with a version of the pre-update program, and an update execution unit configured to update, when the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program, the control program of the update target device into the update program stored in the storage device” 0057 “in step S5, the comparison determination unit 313 compares the version of the pre-update program with the version of the update program, and determines whether or not the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program. When the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program (step S5; Yes), the comparison determination unit 313 saves the pre-update program in the storage device 303 in step S6. On the other hand, when the version of the pre-update program is the same as or newer than the version of the update program (step S5; No), the series of processes is ended”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US PUB. 20210364186, herein Sato) in view of Maria (US PUB. 20130051238, herein Maria).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 2.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the distribution device is configured to perform protocol conversion between a communication method of the first network and a communication method of the second network.
Maria teaches wherein the distribution device is configured to perform protocol conversion between a communication method of the first network and a communication method of the second network (0006 “The SCADA gateway processor is configured to perform a protocol conversion of the data to facilitate transfer of the data between at least one SCADA device and the AMI device as data packets via a packet data network gateway and a wireless communications network”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the HVAC networking teachings of Sato with the teachings of Maria since Maria teaches a means for facilitating transfer of data in different systems such as HVAC systems (0006 0002).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US PUB. 20210364186, herein Sato) in view of Fardig (US PUB. 20160253170, herein Fardig).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 5.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the data format includes a full data format and a differential data format, the network server is configured to, when the data format is the differential data format, compare the update program with a pre-update program, generate differential data between the update program and the pre-update program and differential position data indicating a position of the differential data, and distribute the generated differential data and the generated differential position data to the distribution device, the distribution device transfers the differential data and the differential position data to the air-conditioning device, and the air-conditioning device is configured to restore the update program based on the differential data and the differential position data.
Fardig teaches wherein the data format includes a full data format and a differential data format, the network server is configured to, when the data format is the differential data format, compare the update program with a pre-update program, generate differential data between the update program and the pre-update program and differential position data indicating a position of the differential data (0058 “metadata module 150 generates a checksum for each file in the current file package 165. The update module 145 may use the checksum to identify whether a locally stored thin client file is up-to-date. The metadata module 150 may further generate a version number, file size, and/or timestamp for each file the current file package 165. In a further embodiment, the metadata module 150 may generate a checksum, version number, file size, and/or timestamp for each file a previous file package 170, wherein the update module 145 identifies a previous file package 170 matching the local file package 135 using the checksum, version number, file size, and/or timestamp”), and distribute the generated differential data and the generated differential position data to the distribution device, the distribution device transfers the differential data and the differential position data to the air-conditioning device, and the air-conditioning device is configured to restore the update program based on the differential data and the differential position data (0009 “comparing the first file package to the second file package further comprises comparing a first byte of a first file in the first file list to a second byte of a corresponding file in the second file list, wherein compiling a minimum set of updates comprises including the second byte and placement information for the second byte in response to the first byte differing from the second byte”, 0007 “includes receiving a launch request for a thin client application from a local device, wherein the launch request identifies a first file package stored on the local device, identifying a second file package for a thin client application, the second file package stored on a server and corresponding to a current version of the thin client application, comparing the first file package to the second file package, and compiling a minimum set of updates needed to transform the first file package into a copy of the second file package”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Sato with the teachings of Fardig since Fardig teaches a means for efficient deployment of applications to an end device (0003).
Regarding claim 13, Sato teaches An air-conditioning system comprising:
an air-conditioning device to store a control program in a nonvolatile manner (0035 “storage device 303 is configured, for example, by a non-volatile memory, and temporarily stores an update program used to update the control program of the outdoor unit”);
a distribution device to distribute, to the air-conditioning device, an update program for updating the control program stored in the air-conditioning device in a nonvolatile manner, the distribution device being connected to the air-conditioning device via a first network (0065 “the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program and the device specification information to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device”, 0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used” fig.1
);
and a network server connected to the distribution device via a second network, wherein the network server includes (0026 “central management device 2 is connected, by a local area network (LAN) 10 or other networks, to a server 1 that is externally disposed. The central management device 2 and the outdoor unit 3 are connected to each other by the communication cable”):
a storage device to store the update program and a pre-update program (0079 “server 101 has a server side storage device”, 0009 “the update program and the pre-update program being previously stored in a server that is externally disposed, an information obtaining unit configured to obtain the update program from the server”, 0080);
and a processing device to read the update program from the storage device and distribute the update program to the distribution device (0009 “an information obtaining unit configured to obtain the update program from the server and also obtain the pre-update program from the update target device, and store the update program and the pre-update program that are obtained in the storage device, a comparison determination unit configured to compare a version of the update program with a version of the pre-update program, and an update execution unit configured to update, when the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program, the control program of the update target device into the update program stored in the storage device”),
the processing device compares the update program with the pre-update program (0057 “in step S5, the comparison determination unit 313 compares the version of the pre-update program with the version of the update program, and determines whether or not the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program. When the version of the pre-update program is older than the version of the update program (step S5; Yes), the comparison determination unit 313 saves the pre-update program in the storage device 303 in step S6. On the other hand, when the version of the pre-update program is the same as or newer than the version of the update program (step S5; No), the series of processes is ended”).
The cited prior art do not teach and generates differential data between the update program and the pre-update program, a first checksum indicating a checksum of the differential data, and a second checksum indicating a checksum of the entire update program, the distribution device receives the differential data, the first checksum, and the second checksum from the network server, and transfers the differential data, the first checksum, and the second checksum to the air-conditioning device, and the air-conditioning device (taught by Sato) is configured to collate the received differential data using the first checksum, and collate an update program restored from the received differential data using the second checksum.
Fardig teaches and generates differential data between the update program and the pre-update program (0046 “file comparison table is created that stores the differences between the current file and the previous version of the file”), a first checksum indicating a checksum of the differential data (0009 “comparing the first file package to the second file package further comprises comparing a first checksum for a first file in the first file list to a second checksum for a matching file in the second file list”), and a second checksum indicating a checksum of the entire update program (0058 “metadata module 150 generates a checksum for each file in the current file package 165. The update module 145 may use the checksum to identify whether a locally stored thin client file is up-to-date. The metadata module 150 may further generate a version number, file size, and/or timestamp for each file the current file package 165. In a further embodiment, the metadata module 150 may generate a checksum, version number, file size, and/or timestamp for each file a previous file package 170, wherein the update module 145 identifies a previous file package 170 matching the local file package 135 using the checksum, version number, file size, and/or timestamp”),
the distribution device receives the differential data, the first checksum, and the second checksum from the network server, and transfers the differential data, the first checksum, and the second checksum to the air-conditioning device (0046 “an update is made to the thin client application on the server, the server goes through a process of identifying the changes. For any file, if the checksum, date/time, or size is different, file comparison table is created that stores the differences between the current file and the previous version of the file. The server stores a file comparison table for each file, for example as an update history or file history for each file. In one embodiment, the file comparison table indicates which bytes were changed and where the changed bytes are located in each file that is part of the thin client application”, 0050 “system 100 includes a server 105, an electronic device 110, and a networks 115 through which the server 105 and the electronic device 115 may communicate. The network 115 may be the Internet, a local area network, a wide-area network, a Wi-Fi network, a mobile telephone network, or combinations thereof”),
and the air-conditioning device (taught by Sato) is configured to collate the received differential data using the first checksum, and collate an update program restored from the received differential data using the second checksum (0009 “comparing the first file package to the second file package further comprises comparing a first byte of a first file in the first file list to a second byte of a corresponding file in the second file list, wherein compiling a minimum set of updates comprises including the second byte and placement information for the second byte in response to the first byte differing from the second byte”, 0007 “includes receiving a launch request for a thin client application from a local device, wherein the launch request identifies a first file package stored on the local device, identifying a second file package for a thin client application, the second file package stored on a server and corresponding to a current version of the thin client application, comparing the first file package to the second file package, and compiling a minimum set of updates needed to transform the first file package into a copy of the second file package”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Sato with the teachings of Fardig since Fardig teaches a means for efficient deployment of applications to an end device (0003).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US PUB. 20210364186, herein Sato) in view of Tsuji (US PUB. 20210182050).
Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches An air-conditioning system comprising:
an air-conditioning device to store a control program in a nonvolatile manner (0035 “storage device 303 is configured, for example, by a non-volatile memory, and temporarily stores an update program used to update the control program of the outdoor unit”);
a distribution device to distribute, to the air-conditioning device, an update program for updating the control program stored in the air-conditioning device in a nonvolatile manner, the distribution device being connected to the air-conditioning device via a first network (0065 “the control program is to be updated, the server 1 transmits the update program and the device specification information to the outdoor unit 3 via the central management device”, 0026 “the number of the outdoor unit 3, the number of the indoor unit 4, and the number of the remote controller 5 are not limited to the numbers in this example, and any number of devices may also be used” fig.1
);
and a network server connected to the distribution device via a second network, wherein the network server includes (0026 “central management device 2 is connected, by a local area network (LAN) 10 or other networks, to a server 1 that is externally disposed. The central management device 2 and the outdoor unit 3 are connected to each other by the communication cable”):
a storage device to store the update program and the pre-update program (0079 “server 101 has a server side storage device”).
The cited prior art do not teach and a processing device to read the update program from the storage device and distribute the update program to the distribution device, and the processing device is configured to compare the update program with the pre-update program while a comparison start position is shifted by unit width, add a unit width in which a difference is detected to differential data, and add a position of data of the added unit width to differential position data.
Tsuji teaches and a processing device to read the update program from the storage device and distribute the update program to the distribution device, and the processing device is configured to compare the update program with the pre-update program while a comparison start position is shifted by unit width, add a unit width in which a difference is detected to differential data, and add a position of data of the added unit width to differential position data (0035 “data generation unit 13 extracts parts where addition and change are made from the control program stored in the storage unit 15 as a differential program based on the update program. Then, the data generation unit 13 generates differential data based on the extracted differential program, address information indicating a written position of this differential program, and version information indicating a version of the update program”, 0082 “the differential data includes the differential program representing the difference between the update program and the control program, and the address information indicating the written position of the differential program from the control program. With this configuration, when the control program is updated in the update target device, the program update can be easily performed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Sato with the teachings of Tsuji since Tsuji teaches a means for “communication data amount between the controller and the update target device can be reduced, and also the control program can be easily updated” (0014).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 14.
The cited prior art teach wherein the air-conditioning device receives the differential data and the differential position data from the network server via the distribution device, and the air-conditioning device restores the update program using the control program, the differential data, and the differential position data ((0035 “data generation unit 13 extracts parts where addition and change are made from the control program stored in the storage unit 15 as a differential program based on the update program. Then, the data generation unit 13 generates differential data based on the extracted differential program, address information indicating a written position of this differential program, and version information indicating a version of the update program”, 0082 “the differential data includes the differential program representing the difference between the update program and the control program, and the address information indicating the written position of the differential program from the control program. With this configuration, when the control program is updated in the update target device, the program update can be easily performed”).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US PUB. 20210364186, herein Sato) in view of Ota et al (US PUB. 20210262683, herein Ota).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach The air-conditioning system according to claim 1.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the plurality of outdoor units include a main outdoor unit and a subordinate outdoor unit, and the main outdoor unit is configured to instruct the subordinate outdoor unit to update the control program.
Ota teaches wherein the plurality of outdoor units include a main outdoor unit and a subordinate outdoor unit (fig. 1,
outdoor unit 3B is subordinate to outdoor unit 3A), and the main outdoor unit is configured to instruct the subordinate outdoor unit to update the control program (0030 “the outdoor units 3A, 3C, and 3E include update processing devices 30. The update processing devices 30 are disposed to execute program update processing for updating programs of the indoor units 4A to 4L, 5A to 5L, and 6A to 6L connected to the outdoor units 3A, 3C, and 3E”, 0026 “update management device 1 previously stores update programs for updating the pieces of equipment disposed in the air-conditioning system 100. At the time of program update, the update management device 1 transmits the update programs to the outdoor units 3A to 3F via the central management device 2”, The main outdoor unit (3A 3C etc) receive the update from the central management device and pass the update information to the subordinate outdoor unit (3B 3D etc)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Sato with the teachings of Ota since Ota teaches “it is not necessary for the operator to perform the update operation of the program by directly accessing the one or more pieces of equipment, the physical burdens imposed on the operator can be reduced, and also the failure in which the one or more pieces of equipment do not operate normally when the program update fails can be eliminated” (0009).
Relevant Prior Art
Quin et al (US PUB. 20170212746) since Quin teaches a means for updating of control software over the air. However, Quin does not teach when there is a subordinate outdoor unit that has failed to update, the main outdoor unit instructs all of the plurality of subordinate outdoor units to use the pre-updated program.
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116