DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant is claiming benefits to Prior applications (see Application Data Sheet) ADS filed 05/23/2023. Howver, the specification is missing the CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 25, 26, 28, 41, 63, 64, 70, 73-75, 82, 88-89, 93, 96,-98, 130-131 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-9, 12, 38, 41, 43, 47, 49, 51, 55, 59 and 63 of copending Application No.17764874 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compounds of similar formula, comprising a polymeric structure comprising a chromophore attached to a ribose structure and a composition comprising same, wherein M is, at each occurrence, independently the same or different chromophore, R1 is H, OH, SH, alkyl, alkoxy, alkylether, heteroalkyl, -OP(=Ra)(Rb)Rc, and R2 comprises a polynucleotide. They both claim identical Linker groups and integers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 26, 28, 41, 63, 64, 70, 73-75, 82, 88-89, 93, 96-98, 130-131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 25 is vague and indefinite because the claim defines an R2 and L8 groups but the compound of structure III does not comprise R2 and L8 substituents.
Also, it seems the chemical structure for compound of structure III is incomplete because it is missing the opening bracket and the opening parentheses (see specification page 3, where it shows the compound of Formula III). Clarification is required.
Claim 131 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what exactly are the metes and bounds for “assay conditions” for producing the mixture and the “detection conditions” for imaging the mixture which will identify the presence of a target analyte. Said conditions are not specifically described in the specification.
Claim 131 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: the preamble states a method for identifying the presence of a target analyte but none of the steps of the method actually perform said reaction. Without any active, positive steps delimiting how the method is actually practiced, it is unclear how the method of claim 131 is performed. While minute details are not required in method claims, at least the basic steps must be recited in a positive, active fashion (See ex parte Erich, 3 UsPQ2dl011, p.1011 (Bd. Pat, Applicant. Int. 1986). Clarification is required.
Note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Also see In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181,26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Also see, In re Zetz, 13 USPQ2d 1320,1322. “An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct and unambiguous.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 26, 28, 41, 63-64, 70, 73-75, 82, 88-89, 93, 96-98, 130-131 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matray et al. US 20220402963.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Matray et al. discloses compounds identical to formula III. Table 1 shows exemplary structures for the chromophores as well as compositions comprising compounds identical to Formula III and I (see Matray pages 1-4 and claims). The figures 1A-1D, show compositions where polynucleotides may be bound to each side of the fluorophores and/or the quencher moiety. A schematic version of a pair of such constructs is shown in FIG. 1C. The sequences of the polynucleotides on both sides of the fluorophores and the quencher moiety have sufficient complementarity to hybridize, thus bringing the fluorophores and the quencher into proximity (see also [0096]; pages 28-29, claims) (this is viewed to be inclusive of instant claims 64, 73-74,100).
Matray et al. discloses wherein the first sequence, second sequence have length of 10 to 40 nucleotides [0169]; [0235-0238].
Matray et al. discloses that L4 has the structure *-(OCH2CH2)z- (see claim 41).
Matray et al. discloses identical structures for L1a and L1b (see claims 47 and 51).
Matray et al. discloses in claim 7, L2 and L8 are independently optional linkers (which means one or both can be absent (see also Matray et al. claim 49); L3, L5, L6 are, at each occurrence, independently optional alkylene, alkenylene, alkynylene, heteroalkylene, heteroalkenylene or heteroalkynylene linker (this is viewed to be inclusive of instant claim 89).
Matray et al. discloses in claim 7, R4 is, at each occurrence, independently OH, SH, O−, S−, ORd or SRd; R5 is, at each occurrence, independently oxo, thioxo or absent (this is viewed to be inclusive of instant claim 93).
Matray et al. discloses in claims 51 and 55 that L7 comprises triazolyl functional group or a structure identical to instant claim 97.
Matray et al. discloses “In embodiments, n is an integer from 1 to 100, or wherein n is an integer from 1 to 10, or from 2 to 10. For example, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 or 10. In embodiments, m is an integer from 3 to 6, or wherein m is 3” [0301] (this is viewed to be inclusive of claim 98).
Matray et al. discloses a kit comprising said composition [0098].
Matray et al. discloses methods for identifying the presence of a target nucleotide sequence, comprising: producing a mixture by contacting a sample with the composition, under assay conditions; and imaging the mixture under detection conditions [0332].
/JEZIA RILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681 5 February 2026