DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-13, 15, and 17-20 are pending. Claims 2, 14, and 16 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 13, and 17-18 are amended. Claims 6 and 19 are previously presented. Claims 5, 8-12, and 15 are original. Claim 20 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on page 12 of the remarks that primary reference DORING and secondary reference HELLMUND have “totally different structures and functions”, it is submitted that both references disclose electrical conductors which contact a salt water solution, and are therefore not totally different structurally and functionally as argued by Applicant. Primary reference DORING is modified by HELLMUND such that the electrical conductors are raised/lowered in the salt water solution instead of being submerged, with the motivation being to vary the resistance in the circuit as stated in the rejection. After the modification, the conductors and switches in DORING would be replaced by the conductors of HELLMUND. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding the switch and fixed components of DORING are not persuasive given the combination of DORING as modified by HELLMUND, which would replace the switch and the fixed components.
In response to arguments that DORING teaches away from the recited lifting means, it is respectfully submitted that DORING does not teach away from the use of lifting means because DORING does not “criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage” (see MPEP 2145 X D) the use of lifting means.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 13 of the remarks that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation for the combination is found in secondary reference HELLMUND as stated in the rejection. Applicant has not specifically commented on or argued against the motivation for the combination of references.
Applicant's arguments on page 13 of the remarks that the cited references do not disclose the first discharge member, the second discharge member, and the water tank body as recited are not persuasive, as they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically explaining how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references; and the features cited from the specification are not recited in the rejected claims.
It is therefore maintained that DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing device of claim 1; the discharge processing system of claim 7; and the discharge processing method of claim 13 as described in the rejection.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/13/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 is indefinite because it depends from canceled claim 14. This improper dependency renders the scope of claim 18 unclear. The claim must be canceled, rewritten into independent form, or amended to change its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DORING (US Pub. No. 2013/0127421; cited in previous office action) in view of HELLMUND (US Patent No. 1,506,751; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, DORING discloses a discharge processing device for used batteries (¶ 0023: FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an energy storage arrangement for safely discharging an energy accumulator 1 having poles 2 and 3 and electric lines 4 and 5 connected thereto; ¶ 0024: the energy accumulator 1 and/or the energy control circuit 10 can be damaged by incorrect use of the energy accumulator 1 or by an accident if the energy accumulator 1 is arranged, for example, in a vehicle), the discharge processing device comprising:
at least one first discharge member (4, 5, 11, or 12, Fig. 3; ¶ 0023: an energy accumulator 1 having poles 2 and 3 and electric lines 4 and 5 connected thereto. The energy storage arrangement also has a reservoir container 7 containing a conductor medium 6, a triggerable discharging device 9 which is connected to the reservoir container 7, a collecting container 8 and contactors 11 and 12 which are connected to the electric lines 4 and 5 and controlled by the energy control circuit 10) connected to cathodes of battery cells provided in a used battery module (1, Fig. 3), a used battery pack, or a used battery rack (¶ 0026: the electrodes in the interior of the energy accumulator 1 (separator fracture, penetration of the cells during recovery etc.));
at least one second discharge member connected to anodes of the battery cells (4, 5, 11, or 12, Fig. 3; ¶ 0023, 0026: see above); and
a water tank body (8, Fig. 3) configured to store salt water (6, Figs. 1 & 3; ¶ 0025: an electrically conductive conductor medium is discharged into the pole space, serving as a collecting container 8, of the cells (see FIG. 1) and/or a space around the contactors 11 and 12 of the energy control circuit 10 (see FIG. 3). The energy accumulator 1 is discharged in a controlled fashion by electrically connecting the energy accumulator poles 2, 3 directly (or indirectly via the lines 4, 5 and the contactors 11, 12 of the energy control circuit 10) by means of the electrically conductive conductor medium 6; ¶ 0028: the conductor medium 6 has, as an electrically conductive material, a salt which is dissolved in a non-conductive foam, gel, paste, micro-emulsion or in a non-conductive fluid. Here, for example quaternary mixtures of salt, water, oil and surfactant or ternary mixtures of surfactant, water and a co-solvent can be used or the conductor medium 6 can have anionic or cationic surfactants dissolved in water. Depending on the selection of the surfactant, a foam, a gel, a paste or a fluid can be formed) in which the first discharge member and the second discharge member are immersed, wherein discharge is performed in the water tank body (¶ 0030: poles 2 and 3 of the energy accumulator 1 and, for example, also parts of the lines 4 and 5 are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion by the conductor medium 6, as a result of which the desired discharging process of the energy accumulator 1 occurs with a discharging current which is given by the established conductivity of the conductor medium 6; ¶ 0035: the collecting container 8 encloses some or all of the electrical contact points of the energy control circuit 10 and, for example, also the contactors 11 and 12. These are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion by the conductor medium 6 which is discharged from the correspondingly arranged collecting container 8, as a result of which, in turn, the energy accumulator 1 which is connected by means of the electric connecting lines 4 and 5 is discharged).
DORING fails to disclose the discharge processing device further comprises a lifting means provided around the water tank body, and configured to adjust a contact area between the first and second discharge members and the salt water by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member.
HELLMUND discloses a lifting means provided around the water tank body, and configured to adjust a contact area between the first and second discharge members and the salt water by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member (page 1, lines 14-26: a liquid rheostat in which the electrodes are raised and lowered in the liquid by power-actuated means…. means for actuating one or more electrodes slowly in one direction and rapidly in another direction, to vary the resistance of an electrical circuit; page 1, line 55 – line 59: a liquid rheostat 1 comprises a tank or compartment 2 containing an electrolyte 3, in which fluid a plurality of electrodes or plates 4 may be immersed; page 2, lines 51-52: operation of the motor 39 is governed by a master controller 52; page 2, lines 81-86: energization of the armature 48 and shunt field-magnet winding 49 of the motor 39 causes the motor to drive the worm 43, worm wheel 42 and clutch 40 and, hence, the shaft 29 in a direction whereby the plates 28 are lowered into the electrolyte 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the lifting means as recited in order to vary the resistance (HELLMUND, page 1, lines 14-26) and therefore control the current output.
Regarding claim 3, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the first discharge member and the second discharge member each include a plate shape or a column shape (HELLMUND, page 2, lines 85-86).
Regarding claim 4, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the at least one first discharge member and the at least one second discharge member have pointed portions that first come into contact with the salt water (as shown in Figure 2 & 3 of HELLMUND, page 2, lines 85-86).
Regarding claim 7, DORING discloses a discharge processing system for used batteries (¶ 0023: FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an energy storage arrangement for safely discharging an energy accumulator 1 having poles 2 and 3 and electric lines 4 and 5 connected thereto; ¶ 0024: the energy accumulator 1 and/or the energy control circuit 10 can be damaged by incorrect use of the energy accumulator 1 or by an accident if the energy accumulator 1 is arranged, for example, in a vehicle),, the discharge processing system comprising:
the discharge processing device according to claim 1; and
a controller (¶ 0032: triggering of the discharging device 9 can take place manually here or directly or indirectly in reaction to an event. The discharging device 9 can for this purpose be embodied, for example, as a valve which can be activated manually or, for example, controlled electrically) configured to adjust a contact area between the salt water and each of the first and second discharge members (¶ 0030: poles 2 and 3 of the energy accumulator 1 and, for example, also parts of the lines 4 and 5 are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion by the conductor medium 6, as a result of which the desired discharging process of the energy accumulator 1 occurs with a discharging current which is given by the established conductivity of the conductor medium 6; ¶ 0035: the collecting container 8 encloses some or all of the electrical contact points of the energy control circuit 10 and, for example, also the contactors 11 and 12. These are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion by the conductor medium 6 which is discharged from the correspondingly arranged collecting container 8, as a result of which, in turn, the energy accumulator 1 which is connected by means of the electric connecting lines 4 and 5 is discharged).
DORING fails to disclose the controller configured to adjust the contact area between the salt water and each of the first and second discharge members by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member.
HELLMUND discloses a controller configured to adjust the contact area between the salt water and each of the first and second discharge members by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member (page 1, lines 14-26: a liquid rheostat in which the electrodes are raised and lowered in the liquid by power-actuated means…. means for actuating one or more electrodes slowly in one direction and rapidly in another direction, to vary the resistance of an electrical circuit; page 1, line 55 – line 59: a liquid rheostat 1 comprises a tank or compartment 2 containing an electrolyte 3, in which fluid a plurality of electrodes or plates 4 may be immersed; page 2, lines 51-52: operation of the motor 39 is governed by a master controller 52; page 2, lines 81-86: energization of the armature 48 and shunt field-magnet winding 49 of the motor 39 causes the motor to drive the worm 43, worm wheel 42 and clutch 40 and, hence, the shaft 29 in a direction whereby the plates 28 are lowered into the electrolyte 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the controller adjusting the contact area by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member in order to vary the resistance (HELLMUND, page 1, lines 14-26) and therefore control the current output.
Regarding claim 13, DORING discloses a discharge processing method for used batteries (¶ 0023: FIG. 1 shows a block diagram of an energy storage arrangement for safely discharging an energy accumulator 1 having poles 2 and 3 and electric lines 4 and 5 connected thereto; ¶ 0024: the energy accumulator 1 and/or the energy control circuit 10 can be damaged by incorrect use of the energy accumulator 1 or by an accident if the energy accumulator 1 is arranged, for example, in a vehicle), the discharge processing method comprising:
connecting at least one first discharge member (4, 5, 11, or 12, Fig. 3; ¶ 0023: an energy accumulator 1 having poles 2 and 3 and electric lines 4 and 5 connected thereto. The energy storage arrangement also has a reservoir container 7 containing a conductor medium 6, a triggerable discharging device 9 which is connected to the reservoir container 7, a collecting container 8 and contactors 11 and 12 which are connected to the electric lines 4 and 5 and controlled by the energy control circuit 10) to cathodes of battery cells provided in a used battery module (1, Fig. 3), a used battery pack, or a used battery rack (¶ 0026: the electrodes in the interior of the energy accumulator 1 (separator fracture, penetration of the cells during recovery etc.));
connecting at least one second discharge member to anodes of the battery cells (4, 5, 11, or 12, Fig. 3; ¶ 0023, 0026: see above);
immersing the first discharge member and the second discharge member in a water tank body (8, Fig. 3) where salt water is stored (6, Figs. 1 & 3; ¶ 0025: an electrically conductive conductor medium is discharged into the pole space, serving as a collecting container 8, of the cells (see FIG. 1) and/or a space around the contactors 11 and 12 of the energy control circuit 10 (see FIG. 3). The energy accumulator 1 is discharged in a controlled fashion by electrically connecting the energy accumulator poles 2, 3 directly (or indirectly via the lines 4, 5 and the contactors 11, 12 of the energy control circuit 10) by means of the electrically conductive conductor medium 6; ¶ 0028: the conductor medium 6 has, as an electrically conductive material, a salt which is dissolved in a non-conductive foam, gel, paste, micro-emulsion or in a non-conductive fluid. Here, for example quaternary mixtures of salt, water, oil and surfactant or ternary mixtures of surfactant, water and a co-solvent can be used or the conductor medium 6 can have anionic or cationic surfactants dissolved in water. Depending on the selection of the surfactant, a foam, a gel, a paste or a fluid can be formed) and discharge is performed (¶ 0030: poles 2 and 3 of the energy accumulator 1 and, for example, also parts of the lines 4 and 5 are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion by the conductor medium 6, as a result of which the desired discharging process of the energy accumulator 1 occurs with a discharging current which is given by the established conductivity of the conductor medium 6; ¶ 0035: the collecting container 8 encloses some or all of the electrical contact points of the energy control circuit 10 and, for example, also the contactors 11 and 12. These are connected to one another in an electrically conductive fashion by the conductor medium 6 which is discharged from the correspondingly arranged collecting container 8, as a result of which, in turn, the energy accumulator 1 which is connected by means of the electric connecting lines 4 and 5 is discharged).
DORING fails to disclose adjusting a contact area between the first and second discharge members and the salt water by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member in performing the discharge.
HELLMUND discloses adjusting a contact area between the first and second discharge members and the salt water by selectively elevating and lowering the first discharge member and the second discharge member in performing the discharge (page 1, lines 14-26: a liquid rheostat in which the electrodes are raised and lowered in the liquid by power-actuated means…. means for actuating one or more electrodes slowly in one direction and rapidly in another direction, to vary the resistance of an electrical circuit; page 1, line 55 – line 59: a liquid rheostat 1 comprises a tank or compartment 2 containing an electrolyte 3, in which fluid a plurality of electrodes or plates 4 may be immersed; page 2, lines 51-52: operation of the motor 39 is governed by a master controller 52; page 2, lines 81-86: energization of the armature 48 and shunt field-magnet winding 49 of the motor 39 causes the motor to drive the worm 43, worm wheel 42 and clutch 40 and, hence, the shaft 29 in a direction whereby the plates 28 are lowered into the electrolyte 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include adjusting a contact area as recited in order to vary the resistance (HELLMUND, page 1, lines 14-26) and therefore control the current output.
Regarding claim 17, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches each of the first and second discharge members has a pointed portion at a lower end thereof (as shown in Figure 2 & 3 of HELLMUND, page 2, lines 85-86).
Regarding claim 18, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches adjusting the contact area between the salt water and each of the first and second discharge members comprises increasing the contact area by immersing pointed portions of the first and second discharge members at lower ends thereof (HELLMUND, page 2, lines 81-111).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DORING in view of HELLMUND as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 13, and 17-18 above, and further in view of VENKATESAN (Pub. No.: US 2005/0092618; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 5, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing device as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose at least one separator provided in the water tank body and configured to partition a region of the first discharge member and a region of the second discharge member and to electrolyze the salt water.
VENKATESAN discloses at least one separator (111, Figs. 2 & 6) provided in the water tank body (112) and configured to partition a region of the first discharge member (104) and a region of the second discharge member (105) and to electrolyze the salt water (¶ 0021, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the separator in order to provide essential gas separation and ensure high-efficiency water electrolysis.
Regarding claim 6, DORING as modified by HELLMUND and VENKATESAN teaches the separator includes material selected from the group consisting of fluorine-based sulfonated polymers and fluoropolymers (VENKATESAN, ¶ 0037).
Regarding claim 8, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing system as applied to claim 7, but fails to disclose at least one separator provided in the water tank body, and configured to partition a region of the first discharge member and a region of the second discharge member and to electrolyze the salt water.
VENKATESAN discloses at least one separator (111, Figs. 2 & 6) provided in the water tank body (112), and configured to partition a region of the first discharge member (104) and a region of the second discharge member (105) and to electrolyze the salt water (¶ 0021, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the separator in order to provide essential gas separation and ensure high-efficiency water electrolysis.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DORING in view of HELLMUND as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 13, and 17-18 above, and further in view of ZHEN (CN211350899; English machine translation is included with office action; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 9, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing system as applied to claim 7, but DORING fails to disclose a salt water adjustment unit configured to adjust a concentration of the salt water stored in the water tank body of the discharge processing device.
ZHEN discloses a salt water adjustment unit configured to adjust a concentration of the salt water stored in the water tank body of the discharge processing device (¶ 0013, 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the salt water adjustment unit in order to control the discharging current/power of the discharge processing system.
Regarding claim 10, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing system as applied to claim 7 but DORING fails to disclose a water supply valve configured to supply water to the water tank body of the discharge processing device.
ZHEN discloses a water supply valve configured to supply water to the water tank body of the discharge processing device (ZHEN, ¶ 0024-0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the water supply valve in order to set the concentration of the salt water (ZHEN, ¶ 0024-0025).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DORING in view of HELLMUND as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 13, and 17-18 above, and further in view of BURTCH (Pub. No.: US 2010/0213049 A1).
Regarding claim 11, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing system as applied to claim 7, but fails to disclose a chlorine collection unit configured to collect chlorine generated in the water tank body of the discharge processing device.
BURTCH discloses a chlorine collection unit configured to collect chlorine generated in the water tank body of the discharge processing device (¶ 0014, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the chlorine collection unit in order to prevent gas emissions and/or to reuse the chlorine as an industrial raw material.
Regarding claim 12, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing system as applied to claim 7 but fails to disclose a hydrogen collection unit configured to collect hydrogen generated in the water tank body of the discharge processing device.
BURTCH discloses a hydrogen collection unit configured to collect hydrogen generated in the water tank body of the discharge processing device (¶ 0014, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the hydrogen collection unit in order to prevent gas emissions and/or to reuse the hydrogen as an industrial raw material.
Regarding claim 20, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing device as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose the first discharge member and the second discharge member are configured to electrolyze the salt water during the discharge so as to generate chlorine gas at one of the first and second discharge members and hydrogen gas at the other.
BURTCH discloses the first discharge member and the second discharge member are configured to electrolyze the salt water during the discharge so as to generate chlorine gas at one of the first and second discharge members and hydrogen gas at the other (¶ 0014, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include generating chlorine gas and hydrogen gas as recited in order to provide desired discharging characteristics for the discharging processing device, and/or to provide valuable industrial raw materials.
Claim(s) 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DORING in view of HELLMUND as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 13, and 17-18 above, and further in view of WOLIN (US Patent No. 6,661,203; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 15, DORING as modified by HELLMUND teaches the discharge processing method as applied to claim 13, but fails to disclose measuring a temperature of the battery cells in performing the discharge; and blocking contact between the first and second discharge members and the salt water when the temperature of battery cells exceeds a set temperature.
WOLIN discloses measuring a temperature of the battery cells in performing the discharge; and [stopping the discharge] when the temperature of battery cells exceeds a set temperature (claim 8). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the concept of measuring a temperature of the battery cells in performing the discharge and stopping the discharge when the temperature of battery cells exceeds a set temperature as disclosed in WOLIN to the discharging processing method of DORING as modified by HELLMUND by blocking contact between the first and second discharge members and the salt water when the temperature of battery cells exceeds a set temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include blocking contact between the first and second discharge members and the salt water when the temperature of battery cells exceeds a set temperature in order to prevent battery damage (WOLIN, column 2, lines 43-45).
Regarding claim 19, DORING as modified by HELLMUND and WOLIN teaches the discharge processing method as applied to claim 15, but fails to teach blocking contact between the first and second discharge members and the salt water comprises: elevating the first and second discharge members so that the first and second discharge members are not immersed in the salt water; or discharging the salt water stored in the water tank body to outside of the water tank body.
HELLMUND further discloses blocking contact between the first and second discharge members and the salt water comprises: elevating the first and second discharge members so that the first and second discharge members are not immersed in the salt water; or discharging the salt water stored in the water tank body to outside of the water tank body (page 2, lines 112-129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include blocking contact by elevating the first and second discharge members in order to vary the resistance (HELLMUND, page 1, lines 14-26) and therefore control the current output.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BURANT (Patent No. US 4,021,597) discloses electrodes connected to a power source, said electrodes are immersed in a salt water solution as shown in Figure 2.
OJANEN (“Challenging the concept of electrochemical discharge using salt solutions for lithium-ion batteries recycling”) discloses electrodes immersed in a salt water solution for discharging a battery.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/16/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859