DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response to the office action filed on July 1, 2026 has been entered. The claims pending in this application are claims 3-5, 7, 8, 12, 15, 17, 18, 34, 36, 45, 61, 67, 70, 73, 77, 84, 85, and 87 wherein claims 34, 36, 45, 61, 67, 70, 73, 77, and 84 have been withdrawn due to the restriction requirement mailed on November 24, 2025. The objections and rejections not reiterated from the previous office action are hereby withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 3-5, 7, 8, 12, 15, 17, 18, 85, and 87, species (3) (the primary nanostructure is adjacently linked to one secondary nanostructure, see claim 5), and species (6) (the secondary nanostructures with the same spectral profile amplify the fluorescence signal of the nanostructure complex in comparison to the fluorescence signal of the primary nanostructure alone, see claim 12) will be examined.
Specification
Since paragraphs [0004], [0007] and [0009] of the specification filed on July 1, 2026 still contain “www”, the objection below has been maintained.
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. For example, see paragraphs [0004], [0007] and [0009]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informality: “one or a combination of fluorophore moieties” should be “a combination of fluorophore moieties” in view of claim 3.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informality: “different fluorophore moiety or” should be deleted.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: (1) “Sx is a non-proximal secondary nanostructure” should be “Sx is the non-proximal secondary nanostructure”; and (2) “Z is an additional one or more non-proximal secondary nanostructures” should be “Z is the additional non-proximal secondary nanostructure”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 17, 18, and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al., (US 2017/0108517 A1, published on April 20, 2017) in view of Jungmann et al., (US 2016/0161472 A1, published on June 9, 2016).
Regarding claims 3-5, 17, 18, and 87, Mao et al., teach a nanostructure complex (ie., a 7-tile 2D DNA origami nanoassembly) comprising a primary nucleic acid nanostructure (ie., tile B in Figure 1a) linked to one or more secondary nucleic acid nanostructures (ie., tile A and tile c from tiles C to G in Figure 1a), wherein (i) the primary nanostructure is linked to each of a specificity determining molecule (ie., one of ds DNA handles modified with a terminal digoxigenin or biotin in tile A of Figure 1a which determines whether a 7-tile 2D DNA origami nanoassembly can bind to one of two optically trapped beads) and the secondary nanostructures via a nucleic acid linker (ie., directly or indirectly linked) wherein the nucleic acid linker is a hybridized at least partially double-stranded nucleic acid linker as recited in claim 3, the nanostructure complex comprising the general structure: P(-L-S)n, wherein P is the primary nanostructure, L is the hybridized at least partially double-stranded nucleic acid linker, S is an adjacently linked secondary nanostructure, and n is an integer from 1 to 10, and wherein: (i) the primary nanostructure comprises n number (ie., 2) of partially single-stranded nucleic acid linker extensions, (ii) there are n number (ie., 2) of secondary nanostructures comprising an at least partially single-stranded nucleic acid linker extension, and (iii) at least a portion of the nucleic acid sequence of the single-stranded region of the n number of primary nanostructure nucleic acid linker extensions is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of the nucleic acid sequence of the single-stranded region of one of the secondary nucleic acid linker extensions sufficient to form a hybridized at least partially double-stranded linker between the primary nanostructure and each of the secondary nanostructures (ie., tile A and tile C from tiles C to G in Figure 1a are two secondary nanostructures), thus linking the primary nanostructure to n number (ie., 2) of secondary nanostructures as recited in claim 4, the primary nanostructure is adjacently linked to one secondary nanostructure, and wherein: (i) the primary nanostructure comprises an at least partially single-stranded nucleic acid linker extension, (ii) the secondary nanostructure comprises an at least partially single-stranded nucleic acid linker extension, and (iii) at least a portion of the nucleic acid sequence of the single-stranded region of the primary nanostructure nucleic acid linker extension is at least partially complementary to at least a portion of the nucleic acid sequence of the single-stranded region of the secondary nanostructure nucleic acid linker extension sufficient to form a hybridized at least partially double-stranded linker, thus linking the primary nanostructure to the secondary nanostructure as recited in claim 5, the nanostructure complex comprising a primary nucleic acid nanostructure (ie., tile B in Figure 1a) adjacently linked to one or more proximal secondary nucleic acid nanostructures (ie., tile A and tile C from tiles C to G in Figure 1a), wherein at least one of the proximal secondary nanostructure (ie., tile C) is further linked to another secondary nanostructure (ie., tile D from tiles D to G in Figure 1a) via a hybridized at least partially double-stranded nucleic acid linker as recited in claim 17, the nanostructure complex comprising the general formula: P-L₁-Sp-L₂-(Sx-Ly)ₙ-Z (see tiles B to G in Figure 1a), wherein P is the primary nanostructure (ie., tile B), L₁ is a linker linking the primary nanostructure to a secondary nanostructure, Sp is a proximal secondary nanostructure (ie., tile C) adjacently linked to the primary nanostructure, L₂ is a linker linking Sp to a non-proximal secondary nanostructure (ie., tile D), n is an integer form 0 to 10, Sx is a non-proximal secondary nanostructure (ie., tile D) and Ly is a linker linking Sx to a non-proximal
secondary nanostructure (ie., tile E), and Z is an additional one or more non-proximal secondary nanostructures (ie., tile E); or wherein Z is a terminal secondary nanostructure ST as recited in claim 18, and the specificity determining molecule is a nucleic acid (ie., one of ds DNA handles modified with a terminal digoxigenin or biotin in tile A of Figure 1a which determines whether a 7-tile 2D DNA origami nanoassembly can bind to one of two optically trapped beads) as recited in claim 87 (see paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0013], [0014], and [0021], and Figures 1 and 4).
Mao et al., do not disclose that the primary nucleic acid nanostructure comprises 2 to 24 fluorophore moieties as recited in claim 3.
Jungmann et al., teach a compact DNA nanostructure comprising 8 fluorophores (see paragraph [0141] and Figure 11B (3)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the nanostructure complexes recited in claim 3 by labeling the primary nanostructure taught by Mao et al., with 8 fluorophores before forming the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., and Jungmann et al.. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Jungmann et al., teach a compact DNA nanostructure comprising 8 fluorophores (see paragraph [0141] and Figure 11B (3)). One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success to make the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 by labeling the primary nanostructure taught by Mao et al., with 8 fluorophores before forming the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., in order to observe the 7-tile 2D DNA origami nanoassembly taught by Mao et al., using a fluorescent microscope.
Claims 7, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al., in view of Jungmann et al., as applied to claims 3-5, 17, 18, and 87 above, and further in view of Li et al., ( Nature Biotechnology, 23, 885-889, 2005).
The teachings of Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., have been summarized, supra.
Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., do not disclose that the primary nanostructure and/or at least one of the secondary nanostructures comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that gives the nanostructure complex a spectral profile as recited in claim 7, the primary nanostructure and at least one of the linked secondary nanostructures in combination give the nanostructure complex a spectral profile as recited in claim 8, and the primary nanostructure comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that gives the primary nanostructure a spectral profile and is linked to n number of secondary nanostructures having the same spectral profile as the primary nanostructure, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 10 and wherein the secondary nanostructures with the same spectral profile amplify the fluorescence signal of the nanostructure complex in comparison to the fluorescence signal of the primary nanostructure alone as recited in claim 12.
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 12, since Li et al., teach three linked DNA nanostructures wherein each of the three linked DNA nanostructures has identical fluorescent dyes (see abstract and Figure 1), Li et al., disclose that the primary nanostructure and/or at least one of the secondary nanostructures comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that gives the nanostructure complex a spectral profile (ie., two fluorescent signals) as recited in claim 7, the primary nanostructure and at least one of the linked secondary nanostructures in combination give the nanostructure complex a spectral profile (ie., two fluorescent signals) as recited in claim 8, and the primary nanostructure comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that gives the primary nanostructure a spectral profile (ie., two fluorescent signals) and is linked to n number of secondary nanostructures having the same spectral profile (ie., identical two fluorescent signals) as the primary nanostructure, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 10, and wherein the secondary nanostructures with the same spectral profile amplify the fluorescence signal of the nanostructure complex in comparison to the fluorescence signal of the primary nanostructure alone as recited in claim 12.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the nanostructure complexes recited in claims 7, 8, and 12 by labeling the primary nanostructure and at least one of the secondary nanostructures taught by Mao et al., with identical 8 fluorophores taught by Jungmann et al., before forming the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., Jungmann et al., and Li et al.. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Li et al., teach that the primary nanostructure and/or at least one of the secondary nanostructures comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that gives the nanostructure complex a spectral profile (ie., two fluorescent signals) as recited in claim 7, the primary nanostructure and at least one of the linked secondary nanostructures in combination give the nanostructure complex a spectral profile (ie., two fluorescent signals) as recited in claim 8, and the primary nanostructure comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that gives the primary nanostructure a spectral profile (ie., two fluorescent signals) and is linked to n number of secondary nanostructures having the same spectral profile (ie., identical two fluorescent signals) as the primary nanostructure, wherein n is an integer from 1 to 10, and wherein the secondary nanostructures with the same spectral profile amplify the fluorescence signal of the nanostructure complex in comparison to the fluorescence signal of the primary nanostructure alone as recited in claim 12. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success to make the nanostructure complexes recited in claims 7, 8, and 12 by labeling the primary nanostructure and at least one of the secondary nanostructures taught by Mao et al., by labeling the primary nanostructure and the at least one of the secondary nanostructures taught by Mao et al., with identical 8 fluorophores taught by Jungmann et al., before forming the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., Jungmann et al., and Li et al..
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al., in view of Jungmann et al., as applied to claims 3-5, 17, 18, and 87 above, and further in view of Ong et al., (US 2017/0327888 A1, published on November 16, 2017).
The teachings of Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., have been summarized, supra.
Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., do not disclose that the primary nanostructure comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that give the primary nanostructure a spectral profile and is linked to a secondary nanostructure comprising a different fluorophore moiety or different combination of fluorophore moieties that give the secondary nanostructure and/or the nanostructure complex a spectral profile that is different from the primary nanostructure spectral profile as recited in claim 15.
Regarding claim 15, since Ong et al., teach that “[S]ome aspects of the present disclosure provide pluralities of nucleic acid nanostructures (metafluorophores), each nanostructure comprising a unique set of dye molecules, wherein each set of dye molecules includes at least two photophysically-distinct subsets of dye molecules, wherein the distance between dye
molecules of a single photophysically-distinct subset is greater than the distance at which the dye molecules self-quench, and the distance between any pair of dye molecules, one dye
molecule from one photophysically-distinct subset and the other dye molecule from another photophysically-distinct subset, is at least the Förster resonance energy transfer (FRET) radius of the pair of dye molecules. It should be understood that in the context of a plurality of nucleic
acid nanostructures, the phrase ‘each nanostructure’ refers to each species of nanostructure (e.g., multiple nanostructures having the same barcode) and not necessarily a single nanostructure. For example, a plurality of nucleic acid nanostructure may contain two (or more) species of
nanostructure, whereby one species has a first unique set of dye molecules (e.g., for identifying a first target) and the other species has a second unique set of dye molecules (e.g., for identifying a second target), wherein the first set is different from the second set (as each set is unique). A ‘unique’ set of dye molecules refers to a combination of dye molecules (e.g., a combination of number and ‘color’) that is present only on a single nucleic acid nanostructure, or only on a single species of nucleic acid nanostructure” (see paragraph [0006]), Ong et al., disclose that the primary nanostructure comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that give the primary nanostructure a spectral profile (ie., a fluorescent signal) and is linked to a secondary nanostructure comprising a different combination of fluorophore moieties that give the secondary nanostructure and/or the nanostructure complex a spectral profile (ie., a different another fluorescent signal) that is different from the primary nanostructure spectral profile as recited in claim 15.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the nanostructure complex recited in claim 15 by labeling the primary nanostructure taught by Mao et al., with a first unique set of 8 fluorophores taught by Jungmann et al., and labeling at least one of the secondary nanostructures taught by Mao et al., with a second unique set of 8 fluorophores different from the first unique set of 8 fluorophores taught by Jungmann et al., before forming the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., Jungmann et al., and Ong et al.. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Ong et al., disclose that the primary nanostructure comprises a combination of fluorophore moieties that give the primary nanostructure a spectral profile (ie., a fluorescent signal) and is linked to a secondary nanostructure comprising a different combination of fluorophore moieties that give the secondary nanostructure and/or the nanostructure complex a spectral profile (ie., a different another fluorescent signal) that is different from the primary nanostructure spectral profile as recited in claim 15. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success to make the nanostructure complex recited in claim 15 by labeling the primary nanostructure taught by Mao et al., with a first unique set of 8 fluorophores taught by Jungmann et al., and labeling at least one of the secondary nanostructures taught by Mao et al., with a second unique set of 8 fluorophores different from the first unique set of 8 fluorophores taught by Jungmann et al., before forming the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3 in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., Jungmann et al., and Ong et al., in order to differentiate the primary nanostructure and at least one of the secondary nanostructures in the nanostructure complex recited in claim 15.
Claim 85 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al., in view of Jungmann et al., as applied to claims 3-5, 17, 18, and 87 above, and further in view of 1988 Stratagene catalog (page 39).
The teachings of Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., have been summarized, supra.
Mao et al., and Jungmann et al., do not disclose a kit as recited in claim 85. However, Mao et al., teach instructions either printed (ie., printed instructions in paper) and/or on an electronic storage medium, and buffers as recited in claim 85 (see paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0013], [0014], [0021], and [0023], and Figures 1, 4, and 5e).
1988 Stratagene catalog teaches a motivation to combine reagents into kit format (page 39).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the kit recited in claim 85 by putting the nanostructure complex recited in claim 3, and printed instructions and buffers taught by Mao et al., into a kit format in view of the prior arts of Mao et al., Jungmann et al., and 1988 Stratagene. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the Stratagene catalog teaches a motivation for combining reagents of use in an assay into a kit, “[E]ach kit provides two services: 1) a variety of different reagents have been assembled and pre-mixed specifically for a defined set of experiments. 2) The other service provided in a kit is quality control” (page 39, column 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3-5, 7, 8, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 85 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claim is allowed.
Papers related to this application may be submitted to Group 1600 by facsimile transmission. Papers should be faxed to Group 1600 via the PTO Fax Center. The faxing of such papers must conform with the notices published in the Official Gazette, 1096 OG 30 (November 15, 1988), 1156 OG 61 (November 16, 1993), and 1157 OG 94 (December 28, 1993)(See 37 CAR § 1.6(d)). The CM Fax Center number is (571)273-8300.
/FRANK W LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683
September 2, 2026